Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby sMASH » April 19th, 2017, 9:53 pm

^^ how they getting the documents...

car

Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby car » April 19th, 2017, 10:01 pm

Documents are only to aid in the evaluation process. Even if no documents are submitted they still going to find a way to assign a rentable value to you.
Once you occupy a home you will pay tax even if the legal owner is dead.
Government primary mission right now is to collect tax dollars. All the little discrepancy will be sorted out in the following years.
Government spent millions to put this system in place. They going to recover their cost and more.

Somebody remind meh when the gas subsidy will be gone.

Postby DVSTT » April 19th, 2017, 10:20 pm

Do ministers pay property tax?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 19th, 2017, 10:32 pm

Ent allyuh vote for this?

viedcht

Postby viedcht » April 19th, 2017, 11:19 pm

Ah wonder who jamming still?

JF.K

Postby JF.K » April 19th, 2017, 11:30 pm

viedcht wrote:Ah wonder who jamming still?

Duh... all d blind dumb deaf PNMites..
Yuh eh hearing ah squeak of complaints.
They actually defending d sheit.

Everybody know that money for corruption running out...
Property Tax is a buffer

brainchild

Postby brainchild » April 19th, 2017, 11:32 pm

Why all the beat up? Just don't pay it, then take them to court and fight it. That's how REAL change occurs

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 19th, 2017, 11:56 pm

I did not vote for this

I suggest that we force Rowley to call a snap election and vote him out and reinstate the Cabal.

Postby The_Honourable » April 20th, 2017, 3:32 am

zagie wrote:what about the ppl who living on land for over 65 years and the owner dead donkey years before that, who paying that tax

More than likely, the tax receipt will state the deceased persons name in addition to the following "Or Current Occupier"... similar to a WASA bill.

Postby zoom rader » April 20th, 2017, 4:02 am

Jah bless what you voted for

Postby Gem_in_i » April 20th, 2017, 4:41 am

pugboy wrote:i would assume there must be some valuation dispute procedure as well
Also who are the govt valuators ?
To my knowledge govt doesn't have any or at least in capacity to do nationwide property valuations
A monumental task.

If they gonna subcontract certified valuators.......$$$$$ to be made
Plus folks gonna want to do their own private valuations

There are Valuation Officers attached to the District Revenue Offices.
They do site visits when you transfer land, property etc.

car

Postby car » April 20th, 2017, 6:32 am

Gem_in_i wrote:
pugboy wrote:i would assume there must be some valuation dispute procedure as well
To my knowledge govt doesn't have any or at least in capacity to do nationwide property valuations
A monumental task.

I believe they have contracted out extra workers to to this for a few months. This is one of the most important steps as collecting the correct data is what going to bring in the money for the government.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 20th, 2017, 6:52 am

walking through the capitalll yesterday and yeah ah PNM mite say in d US people pay property tax so Rowly just trying to reach first world status..

mind fcked after that statement

Postby Les Bain » April 20th, 2017, 7:16 am

Ah boy, Jwala musbe have an extra smugness in his smile now. They fire him for speaking the truth, cacklers join in to laugh at him, now is tax in we FMC cause the PNM has no plan how to generate revenue when the wheels fall of the gravy train.

src1983

Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby src1983 » April 20th, 2017, 7:24 am

I does tell all the young people now to migrate yes.

Government going and tax us more, but cool with overpaying paying JS, Coosal etc for roads that last 2-5 years.

Plus the citizen doesn't have a say in projects that government find fit, so if the PM get a vaps and decide to build a pyramid we can't do crap besides vote him out. Then the UNC will win on promising

1. Changed party
2. No corruption
3. Party of the people

Then come to give all their friends contracts to build more poor quality stuff

Endless cycle of raping

car

Postby car » April 20th, 2017, 7:50 am

Now read that there will be a $500 penalty for not submitting the forms

Average

Postby Average » April 20th, 2017, 8:03 am

So we're being forced to do this and there are people defending it...guess they living by mammy and daddy and have not one MC to cater for.

src1983

Postby src1983 » April 20th, 2017, 8:22 am

Just called the hotline (wait time 2 mins *surprising*)

Any way for those living in a townhouse compound like me, it was confirmed that the property company will be liable for the tax at the residential rate as this is purpose of the property.

Also the Valuator will place a total value by looking at the town houses/apartments.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 20th, 2017, 8:51 am

also spoke to the people...according to them, all the documents in the checklist MUST be provided at some point in time...so my question still stands: what is the deal with those who don't have approval, completion certificates etc etc...real lolzzz...what about them squatters

car

Postby car » April 20th, 2017, 9:27 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:also spoke to the people...according to them, all the documents in the checklist MUST be provided at some point in time...so my question still stands: what is the deal with those who don't have approval, completion certificates etc etc...real lolzzz...what about them squatters

In time you will have to get your documents in order. In the coming years.
Right now government just looking for you to start paying the tax. They want no delays in collect the tax $.

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » April 20th, 2017, 9:31 am

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » April 20th, 2017, 9:32 am

But I have a silly question here would this affect the price of buying or even real estate for the future

GeneralHonda

Postby GeneralHonda » April 20th, 2017, 9:37 am

How long was this info. up/made available to the public?

src1983

Postby src1983 » April 20th, 2017, 10:02 am

urbandilema wrote:But I have a silly question here would this affect the price of buying or even real estate for the future

Nah for the person buying the property $4M for the person paying tax on the property $2M

That's how stuff works in Trinidad

Postby hydroep » April 20th, 2017, 10:43 am

car wrote:Now read that there will be a $500 penalty for not submitting the forms

Heard this on the radio as well.

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » April 20th, 2017, 10:52 am

hydroep wrote:
car wrote:Now read that there will be a $500 penalty for not submitting the forms

Heard this on the radio as well.

hope it wasnt from those 'educated' urban announcers. most of them shouldnt be within miles of a microphone

Postby hydroep » April 20th, 2017, 11:06 am

^Dale and Tony's i95.5 FM Morning Show, words spoken by Mr. Enoch himself.

They also had Prakash Ramadhar on the phone, who alleged that the PP's version of the property tax was resisted by certain elements intent on keeping the system we are witnessing now. He may elaborate when he's back in the country.

Postby 16 cycles » April 20th, 2017, 11:42 am

http://www.finance.gov.tt/propertytax/

^property tax and forms that can be printed for submission...not sure if it was posted already...

Postby Chimera » April 20th, 2017, 3:06 pm

Gem_in_i wrote:
A monumental task.

Those valuation.officers take up to two years to come do a valuation

Postby meccalli » April 20th, 2017, 3:13 pm

So we have to guess what our houses' rental values are?
(c) If occupied by owner or relatives – rental value thereof –

State the rental value that the property can attract, if it were to be placed in the market for rent