Where has the best Gyros/Burgers/ Street food in T&T?

screwbash

Re: Where has the best Gyros/Burgers/ Street food?

Postby screwbash » October 6th, 2017, 5:44 am

Passing tru el socorro, doubles from in front Neighbours Supermarket. 2 bite and it done for $5. it look like dey selling in the evenings as the doubles was hot and this was like 6'ish. What you seeing is 1 with everything slight.
opinion: not worth buying again in life.

Picture 039.jpg

Postby maj. tom » October 6th, 2017, 6:45 am

pugboy wrote:you guys aware that the gyro meat is pretty much the same they are all using ?
any difference in taste is likely to be the garlic/ketchup sauce etc

They buy the ready-made meat frozen from a supplier or something? I always thought they made it themselves and that was a standard recipe. And there seems to be some sort of flour/cereal filler in the "lamb."

Pre-packaged meat makes sense with the $30 - $35 price tag. I tried making it at home and it turned out to be way more expensive per gyro. And didn't exactly taste like bought ones.
You know the name of the supplier by chance?

Postby pugboy » October 6th, 2017, 7:06 am

hadco and all the restaurant suppliers sell gyro cones
the only difference between gyro sellers is really how cooked it is
a good gyro should have the meat just slightly crisp charred and thin
the smart ones use a commercial shaver knife which is $600usd
when cut thick you get uncooked kinda taste and they lose money too by wastage

maj. tom wrote:
pugboy wrote:you guys aware that the gyro meat is pretty much the same they are all using ?

They buy the ready-made meat frozen from a supplier or something? I always thought they made it themselves and that was a standard recipe. And there seems to be some sort of flour/cereal filler in the "lamb."

Pre-packaged meat makes sense with the $30 - $35 price tag. I tried making it at home and it turned out to be way more expensive per gyro. And didn't exactly taste like bought ones.

Postby Chimera » October 6th, 2017, 7:19 am

Vashas off the highway in freeport also sells the cones

Postby Dizzy28 » October 6th, 2017, 9:26 am

maj. tom wrote:

Them cones can even legally be called meat?

Postby Chimera » October 6th, 2017, 9:37 am

lol in the beginning the "lamb" gyro cones had beef as the filler

endless hindus was enjoying beef for a while before they realize the scene

air wick

Postby air wick » October 6th, 2017, 4:54 pm

Shadi Famous Gyro’s Clarke Road Junction in Penal. Their Mexican Gyro is the best!

Postby pugboy » October 6th, 2017, 6:35 pm

It is truly difficult to get a properly cooked burger in this country.
Usually either burnt beyond recognition or raw inside.
Recently went by trotters and a big red food truck near oval.

Hamburgers should not be served rare or even medium rare since they are minced and exposed to aerial bacteria
Unlike a steak where the inside is sealed from outside.

IMG_0126.JPG

IMG_0125.JPG

IMG_0124.JPG

wickedtuna

Postby wickedtuna » October 6th, 2017, 8:49 pm

Does curepe have anything good??

mragoobir

Postby mragoobir » October 6th, 2017, 10:16 pm

Check d back streets!

wickedtuna

Postby wickedtuna » October 7th, 2017, 12:06 am

^^ Um u seem to know this hmmm and u say it's good ...lol

mragoobir

Postby mragoobir » October 7th, 2017, 12:32 am

^^nah ah make d worse wrong turn ever! was offered everything on d menu!! Lol

Postby nervewrecker » October 7th, 2017, 8:31 am

pugboy wrote:It is truly difficult to get a properly cooked burger in this country.
Usually either burnt beyond recognition or raw inside.
Recently went by trotters and a big red food truck near oval.

Hamburgers should not be served rare or even medium rare since they are minced and exposed to aerial bacteria
Unlike a steak where the inside is sealed from outside.

IMG_0126.JPG

IMG_0125.JPG

IMG_0124.JPG
Wtf!

Postby K74T » October 7th, 2017, 9:30 am

Much safer to make your own burger than buy one anywhere

Postby MG Man » October 7th, 2017, 11:43 am

Darwish in Chaguanas opposite to where club india was, serves pretty decent gyros

Postby mero » October 7th, 2017, 12:03 pm

Frank's behind UWI doubles is the most overrated doubles oat I swear . 15 minutes to gt in "eating here" line and is the most basic doubles I ever eat.

nick639v2

Where has the best Gyros/Burgers/ Street food?

Postby nick639v2 » October 7th, 2017, 12:18 pm

^^ ent

Decent lil doubles places is the red shed behind price plaza.. they open from 1pm on weekdays. Tasty, roast pepper and no set of chess burn after because of bad oil etc.

Ask for a Mega. Which is basically 2 doubles in one (4 barra wit yuh condiments).

Another is the first stall not the 2nd eh! by Preysal High school.. good channa and pepper. The go too there is pie almost a foot long, same story, no bad tastes an no oily chess burn

Sundays is hassanalis in debe for dat bhaiganee if I feeling for a drive

Postby pugboy » October 7th, 2017, 12:31 pm

I thought uwi doubles was the most overrated lol

mero wrote:Frank's behind UWI doubles is the most overrated doubles oat I swear . 15 minutes to gt in "eating here" line and is the most basic doubles I ever eat.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 7th, 2017, 1:28 pm

Had Frank's recently and it ate. The hype really isn't worth it but that's probably not Frank's fault. Pretty hefty sized doubles though. Not them 5 grain of channa scenes others give

Postby gastly369 » October 7th, 2017, 1:53 pm

Meh boi Pedro on de cross
Does get handle up and free sometimes

Postby mero » October 7th, 2017, 2:24 pm

pugboy wrote:I thought uwi doubles was the most overrated lol

mero wrote:Frank's behind UWI doubles is the most overrated doubles oat I swear . 15 minutes to gt in "eating here" line and is the most basic doubles I ever eat.
According to the doubles eater hipster association, UWI is chit and Frank's is the best in Trinidad.

Postby matr1x » October 8th, 2017, 6:25 am

nick639v2 wrote:^^ ent

Decent lil doubles places is the red shed behind price plaza.. they open from 1pm on weekdays. Tasty, roast pepper and no set of chess burn after because of bad oil etc.

Ask for a Mega. Which is basically 2 doubles in one (4 barra wit yuh condiments).

Another is the first stall not the 2nd eh! by Preysal High school.. good channa and pepper. The go too there is pie almost a foot long, same story, no bad tastes an no oily chess burn

Sundays is hassanalis in debe for dat bhaiganee if I feeling for a drive

Krishna on the debe stretch is the real scene. Hoseins and hassanali are the worst

Postby pugboy » October 8th, 2017, 11:51 am

when will ppl learn that doubles is simply a mediocre street food at best
all the gourmetizing and searching and hearing about some fabled doubles vendor is a woft

Postby Chimera » October 8th, 2017, 11:53 am

Like u never eat a Bess doubles

Postby pugboy » October 8th, 2017, 12:31 pm

I rather a good saheena than a doubles any day

nick639v2

Where has the best Gyros/Burgers/ Street food?

Postby nick639v2 » October 8th, 2017, 3:05 pm

pugboy wrote:when will ppl learn that doubles is simply a mediocre street food at best
all the gourmetizing and searching and hearing about some fabled doubles vendor is a woft

Boy again i guh say it, it have men who will eat a mediocre street ass from questionable women in all locations, ress meh doubles eh

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » October 8th, 2017, 8:03 pm

Best doubles- Sais from Cunjal Road.
Talk done. Close this fucki#g ched

Postby rollingstock » December 5th, 2017, 12:00 am

Hornswoggle burger.

Postby nervewrecker » December 5th, 2017, 5:49 am

No lanb gyro on the cross

MarvinC

Postby MarvinC » June 5th, 2018, 12:21 pm

Anybody ever went by stallion energy punch and smoothies.