PNM in Gov't(2015-2020)

Re: PNM in Gov't - 3 AND AH HALF YEARS LATER!!!!

Postby The_Honourable » May 13th, 2019, 7:50 pm

tv6 panel discussion

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 13th, 2019, 7:53 pm

Tv6 and cnc3 swap employees oarr

Postby sMASH » May 13th, 2019, 7:54 pm

cnc3 get buss mark mark bassant and urvashi, sigs and judy gone tv6

Postby zoom rader » May 13th, 2019, 7:58 pm

Rovin wrote:announced today : 200 police motorbikes were bought ... we cud gee dem ah bligh fuh dat 1
Yamaha dealer pockets filled

All in all Mr Greens is a good soilder and glad he make a lil change.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » May 13th, 2019, 8:10 pm

sMASH wrote:cnc3 get buss mark mark bassant and urvashi, sigs and judy gone tv6

Yeah what is with that, is the salary better at tv6?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 13th, 2019, 8:13 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:

If the salary better why mark et al leave?

Postby sMASH » May 13th, 2019, 8:16 pm

cnc3 nearly had fite...

Postby sMASH » May 13th, 2019, 8:18 pm

Rovin wrote:announced today : 200 police motorbikes were bought ... we cud gee dem ah bligh fuh dat 1

50 to go on the road, and 150 to cannibalize for spare part.

Postby Gladiator » May 13th, 2019, 8:34 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
Numb3r4 wrote:

CNC3 is a politically driven media house... only half wits like Hema would stay there.

Postby zoom rader » May 13th, 2019, 9:27 pm

Gladiator wrote:
Numb3r4 wrote:

CNC3 is a politically driven media house... only half wits like Hema would stay there.
Bro all the media houses are PNM owned.

Even tuner is PNM , Dwane and the mods are pro PNM

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 14th, 2019, 7:01 am

Gladiator wrote:
Numb3r4 wrote:

not only cnc3 nah

Postby pugboy » May 14th, 2019, 7:42 am

tbh the Yamahas are the only ones standing up to the abuse a road bike takes
not much choices either, they had fancy bmws with single side axle which didnt last

sMASH wrote:

Postby pugboy » May 14th, 2019, 7:44 am

yeah but she was a clear and present unc during pp days though, maybe it was the bed licks from the ram

monkey know which tree to climb

Gladiator wrote:
Numb3r4 wrote:

death365

Postby death365 » May 14th, 2019, 8:18 am

boy ah did see how them bmw mash up ... trinis again , take one of the best police bike an kill it :roll:

pugboy wrote:tbh the Yamahas are the only ones standing up to the abuse a road bike takes
not much choices either, they had fancy bmws with single side axle which didnt last

sMASH wrote:

Postby sMASH » May 14th, 2019, 9:36 am

death365 wrote:boy ah did see how them bmw mash up ... trinis again , take one of the best police bike an kill it :roll:

pugboy wrote:tbh the Yamahas are the only ones standing up to the abuse a road bike takes

sMASH wrote:

probably was the road conditions.

wingnut

Postby wingnut » May 14th, 2019, 9:56 am

sMASH wrote:

I believe they said its chinese bikes

So is more like 200 disposables

Postby zoom rader » May 14th, 2019, 2:56 pm

wingnut wrote:
sMASH wrote:

I believe they said its chinese bikes

So is more like 200 disposables
If true those won't last a week

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » May 14th, 2019, 3:57 pm

The chiney raping this country with no grease.

Postby Les Bain » May 14th, 2019, 4:48 pm

At least when the Police tell you they have no vehicles to respond to your call, you'll know they not lying anymore.

Postby sMASH » May 15th, 2019, 5:12 am

single use bikes...

Postby Rovin » May 15th, 2019, 11:37 am

d chinese are all about business , they finance u expecting u will pay back but if u cyar pay then jes like a bank they will seize what they gave u plus u lose more than u thought

dont know anything about motorbikes so i google "reputable chinese motorcycle brands" & i not seeing any familiar brand names ....

Postby Ben_spanna » May 15th, 2019, 12:48 pm

vaiostation wrote:The chiney raping this country with no grease.

The current government is using the Chinese to rape the country.. from construction to housewares.......with so many of the construction companies being partly owned by China itself and not having to account for anything what else you expect?

Postby sMASH » May 15th, 2019, 2:57 pm

Remember fatca, where sources of funds and transfers need to be traceable?
What if, the other reason to go Chinese is that the money transfers aren't as closely monitored ....

Postby zoom rader » May 15th, 2019, 3:49 pm

Rovin wrote:d chinese are all about business , they finance u expecting u will pay back but if u cyar pay then jes like a bank they will seize what they gave u plus u lose more than u thought

dont know anything about motorbikes so i google "reputable chinese motorcycle brands" & i not seeing any familiar brand names ....
Chinese bikes are rubbish, they fall apart on you. Some are carbon copies of brand name bikes but uses cheaper materials. You could get year out of it and then everything starts to vibrates and self destruct.

Postby hydroep » May 15th, 2019, 3:53 pm

‘Eat cake’ from Colm
Gabrielle Jamela Hosein

FINANCE MINISTER Colm Imbert might as well have said, “let them eat cake.” The phrase has historically symbolised disregard for struggling masses ketching to afford even basic necessities by suggesting more expensive alternatives out of reach except to the rich. It’s his buoyancy in the face of obvious, everyday economic challenges that smacks with such disdain.

Commonsense tells us that unemployment has significantly risen, and this has led to contraction across the economy. Statistics can’t disagree with commonsense as we haven’t collected unemployment data since the end of 2017. Are “revenue and expenditure now in broad alignment?” If you are spending more than you are bringing in, doesn’t even an ordinary housewife know that this is mere robber talk?

When our children look back at this moment of creating a “solid foundation on which transformation and growth would now be anchored,” will they see creation of an economy with the capacity for self-sustaining growth? Currently, 63 per cent of government revenue comes from taxing agriculture, manufacturing, construction, finance and insurance, but the majority of foreign exchange comes from energy. Non-renewable fossil fuels, converted into state spending, corruption and patron-clientelism, enable us to sustain our import dependence, but what happens when prices fluctuate or when the fields empty?

Will there be less reliance on foreign investment and more on investment supported by national savings? Commonsense also tells us that increasing our deficit increases our debt and decreases savings, leaving our children to pay in the future for politicians to gallery today.

Finally, will they see a more resilient and diversified economy? Where? How? Construction is a standard stimulus strategy which assumes that putting more money into men’s hands, as the sector is 80 per cent male, will lead to equitable development, sustainable diversification and socio-economic resilience.

Is this a valid hypothesis in TT? We don’t even collect the sex-disaggregated data to track the unequal impact of such a strategy on men and women, and on trickle-out across communities. When the construction money disappears like rivers in dry season, what will contractors do?

Experience tells us that this sector will then fall into some of the highest levels of unemployment, with predictable effects on man-woman relations, family insecurity, and domestic violence. Luckily, as money is being released, this will happen after the election, ensuring the local contractocracy plays the role it always has in financing an incumbent’s campaign.

To draw on Caribbean thinker William Demas, who I knew as a child, will my own daughter see structural transformation of the economy with growth of inter-industry linkages, reduction of dualism (an offshore and inshore economy with different realities), and complete eradication of open and disguised unemployment?

Economic stabilisation of our kind relies not only on necessary belt-tightening, but on young graduates remaining unemployed and supported by parents because joblessness is real and entrepreneurship isn’t an easy or always realistic fix.

It relies on labour becoming increasingly precarious as health and other long struggled-for benefits are cut by the new regime of short-term contracts even for long-term public servants.

It relies on hospitals, prisons, courts, social services, and schools simply not working as they should for so many. It relies on people surviving through the informal economy.

It’s great to hear that food inflation was kept low, but what does that mean when local fruit prices are so high? It’s joyous to hear the Finance Minister pat himself on the back, but what are NGOs saying about the everyday suffering they see?

I know self-congratulation is the key language of the hustings, but I’m tired of it before it’s even properly begun. There are areas of revenue and GDP increase, there’s profit at the banks, and there are big projects to disperse the dollars, but there’s also a reality in households at odds with the table-thumping in the House. It’s like how we report 98 per cent literacy when any teacher can tell you that’s not the true story.

There’s no updated survey of living conditions and no household budget survey data to turn to in order to empirically justify a story of turnaround on the ground. I suppose it’s too much to ask for a little humility just in case those who can’t afford bread are also not yet celebrating with cake.

https://newsday.co.tt/2019/05/15/eat-cake-from-colm/

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » May 15th, 2019, 6:53 pm

Rovin wrote:d chinese are all about business , they finance u expecting u will pay back but if u cyar pay then jes like a bank they will seize what they gave u plus u lose more than u thought

Chinese bikes are rubbish, they fall apart on you. Some are carbon copies of brand name bikes but uses cheaper materials. You could get year out of it and then everything starts to vibrates and self destruct.

Didn't we have and are currently having a similar experience with Chinese PTSC buses?

Postby Les Bain » May 15th, 2019, 8:13 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:

Didn't we have and are currently having a similar experience with Chinese PTSC buses?

I don't think you'll ever see them Chinese buses retiring to the excursion bus industry.

Postby Ben_spanna » May 15th, 2019, 8:21 pm

hydroep wrote:
‘Eat cake’ from Colm
Gabrielle Jamela Hosein

FINANCE MINISTER Colm Imbert might as well have said, “let them eat cake.” The phrase has historically symbolised disregard for struggling masses ketching to afford even basic necessities by suggesting more expensive alternatives out of reach except to the rich. It’s his buoyancy in the face of obvious, everyday economic challenges that smacks with such disdain.

Commonsense tells us that unemployment has significantly risen, and this has led to contraction across the economy. Statistics can’t disagree with commonsense as we haven’t collected unemployment data since the end of 2017. Are “revenue and expenditure now in broad alignment?” If you are spending more than you are bringing in, doesn’t even an ordinary housewife know that this is mere robber talk?

When our children look back at this moment of creating a “solid foundation on which transformation and growth would now be anchored,” will they see creation of an economy with the capacity for self-sustaining growth? Currently, 63 per cent of government revenue comes from taxing agriculture, manufacturing, construction, finance and insurance, but the majority of foreign exchange comes from energy. Non-renewable fossil fuels, converted into state spending, corruption and patron-clientelism, enable us to sustain our import dependence, but what happens when prices fluctuate or when the fields empty?

Will there be less reliance on foreign investment and more on investment supported by national savings? Commonsense also tells us that increasing our deficit increases our debt and decreases savings, leaving our children to pay in the future for politicians to gallery today.

Finally, will they see a more resilient and diversified economy? Where? How? Construction is a standard stimulus strategy which assumes that putting more money into men’s hands, as the sector is 80 per cent male, will lead to equitable development, sustainable diversification and socio-economic resilience.

Is this a valid hypothesis in TT? We don’t even collect the sex-disaggregated data to track the unequal impact of such a strategy on men and women, and on trickle-out across communities. When the construction money disappears like rivers in dry season, what will contractors do?

Experience tells us that this sector will then fall into some of the highest levels of unemployment, with predictable effects on man-woman relations, family insecurity, and domestic violence. Luckily, as money is being released, this will happen after the election, ensuring the local contractocracy plays the role it always has in financing an incumbent’s campaign.

To draw on Caribbean thinker William Demas, who I knew as a child, will my own daughter see structural transformation of the economy with growth of inter-industry linkages, reduction of dualism (an offshore and inshore economy with different realities), and complete eradication of open and disguised unemployment?

Economic stabilisation of our kind relies not only on necessary belt-tightening, but on young graduates remaining unemployed and supported by parents because joblessness is real and entrepreneurship isn’t an easy or always realistic fix.

It relies on labour becoming increasingly precarious as health and other long struggled-for benefits are cut by the new regime of short-term contracts even for long-term public servants.

It relies on hospitals, prisons, courts, social services, and schools simply not working as they should for so many. It relies on people surviving through the informal economy.

It’s great to hear that food inflation was kept low, but what does that mean when local fruit prices are so high? It’s joyous to hear the Finance Minister pat himself on the back, but what are NGOs saying about the everyday suffering they see?

I know self-congratulation is the key language of the hustings, but I’m tired of it before it’s even properly begun. There are areas of revenue and GDP increase, there’s profit at the banks, and there are big projects to disperse the dollars, but there’s also a reality in households at odds with the table-thumping in the House. It’s like how we report 98 per cent literacy when any teacher can tell you that’s not the true story.

There’s no updated survey of living conditions and no household budget survey data to turn to in order to empirically justify a story of turnaround on the ground. I suppose it’s too much to ask for a little humility just in case those who can’t afford bread are also not yet celebrating with cake.

And sadly come Election Day those same ignorant of society that have been mistreated and who have never had any of their promises fulfilled will STILl stupidly go and vote their people back in.. and then when their own children are gunned down and killed daily you expect anyone to feel sympathy for those people? Faak dem and let them stay right there as friendly neigourhood scum.

Postby De Dragon » May 15th, 2019, 8:27 pm

hydroep wrote:
‘Eat cake’ from Colm
Gabrielle Jamela Hosein

PNM folk will look at the article, see the author, assume she is Indo and thus anti-government and move on. Worse, sheep like Tokesy Redman etc. will actually spread it.

Postby Ben_spanna » May 15th, 2019, 8:29 pm

Not sheep , just ignorant people who will never change ...