Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

ismedave

Postby ismedave » September 25th, 2009, 7:05 am

Despite various protests in certain communities concerning this property tax, the Gov't still going ahead with it. This just shows that we are not being governed by democracy! This is dictatorship by the PNM. If the whole country decides not to pay these property taxes, would the Gov't lock the whole country up in jail? Some ppl would just talk and over analyze the situation and simply do nothing, but if the entire country could just shut down all businesses and seriously head towards the red house and protest, it would at least have an impact. Trinidad is a small country, so everyone could afford to come to an agreement and head a serious protest to voice our concerns!

Postby sMASH » September 25th, 2009, 8:08 am

bushwakka wrote:

is there really such a thing as lobbying and referendum by the public it TnT?

ah say, the only time population will revolt is if dey ban carnival

( this is in general and not directed at bushwakka)

the only time these things work would be when persons follow through. who are the people, you and i. when we whine and say trini's wouldn't do any thing, the trini's that need to do sumtin is you self.

when u say 'dat wouldn't work', it is the only legal way we have and works wonders in other societies. the only way it does not send the message is when not enough people joining in. so when some people decide to lobby for a change, and u refuse to join in the cause, u should propose another legal way of obtaining change. as for now, that is the only legal way we have, so we need to COME TOGETHER.

think about it, saying that it does not work, does not does not benefit the demonstrations nor does it do any thing to change that which is being demonstrated against. so all u really doin is makin noise for no purpose. if by sayin 'it doesn't work' u tryin to dissuade people from joining in, then u is part of the problem

Slow Poke

Postby Slow Poke » September 25th, 2009, 8:34 am

there is going o be a mass international protest taking place on sunday 9.00am -11.00am, this was sent to me via email.........

To be clear on the message we at Supertrinis united are organising this rally. Please forward or explain to all ur friends to get on board.
Its time we got serious about this.

1) The main reason is to voice our rejection of the political landscape as it exists presently. To reject the notion that the performance of the govt and the two opposition parties are adequate and acceptable. The govt is not performing its functions satisfactorily and fails to understand its role in society or its responsibility to its citizens.

The opposition parties have also failed in their roles and responsibilities to society.

2) To offer ourselves as the facilitators to reconcile the two opposition parties. Our country needs unity, since we cannot function in a 3 party system, and the opposition's failure to recognize that and unite almost a full 2 years after the last election shows a failure of the leaders to appreciate that or how dire the situation for our citizens has become.

3) To show our rejection of the historical approach to politics in Trinbago. Our politics has been about personalities and never about policies. It is time to declare that our society needs to mature and start acting its age. Time for us to reject the well-worn tactics of divide and conquer, to show that we will no longer support the divisive politics, and the inability of leadership of the opposition parties to unite.

We hereby subscribe to the change in approach where the opposition supporters unite from the bottom up, since the old techniques of uniting the opposition leaders and their supporters follow is NOT working.

4) To show a united front with our countrymen around the world who have been driven from their homeland for various reasons. To show we reject the notion that the opinions of our sisters, brothers, mothers, fathers, our family who live abroad does not matter.

To show that we are united in our birthright as citizens of Trinidad & Tobago to aspire for something better for our country. We reject the idea that this path our nation is on...is the best we can achieve. To show we reject the notion put forward by the govt that trinis living abroad feel they are better than the locals, and that expats do not care about Trinbago except as a holiday spot at carnival time.

5) To send a clear message to the youth of our nation, the 60% of our population between the ages of 18 – 35, that it is time to wake the sleeping giant. That it is time to accept responsibility for our destiny. That there is still hope, and there is still a chance for change. That we must not accept the mental conditioning, the brainwashing of a govt system over the last 45 years…that says you don’t matter. That says that nothing you do will ever have an effect. That is the tactics of the status quo….who want to mentally beat you into submission…to make u give up before you even start. To show that we are stronger mentally than that, and we will not fall for their political games any more.

6) To make Trinbago realize that once you have the same inputs…you will have the same outputs. You cannot expect a different result for this country, if you keep putting in the same ingredients. It is not that they are not trying to change things…it is that they are incapable of changing things. It is beyond the ability of the leaders. We recognize that the current crop of leadership in this country are mismatched to the challenges this country faces in the 21st century. That they are employing tried and tested methods that worked to limited success in the past, but are no longer relevant……just like the leadership.

7) To show we recognize that this country needs to EVOLVE. To show we won’t implode and self destruct to the social ills that plague us, and that we are capable from learning from our mistakes and growing. We need to adapt or we will surely go the way of the dinosaur…and become extinct.

8) To make our society realize that as long as we are divided along lines of race, class, gender, sexual preference, age, residency…as long as we keep focusing on our differences, and not on our similarities….as long as we do not see that we are all connected, that the greater good can be served if we focus on doing what is best for the country…instead of what is best for me…we will continue to head down this path of destruction the govt has painted for us.

9) To show the govt that we see thru their apparent attempts to mislead us with political rhetoric. That the 20/20 vision seems nothing more than a slogan. That the priorities of this govt seem not to be in the best welfare of ALL the people. That we need a leader who is open to fresh ideas and is sensitive. We need a leader who understands our own national anthem…â€

Slow Poke

Postby Slow Poke » September 25th, 2009, 8:35 am

Since both Opposition parties lack the leadership to recognize what their job is...what their responsibilities to us voters are...we're going to tell them.

We are organizing a RALLY of sorts, mainly cuz i hate the word protest, and it will be the 1st of its kind. There will representatives at 4 areas: London, New York, Toronto and here in T&T at embassies around the world.

At each point we will be meeting at the exact same time around the world in various time lines to voice our disapproval of the govt's handling of the country on various fronts (which we will outline), as well as our disapproval of the performance of the BOTH opposition parties for reasons we will outline as well.

This is a NON-POLITICAL PARTY EVENT . There will be NO banners or promotion for either UNC or COP....and certainly not the PNM. This is a RALLY of the electorate who wish to outline what our concerns are and to draw international attention to our grievances.

This movement has become necessary for this nation to move forward. We need to educate the people as what our country NEEDS...not what it WANTS.

The tentative date we are working with for the event is Sunday Sept 27th 2009. Using the internet, we will use webcams to link up all 4 protests around the world and produce a video of such for utube and the local media.

hottgirl

Postby hottgirl » September 25th, 2009, 9:06 am

janfar wrote:
Humes wrote:Online petitions have been changing the world since their inception. Authorities never ignore online petitions.

The average homeowner is going to have to pay between $20,000 and $40,000 in property tax.

And they found some children in a container.

How did you come to that figure???

Im seeing ppl quoting ~600-1000. Some saying bout 3000, and now 20-40k. How is this calculation really made?

Can anyone clarify, has it been done in another thread and I did not see? Anyone???

that figure is inaccurate! You pay 3% of the annual taxable value....they put a rental value on your house and then u pay 3% of that value.

Postby SmokeyGTi » September 25th, 2009, 10:24 am

so...lets say...

house can be rented for $10,000.00 per month. (assume it's a nice big plush two-storey).

that means, annual rent is $120,000.00
3% of that is $3,600.00

which isn't that bad.

pensioners will feel the pinch the most though.

hottgirl

Postby hottgirl » September 25th, 2009, 10:28 am

SmokeyGTi wrote:so...lets say...

house can be rented for $10,000.00 per month. (assume it's a nice big plush two-storey).

that means, annual rent is $120,000.00
3% of that is $3,600.00

which isn't that bad.

pensioners will feel the pinch the most though.

exactly! i think what a lot of ppl are angry abt is that its a huge percentage increase. I don't think the gov't considered ppl on fixed income when they announced this measure.

Also this wld mean that goods/service wld increase because businessmen would try and recover the amount that they have to pay in tax. Don't think the gov't is considering that as well.

Postby janfar » September 25th, 2009, 10:30 am

SmokeyGTi, thats wrong. Its 120000 less 10%

so its 120000-10%=108000

3% of 108000=$3240 per year.

= $3240/12= $270/month.

hottgirl

Postby hottgirl » September 25th, 2009, 10:32 am

its only less the 10% if you are not renting out your house.

Postby janfar » September 25th, 2009, 10:37 am

Nope, the document says...

For residential and commercial properties the ATV is the annual rental income 'expected' to be earned on such a property less 10%.

So it doesnt matter whether you live there or rent it out, the ATV will be calclated notheless and 10% will be deducted.

I still hate the tax though.

ismedave

Postby ismedave » September 25th, 2009, 10:47 am

DE POINT IS!!!!....yuh hadda fork out extra $$$ to pay on sumtin that bring forth ZEROOOOOO benefits! There are various areas in this country that only get water once for de week or sometimes once for de month!! If you weigh this additional tax against the benefits that each household in T&T currently receives, you're going to conclude that this Gov't financially draining out this country!!!! I foresee ah bag ah slice bread jus now going to cost $20 TT! Buh we like it so ent?

hottgirl

Postby hottgirl » September 25th, 2009, 10:47 am

i agree that they shld have a system where the tax is more fair. However, this shld be done on a phased basis and not in the way they are going abt it. Seems like the gov't juss want to increase their income and not considering the impact it wld have on ppl's lives and business. :roll:

Postby Sky » September 25th, 2009, 11:03 am

The Gov't could kiss my black @$$. I goin and squat!

ismedave

Postby ismedave » September 25th, 2009, 11:27 am

Sky wrote:The Gov't could kiss my black @$$. I goin and squat!

Nunez guh tax yuh squattin house and yuh latrin too! :shock:

cornfused

Postby cornfused » September 25th, 2009, 12:00 pm

Page 52 of the express has a bit of an explanation

the example is

If your property is valued (Valuation Division of the MOF) So its$800,000.

The ATV is the annual rental income expected to be earned on the property less 10%.

So going back to our example the monthly rental is say $2000.00 per month so the ATV will be $21,600. ($2000. x 12 = $24,000 - $2,400.)

so the property tax is 3% of the $21,600 or $648.00

Postby janfar » September 25th, 2009, 12:04 pm

Thats the same example as the one from the flyer on the finance website.

hottgirl

Postby hottgirl » September 25th, 2009, 12:18 pm

so why is it that ppl continue to say that the property tax is goin to be between $20,000-$30,000 on average. I think that the gov't needs to go out there and educate the public more on the new property tax, since not everyone can read or have access to the internet.

Postby janfar » September 25th, 2009, 12:20 pm

Yup, ppl musbe calculating 3% of they 800k home which will be...

$24000.00

hottgirl

Postby hottgirl » September 25th, 2009, 12:22 pm

i know a lot of ppl who were scared sh!t when they heard figures like $20,00/year! :?

ismedave

Postby ismedave » September 25th, 2009, 12:25 pm

.....as I re-iterate and re-emphasize once more....is EXTRA $$$ yuh hadda fork out. So whatever the figure, once is more than $0.01 TT, ppl will feel de brunt of it. Money scarce considering how much we spend on other taxes, mortgages, groceries, unleaded gas to go quite POS to wuk etc....

hottgirl

Postby hottgirl » September 25th, 2009, 12:33 pm

dave, you don't need to 're' nothin, we understand your point :roll: But paying say 648/year on property tax is that bad?? i mean some of us spend more than that on alcohol and cigarettes on a monthly basis :roll:

ismedave

Postby ismedave » September 25th, 2009, 12:40 pm

It's not bad for the working class. But consider the non-working class. Consider the impact of this matter. Once its implemented, reality is that this is Trinidad; when one thing goes up, the whole population is adversely affected. This means, tenants gonna raise rent, cost of living is gonna increase etc. Regardless of whether its affordable or not, there are ppl that you may not be aware of that cannot afford it especially an elderly person who lives by himself. Cost of living is going to rise!

TINT NATION

Postby TINT NATION » September 25th, 2009, 12:43 pm

have a national standown, this bill must not be passed, thousands of lives would be affected, ppl wit low income bracket and pensioners. What this Country is coming to :?: We the Citizens cannot pay the consequence for their deficit :!:

hottgirl

Postby hottgirl » September 25th, 2009, 12:47 pm

dave, i agree with you on your points wrt the persons with fixed incomes and cost of living!

gr8 ride, when can you recall did the citizens of T&T truly shut down this country??? We have ppl who are willing to do it, but they are in the minority and don't get support from many ppl.

TINT NATION

Postby TINT NATION » September 25th, 2009, 12:54 pm

Thats true hottgirl, but if we dont take action against this now, come Jan 01st its gonna be a sad New Year 2010. The Minister of Finance stated that it will be in effect jan 01st 2010 :!: This was the worst Budget in the History of Trinidad and Tobago. :!:

ismedave

Postby ismedave » September 25th, 2009, 1:05 pm

hottgirl, its great that you agree, but seriously, alot of citizens have so far tolerated this government's total mismanagement of the economy. This gov't has put this country to shame in wasting its resources when there were alot more prioritized areas that they could have addressed. Look at the crime situation. How can a little country like Trinidad have such a huge crime rate??? Yet all police ha time to do is to pull out ppl tint and not prevent REAL criminal activities. In a nutshell, this Gov't is one big Joke.

TINT NATION

Postby TINT NATION » September 25th, 2009, 1:15 pm

totally agree, ismedave :!:

hottgirl

Postby hottgirl » September 25th, 2009, 1:17 pm

dave, if we have a Min of National Security and CoP who do nothing but yap their traps on the crime situation, how then can we expect the police to perform. If corruption is rampant in the gov't, what do you expect from the services they control.

We had more than 550 murders last year, and what did the citizens do then and what are they doing now? NOT A DAMN THING! We have activists organising protests eg One Voice and how many ppl showed up to that rally??

If all citizens, or most regardless of which political party they support, come together and show the gov' that we will not accept certain things, the gov't may listen. But right now, all we do is drink and party any chance we get, we are showing the gov't that we are ok with how they are managing (or rather mismanaging) OUR country!

Postby SmokeyGTi » September 25th, 2009, 1:38 pm

i agree that the taxes probably needed to be increased somewhat (ah mean is since 1942 or something so they say)

but ppl bawling when they see the amount extra they have to pay. IMO they could have structured it to be on avg $1,200 a year ($100 a mth) which a lot of ppl might be able to afford.

but imagine you are a pensioner, u wrk so much years just to pay for your house, take your time, build, extend, modify, and finally have it looking nice.

Pension is what, less than $3,000 a mth and now you might have to fork one more than 1 mths income as tax for all that hard wrk you put into the house. that hard.

Postby janfar » September 25th, 2009, 1:42 pm

Well they did say they would have exempts and reductions for lower incomed ppl. This I would like to see.