Soca in the US Whitehouse

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 23rd, 2016, 10:48 am

Machel Montano performs in the Whitehouse

Re: Soca in the US Whitehouse

Postby eliteauto » June 23rd, 2016, 11:01 am

http://www.looptt.com/content/machel-mo ... hite-house

Machel Montano wined at the White House on Wednesday as he performed some of his hits as part of the tenth celebrations of the National Caribbean-American Heritage Month.

Earlier, Montano called for the Caribbean to unite and appreciate our similarities when he sat as part of a four-member panel assembled to discuss the Impact of Caribbean Culture on American Society.

Montano was joined by Trinidadian Jazz Trumpeter Etienne Charles, R&B singer Ryan Leslie and Haitian singer Emeline Michel.

“Through music, we can help people have a purpose for life…we don’t take enough time to enjoy our similarities. We have an infrastructure and system that works. We are here to influence them on how to get along and we can get along by knowing each other,” said Montano, noting that through his music he preaches unity and love.

In his contribution, Charles, a renowned musician and Professor at the University of Michigan, spoke about the Caribbean roots in music all over the world from Harry Belafonte to Fela Kuti stating that it is important for us to know these things.

“Our music has affected the whole world and we are grateful to continue the legacy,” he said, urging Caribbean people to support their artistes so the music would be economically viable.

Leslie, whose parents were born in the Caribbean, spoke about his Superphone innovation, which allows him to forego big record labels and dependence on popular forms of social media to connect directly with his fans. He said Caribbean artistes need to use technology to help spread their music and influence. Montano revealed that has met with Leslie to use his technology to influence his community.

The lone woman on the panel, Michel criticised Caribbean broadcasters for their reliance on foreign products instead of Caribbean content.

“It saddens me cause we don’t have that powerful voice, it is almost non-existent but when we are on stage we exude this strength that is irresistible,” she said.

Following the panel discussion, Montano performed, backed by Charles on trumpet, stating on Instagram that “We wine in the Whitehouse tonight.”

Postby zoom rader » June 23rd, 2016, 11:07 am

Whitehouse probably thinks soca is the only music from Trin. Not even a Sam Boodram or Anil Beem song

Re: RE: Re: Soca in the US Whitehouse

Postby K74T » June 23rd, 2016, 11:37 am

zoom rader wrote:Whitehouse probably thinks soca is the only music from Trin. Not even a Sam Boodram or Anil Beem song

Good, go cry about it.

daas

Postby daas » June 23rd, 2016, 11:57 am

Donald Trump is not pleased.

Btw Obama was dey?

BRZ

Postby BRZ » June 23rd, 2016, 12:05 pm

zoom rader wrote:Whitehouse probably thinks soca is the only music from Trin. Not even a Sam Boodram or Anil Beem song

shouldn't the fact that Trinidad was represented take much more importance rather than what Ethnic or cultural characteristic was showcased!

Kalisnakov

Postby Kalisnakov » June 23rd, 2016, 12:11 pm

I think now they know/see/understand why Trinidad is full of crime & lawlessness.........

Postby K74T » June 23rd, 2016, 12:25 pm

For singing and having a good time?

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » June 23rd, 2016, 1:19 pm

Congratulations to Machel Montano.

Postby sMASH » June 23rd, 2016, 1:23 pm

From kamla to 'bama...

Postby Redman » June 23rd, 2016, 1:50 pm

BRZ wrote:

shouldn't the fact that Trinidad was represented take much more importance rather than what Ethnic or cultural characteristic was showcased!

Just like Sat.
what else can he say?
nothing of value

MonstersInc

Postby MonstersInc » June 23rd, 2016, 2:08 pm

hong kong phooey wrote:Congratulations to Machel Montano.

Postby maj. tom » June 23rd, 2016, 3:24 pm

Wow! This guy made it! I hope he gets bigger stages now and gets a producer and band to push out higher quality music that he has untapped.

Respect for the actual musical talent and showmanship this man has.

Soca in the US Whitehouse

Postby MaxPower » June 23rd, 2016, 4:19 pm

Trinidadians dont deserve to be in the white house...if they are allowed in...no eating and drinking permitted.

Careful machel doesnt get into another fight there.

Postby shogun » June 23rd, 2016, 4:28 pm

LMAO! So many sour men in here.

Amazing how similar Kalisnakov and Zoom Rader often sound... Hmmmm, interesting

Trini Represent!

Kalisnakov

Postby Kalisnakov » June 23rd, 2016, 4:38 pm

Lol I'm not ZR bro,it's jus I don't consider jump n wave n wine on the road a "song" or talent,that's jus me.......

gurmuk

Postby gurmuk » June 23rd, 2016, 5:21 pm

Sat is not pleased

Postby Team Loco » June 23rd, 2016, 7:11 pm

Dont like the dude but respect to him for representing us

Postby De Dragon » June 23rd, 2016, 10:24 pm

Good for Machel, even if you don't like/identify with the music.

Postby meccalli » June 24th, 2016, 9:10 am

Congrats to him. The person in my mind that's represented Trinidad and the region together best as a musician was David Rudder.

moti

Postby moti » June 24th, 2016, 10:16 am

Redman wrote:
BRZ wrote:

Just like Sat.
what else can he say?
nothing of value

What you want them to sing? Rum is meh lover or the cat lick the butter?
Soca is the best music to represent Trinidad and Tobago.

Postby Dizzy28 » June 24th, 2016, 10:24 am

moti wrote:
Redman wrote:
BRZ wrote:

Just like Sat.
what else can he say?
nothing of value

Ever looked at the lyrics of your average soca song??
Apart from Voice this year almost all of the past 10 years of soca monarch and road march have been about waving a rag and or jumping on a stage or in the road.

pyromaniax

Postby pyromaniax » June 24th, 2016, 10:35 am

moti wrote:
Redman wrote:
BRZ wrote:

Just like Sat.
what else can he say?
nothing of value

Ever looked at the lyrics of your average soca song??
Apart from Voice this year almost all of the past 10 years of soca monarch and road march have been about waving a rag and or jumping on a stage or in the road.

what about "On My Way" from machel? that is a brilliant song

Postby Redman » June 24th, 2016, 4:35 pm

moti wrote:
Redman wrote:
BRZ wrote:

Just like Sat.
what else can he say?
nothing of value

He would be ZR.
As an continuation to BRZ comment on zr s post

While I am not in any way a fan of the Person...Montano has done exceptionally well to promote the art form.
Deserves all that he gets.

Postby zoom rader » June 25th, 2016, 1:44 am

Seems any bully can walk into Whitehouse these days. I yet to see Sam Boodram in a fight or get charged.

Postby Morpheus » June 25th, 2016, 2:28 am

^^Hard luck.

Postby j.o.e » June 25th, 2016, 5:30 am

Who is Sam Boodram ?

Postby zoom rader » June 25th, 2016, 6:46 am

j.o.e wrote:Who is Sam Boodram ?

A highly respected classical Trin indo artiste who does not beat up people or get into fights.

Postby Morpheus » June 25th, 2016, 8:34 am

That gonna burn you for the rest of your life ent?

Postby K74T » June 25th, 2016, 8:49 am

More than puncheon