Speed guns in effect in Trinidad & Tobago

Re: Speed guns in effect from Monday

Postby 16 cycles » May 3rd, 2016, 1:08 pm

^10k and 6 months jail time if they find you with one....or selling one...so i heard....

Postby SUPAstarr » May 3rd, 2016, 1:10 pm

.(1) A person shall not –
(a) equip a motor vehicle
with; or
(b) use, buy, possess,
manufacture, sell, or
otherwise distribute,
any device that is designed for
jamming, scrambling,
neutralizing, disabling, or
otherwise interfering with a
speed measuring device

Advent wrote:the two way jammer for this device is 700USD . allyuh start buying

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 3rd, 2016, 1:29 pm

Just drove 115 kph on a north to central run ... was driving at 80 then saw an officer driving at 115 so I just followed him ... this is ridiculous.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 3rd, 2016, 1:44 pm

16 cycles wrote:^10k and 6 months jail time if they find you with one....or selling one...so i heard....

They have problems with finding criminals and illegal guns ... you think they will be able to find LIDAR jammers and detectors?

Also the law is about devices so veil stealth coating is perfectly legal.

Kamikaze

Speed guns in effect from Monday

Postby Kamikaze » May 3rd, 2016, 2:07 pm

Kamikaze

Postby Kamikaze » May 3rd, 2016, 2:19 pm

WHICH MEANS FELLAS YOUR T REG PICKUP with MGW over 2540kg!!! yes all of them is 65kph speed limit all along,,,,,,

Advent

Re: RE: Re: Speed guns in effect from Monday

Postby Advent » May 3rd, 2016, 2:36 pm

Kamikaze wrote:WHICH MEANS FELLAS YOUR T REG PICKUP with MGW over 2540kg!!! yes all of them is 65kph speed limit all along,,,,,,

Now this u can get behind :D

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » May 3rd, 2016, 2:52 pm

1462301530635.jpg

Postby SMc » May 3rd, 2016, 3:12 pm

I still dont understand why there is a necessity to try outsmart the popos. Everyone complaining they not doing anything to curb the high amount of road fatalities, yet when they put something in place everyone kicking up a fuss and would rather spend plenty money on technology to get around it than just drive sensibly. I speed, I wont lie but there is a time and place and will always drive within what is safe for the current environment.

If you late for work everyday, leave home earlier tell your employer why and negotiate better working hours, otherwise take the bus and stop contributing to the traffic woes.

Postby ismithx » May 3rd, 2016, 3:48 pm

^^ because the speed limits need to be updated. It is possible to drive to drive safely above 80 when conditions permit

Postby j.o.e » May 3rd, 2016, 3:59 pm

ismithx wrote:^^ because the speed limits need to be updated. It is possible to drive to drive safely above 80 when conditions permit

I'm not saying you're wrong, I'm just sayin that's all based on your opinion. Did the 80 back and forth from Sando to POS today, it is amazing how slow 80 feels. I'm not sure I could do it without cruise control.
But I was happy to see most people trying to stick to the speed limit , shows that although we are a lawless society behavior can be modified. Let's see how it works out long term.

Postby SMc » May 3rd, 2016, 4:00 pm

ismithx wrote:^^ because the speed limits need to be updated. It is possible to drive to drive safely above 80 when conditions permit

I not doubting that .. but make a proper case for that, including where it has been done and what the outcome was as a result of doing it. We as a country are unable to accept change if it in anyway has the slightest possibility of affecting us in a negative way. Trinidad is small, how much quicker will you get to work if they increase the speed limit and people still drive like toots?

Postby redmanjp » May 3rd, 2016, 4:07 pm

Advent wrote:the two way jammer for this device is 700USD . allyuh start buying

Dat even more illegal than speeding

Postby toyolink » May 3rd, 2016, 4:07 pm

Would these units need to be mounted on tripods to be used?
How would rain affect the deployment of the these(6) 'speed guns'?
What speed spread is allowed to overtake a vehicle moving at 49khp?
Really, the initiative is quite laudable but execution could become a serious headache.
There are many operational issues which must include some review of speed limits and placement of signage.
Observing drivers trying to adhere to limit as advised really made for a truly confusing use of lanes with many lorries in the mix today.

Postby Country_Bookie » May 3rd, 2016, 4:24 pm

How about cameras for ppl breaking red lights and illegally using the shoulder? Start enforcing this just by Mt. Hope lights alone and guaranteed about $250k a day in fines for the first week.
Even better, plenty tiida men go cyar pay and get impounded.

Postby pugboy » May 3rd, 2016, 4:56 pm

ent everybody does drive within the speed limits when they in yankeeland ?

Postby SR » May 3rd, 2016, 4:59 pm

Speed limits adjusted accordingly over there....plus popo doh be driving with lights on day and night blinging

Postby teems1 » May 3rd, 2016, 5:03 pm

j.o.e wrote:

I'm not saying you're wrong, I'm just sayin that's all based on your opinion. Did the 80 back and forth from Sando to POS today, it is amazing how slow 80 feels. I'm not sure I could do it without cruise control.
But I was happy to see most people trying to stick to the speed limit , shows that although we are a lawless society behavior can be modified. Let's see how it works out long term.

Drive at 80 for a few weeks, then try driving at 120 again.

You'll be surprised it feels much faster. Your body and mind will adjust.

scotty_buttons

Speed guns in effect from Monday

Postby scotty_buttons » May 3rd, 2016, 6:03 pm

Instead of getting speed guns, speed cameras placed strategically across the highways will more or less get the same effect because you'll have to slow down at certain areas ever so often.. All these variables involved in using the speed guns from placement to human error, etc would be less of a issue and probably may cost less than the amount they paying for these guns. :?

I can't recall ever seeing speed guns being used so much in recent years while driving abroad. It's almost always speed cameras now.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » May 3rd, 2016, 6:08 pm

scotty_buttons wrote:Instead of getting speed guns, speed cameras placed strategically across the highways will more or less get the same effect because you'll have to slow down at certain areas ever so often.. All these variables involved in using the speed guns from placement to human error, etc would be less of a issue and probably may cost less than the amount they paying for these guns. :?

No, it would not have the same effect. The cameras are fixed in place. The speed gun is a mobile tool. Plus, the T&T law breakers would just, as Jay Leno said on Top Gear, shoot the cameras out and make them useless.

Postby redmanjp » May 3rd, 2016, 7:24 pm

speed cameras would ensure 24/7 enforcement though- including between 2-5am when u really need it

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » May 3rd, 2016, 7:40 pm

scotty_buttons wrote:
EmilioA wrote:
jhonnieblue wrote:80 km/hr def to slow...time to get a radar detector

The guns they buy isnt Radar, its Lidar. but they only buy six of them.

I know they had 6 RADAR guns from last year testing at different locations.. And there weren't any legislation to use LASER guns. Only radar guns at the time. Are you sure of this ? Was legislation passed to use the laser guns instead ?

just google Trinidad and Lidar and you will get your answer.

Postby aaron17 » May 3rd, 2016, 9:32 pm

Did 50 on the built up roads..dayummmm tooo slow .

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » May 3rd, 2016, 9:58 pm

Honestly..been sticking around the 80...but people around just blatantly driving really fast..almost had a civic force me off the road.im beginning to real wish they had more radar guns and fixed speed cameras to stop the madness on the roads.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 3rd, 2016, 10:01 pm

pugboy wrote:ent everybody does drive within the speed limits when they in yankeeland ?

Not really eh ... haven't driven that much in the US ... But in the UK almost everyone breaks the speed limit. They have speed camera's and their laws dictate that drivers must be informed by proper signs of upcoming camera's.

Most people then proceed to drive above the speed limit, about 10 to 15 mph above (some even faster) then slow down when they see a speed camera sign ... then speed up again.

The difference is there is much less breaking of other road rules. People tend to be very disciplined drivers, they indicate, they make sure the other lane is clear before entering, they don't break traffic lines and race up to the top and squeeze in, they know how to use roundabouts properly and the list goes on and on ...

ado15mk3

Postby ado15mk3 » May 3rd, 2016, 10:26 pm

^ same in US. most ppl drive about 10-15mph above limit the few times we drove over there. we aim to be the slowest in the pack :]
but as said above they dont drive like Aholes eg. they actually roughing you up when you dont merge infront them in bumper to bumper traffic :/

BRZ

Postby BRZ » May 3rd, 2016, 10:33 pm

50 guns?? Wtf , soon we will have more radar guns than good police officers. Honestly wtf do we need 50 of those for?

Postby nervewrecker » May 3rd, 2016, 10:48 pm

SMc wrote:I still dont understand why there is a necessity to try outsmart the popos. Everyone complaining they not doing anything to curb the high amount of road fatalities, yet when they put something in place everyone kicking up a fuss and would rather spend plenty money on technology to get around it than just drive sensibly. I speed, I wont lie but there is a time and place and will always drive within what is safe for the current environment.

If you late for work everyday, leave home earlier tell your employer why and negotiate better working hours, otherwise take the bus and stop contributing to the traffic woes.

Used to leave home about 4:00am every morning.

120km/h and nothing less. That is slow that hour the morning.

Did 80km/h on a regular basis in my pickup, feels like im at a standstill.

btw

f0(k de powleece :mrgreen:

ingalook

Postby ingalook » May 3rd, 2016, 11:13 pm

Which highway/s is this deployed on?

If it is only on UBH it is just another way to oppress South and Central people :roll:

Postby De Dragon » May 3rd, 2016, 11:28 pm

ingalook wrote:Which highway/s is this deployed on?

If it is only on UBH it is just another way to oppress South and Central people :roll:

Supposedly 5 assigned to the UBH and 1 to the CRH.