Uber in Trinidad and Tobago - TO PAUSE OPERATION May 30 2018

dredman1

Uber in Trinidad and Tobago - TO PAUSE OPERATION May 30 2018

Postby dredman1 » October 5th, 2016, 2:19 pm

https://www.facebook.com/UberTrinidadTobago/

Didn't see it posted anywhere before, but if this is true, how safe do you think would this be? For both potential drivers and passengers?

Not to mention insurance for this might be very expensive/difficult to get.

Would you sign up for it to make some extra $ on the side, or use it if you need a ride somewhere?
video.yahoofinance.com@40d2db72-2976-37c8-b12d-b4858de5bb20_FULL.jpg

ADONI

Re: Uber coming to T&T

Postby ADONI » October 5th, 2016, 2:31 pm

Look new work for robbers now...

Postby meccalli » October 5th, 2016, 2:39 pm

RIP in advance.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » October 5th, 2016, 2:41 pm

In Trinidad and Tobago, it is illegal for a person who is not a registered taxi driver to ply his car as a taxi.

Section 48:50 of the Motor Vehicle and Road Traffic Act states: "No person shall drive on any road a taxi registered as such unless he is the holder of a taxi driver’s licence issued to him by the Licensing Authority under these Regulations."

PH is d life.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 5th, 2016, 2:45 pm

So according to our laws only persons who have H cars can become Uber drivers?

Postby supercharged turbo » October 5th, 2016, 2:46 pm

I keep seeing it in my newsfeed and was wondering why they advertising down here

Postby teems1 » October 5th, 2016, 2:47 pm

Uber's service is slightly different from a taxi.

I can't hail an Uber vehicle from the street, jump in tell them library corner...

Only using the app you able to get an Uber vehicle.

Postby sMASH » October 5th, 2016, 2:51 pm

Legally, u are plying your vehicle for hire, and only registered 'H' vehicles can do so.
So, that uber with any vehicle other than registered 'H' would be illegal.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 5th, 2016, 2:56 pm

teems1 wrote:Uber's service is slightly different from a taxi.

I can't hail an Uber vehicle from the street, jump in tell them library corner...

Only using the app you able to get an Uber vehicle.

How you call them doesn't change the fact it is a taxi.

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » October 5th, 2016, 3:08 pm

ADONI wrote:Look new work for robbers now...

how so? have you ever used the service or are you just talking out of your muffler bearing?

Postby pete » October 5th, 2016, 3:08 pm

The way our taxis work in Trinidad is completely different to places where Uber works. One place I can see this being excellent would after a fete or night liming for someone to get home.

Postby Slartibartfast » October 5th, 2016, 3:15 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:So according to our laws only those persons who have H cars can become Uber drivers?

It seems so. But imagine a PH car driving to pick up a passenger only for them to say they not jumping in the PH car. Also consider the fact that the service would cost more to the traveller (I imagine) and don't forget uber has to make their cut.

Only way I see it being of any worth is to help with car pooling to an from work during peak hour traffic but even then I see the impact as minimal as the uber taxis will most likely charge more and/or it would be the same pressure to find one available anyway.

Postby eliteauto » October 5th, 2016, 3:40 pm

there are easy ways around the PH issue from a legal standpoint. Because no money is exchanged between the client and driver there is no evidence of the driver plying anything, also because both driver and passenger are pre-arranged before pickup the driver also isn't importuning anyone, it's akin to giving someone a drop so the concern is moot. Uber btw won't be the only driver app in 2017, there's also Drop and Quik Pick Up and at least 2 others launching soon.

Postby desifemlove » October 5th, 2016, 4:08 pm

haha..knowing T&T taxi associations gonna bawl and say it unfair....tough sheit. why can't we have dial-up cabs like the UK and US have had for years?

it's called a market economy, taxi associations should read up what that means.

Postby eliteauto » October 5th, 2016, 4:34 pm

there have been dial-up taxis here since the 60's

Postby Rory Phoulorie » October 5th, 2016, 4:37 pm

desifemlove wrote:. . .why can't we have dial-up cabs like the UK and US have had for years?

:| But there are already companies and individuals that you can call for a taxi? It's just that they charge an arm and a leg for their service. But you are hiring the whole car to take you to a specific location (which may be off a normal route), so I guess that is the taxi driver's justification for the price.

Postby desifemlove » October 5th, 2016, 4:44 pm

i support this, it uses tech, and our tech sector is pretty weak, and no reason the only taxis we should have are the rank kind or flagging a PH on the street.

Postby sMASH » October 5th, 2016, 4:50 pm

U know, u can hire a taxi like foreign. U pay for the whole trip.
Plenty people do it. Especially the last decade since three generations don't like to walk no where.

DjDaniel

Postby DjDaniel » October 5th, 2016, 5:15 pm

What if the vehicle got into an accident, are you (the passenger) going to receive compensation from the driver's insurance?

Hired Vehicles have special insurance for same, not so?

With Private 3rd party insurance, do the passengers get any compensation?

Postby pugboy » October 5th, 2016, 5:31 pm

No and it will be in the fine print you click to agree to

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » October 5th, 2016, 5:59 pm

Uber has their own insurance company and policy,how that will tie into Trinidad and local insurance companies is yet to be seen.

baigan

Postby baigan » October 5th, 2016, 6:15 pm

Nice, i love using uber. If they do bring it to Trinidad I don't mind using it daily during the week instead of driving. As long as the vehicles meet the requirements like they do elsewhere. Hope they have all options too, uberlux, uberblack etc

Postby sMASH » October 5th, 2016, 6:28 pm

Well, they will have to file the claim with uber's insurance,,, cause no local insurance gonna be able to legally honor that. And the driver would be in breach of the law as well, so a legal penalty might be imposed on the driver.

Postby pugboy » October 5th, 2016, 6:28 pm

payment for drivers will be interesting

PH/pull bull drivers may or may not go to uber model
not sure if PH drivers have bank account and two forms of id and utility bill
most PH drivers driving a borrowed tiida and paying a day rate to do that
dunno how uber will compete with that

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 5th, 2016, 6:52 pm

Elsewhere in the world, Uber does not only attract taxi drivers, but regular people who own a car that are looking for extra income. It's crowd sourcing.

Postby sMASH » October 5th, 2016, 7:51 pm

A private vehicle is not to be used for hire or commercial use according to our laws. It is only for personal use.

Postby pugboy » October 5th, 2016, 8:44 pm

so what if bandits call up an ubertaxi and rob him ?

xtech

Postby xtech » October 5th, 2016, 11:24 pm

RWD

Postby RWD » October 5th, 2016, 11:47 pm

Uber is an excellent service in the US.. I've personally used it many times.. wayyyy cheaper the yellow cab.. and it's cashless..

Cooloh

Postby Cooloh » October 6th, 2016, 12:20 am

Wondering if trinis mature enough to use Uber they way it was intended.