Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby 88sins » March 20th, 2018, 12:10 pm

car wrote:This is exactly what they want if you refuse to let them in. They will put you in the highest tax bracket and the rough estimate will be higher than what it should have been. You will then have to query it and eventually have people enter your house to correct it. In the mean time you will have to pay the higher tax bracket cost while the query is being done for the correction. Easier to let them in to get the correct info without the hassle.

actually easier to bring useless politicians to an end.
thing is tho, if their estimate is flawed, & you paid it then queried & it's proven to be erroneous, you supposed to get a nice sizable refund depending on how long you paid at the overinflated rate & how long the query & adjustment process takes to complete.

Keyword there being supposed

Postby 88sins » March 20th, 2018, 1:33 pm

ZxZ wrote:Is a comparative process. If you in the middle of a street where most houses are 3/2BR+1Baths, they cant go and put your house as an executive 5Bed with ensuite baths, because at the end of the day, a chartered valuer for the region checking them over.

and dis is more horsesheit, because my home isn't the same as my neighbor's. It might have more or less rooms, might be much larger or much smaller, or older & staring to fall apart, mine may not have pipeborne water, A/C, etc

TriP

Postby TriP » March 29th, 2018, 6:58 pm

State free to collect property taxes after winning case

http://newsday.co.tt/2018/03/29/state-f ... ng-case-2/

A High Court judge has dismissed former UNC minister Devant Maharaj's challenge of the enforcement of the tax.

Maharaj, last year, challenged the legality of the Commissioner of Valuations’ decision to “require all property owners to submit a Valuation Return Form (VRF)”, saying it was illegal and infringed his rights.

Justice Jacqueline Wilson on Thursday dismissed Maharaj's case and ordered that he pay the state's costs.

Maharaj was represented by Anand Ramlogan, SC, Alvin Pariagsingh and Jayanti Lutchmedial. The commissioner was represented by Deborah Peake,SC and Ravi Heffes-Doon while Senior Counsel Fyard Hosein, Rishi Dass and Sasha Bridgemohansingh appeared for the AG.

Maharaj, last year, challenged the legality of the Commissioner of Valuations’ decision to “require all property owners to submit a Valuation Return Form (VRF)”, saying it was illegal and infringed his rights.

In her ruling, Wilson said it was clear from the commissioner’s evidence that the submission of the VRF was a voluntary exercise.

She said Maharaj’s claim wavered between challenging the validity of the VRF and seeking clarification as to its nature.

She was critical of what she said were “ambivalent statements” by Maharaj, together with the way in which he sought the court’s intervention before waiting for the commission to respond to a pre-action protocol letter.

https://www.finance.gov.tt/wp-content/u ... ty-Tax.pdf

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 29th, 2018, 10:23 pm

Daz it deh....imballs gonna let loose soon

Postby Country_Bookie » March 29th, 2018, 10:44 pm

So if I submit a Valuation Return Form, do I still need to allow anyone inside my home to inspect my property?

Postby sMASH » March 29th, 2018, 10:45 pm

only if they send u the notice that they are coming to value your property.

Postby sMASH » March 29th, 2018, 10:47 pm

TriP wrote:State free to collect property taxes after winning case

http://newsday.co.tt/2018/03/29/state-f ... ng-case-2/

A High Court judge has dismissed former UNC minister Devant Maharaj's challenge of the enforcement of the tax.

Justice Jacqueline Wilson on Thursday dismissed Maharaj's case and ordered that he pay the state's costs.

Maharaj was represented by Anand Ramlogan, SC, Alvin Pariagsingh and Jayanti Lutchmedial. The commissioner was represented by Deborah Peake,SC and Ravi Heffes-Doon while Senior Counsel Fyard Hosein, Rishi Dass and Sasha Bridgemohansingh appeared for the AG.

In her ruling, Wilson said it was clear from the commissioner’s evidence that the submission of the VRF was a voluntary exercise.

She said Maharaj’s claim wavered between challenging the validity of the VRF and seeking clarification as to its nature.

She was critical of what she said were “ambivalent statements” by Maharaj, together with the way in which he sought the court’s intervention before waiting for the commission to respond to a pre-action protocol letter.

https://www.finance.gov.tt/wp-content/u ... ty-Tax.pdf

that was not a battle to be fought in a courtroom. that needed to be settled outside on the pavement.

Postby hydroep » March 29th, 2018, 11:32 pm

Hmmph...more money fuh dem 4-kers to waste...:|

Postby The_Honourable » April 18th, 2018, 12:45 am

The penalties for putting inaccurate information on your Property Tax and Land Valuation Forms are too high.

During the debate on the Valuation of Land Amendment Bill 2018, Senator Wade Mark told the Upper House that the oppressive clause cannot remain in the final Bill.

He argued that the burden would now be on the poor man, who will be jailed for not paying the taxes.

In wrapping up the debate, the Attorney General sought to put the fines into perspective.

AG Faris Al-Rawi told the Upper House that there is a need for the Government to generate revenue, and this must be paid across the board by everyone.

Postby sMASH » April 18th, 2018, 7:19 am

soo, the justification for high fines is revenue generation?

great is the PNM!!!!

Postby 88sins » April 18th, 2018, 9:06 am

so arse wari know everything have a cost. & speaking so emphatically about pavements & potholes. gtk

Seems a shame he's clueless that taxes are levied upon a nation in exchange for it's people getting some sort of benefit for their tax dollar, be that a paved & maintained road, drain or pavement or anything else.
To demand & expect people to blindly comply & pay a property tax, that will benefit neither the property owner nor his property, for the sole reason that is their justification (we hadda geh mornee & doh mind we eh doin squat to earn it we go call it revenue) is just stupid.

Restructure the bill, allow the regional corps to collect & utilize said tax dollars in their respective communities on restorative, maintenance & development projects, have annual audits to verify income & expenditure, & in case of a revenue surplus in a region it can go to the state, & in the case of a deficit in another region the state can inject any surplus funding collected from other regional corps.

Postby nemisis » April 18th, 2018, 9:08 am

sMASH wrote:soo, the justification for high fines is revenue generation?

great is the PNM!!!!

What did you think those fines were meant to reduce or curtail bad behavior?

Postby sMASH » April 18th, 2018, 9:24 am

but they actually said it out loud.... breaking kayfabe. at least pretend not to be predatory

Postby nemisis » April 18th, 2018, 9:47 am

^^^ For what reason? them pretending or not doesnt't change the fact of what it is. Do you feel better if they make up some bull sheit excuse when any half educated idiot can see it for what it is?

Having a property does not automatically make you a cash cow and that is what needs to be addressed. Same way with fines if you careful you can avoid it most times, there must be a way for individuals who are not of means to avoid it as well legitimately.

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » April 18th, 2018, 10:00 am

great is the PNM!!!!

Why they taking so long to implement this tax ? Should have been in place months ago.Trini like too much free thing...free mail delivery, drain cleaning, rodent control, disaster relief, etc. Yet still cars selling like hot bread to clog our already congested roadways.

Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby nemisis » April 18th, 2018, 10:19 am

^^^ who buying these hot bread cars though? How many minimum wage employees you know buying new or foreign used? I know a good amount and none own a vehicle less than 10 years old.

“ I shouldn’t have used the word own more like posses”

Postby 88sins » April 18th, 2018, 11:26 am

randolphinshan wrote:

great is the PNM!!!!

Why they taking so long to implement this tax ? Should have been in place months ago.Trini like too much free thing...free mail delivery, drain cleaning, rodent control, disaster relief, etc. Yet still cars selling like hot bread to clog our already congested roadways.

Mail delivery isn't free, that's why we buy postage
Cleaning waterways & drains isn't free, but it isn't the public's responsibility to pay for it either. That falls squarely on the shoulders of 2 state bodies, regional corporations & WASA. Don't believe it? Run a line & divert water from a drain into a pond on your property & see how fast you get fined for stealing water, as well as a bill for it.
The average homeowner actually does more, & a better job at it, at keeping vermin (rats, roaches, mosquitoes, flies, etc) out of their property than anything any state body could say they did.
It's their duty to provide for citizens in event of natural disaster. It's one of the duties they accept responsibility for the moment thet run for office.

If ppl buying vehicles to improve their quality of life, & you got an issue with that, you'll have an issue for the rest of your life your. Most people have some sort of ambition, however small the goal, & not everybody is happy to peddle a bmx, or to wait on a bus (if it comes on time)

TriP

Postby TriP » April 22nd, 2018, 6:27 pm

22-4-18 - this morning express

https://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/lo ... 24aa2.html

PENSIONERS will not be exempt from paying property tax once the Property Tax (Amendment) Bill is passed.

This was the position of Minister in the Ministry of Finance Allyson West as she responded to a question from Opposition Senator Wade Mark during the debate on the bill in the Senate on Friday evening.

Mark had questioned whether a committee would be set up to deal with people who could not afford to pay the property tax like pensioners and other persons.

However, West said being a pensioner did not automatically mean a person cannot afford to pay the tax.

Postby The_Honourable » April 22nd, 2018, 11:45 pm

Minister: Squatters to also pay Property Tax

Squatters, other illegal land occupants and people with “less than perfect” property titles will have to pay the upcoming property tax along with other citizens, says Minister in Finance Allyson West.

West confirmed the situation in yesterday’s Senate debate of amendments to the Valuation of Land law.

Debate will follow on amendments to Property Tax law for the tax to be collected.

On concerns about people who hold land certificates, but aren’t owners, West said, “Yes, the intention is that anybody who falls under the definition of owner, whether legal owner or occupier, will have a tax liability.”

“It doesn’t matter that you’re not the legal owner of the land or (you are) a squatter, as someone occupying property, you’re also enjoying the benefits of services provided by the regional corporations of the State.

“Why should you, because you’re illegally occupying land or because you’re occupying land under a less than perfect title, why should you not contribute to payment for those services? That’s Government’s position. We’re intending to assess properties like that to tax and to collect taxes from people in that area. I’ll deal with that when I come to the Property Tax Legislation.”

In an upcoming debate on the Property Tax, West said she’d also detail how the system will work for squatters who have certificates of comfort and those who don’t.

West assured upcoming land valuations won’t be bad and the property tax— based on annual rental value—won’t be high, I feel the annual rentable values won’t be unreasonable.”

She said concerns that elderly people wouldn’t be able to afford the tax were unfounded, also since the legislation provides relief for those unable to pay. West said her recent quote on increase of fines for non-submission of valuation forms—that “$500 was nothing”—was meant in the context that people often pay high prices for Carnival fetes and costumes.

“I’m not saying ($500) isn’t a lot, but it’s not enough of a deterrent on non-submission,” she added.

West said Government had heard other senators’ concerns on the minister’s power to appoint a tribunal—to hear objections to valuations and the tax—and amendments were being proposed on this.

Source: http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2018-04- ... operty-tax

D Diesel Report

Postby D Diesel Report » April 23rd, 2018, 12:10 am

Man probably wishing they were time travellers so they could teleport to 2025 (because Bawlhead winning 2020, COP just said it going solo) and not worry about all this stupidness. :drinking: :drinking:

Postby sMASH » April 23rd, 2018, 6:14 am

non submission is 500? i think
the increased the mistake on the form to 5000.
and then u still have to pay the tax.

the relief isnt any government grant. if it IS approved, it is a deferral of the tax levied on the property, where the subsequent owners/occupiers would have to clear that debt.

so, if u cant pay it, u go to them, tell them ur stories, if they think that is true, they say that the tax is deferred, and every year it is calculated, tallied, and it accrues so that any other person occupying the land, will have to pay it off... in addition to paying the tax for their duration.

Postby hydroep » April 23rd, 2018, 8:08 am

Collecting tax from squatters...yeah right, that is just to show the population "they going after everybody." But in reality no Government officer going to risk getting planass to collect a $ 20, just like they eh going to jumbee no bigwig and risk losing their job — or worse yet — their life...:|

Postby Dave » April 23rd, 2018, 8:13 am

Collecting tax from squatters is a sure way not to get re-elected

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » April 23rd, 2018, 7:20 pm

To be fair, if the govt automatically gave senior citizens a bligh on the tax, the amount of fraud that would happen would be insane, far more than the usual amount for city/corporation assessments and stamp duty.

Under section 23 of the Property tax act

23. (1) The Board may upon the application of the owner of
land authorise the deferral of the payment of the assessed tax on
the land on the grounds of the impoverished condition of the
owner and his inability to improve his financial position
significantly by reason of age, impaired health or other special
circumstances, that undue hardship to that owner would
otherwise ensue.
(2) An application under subsection (1) shall be made in
writing in the prescribed form and shall be accompanied by
evidence that the applicant—
(a) is in receipt of—
(i) a public assistance grant;
(ii) a disability grant;
(iii) a senior citizens’ pension; or
(iv) a Trinidad and Tobago conditional cash
transfer card,
from the State; or
(b) does not receive an annual income exceeding
the maximum amount specified in section 3 of
the Senior Citizens’ Pension Act.
(3) A certificate under subsection (2) shall be conclusive
of the owner’s inability to pay tax assessed under this Act.

Postby 88sins » April 23rd, 2018, 10:20 pm

What bligh? Its only a deferral, & only if certain qualifications are satisfied. And the deferred tax will be payable by the next person to take possession of the property.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » April 23rd, 2018, 11:22 pm

You are correct, its just a deferral, so you will have to pay if you decide to sell or gift the property via a deed of conveyance or gift. The exception is death of the owner, where the heirs are also incapable of paying the tax.

27. (1) Subject to subsection (2), any period of deferment
specified in an authorisation issued under section 23 shall determine
on the death of the owner concerned and thereupon the tax in respect
of which deferment was authorised shall become immediately due
and payable out of the estate of the deceased owner.
(2) Where the Board is satisfied, having regard to the
impoverished condition of the successors in title of the estate and
his inability to improve his financial position significantly by
reason of age, impaired health or other special circumstances,
that undue hardship to that successor in title would otherwise
ensue, the Board may recommend that the President authorise
the total or partial exemption of the tax payable up to the death
of the deceased owner.

Postby De Dragon » April 24th, 2018, 12:28 pm

TriP wrote:22-4-18 - this morning express

https://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/lo ... 24aa2.html

PENSIONERS will not be exempt from paying property tax once the Property Tax (Amendment) Bill is passed.

This was the position of Minister in the Ministry of Finance Allyson West as she responded to a question from Opposition Senator Wade Mark during the debate on the bill in the Senate on Friday evening.

Mark had questioned whether a committee would be set up to deal with people who could not afford to pay the property tax like pensioners and other persons.

However, West said being a pensioner did not automatically mean a person cannot afford to pay the tax.

This not the same manheaded one who say Trinis spend $800 for fete tickets, and 10K for costume so dey could afford 5K penalty? I could never figure out that logic. Unless every single home owner paid for high priced tickets/costumes, then she talking ah heap ah sheit.

Postby 88sins » April 24th, 2018, 5:55 pm

well in her defense

she is a pnm trained jackass, so she should be expected to bray pnm taught bs

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 24th, 2018, 9:53 pm

I real interested in the squatters paying this tax...wanna see how beethamites would be charged

Postby The_Honourable » April 24th, 2018, 10:07 pm

But Imbert say last year it makes no sense going after the squatters because the costs involved collecting them outweighs the low taxes collected from them.