Coppershot

Microsoft accused of Windows 10 upgrade 'nasty trick

Postby Coppershot » May 25th, 2016, 7:18 am

Microsoft accused of Windows 10 upgrade 'nasty trick
http://www.bbc.com/news/technology-36367221

Microsoft has faced criticism for changing the pop-up box encouraging Windows users to upgrade to Windows 10.

Clicking the cross in the top-right hand corner of the pop-up box now agrees to a scheduled upgrade rather than rejecting it.

This has caused confusion as clicking the cross typically closes a pop-up notification.

The upgrade could still be cancelled when the scheduled time for it to begin appeared,
Microsoft said.

The change occurred because the update is now labelled "recommended" and many people have their PCs configured to accept recommended updates for security reasons.

This means dismissing the box does not dismiss the update.

Brad Chacos, senior editor at the PC World website, described it as a "nasty trick".

"Deploying these dirty tricks only frustrates long-time Windows users who have very valid reasons to stick with operating systems they already know and love," he wrote.

Microsoft said: "With the free Windows 10 upgrade offer ending on 29 July, we want to help people upgrade to the best version of Windows.

"As we shared in October, Windows 10 will be offered as a 'recommended' update for Windows 7 and 8.1 customers whose Windows Update settings are configured to accept 'recommended' updates.

"Customers can choose to accept or decline the Windows 10 upgrade."

TL;DR
When you hit the close button, instead of closing the pop up, it schedules your computer to update to windows 10. At this point, most non tech users wont know how to stop the schedule update.

2NR Smurf

Re: Microsoft accused of Windows 10 upgrade 'nasty trick

Postby 2NR Smurf » May 25th, 2016, 7:55 am

Ah so this explains why I woke up to Windows 10 the other morning....:|

Postby Les Bain » May 25th, 2016, 8:19 am

Never got the upgrade prompt on my windows 7 PC so....

Postby redmanjp » May 25th, 2016, 8:21 am

Noted. Was planning to upgrade soon but not before i backup important files first. Just in case. Will have to do it sooner than later if this happens.

Postby redmanjp » May 25th, 2016, 8:24 am

Les Bain wrote:Never got the upgrade prompt on my windows 7 PC so....

U have windows updates disabled?

HSA

Postby HSA » May 25th, 2016, 8:33 am

win 10 aint bad..donno what the beatup is about with these " nasty" tricks

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 25th, 2016, 8:37 am

HSA wrote:win 10 aint bad..donno what the beatup is about with these " nasty" tricks

That's not the point. That red x means closed everywhere else. Why should it mean anything different now? Also Windows 10 could be the best OS ever. If an important program you have doesn't work on it it doesn't matter how good 10 is.

abbow

Postby abbow » May 25th, 2016, 8:41 am

happened to 2 guys in work...they swore they never accepted the upgrade.....now they realized why

2NR Smurf

Re: RE: Re: Microsoft accused of Windows 10 upgrade 'nasty trick

Postby 2NR Smurf » May 25th, 2016, 8:49 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
HSA wrote:win 10 aint bad..donno what the beatup is about with these " nasty" tricks

That's not the point. That red x means closed everywhere else. Why should it mean anything different now? Also Windows 10 could be the best OS ever. If an important program you have doesn't work on it it doesn't matter how good 10 is.

I'd guess it's also a problem if your win7 install isn't legit...

HSA

Postby HSA » May 25th, 2016, 8:51 am

2NR Smurf wrote:

know of alot of guys installed pirated win7 and got ligit win 10 after the upgrade

2NR Smurf

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: Microsoft accused of Windows 10 upgrade 'nasty trick

Postby 2NR Smurf » May 25th, 2016, 8:54 am

HSA wrote:
2NR Smurf wrote:

know of alot of guys installed pirated win7 and got ligit win 10 after the upgrade

Really? Hmmmm i was under the assumption you'd need to purchase a legit key after the upgrade.

pyromaniax

Postby pyromaniax » May 25th, 2016, 9:09 am

2NR Smurf wrote:
HSA wrote:
2NR Smurf wrote:

Really? Hmmmm i was under the assumption you'd need to purchase a legit key after the upgrade.

I had a pirated windows 8 and mine upgraded since launch to windows 10 no problems

HSA

Postby HSA » May 25th, 2016, 9:15 am

2NR Smurf wrote:
HSA wrote:
2NR Smurf wrote:

Nope...i guess win10 was really free after all.

JF.K

Postby JF.K » May 25th, 2016, 10:18 am

I encountered alot of problems after I upgraded...

Many hardware and software are too "outdated" to run on windows 10.

I bought a desktop a few years ago with Win8... at that time it had the latest everything;
Processor, Graphics Card etc.
But it is now not compatible with this OS.

For example... my Graphics Card is now deemed as 'outdated' for Win10 and is forcing me to use my VGA cable to my monitor instead of my HDMI (that I previously used)

There is also no way to revert back to Win8 after u upgrade to Win10... unless u use crack software.

2 d Max Auto
Location: SMR Chase Village, 1 Minute North of Triangle. Open 7AM to 7PM. Call: 461-234

Postby 2 d Max Auto » May 25th, 2016, 10:23 am

I really hated the way they continously forced the update, my unit commenced an update without any permission being granted, just a time out and upgrade started.....

JF.K

Postby JF.K » May 25th, 2016, 10:40 am

One of the problems are with the very popular NVIDIA drivers and video cards...
Microsoft admits that versions of these (even though they are just a few years old) are not compatible and people are forced to upgrade them after they go to Win10

Postby Spitfir3 » May 25th, 2016, 11:13 am

JF.K wrote:I encountered alot of problems after I upgraded...

I bought a desktop a few years ago with Win8... at that time it had the latest everything;

For example... my Graphics Card is now deemed as 'outdated' for Win10 and is forcing me to use my VGA cable to my monitor instead of my HDMI (that I previously used)

There is also no way to revert back to Win8 after u upgrade to Win10... unless u use crack software.

if your desktop supports windows 8 then it should work just fine with 10

if you're getting problems with your gpu then that must be one stone age thing yuh have dey

Postby Les Bain » May 25th, 2016, 11:15 am

redmanjp wrote:
Les Bain wrote:Never got the upgrade prompt on my windows 7 PC so....

U have windows updates disabled?

Yeah. Is a long story but I does just manually update every 2 weeks ever since.

My 7 year old Asus netbook and all getting the Windows 10 prompt. And all that doing these days is storing porn.

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » May 25th, 2016, 11:22 am

not affected

Postby K74T » May 25th, 2016, 11:31 am

2016 XP crew checking in

JF.K

Postby JF.K » May 25th, 2016, 11:43 am

Spitfir3 wrote:

if your desktop supports windows 8 then it should work just fine with 10

if you're getting problems with your gpu then that must be one stone age thing yuh have dey

Well one of the major problems I am having is with the Graphics Card/Driver.
NVIDIA is one of the most popular brands and they have the issues with the Win10.
A few years ago is not stone age... especially since I am still paying for the damn thing

PapaC

Postby PapaC » May 25th, 2016, 11:49 am

It's like click bait hat those shady websites use. You click close and get four pop ups.
My desktop has a reported problmem with he Ethernet port and no drivers for win 10 and it appears that it not going to get fixed. I want to update but it's a secondary matchine for menial tasks, I don't want to upgrade it. May need to see if I can acquire a used adapter, wired or wireless.

Postby Country_Bookie » May 25th, 2016, 12:13 pm

What about ppl who still have windows vista . Windows 10 is only free if u have 7 or 8.1 , apparently Vista users have to pay. Is it better to install a cracked version of 7 or 8 and then upgrade?

Postby ismithx » May 25th, 2016, 12:20 pm

yeah, that is the easy way

JF.K

Postby JF.K » May 25th, 2016, 12:48 pm

Country_Bookie wrote:What about ppl who still have windows vista . Windows 10 is only free if u have 7 or 8.1 , apparently Vista users have to pay. Is it better to install a cracked version of 7 or 8 and then upgrade?

Yup... that works..
But remember the compatibility with your existing hardware as I was saying.
Google your specs for issues first.

Postby skylinechild » May 25th, 2016, 1:39 pm

2NR Smurf wrote:
HSA wrote:
2NR Smurf wrote:

correct.....you still need to purchase a legit key after the upgrade

if you have pirate windows 7 you will update to w10 but it wont be licensed or activated

seems as though alot of ppl still dont kno the difference between pirated and properly licensed and activated software.

Postby skylinechild » May 25th, 2016, 1:41 pm

Country_Bookie wrote:What about ppl who still have windows vista . Windows 10 is only free if u have 7 or 8.1 , apparently Vista users have to pay. Is it better to install a cracked version of 7 or 8 and then upgrade?

if you hav windows vista on your pc..and you hav a dell or Hp..i can link you ...send pm if youre interested.

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » May 25th, 2016, 1:43 pm

^ that's what I was wondering. I fell victim to this unexpected upgrade a couple nights ago but the update apparently failed and rolled back to Windows 7 which I had to reactivate

Postby skylinechild » May 25th, 2016, 1:53 pm

JF.K wrote:One of the problems are with the very popular NVIDIA drivers and video cards...
Microsoft admits that versions of these (even though they are just a few years old) are not compatible and people are forced to upgrade them after they go to Win10

check in the device manager to see if all devices are properly installed.
be aware that if some devices say theyre properly installed that doesnt mean theyre using the correct driver.

case and point - did a friends hp laptop from W7 to w10 - it installed the W10 north bridge AHCI driver which i find was causing the laptop to run slow....did a little research on intel site - used the correct intel driver- and boom...big difference...

as an added bonus it installed drivers for other base system devices that W10 didnt have drivers for. and his laptop has two video cards - intel and ATi.....

i suspect in your case - its forcing you to use the VGA cable cause of a driver issue - although it says it has the correct driver - that may not be the case.

if the device is truly not compatible with w10..den thats hard...if its a desktop....why not simply change out the video card - chances are it not under warranty anymore.

if its a laptop...den yea...you maybe stuck with it. - look into the drivers thing -

yes you can go bk down to w8- provided you have the original installation disc for W8.

Postby skylinechild » May 25th, 2016, 2:01 pm

PapaC wrote:It's like click bait hat those shady websites use. You click close and get four pop ups.
My desktop has a reported problmem with he Ethernet port and no drivers for win 10 and it appears that it not going to get fixed. I want to update but it's a secondary matchine for menial tasks, I don't want to upgrade it. May need to see if I can acquire a used adapter, wired or wireless.

are you aware you can use w7 drivers on w10 ??

you know how to manually install the driver ??

download w7 ethernet driver ....unzip it to get the files....go to device manager...right click...select update driver software...select manually select driver or let me choose....navigate to where u unzipped the files...select it...let it install.......reboot.

try that..report bk and let us know....

i feel i need to say this...if you have w10 32bit...kindly get the w7 32 bit driver an vice versa....
Last edited by skylinechild on May 25th, 2016, 4:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.