No more credit card payment at gas stations.... Cash only!

Re: No more credit card payment at gas stations.... Cash only!

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 10th, 2016, 6:59 pm

Did Medford ever stop?....I don't think they ever stopped accepting cards....

Postby Redman » November 10th, 2016, 7:44 pm

So did the NP on cross crossing ...that is run by one of the instigators of this whole thing

I guess the revolution has ended..

Postby pete » November 10th, 2016, 8:13 pm

Piarco quick shop still holding strong. Only allow police and government cars to be used in the quik shop to pay for gas. Place was much less busy than normal. I dunno why they don't just allow linx tho.

Postby Redman » November 10th, 2016, 9:06 pm

Depending on how linked the c store sales are to the gas sales.....the capital invested in gas is low return....so maybe they now selling 60% of the fuel but still getting 85% of the C store sales..

Less capital input,higher margins,less current employees...quieter days...most of the profit...much less work.

Postby wagonrunner » November 15th, 2016, 11:39 pm

NP Duncan Village and Rushworth Street have a red tape over the screens of the pumps.
Is Unipet Vistabella still taking credit cards?

kamakazi

Re: RE: Re: No more credit card payment at gas stations.... Cash only!

Postby kamakazi » November 18th, 2016, 6:11 am

wagonrunner wrote:NP Duncan Village and Rushworth Street have a red tape over the screens of the pumps.

Put fuel in last night using my credit card by vistabella Unipet.

bluesclues

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: No more credit card payment at gas stations.... Cash only!

Postby bluesclues » December 1st, 2016, 2:46 am

bluesclues wrote:
Redman wrote:
bluesclues wrote:
ADONI wrote:
Redman wrote:
tr1ad wrote:
ADONI wrote:We think the government reason to remove subsidy bad. However, if the Petroleum Association was given the chance to set their own rates on fuel, we would have to go back to donkey and bison carts.

don't understand what is the issue with the PA now, linx and credit card has been accepted for quite some time now

The PA has been lobbying for a solution to the fact that the increases to the BL and GF...push some of the stations into a loss making scenario.

At least 8 years at this point.

It's a regulated industry.

There are limitations as to what the dealers can do.

Yup, PA lobbying for removal of regulations, so they would be the ones controlling fuel prices where they go dig out people eye, making Imbutt fuel increases look like nothing.

Trinidad, the only country that can own a pitch lake and have such horrible roads. So why not, the only country that produces oil and gas that have locals paying more than ppl in countries that import from us. It wont work tho. We in bubble territory here. Raising prices will hurt government revenues more in the long term. Setting up themselves to permanently lose market share.

Explain that ...

Dont worry i will explain it. By which time it will be self explanatory.

Redman.. i will start explaining now. A bit ahead of when i said i would.

Google hyundai ioniq hybrid and ev.

Google gas revenues generated by local economy

Put 2+2 together

Thus here is what i had to say since my original posts.

Within 5 years as the electric vehicle market starts pushing affordable high spec electric vehicles into trinidad through the foreign used market, our local gas revenues will start to shrivel up. And in 10 years with technological advancements in ev independence and reliability, tiidas and almeras will probably be the only old cars on the road.

So my point is and always has been. That colm's policies will motivate ppl to go towards ev and hybrid vehicles. The more expensive gas is the higher the motivation. We are sitting ducks with this current leadership. No vision. No foreplanning. Only money grabbing... gimme gimme gimme.

Postby Redman » December 1st, 2016, 10:27 am

No No.

You made a statement.
Explain it.

Lemme help.

whats the commodity you are referencing?
Oil?Gas? French Fries?

What do we pay ?
and who are we selling what to that are selling it below whatever we are paying for it here.

cite examples.

you need to validate your original claim before you discuss anything else.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » December 2nd, 2016, 5:30 am

Lol i just gih yu the maths to work it out for urself. I will explain later heading out now.

Doh beat up. Latah i will give u actual numbers. And apparently i am doing this for fun because ppl who getting paid and supposed to be doing what i am about to do not doing it.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » December 2nd, 2016, 5:42 am

wagonrunner wrote:NP Duncan Village and Rushworth Street have a red tape over the screens of the pumps.

Duncan village still accepts credit cards... Just not at the pump

Regarding the ev and hybrid discussion... Still need fuel to burn to generate electrical power

Postby sMASH » December 2nd, 2016, 6:13 am

^^ unless they put a set of wind turbine and solar panels all,over the country

Postby wagonrunner » December 2nd, 2016, 12:32 pm

kamakazi wrote:Duncan village still accepts credit cards... Just not at the pump

cool scene. antisocial me prefers to not even have that interaction.

Postby hydroep » December 6th, 2016, 9:17 pm

Just went to fill up at the Vistabella Unipet and an attendant told me "No cards".

Got through at the Royal Road NP Service Station.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » December 7th, 2016, 12:48 am

Put fuel by them Sunday gone using my credit card... Probably machines were down

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » December 7th, 2016, 9:43 am

Hmm I hadda see about the unipet in vistabella as that's my regular stop I wonder if it's only credit as I usually use my debit card..To add the same happen to me on cross some weeks back when I went to refuel the attendants said no linx either

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 7th, 2016, 10:36 am

Last time I went NP Richmond St. card wasn't working on the pump nor inside. They said Linx was down. Same thing at NP Piarco.
Comm failure seems to be a far too frequent occurrence for these gas stations.

Postby wagonrunner » December 7th, 2016, 11:26 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Comm failure seems to be a far too frequent occurrence for these gas stations.

at duncan village and at richmond street, attendants unplug the modem so you have to interact with them but NP does nothing about it.

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » December 7th, 2016, 11:33 am

Isn't linx funds being transfer hmm just now I have to moving with gas money too..I use the linx as ease of access...

ADONI

Postby ADONI » December 7th, 2016, 12:15 pm

Credit card wuking by pump, at the gas station on Wrightson road, opposite License Office.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 7th, 2016, 1:00 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Comm failure seems to be a far too frequent occurrence for these gas stations.

at duncan village and at richmond street, attendants unplug the modem so you have to interact with them but NP does nothing about it.
but why, for what benefit to them? not like we have to tip attendants

Postby Dizzy28 » December 7th, 2016, 1:08 pm

Less hassle to them prhaps??

Postby Redman » December 7th, 2016, 1:53 pm

More cash sales?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 7th, 2016, 3:23 pm

if everything was electronic then that would be less hassle. Attendants having to deal with customers is more hassle.

Postby Dizzy28 » December 7th, 2016, 3:35 pm

if everything was electronic then that would be less hassle. Attendants having to deal with customers is more hassle.

In some of the older stations there is one attendant who mans the machine usually in the island in the middle of the pumps. He/she is the one who usually don't like the hassle of doing e-transactions. He/she is also usually one of the more senior attendants being the one with responsibility for the machine so he would switch it off and force everyone to pay the pumping attendants who have the work to give collect money give change.

I should have stated less hassle to the one person who does the machine transactions.

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » December 7th, 2016, 4:20 pm

Seems legit..

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 7th, 2016, 4:21 pm

^ why unplug the self serve pumps too though? You swipe your card on the pump. That's what I usually use and find most convenient and quicker.

Postby Dizzy28 » December 7th, 2016, 4:44 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ why unplug the self serve pumps too though? You swipe your card on the pump. That's what I usually use and find most convenient and quicker.

Those older stations I refer too don't have self serve pumps e.g. NP El Dorado (next to Massy) and Guppy's on El Socorro. But yea there is no reason for those not too work.

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » December 7th, 2016, 7:41 pm

I go try unipet chaguanas or unipet in tacarigua

Postby Morpheus » December 7th, 2016, 7:47 pm

I sticking with Unipet Tacarigua yes

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » December 7th, 2016, 11:24 pm

Morpheus wrote:I sticking with Unipet Tacarigua yes

Do u feel a difference in performance when filling up there? I do.