Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby 88sins » May 16th, 2019, 12:30 pm

and if the object between the man ears shares many a resemblance to toolum, from shape to color to density, what racist about that?

Postby The_Honourable » June 16th, 2019, 12:00 pm

Take advantage of tax amnesty—Imbert

Use the tax amnesty which be­gins Mon­day to clean up your tax­es—in­clud­ing over­due land and build­ing tax­es—and es­pe­cial­ly since the Un­ex­plained Wealth law be­gan yes­ter­day.

That was the mes­sage from Fi­nance Min­is­ter Colm Im­bert and At­tor­ney Gen­er­al Faris Al-Rawi on Fri­day.

They were speak­ing dur­ing Par­lia­ment de­bate on a Mis­cel­la­neous bill deal­ing with is­sues rang­ing from the tax amnesty, an en­hanced pen­sion pack­age for leg­is­la­tors and judges, a change to the Free­dom of In­for­ma­tion Act and oth­er is­sues.

The amnesty start­ing Mon­day un­til Sep­tem­ber will re­move in­ter­est and penal­ties on tax­es and will ap­ply to all tax­es. Gov­ern­ment projects earn­ing $500m from the amnesty.

The Board of In­land Rev­enue will waive penal­ties and in­ter­est from Mon­day al­though the bill will be fi­nalised next week.

Im­bert urged peo­ple to use the fa­cil­i­ty to pay Land and Build­ing (L&B) tax­es es­pe­cial­ly since the L&B tax is payable un­der Gov­ern­ment’s Prop­er­ty Tax sched­ule. He said some peo­ple had not paid L&B tax­es for years and that had stymied their prop­er­ty sales since the trans­ac­tion re­quires such tax­es to be paid.

He al­so urged the pub­lic to clean up their out­stand­ing tax­es be­fore the T&T Rev­enue Au­thor­i­ty (TTRA) be­gins op­er­a­tions. A bill to gov­ern TTRA op­er­a­tions will be done in the com­ing days be­fore Par­lia­ment goes on re­cess.

More: http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/take-adv ... a552119f1b

Postby zoom rader » June 16th, 2019, 12:25 pm

^^^ it's just a bill

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 19th, 2019, 10:18 am

so I witnessed a site visit from the property tax people this morning (visited meh neighbor, so ah macko)

initially they measured every corner of her house, car porch separate, gazebo separate, outdoor toilet and storage room separate, they pass she lil temple straight...questions asked ;

how many bedrooms
bathrooms
ac
water pump
hot/cold
type of roof/ceiling
type of floor
type of windows

and well according to the peeps, this property tax thing is expected to be implemented next year

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 19th, 2019, 10:53 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:so I witnessed a site visit from the property tax people this morning (visited meh neighbor, so ah macko)

initially they measured every corner of her house, car porch separate, gazebo separate, outdoor toilet and storage room separate, they pass she lil temple straight...questions asked ;

how many bedrooms
bathrooms
ac
water pump
hot/cold
type of roof/ceiling
type of floor
type of windows

and well according to the peeps, this property tax thing is expected to be implemented next year

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 19th, 2019, 11:15 am

I aint go lie, the water pump question throw meh down

Postby MG Man » September 19th, 2019, 11:19 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I aint go lie, the water pump question throw meh down

can't get fking water / water pressure to reach a shower head, but they want to include pump as a value-enhancing asset?

If they checking that and water heater, they gonna start counting ac, lighting fixtures, door knobs and security cameras too?

Postby 88sins » September 19th, 2019, 11:25 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I aint go lie, the water pump question throw meh down

can't get fking water / water pressure to reach a shower head, but they want to include pump as a value-enhancing asset?

If they checking that and water heater, they gonna start counting ac, lighting fixtures, door knobs and security cameras too?

exactly

basically, ANYTHING you have in your house they assigning it as an item that adds value to the property.From A/C to a light fixture that looks like a chandelier, to security systems. Basically, it's an "ah go tax yuh on everything yuh have forever" tax, never mind that the older these things get their value depreciates.

but allyuh vote fuh dat

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 19th, 2019, 11:29 am

Dred, the lady walk around and check the ac units to make sure meh neighbor wasnt lying...my neighbor's car porch is somewhat of an extension, they measured that separate yes....basically anything with a roof getting measured by itself...

Wrt to pump, a pump is a mc necessity...not a luxury...

They did 5 houses in my area today

Postby MG Man » September 19th, 2019, 11:30 am

I will accept responsibility due to my failure to vote in the last general election...granted my location is one of those 'guaranteed for x party' so even voting against one or the other is largely irrelevant

D Diesel Report

Postby D Diesel Report » September 19th, 2019, 11:32 am

exactly

basically, ANYTHING you have in your house they assigning it as an item that adds value to the property.From A/C to a light fixture that looks like a chandelier, to security systems. Basically, it's an "ah go tax yuh on everything yuh have forever" tax, never mind that the older these things get their value depreciates.

but allyuh vote fuh dat

Apparently we is supposed to ignore you when yuh say allyuh vote for that because it don’t solve de problem.

The best solution to dis ting is to lie and den when they try to enter yuh house, threaten with violence and say you is a rankin pnm. Does work every time. :drinking: :drinking:

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » September 19th, 2019, 9:07 pm

Was waiting for this thread to take a bump again.
They assessing residentials as normal, but the tax will not be implemented for at least 2-3 more years.
There are simply not enough submissions to reach the legally mandated threshold to start making the valuations enforced.

Postby sMASH » September 19th, 2019, 9:32 pm

ey, i forget bout dat. last month they came to check me. the day they came, i had to make a spin, to sign up for e-tax( yeah, had to physically sign up for online tax).

so, i left the gate open, told my aunt next door that they coming. i did not reach back in time, they went in. they ask my aunt to open the door and go inside. she say if it lock u cant go in. they said they would call back.
i got those same questions. yes, the pump was a question. and OBVIOUSLY, i have no pump on the questionaire. it did hide up behind some galvanize that the two girls not going to shift.

they called to visit the agricultural land, but to reach there in the rainy season isnt such a good idea. that person said that if it difficult to reach they not going. there is a road, but i explained that the land had slipped because fire passed through during the rainy season, so it not stable, and the 4 wheel drive barely got me out, cause is only bison and tractor that goes that far.

Postby The_Honourable » November 7th, 2019, 12:19 pm

Prime Minister, Dr. Keith Rowley, says the United National Congress (UNC) has sabotaged the government's efforts to move towards Local Government Reform due to the legal challenge on the property tax.

Postby hydroep » November 7th, 2019, 12:22 pm

Somebody really need to stuff a calabash in he mouth yes...:|

Postby bluefete » November 7th, 2019, 12:39 pm

hydroep wrote:Somebody really need to stuff a calabash in he mouth yes...:|

Aye, Gary say yuh cyar say dat boy. Dat is wishing harm on de master he serves.

Postby zoom rader » November 7th, 2019, 1:10 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Prime Minister, Dr. Keith Rowley, says the United National Congress (UNC) has sabotaged the government's efforts to move towards Local Government Reform due to the legal challenge on the property tax.

Rowlee MC we ant paying no PNM tax

Postby hydroep » November 7th, 2019, 2:03 pm

bluefete wrote:

Gary need a calabash in he arse too...:|

Postby 88sins » November 7th, 2019, 2:50 pm

not gonna work
we all know he mouth plenty bigger than a calabash, especially when he seeing the few sheeple he calls supporters

Postby hydroep » November 7th, 2019, 3:19 pm

not gonna work
we all know he mouth plenty bigger than a calabash, especially when he seeing the few sheeple he calls supporters

True, Growlers mouth so big he might eat that like nuts...:|

Postby rspann » November 7th, 2019, 6:01 pm

We needs more money to give our friends and famalee, pay allyuh property tax.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » November 7th, 2019, 7:06 pm

alyuh eh ready to hear this but they soon hiring 180 more assessors

they already trained and everything, is just to sign them on

Postby matr1x » November 7th, 2019, 10:31 pm

hydroep wrote:
bluefete wrote:

Gary need a calabash in he arse too...:|

Gg is truly an anus

Postby 88sins » November 8th, 2019, 5:35 am

rspann wrote:We needs more money to give our friends and famalee, pay allyuh property tax.

not until I can be clearly shown that MY property tax dollars will be used in a maner that benefits me and my property I won't.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 8th, 2019, 7:23 am

rspann wrote:We needs more money to give our friends and famalee, pay allyuh property tax.

not until I can be clearly shown that MY property tax dollars will be used in a maner that benefits me and my property I won't.

Then you not paying one mc...I still trying to see how PAYE benefits me and others

Postby 88sins » November 8th, 2019, 9:32 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

Then you not paying one mc...I still trying to see how PAYE benefits me and others

It doesn't. it benefits the state & politicians. just the same as that bs property tax.

Postby matr1x » November 8th, 2019, 9:44 am

And minister step daughter.

Postby zoom rader » November 8th, 2019, 11:22 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

Your paye went to PNM slush fund for secret scholarships and Pan

Ministry of finance visit allyuh yet? (land tax)

Postby RBphoto » November 18th, 2019, 1:37 pm

Oye,
ministry say they want to visit tomorrow and take pictures and ting, since we submit all the documents and whatnot when Impsbert had advised it was necessary. Tell them to come through or pelt them with piss?

Re: Ministry of finance visit allyuh yet? (land tax)

Postby zoom rader » November 18th, 2019, 1:41 pm

It still held up in court i think

Frustrate them a bit, ask for two forms of IDs and take photos of their faces .

Make them feel like they are Criminals.