Mysterious human statues wash up on Tyrico Bay Trinidad

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 19th, 2016, 10:25 am

http://www.trinidadexprss.com/20161017/ ... scary-find

Statues made of straw, clay and concrete washed ashore on a north coast beach yesterday, frightening some bathers.

However, it appears the effigies are not supernatural, but part of the Hindu observance of Ganesh Utsav. The life sized figures were found on the shoreline in a secluded area along Tyrico Bay. Clemie Laquis who posted several photographs of the effigies on social media said bathers were concerned.

She said: “It was around 3.30pm. It was raining so we decided to take a walk down the beach. Then we saw this thing of a man holding up something like a wire. There was a barcode on the back. We didn't make anything of it until we walked further down and saw about four other pieces.” Laquis said the effigies were human-like and appeared to have wooden stakes coming out of the back.

AR-161019609.jpg

Two pieces, she said, resembled animals. She said bathers were scared by the sight. “We didn't know what to make of it, it was a little scary,” she said. The Express was told that the effigies may have been submerged by members of the Hindu community during the recently concluded Ganesh Utsav celebrations and washed ashore. The ten-day worship to Lord Ganesh, remover of obstacles, culminated with a procession, where Ganesh murtis were immersed in the sea.

Pundit Khemraj Vyas, secretary of the pundit purshard, said a murti of the Hindu God is made out of clay and ceremonies are performed. Vyas said the murtis are usually broken up and immersed in the water resource as a means of washing away difficulties. Jean Mahabir of Penal Rock Road who builds murtis said it is made from dirt, milk, perfume and honey.

Mahabir said she used strings of grass to assist with binding the figure. Some murtis, she said, were made by adding concrete to the mixture.

TT3871017.JPG

TT3861017.JPG

Re: Mysterious human statues wash up on Tyrico Bay Trinidad

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 19th, 2016, 10:27 am

Pundits: These are not Hindu Gods
...mystery over the effigies on north coast

Published on Oct 18, 2016, 4:36 pm AST
By Carolyn Kissoon

Hindu spiritual leaders are convinced that the statues which washed ashore at Tyrico Bay, north Trinidad, were not part of the observance of Ganesh Utsav.

And some people have even questioned whether the human-like figure with wooden stakes in the back and leg was linked to black magic.

Pundit Khemraj Vyas, secretary of the pundit parishad (Council of Pundits), said a murti of the Hindu God is often fashioned out of clay and ceremonies are performed. Vyas said the murtis are usually broken up and immersed in a water source to symbolically “wash away difficulties”.

He said, “I don’t think it is a murti from the Hindu observance. These murtis are made from clay and is biodegradable. And all efforts are made to break it up into pieces. It is hardly likely that these are murtis from the festival.” Vyas said several murtis were submerged in beaches along the east coast and none had washed ashore. He said although concrete was used to build murtis for temples and homes, those being immersed in water were made solely of clay.

Another pundit, Balmesh Sieunarine, said he viewed the photographs and was convinced that the statues were not from the Hindu festival. “The murtis we use are made from clay and I saw the sticks in the back and leg and it is not a Hindu murti. That looks like black magic. It is definitely not a murti,” he said,

The statues made of straw, clay and concrete washed ashore on a north coast beach on Sunday, frightening some bathers. The life sized figures were found on the shoreline in a secluded area along Tyrico Bay. Clemie Laquis who posted several photographs of the effigies on social media said bathers were concerned.

She said the effigies were human-like and appeared to have wooden stakes coming out of the back. Two pieces, she said, resembled animals. She said bathers were scared by the sight.
http://www.trinidadexpres.com/20161018/news/pundits-these-are-not-hindu-gods
AR-161019540.jpg

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 19th, 2016, 10:34 am

I'm thinking these could be from the Grenada Underwater Sculpture Park http://grenadaunderwatersculpture.com/

There has been increased high wave activity due to a disturbance in the North Atlantic that started affecting T&T over the weekend

cca069a9-3900-49e7-86a3-735820983f00.jpg

perhaps these could have been uprooted and washed ashore here?

Postby Dizzy28 » October 19th, 2016, 10:37 am

Fell off (or thrown overboard) a passing ship maybe??

Postby ruffneck_12 » October 19th, 2016, 10:43 am

I was doin obeah

sorry bout that, I'll pass and pick them up

abducted

Postby abducted » October 19th, 2016, 10:45 am

Another pundit, Balmesh Sieunarine, said he viewed the photographs and was convinced that the statues were not from the Hindu festival. “The murtis we use are made from clay and I saw the sticks in the back and leg and it is not a Hindu murti. That looks like black magic. It is definitely not a murti,” he said,
Yes it is black magic, pundits are never wrong, pundits don't like black, it is known.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 19th, 2016, 10:49 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I'm thinking these could be from the Grenada Underwater Sculpture Park http://grenadaunderwatersculpture.com/

There has been increased high wave activity due to a disturbance in the North Atlantic that started affecting T&T over the weekend

cca069a9-3900-49e7-86a3-735820983f00.jpg

perhaps these could have been uprooted and washed ashore here?

This was my first thought but the presence of the cloth on one of the statues I felt negated that. I don't think the Grenada statues have cloth on them.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » October 19th, 2016, 10:56 am

since monday i looking out on tuner to see this story , u all usually on d ball .... :|

baigan

Postby baigan » October 19th, 2016, 11:07 am

Prob someone just screwing around to scare people lol
Halloween coming up

Or prob someone is trying some kinda voodoo thing thinking it works lol : P

brainchild

Postby brainchild » October 19th, 2016, 11:26 am

Examine the currents, the fabric etc n it easy to determine the source or at least make an educated guess...but I guess no one really cares to know.

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » October 19th, 2016, 11:48 am

probably washed up after the hurricane from Hati voodoo business.

How is the world u could watch that and think it's from Grenada Underwater Sculpture Park? LOLOL

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » October 19th, 2016, 12:22 pm

That's how they getting rid of them PNM prime ministers !!!

BRZ

Postby BRZ » October 19th, 2016, 12:55 pm

VUDUUUUUU, or dem drug men getting creative now!

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 19th, 2016, 1:00 pm

Haiti vs matthew business.

bluesclues

Re: RE: Re: Mysterious human statues wash up on Tyrico Bay Trinidad

Postby bluesclues » October 19th, 2016, 1:02 pm

- Rovin's car audio - wrote:since monday i looking out on tuner to see this story , u all usually on d ball .... :|

Nobody post the story about trinidad being the country with the most porn searches in the world yet either it seems.

#that_publicity

BoostJunkieXL

Postby BoostJunkieXL » October 19th, 2016, 2:22 pm

Curtms wrote:That's how they getting rid of them PNM prime ministers !!!

who is this "they" you're referring to ?

Postby SR » October 19th, 2016, 2:25 pm

If its from haiti other islands should also have seen some

abducted

Postby abducted » October 19th, 2016, 2:42 pm

- Rovin's car audio - wrote:since monday i looking out on tuner to see this story , u all usually on d ball .... :|
Too busy with Ian Alleyne,
bluesclues wrote:

Nobody post the story about trinidad being the country with the most porn searches in the world yet either it seems.

#that_publicity
I post it, viewtopic.php?f=4&t=686847

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » October 20th, 2016, 3:37 am

Ah mother cornhusk episode

Postby K74T » October 20th, 2016, 5:47 am

Dai devil ting.

Postby pugboy » October 20th, 2016, 7:35 am

is there a difference between a obeah and jaray ?

Postby aaron17 » October 20th, 2016, 8:22 am

That's trini for yah..jump to conclusions for everything..

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 21st, 2016, 3:05 pm

pugboy wrote:lol
is there a difference between a obeah and jaray ?

sword and shield.

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 21st, 2016, 3:13 pm

first pic looks like a classic hamuman pose

second one could be a lord ram holding a bow or somethin

dunno

Postby maj. tom » October 21st, 2016, 3:29 pm

but wait, didn't the artist that makes these things said this is what it is?

Statues made of straw, clay and concrete washed ashore on a north coast beach yesterday, frightening some bathers.
Jean Mahabir of Penal Rock Road who builds murtis said it is made from dirt, milk, perfume and honey.
Mahabir said she used strings of grass to assist with binding the figure. Some murtis, she said, were made by adding concrete to the mixture.

So somebody throw a few in the sea and they wash up on shore. This is what "scaring" people? In 2016? We should call the Scooby Doo gang or something to figure this out?

Postby rspann » October 21st, 2016, 7:40 pm

That float from Les Coteaux.

Postby pugboy » October 21st, 2016, 8:37 pm

Whatever they are we should not despise them or whatever assumed for
We should try and understand and use them I whatever way they were intended for

Postby shogun » October 22nd, 2016, 2:10 am

ruffneck_12 wrote:I was doin obeah

sorry bout that, I'll pass and pick them up

Steups. :lol:

Postby rspann » October 22nd, 2016, 6:25 am

pugboy wrote:Whatever they are we should not despise them or whatever assumed for

With dem stakes in the back, the heart and the ankle, I think I have a fair idea what they were used for.

neexis

Postby neexis » October 22nd, 2016, 6:49 am

rspann wrote:
pugboy wrote:Whatever they are we should not despise them or whatever assumed for

With dem stakes in the back, the heart and the ankle, I think I have a fair idea what they were used for.

Enter to the realm of satann