RIP Beulah

RIP Beulah

Postby Dizzy28 » October 31st, 2016, 11:31 am

Trinidad and Tobago lost some its sunshine today with the death of actress Shirley “Beulah” King. Her husband died last week.
1.jpg

Through her daughter, King had made a public appeal earlier this year for financial assistance to help her rebuild her home which was destroyed in a fire in November 2015.

Since May, she had been living in a temporary accommodations at Wharton Street, Enterprise, a place provided with the assistance of the State.

King told the Express then: “No other ministry, ministry or people from the theatre fraternity has contacted me yet. My home burned down on November 20, while I was in the ICU Unit at the hospital. I was there for three months and a week and only came out last Sunday. I had gotten an asthma attack and was unconscious when they took me to the hospital. I am ok now, but recovering still.”
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20161031 ... h-has-died

(slight edit to include artwork from Chee-wah - Banzai)

xtech

Re: RIP Beulah

Postby xtech » October 31st, 2016, 11:37 am

Roy an now Beulah. RIP both of them

Postby toyolink » October 31st, 2016, 11:47 am

This lady gave a lot to us.
We seemed to have forgotten her.......and now this.
RIP MS Beulah, hope you are in a better place.

Postby Rovin » October 31st, 2016, 11:49 am

R.I.P ........

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 31st, 2016, 11:58 am

I remember lots of funny skits from her. A real local icon in theater and comedy.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » October 31st, 2016, 12:00 pm

RIP
even after all these years i still remember the Naisa commercial

Postby Dizzy28 » October 31st, 2016, 12:03 pm

When I was small I thought Stork was her husband.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 31st, 2016, 12:15 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I remember lots of funny skits from her. A real local icon in theater and comedy.

Postby Morpheus » October 31st, 2016, 12:31 pm

RIP Beulah

Postby 88sins » October 31st, 2016, 12:46 pm

The Queen of Calabash Alley
R.I.P. Beulah darling, no more worries.

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » October 31st, 2016, 1:12 pm

Yes Doctor Shirley Beulah King. I remember those skits which brought joy to my family and many others.
May the heavens bless you with all it riches.

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » October 31st, 2016, 2:13 pm

RIP Buelah.

Postby The_Honourable » October 31st, 2016, 2:27 pm

Always remembered her in the Naisa commercial growing up in the 90's. Use to watch Beulah Darling on a Saturday night plus the memorable skits between her and Sprangalang in the Caribbean Comedy Festivals.

R.I.P Beulah

lostboys crew

Postby lostboys crew » October 31st, 2016, 5:50 pm

R.I.P. Tanty Beulah

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » October 31st, 2016, 6:53 pm

Sad that we don't appreciate what we have till it's gone. Still can't believe it. R.I.P.

Postby MaxPower » October 31st, 2016, 7:05 pm

Calabash alley is the place to be..

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » October 31st, 2016, 7:09 pm

toyolink wrote:This lady gave a lot to us.
We seemed to have forgotten her.......and now this.
RIP MS Beulah, hope you are in a better place.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 31st, 2016, 8:12 pm

She shouldn't have had to suffer for a house....so much hoc houses available.....after she gave so much to Trinidad film industry
Rip Beulah

Postby Damien » October 31st, 2016, 8:15 pm

Rip.....

Postby shogun » October 31st, 2016, 8:19 pm

R.I.P

Postby Monk BANzai » October 31st, 2016, 8:32 pm

this annoys me. Outside of Uncle Ellis (and i hope that they keep him relevant, and he's a johnny Come lately TBH)) and Roaring Lion back in the day (Who Eddie Grant personally took care of) most of our cultural icons die poor/embarrassed/lack of recognition..and im talking across the board...all racial lines.

There is ZERO forward planning for our cultural icons.

Postby Morpheus » October 31st, 2016, 8:42 pm

^^Zero.....

Watch tribute now eh.....

Re: RE: Re: RIP Beulah

Postby Dizzy28 » October 31st, 2016, 10:16 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:this annoys me. Outside of Uncle Ellis (and i hope that they keep him relevant, and he's a johnny Come lately TBH)) and Roaring Lion back in the day (Who Eddie Grant personally took care of) most of our cultural icons die poor/embarrassed/lack of recognition..and im talking across the board...all racial lines.

But Ras you have to admit the icons not really planning for them selves very well either.

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » October 31st, 2016, 10:29 pm

The Icons may not be planning for themselves in later years - Granted. The President, Yes uncle Aquinas, recently made a pitch for these Icons. There are so many professionals in Ministry of Culture who did thesis on these persons and got their degree and big wuk. After which they forgot their " ELDERS".

There are so many programmes in Social Services, yet do they have any for our BARDS?

The tributes will pour in - IT IS TOO LATE!!!!!!!!!!! Where were they when she needed a house?

Postby Monk BANzai » October 31st, 2016, 11:55 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:this annoys me. Outside of Uncle Ellis (and i hope that they keep him relevant, and he's a johnny Come lately TBH)) and Roaring Lion back in the day (Who Eddie Grant personally took care of) most of our cultural icons die poor/embarrassed/lack of recognition..and im talking across the board...all racial lines.

But Ras you have to admit the icons not really planning for them selves very well either.

yeah you right...even modern day icons cant manage their own successes. Its a void that either the artists are afraid of embracing or too proud to admit they need management/help.

SUNNYB310GUY

Postby SUNNYB310GUY » October 31st, 2016, 11:58 pm

RIP Beulah...ill never forget ur funny commercials growing up...u will be sorely missed

MonstersInc

Postby MonstersInc » November 1st, 2016, 12:12 am

RiP Queen Beulah

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » November 1st, 2016, 9:55 am

I thought she died some time ago...

Calabash Alley FTW. RIP, she deserves an award

Postby toyolink » November 1st, 2016, 5:32 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:

yeah you right...even modern day icons cant manage their own successes. Its a void that either the artists are afraid of embracing or too proud to admit they need management/help.

Maybe getting to the root of their failings and making a concerted effort to bring and end to their sad demise is an initiative which must become part of our national agenda.
Every time these things happen their is pain in the heart.

Mr. Tony Stark

Postby Mr. Tony Stark » November 1st, 2016, 7:36 pm

So tomorrow we should all go out, find a play whe machine and play 4