Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

ismedave

Postby ismedave » September 25th, 2009, 1:44 pm

hottgirl, I agree....but there is always a higher authority!!...In the case where the Min. of National Security and the Cop is concerned, the Gov't as a body is responsible for them. The CoP cannot do all by himself, but the authority stems from Martin Joseph....and what he needs to do is fork out all dem corrupt police officers and them from the force and compensate the hard working ones appropriately. He has to put stringent policies in place and follow up on them. Right now he is not doing that. All he's doing is comparing last yrs murder toll to what this yrs would be. There has to be a re-assessment on the entire police force with respect to the corruptible elements associated with it.

The entire justice system has to be properly analyzed and invested in so that criminal elements would be dealt with permanently. Criminals know they cud get away with anyting in this country, that is why they have no fear and could do what they want. If the Justice system was strict on certain policies in dealing with criminals, then we would have less crime. I guess continually placing criminals on bail and letting them walk is another way that this gov't earns revenue!

So I agree with you when you say regardless of which party we support, we need to come together and show the govt that we not accepting certain things. And we need the support of various heads and activists to really get this going ASAP!

TINT NATION

Postby TINT NATION » September 25th, 2009, 1:50 pm

Shame in this Present Administration :!: Do they actually think about Citizens of this Country on ways it can affect them or they just want to Get richer and Drive, eat, drink and live D Best. There must be an avenue not for this Bill to pass! :!:

Postby janfar » September 25th, 2009, 1:56 pm

It has to be voted against in Parliment. The govenrment has the majority so it will most likely be passed and your bill will be in the mail shortly.

TINT NATION

Postby TINT NATION » September 25th, 2009, 2:12 pm

Boy that is one mail i dont want to see :!: :!: :!: :!:

hottgirl

Postby hottgirl » September 25th, 2009, 2:21 pm

yep, pretty much we're screwed :|

TINT NATION

Postby TINT NATION » September 25th, 2009, 2:22 pm

Manning & Nunez runnning down d country tuh ah frazzle :!:

ismedave

Postby ismedave » September 25th, 2009, 2:28 pm

Yup...and the sad thing is...Nunez and Manning and dem have topped up security and police escorts, chauffeurs and the works, and its us citizens who hadda fight for survival out here!!! They protected from all crime, robberies, etc...but not us!...we fighting to stay alive every day!

TINT NATION

Postby TINT NATION » September 25th, 2009, 2:32 pm

We need a Change , if the US could do it, Why we cant? :idea:

Postby hydroep » September 25th, 2009, 3:05 pm

The Minister's position is that citizens have received a tax holiday for the last 50 years. So I guess she feels that they should have been investing their money?...:?

No harm in trying, but this administration hasn't shown that it takes concerns raised by citizens on any public forum seriously...outside of elections that is. Oh wait, they did...I see one mega farm on stream...:|

Is shut up and put up, not open for discussion.

Humes

Postby Humes » September 25th, 2009, 5:17 pm

sMASH wrote: when we whine and say trini's wouldn't do any thing, the trini's that need to do sumtin is you self.

Thank you.

The way people talk about "Trinis", yuh would swear they distancing themselves from the cause of the problem.

I think the people who simply don't do anything are actually better than those who btch about those who doh do nutten...but eh doin nutten themselves.

Humes

Postby Humes » September 25th, 2009, 5:19 pm

SmokeyGTi wrote:so...lets say...

house can be rented for $10,000.00 per month. (assume it's a nice big plush two-storey).

that means, annual rent is $120,000.00
3% of that is $3,600.00

which isn't that bad.

pensioners will feel the pinch the most though.

That's close, but still incorrect.

The value of individual houses isn't being considered. It's the average value of the houses in the area.

Humes

Postby Humes » September 25th, 2009, 5:24 pm

ismedave wrote:This means, tenants gonna raise rent, cost of living is gonna increase etc.

This policy actually dissuades landlords from raising rent. Increased rent rates in an area means increased assessed value and increased taxation. There's actually an incentive to lower or maintain current rates.

It could also shake up the rental scene because a lot of people who aren't renting their property now will want to do so to offset the tax. People who are hoarding land and property will want to make use of it. Current landlords will have to compete with these new entrants into the market...competition should push prices down.

Postby janfar » September 25th, 2009, 5:34 pm

Humes wrote:
ismedave wrote:This means, tenants gonna raise rent, cost of living is gonna increase etc.

This policy actually dissuades landlords from raising rent. Increased rent rates in an area means increased assessed value and increased taxation. There's actually an incentive to lower or maintain current rates.

It could also shake up the rental scene because a lot of people who aren't renting their property now will want to do so to offset the tax. People who are hoarding land and property will want to make use of it. Current landlords will have to compete with these new entrants into the market...competition should push prices down.

Actually, it would not matter how much you charge for rental. They are going to assess your home and give an estimate of the Annual rental value. So it doesnt matter if you charge 2k per month, if they estimate that building could be rented for 1.5k per month thats how much your going to be taxed on.

Humes

Postby Humes » September 25th, 2009, 5:54 pm

janfar wrote:They are going to assess your home and give an estimate of the Annual rental value.

That's if the annual rental value is based solely on the average value of homes in the area.

A full assessment would take into account other factors like the area's location and average rental rates in the area.

slick

Postby slick » September 25th, 2009, 6:28 pm

am...yeah...revolt required :twisted:

ismedave

Postby ismedave » September 28th, 2009, 8:16 am

The thing is...we generally don't own our property! I think we're headed towards monarchy and dictatorship headed by the PNM. Failure to abide with this gov'ts mismanagement of the economy wud result in them confiscating our very own properties to build housing schemes to voter pad, thereby enabling them to always remain in power.

Postby hydroep » September 28th, 2009, 8:38 pm

"Experts" from the Gov't next up on The Big Story on CNC3 to explain how it really works, for those who interested.

OffshoreMarketing

Postby OffshoreMarketing » September 28th, 2009, 8:40 pm

and they wha implement national sdervice dis govt fail

Postby hydroep » September 28th, 2009, 8:42 pm

^^Might be a good topic for a new thread. But yeah, it's controversial.

Postby UML » September 28th, 2009, 8:45 pm

what ethnicity actually own houses, land, farms and agricultural land?

what ethnicity actually have wealth and worked hard for what they owned?

ah also hear they going tuh have different tax levels for different areas and some not even having to pay at all....how high wud it be for the east west corridor as compared to central and certain areas of south?

is all a plan to get back at a certain class and make them poor and suffer

i wonder how transparent and accountable wud this phased taxing be?

mabe as transparent and accountable as the free scholarship programmes that they offer

Postby UML » September 28th, 2009, 8:49 pm

not to forget...who own most businesses?!!

Postby UML » September 28th, 2009, 8:57 pm

the funny thing they manning begging countries in the UN to help poorer developing countries like us...and he spending money at his whim and fancy

proprty tax is as a result to make back this wasted money in their squandermania

i waiting tuh hear ppl bawl how rent raise!!

discussion on property tax on the big story on cnc3 now!!!

Postby UML » September 28th, 2009, 8:59 pm

cute corolla wrote:couple months ago...some folks were in our area, trying to get info
- how much rooms in our house
- how much bathrooms/toilets
- number of kitchens
etc

dont know if it had any bearings to this new housing tax, but i totally lied to the guy :lol:

i think it was advertised that they were doing a population survey...but then again they so underhand...they can say or do anything to get wat they want done

HCCA

Postby HCCA » September 28th, 2009, 10:13 pm

cute corolla wrote:couple months ago...some folks were in our area, trying to get info
- how much rooms in our house
- how much bathrooms/toilets
- number of kitchens
etc

dont know if it had any bearings to this new housing tax, but i totally lied to the guy :lol:

Had a girl doing this in our area abt 2 years ago. Silly me told the truth and all of a sudden our house/land tax went up 300% :shock:

Humes

Postby Humes » September 28th, 2009, 11:31 pm

UML wrote:ah also hear they going tuh have different tax levels for different areas and some not even having to pay at all....how high wud it be for the east west corridor as compared to central and certain areas of south?

The tax rate is going to be higher in urban areas, and lower in other areas. People who own property in POS, Arima, Sando and Chaguanas I believe will pay the 5%. Everywhere else will pay 3%.

Kinda puts a dent on your racism theory. If anything, Syrians and Africans getting hit the hardest.

Yuh doh think yuh should probably do a lil research before you come with the racist speculation?

Postby hydroep » September 29th, 2009, 8:10 am

San'do residential rates will drop to 3%. It's presently 10%.

The technocrats on the CNC 3 program also said that WASA bills should not be affected because arrangements will be made for them to continue using the A.R.V on their books, not the new valuations on which the P.T. will be calculated. Don't know how long this will last though.

The valuation exercise has apparently been going on for the last 18 months, so they have all the info. already for 2010. Info just needs to be input into their new computer system...:?

Current provisions are for valuations to be done every three years, although it can be amended to be done annually.

Postby sMASH » September 30th, 2009, 12:28 am

we are marchin in san fernando by the market against the property tax this saturday from 9 am i believe. if u stay by ur self and mumble and grumble dat it cyar change, then u supporting it, u not doin nutten useful. at least if u come, the camera would show a big crowd, a large number of citizens not in support and willing to stop it going through instead of a set ah house wife talking across the fence 'oh the taxes bad, we go ketch hell, we cyar do nutten, i goin back an hang out the bed sheets'

trini is a set a hard back man dat once he eat ah food and he belly full, he doh hadda do nutten again... doh mind he not sure to eat so much the next day, nor his house be his own.

come out nah. for once in u life u could say u stand up with the masses against the powers that be and not accepting shiddy stuff forced on u.

btw, those property taxes would not affect me directly, so i throwin meh frame in the march for the rest ah tnt.

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/u67yDt39A_Y&rel=0&color1=0xb1b1b1&color2=0xcfcfcf&feature=player_profilepage&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" allowScriptAccess="always" width="425" height="344"></embed>

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/sW72hd-CgVY&rel=0&color1=0xb1b1b1&color2=0xcfcfcf&feature=player_profilepage&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" allowScriptAccess="always" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

slick

Postby slick » September 30th, 2009, 12:38 am

Allyuh know where the money from this tax going?

If you thought it was going to the relevant Regional Corporation (like it should), you are wrong.

It is going to the consolidated fund for Manning to spend at his whim and fancy.

That is all. :|

urabus

Postby urabus » October 22nd, 2009, 12:21 pm

FYI

Subject: LET'S LEND OUR SUPPORT TO ONE VOICE ON SUNDAY 25TH OCTOBER

Dear members,thank you so much for encouraging others to join your group. Please continue to do so and please sign and encourage others to sign the online petition as well as take the poll regarding the issue of the increase in Property Tax! Today, at One Voice's request, I ask of you to attend the "One Voice Rally" at the Helping Hands Ground (opposite Moonan's Construction) Stratham Lodge Road, Tunapuna on Sunday 25th October from 1pm to 6 pm. Bring the family, friends, neighbors! This event will highlight the Property tax issue and the predicament we will all find ourselves in, should this tax be made law! Remember, our group is about supporting any initiative that leads to the betterment for all, and as such, we stand in solidarity with One Voice's initiative on this matter! The road to a Progressive T&T cannot be walked alone! We have to hold hands with like minded individuals and groups to reach the ultimate goal - a better Trinidad & Tobago for all! An increase in property tax affects us all - if we are property owners or renters, once there is a roof over our heads, we are at risk! Again I remind you, please sign the online petition at http://www.facebook.com/l/4700c;www.gop ... 30947.html Take the online poll at http://www.facebook.com/l/4700c;www.viz ... l?n=181558 I also ask that you wear something in Green to identify our members. Why green you may ask? Well, the color green identifies with nature, peace, vitality and freshness! When you are standing at a traffic light, don't you wait for green to move forward?? :) So lets move forward and get on with the business of righting the wrongs that plagues our society! Every little bit counts, everyone plays a part! Thanks again!--------------------

Postby RBphoto » October 22nd, 2009, 3:01 pm

Only honest people to suffer. Squatters and government housing cronies ain't gonna pay jack.