Calling all air gun enthusiasts

Re: Calling all air gun enthusiasts

Postby dougla_boy » July 4th, 2017, 9:03 am

dougla_boy wrote:Soooo, question, how hard is it to get a license for air rifles now?

Impossible, since all that was ever issued were permits

But I know a couple ppl that got theirs recently, within the last month. Last fella collected his about 2 weeks ago.

sh!t, now realize that is ah permit ah wah! :lol:

so same question, how hard it is to get one? i wah get meh air rifle bad bad.....cuz i legit wanna hunt

ADONI

Postby ADONI » July 4th, 2017, 9:09 am

http://airgunstt.blogspot.com/2009/04/h ... -in-t.html

There are three easy steps to owning an airgun in Trinidad & Tobago:

1. Go to any police station with national ID (PP, DP or electoral ID) and apply for Certificate of Character. Time: 3 weeks. Cost: $50 and your finger prints.

(While this is in process, head down to the Firearms Unit on the 4th Floor, Police Admin on Sackville St, PoS. Get an Air Rifle application form).

2. When you get the CoC back, take it, along with the completed AR app form to Firearms Unit.
Time: 3 weeks. Cost: Free.

3. When you get the permission letter from the Commissioner. Buy your rifle, pellets and auxilliary equipment and supplies (scope, bag, cleaning kit, etc.)

Remember you are buying a shooting platform, not just a gun. So, take into account the cost of additional equipment, spare parts and maintenance. A good airgunsmith is invaluable, and T&T has a very short list of them. Maintain good OpSec by not bragging about your new acquisition to friends, relatives, neighbours. Go shooting with like-minded, more experienced airgunners, so you can learn.

Keep your gun secured in your home. The single best way to prevent children from playing with guns is to teach them to shoot safely in a relaxed safe environment. Pay a professional, if you’re unsure. Shooting is fun.

Postby Redman » July 4th, 2017, 9:14 am

I would add to ADONIs complete list ...join a range-

STRA for example has a vibrant air rifle section-and there are competitive AR shooters there....very open and supportive....regular range days etc

Postby dougla_boy » July 4th, 2017, 10:12 am

I spoke to a fella about on, Bullseye something, and I saw another for Blue Line, link to the others facebook by chance?

Postby 88sins » July 4th, 2017, 11:01 am

dougla_boy wrote:I spoke to a fella about on, Bullseye something, and I saw another for Blue Line, link to the others facebook by chance?

Bullseye is a very good association to be with. Down to earth people, always willing to help members with whatever instruction you need as well as training and practice in safety practices & various disciplines & shooting positions. They treat their members really well. If looking to join an AG association in the north, Bullseye is a very good one to get into.

Postby *KRONIK* » July 4th, 2017, 11:47 am

ADONI wrote:http://airgunstt.blogspot.com/2009/04/how-to-legally-own-airgun-in-t.html

1. Go to any police station with national ID (PP, DP or electoral ID) and apply for Certificate of Character. Time: 3 weeks. Cost: $50 and your finger prints.

(While this is in process, head down to the Firearms Unit on the 4th Floor, Police Admin on Sackville St, PoS. Get an Air Rifle application form).

2. When you get the CoC back, take it, along with the completed AR app form to Firearms Unit.

3. When you get the permission letter from the Commissioner. Buy your rifle, pellets and auxilliary equipment and supplies (scope, bag, cleaning kit, etc.)

Remember you are buying a shooting platform, not just a gun. So, take into account the cost of additional equipment, spare parts and maintenance. A good airgunsmith is invaluable, and T&T has a very short list of them. Maintain good OpSec by not bragging about your new acquisition to friends, relatives, neighbours. Go shooting with like-minded, more experienced airgunners, so you can learn.

Keep your gun secured in your home. The single best way to prevent children from playing with guns is to teach them to shoot safely in a relaxed safe environment. Pay a professional, if you’re unsure. Shooting is fun.

Postby dougla_boy » July 4th, 2017, 1:53 pm

bess! so the air rifle permit easy to get? i eh importing... cuz i may have a lil link @ Agostini...... so i eh hadda worry bout not getting it?

ADONI

Postby ADONI » July 4th, 2017, 2:07 pm

Although time say 3 weeks, they tell yuh come back in 6-8 weeks...

Postby pugboy » July 4th, 2017, 3:04 pm

its more like 2 months
you can get it expedited by certain dealers for a "fee" or buy airgun from them.........

Postby 88sins » July 4th, 2017, 5:28 pm

pugboy wrote:its more like 2 months
you can support bobol and dig out eye by certain dealers for a "fee" or buy airgun from them.........

Fixed it for ya

Postby dougla_boy » July 4th, 2017, 5:42 pm

Nah, I eh doing that... but thanks! I go apply within the next few weeks

Postby pugboy » July 4th, 2017, 7:22 pm

Somebody should post a list of the dealers who can "assist"

I know for sure agostinis outright says they do not support bobol
They will submit the application for you for free, they did for me with no obligation to buy from them later.

pugboy wrote:its more like 2 months
you can support bobol and dig out eye by certain dealers for a "fee" or buy airgun from them.........

Fixed it for ya

Postby 88sins » July 4th, 2017, 7:52 pm

That's why I always recommend people to them first. Wonderful people to do business with. Decent prices when compared to others too.

Postby dougla_boy » July 4th, 2017, 8:35 pm

Yup, went there the other day and checked out the cheapest, and it was like 2300 or so....a Hatsan .... 1000fps.... break barrel....good little starter I think

android79

Postby android79 » July 4th, 2017, 9:15 pm

ADONI wrote:http://airgunstt.blogspot.com/2009/04/how-to-legally-own-airgun-in-t.html

Good info . So how you go about getting an importer's permit?

leelad

Postby leelad » July 4th, 2017, 9:35 pm

I got mine by writing a letter in the same format as a regular air rifle application but instead of the line purchase and keep i wrote import and keep.

Honestly it's kinda pointless getting an import and keep, because all the rifles I've looked at had "spiral bore" rifled barrels and we're only allowed smooth bore rifles.

(Had my import n keep since 2010 no luck finding anything worthwhile to import)

Postby 88sins » July 4th, 2017, 9:39 pm

DB, if it's one thing I love about Hatsans, if they say 1000 fps, that is what you get with actual lead pellets of a decent weight, not some super light weight alloy nonsense.

Postby dougla_boy » July 4th, 2017, 11:32 pm

Nice....go check allyuh back on the progress of meh application and actual purchasing of the rifle... I will however in the meantime, take a trip with those folks at Bullseye Association, and see what they have going on....

Postby pugboy » July 5th, 2017, 7:07 am

agostinis has some deal where you get a discount if you are a member of bullseye

Postby 88sins » July 5th, 2017, 8:42 am

yup, very good assoc I tell yuh
And the usual after practice chill out is another story

Postby Redman » July 5th, 2017, 8:54 am

Postby 88sins » July 5th, 2017, 10:19 am

Redman wrote:Is this possible to import?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1BCQk-h1jcE

If you have the Import license & FUL for it, yes it is

bossmann

Postby bossmann » July 5th, 2017, 10:21 am

Redman wrote:Is this possible to import?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1BCQk-h1jcE

No smooth bore and .177 no air rifle (in trinidad)

Postby sMASH » July 6th, 2017, 5:43 am

FUL .

2300 isn't bad to start off with air rifle... Quite encouraging actually.

And seeing as people tend to upgrade after they get more experienced and knowledgeable, is there a format or location to get used basic equipment?

Would the process for getting an FUL for a more powerful large caliber rifled bore air rifle be easier than for a hand gun? Or the same break the bank, dust collecting , dig out ur eye system?

bossmann

Postby bossmann » July 6th, 2017, 6:25 am

sMASH wrote:FUL .

2300 isn't bad to start off with air rifle... Quite encouraging actually.

And seeing as people tend to upgrade after they get more experienced and knowledgeable, is there a format or location to get used basic equipment?

Would the process for getting an FUL for a more powerful large caliber rifled bore air rifle be easier than for a hand gun? Or the same break the bank, dust collecting , dig out ur eye system?

Same process for a large bore air rifle or a handgun.

Postby 88sins » July 19th, 2017, 8:17 am

Anyone interested in a little friendly long range benchrest competition?
pm me your contact info for details if interested

Postby dougla_boy » July 19th, 2017, 2:39 pm

i cyah sya yeah, i now collecting meh CoC....gonna drop in the application for permit this week...... on my way closer to ma air gun

Postby pugboy » July 19th, 2017, 3:39 pm

What area ? north or south trinidad ?

88sins wrote:Anyone interested in a little friendly long range benchrest competition?
pm me your contact info for details if interested

Postby streetbeastINC. » July 19th, 2017, 6:34 pm

how far from grande???lol..

Postby 88sins » July 19th, 2017, 9:01 pm

St Joseph.