Sandals Thread!

Re: Sandals Thread!

Postby The_Honourable » October 17th, 2018, 11:05 pm

88sins wrote:I want to see and hear what senor baldilocks & company go tell the people in Tobago...

What you will see is some tobagonians outside sandals by the entrance selling toolum and benny balls. He could tell them boo and they will vote for him. They take the seabridge pipe nice and easy, so once you have the right face to the issue, you can get away with anything.

Then again by the time Sandals finish, Rowley may not be PM.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » October 18th, 2018, 1:10 am

88sins wrote:I want to see and hear what senor baldilocks & company go tell the people in Tobago when sandals finish build and open when they can't get as many guests as usual to occupy the hotels and guest houses the people of Tobago invested in.
and when they have a hotel or guest house, and loans to pay for the development of those properties, they paying commercial property tax rates, based on rental income they not gonna be making because sandals scooped up the bulk of foreigners coming to Tobago. Small hotels and guest houses going to have to rely really heavily on local occupancy.

Unless we start aggressively and successfully promoting Tobago internationally as a high quality moderately priced tourist destination and get the number of visitors up substantially, I suspect Tobagonians gonna feel it hard.

but still, gr8 is the pee-on-em

Just as a point of info, commercial, agricultural and industrial property tax not happening anytime in the next 5-7 years even if PNM stay in power.

Postby 88sins » October 18th, 2018, 1:54 am

ProtonPowder wrote:Just as a point of info, commercial, agricultural and industrial property tax not happening anytime in the next 5-7 years even if PNM stay in power.

I'm aware of this, but the point is that eventually if it gets implemented, unless we can somehow boost occupancy, Tobagonian hoteliers will be the ones paying higher property tax rates based on guestimated rental income that they won't be able to make.

but then again the ppl vote fuh dat, they knew full well what they were getting when they elected this jackass and his band of merry idiots and still opted to take their chances.

Postby rspann » October 18th, 2018, 7:12 am

ProtonPowder wrote:Just as a point of info, commercial, agricultural and industrial property tax not happening anytime in the next 5-7 years even if PNM stay in power.

I'm aware of this, but the point is that eventually if it gets implemented, unless we can somehow boost occupancy, Tobagonian hoteliers will be the ones paying higher property tax rates based on guestimated rental income that they won't be able to make.

but then again the ppl vote fuh dat, they knew full well what they were getting when they elected this jackass and his band of merry idiots and still opted to take their chances.

How you could call the man a jackass ?

Insulting the jackass jusso .

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » October 18th, 2018, 8:53 am

The_Honourable wrote:What you will see is some tobagonians outside sandals by the entrance selling toolum and benny balls. .

and dont forget the sketchy ones who always looking to sell reef tour tickets

Postby 88sins » October 18th, 2018, 12:35 pm

dean_spleen09 wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:What you will see is some tobagonians outside sandals by the entrance selling toolum and benny balls. .

and dont forget the sketchy ones who always looking to sell reef tour tickets

& doh forget the flipper boys

Postby matr1x » October 18th, 2018, 1:27 pm

Vene plying get their trade on and around the beach

Postby The_Honourable » October 27th, 2018, 11:30 pm

Chairman of Sandals Resorts International, Gordon Stewart, says it is up to the Trinidad and Tobago government to release information on the Tobago Sandals project.

Postby De Dragon » October 28th, 2018, 1:08 am

So, given the secrecy by the PNM thus far, we seem destined to never know the details unless the UNC takes over and "shines them up". I suspect though, that if the "terms" are favourable to whichever GORTT is in place at the time, the secrecy will continue. So we may never know what terms and conditions this project has.

Postby The_Honourable » October 28th, 2018, 12:35 pm

De Dragon wrote:So, given the secrecy by the PNM thus far, we seem destined to never know the details unless the UNC takes over and "shines them up". I suspect though, that if the "terms" are favourable to whichever GORTT is in place at the time, the secrecy will continue. So we may never know what terms and conditions this project has.

Well the only hope right now is Afra Raymond who is doing a FOIA request through the court to get it. Of course the government can always appeal so we would not get that info anytime soon unless there is a leak.

Postby 88sins » October 28th, 2018, 5:20 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Chairman of Sandals Resorts International, Gordon Stewart, says it is up to the Trinidad and Tobago government to release information on the Tobago Sandals project.

in other words, mind your own effin business.

Postby The_Honourable » October 28th, 2018, 10:48 pm

88sins wrote:in other words, mind your own effin business.

and i prepared to walk...

Postby De Dragon » October 28th, 2018, 10:52 pm

^^^ Chain up sheit talk. Bleeding the host country is too attractive to "walk"

Postby 88sins » October 29th, 2018, 9:48 am

watch from 1:32 to 1:38
"deh owe meh mornay, becaz we done a lot af designs, but we've nat presented anyting"
mofo mean to say 'doh mata wat i come out to tek trini dallah'

He & sandals prepared to walk? he should get to steppin.
What is to stop us from paying for the designs & taking them & building this resort & have a local company manage it, leaving sandals out entirely? That way we keep all the forex it earns, same jobs get created, same developmental growth in other sectors occurs.
Hell, we don't even need to go with their designs, it already have plenty ppl here that could do that & could use the work, not to mention they would be paid TTD not USD

Postby j.o.e » October 29th, 2018, 10:12 am

Sandals marketing and branding is very valuable. Not saying it’s a good deal. But just saying if we build the hotel and call it something else it will fail just like the others in Bago

Postby Dizzy28 » October 29th, 2018, 12:06 pm

j.o.e wrote:Sandals marketing and branding is very valuable. Not saying it’s a good deal. But just saying if we build the hotel and call it something else it will fail just like the others in Bago

There a number of studies pointing to the decline of the Sandals model of tourism i.e. 3S's - sun, sea and sand. I have heard some industry insiders say they believe Sandals will face difficulties in the next few years as their target market ages.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » October 30th, 2018, 2:25 pm

Postby 88sins » October 30th, 2018, 2:55 pm

j.o.e wrote:Sandals marketing and branding is very valuable. Not saying it’s a good deal. But just saying if we build the hotel and call it something else it will fail just like the others in Bago

sandals brand & marketing is indeed very valuable, but here's the hook

it's only valuable to sandals, they may try to market the franchise to countries as a desirable asset, but when u really get down to the brass tacks of it if a country properly markets itself as a premier tourist destination, resorts like sandals would have to pay to set up shop here

Ideally this should be a symbiotic enterprise, where both parties benefit
not this attempt at a parasitic infestation like what this hang-belly bajan kakahole want

Postby Gladiator » October 30th, 2018, 7:48 pm

For those with long term memory.... Rowley and his gang went to Butch pre 2015 election. Most likely for campaign financing.... 2M was the alleged sum.

Tobago done sell.... Sadals done own everything... just politics and politricks to play now!!!

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » October 30th, 2018, 7:54 pm

Gladiator wrote:For those with long term memory.... Rowley and his gang went to Butch pre 2010 election. Most likely for campaign financing.... 2M was the alleged sum.

Tobago done sell.... Sadals done own everything... just politics and politricks to play now!!!

I wonder if this is the reason that the Jamaica Observer newspaper loves to racebait whenever they mention TnT in an article. During the 2015 gen election in TnT i never realised that so many jamaicans had so many strong views about our home politics.

I mean, one could imagine which way they swung to, it is both obvious and 100% correct.

For context, Butch is their chairman.
http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/emo ... ofile=1373

QM

Postby QM » October 30th, 2018, 8:40 pm

It would be nice. Hopefully something does come from this but I also hope Tobagonians and Trinidadians alike who will be working there change their hostile attitude and find some form of customer service. More than likely Sandals will bring in a lot of foreign managers to help with the staff.

Postby toyolink » October 31st, 2018, 12:41 pm

The modus operandi of the negotiating parties for this venture to be a success is a bit unsettling.
Mr Stewart's somewhat dismissive references to an MOU and his expressed discomfort with concerns the locals/taxpayers (he calls it politics) have raised does reflect some arrogance.
The question remains what would be the capital outlay taxpayers would have to bear in order to give Sandals total management control and what are the measureable results to be derived.
…..Lets please see this, even the feasibility study (an executive summary would suffice).

Postby 88sins » October 31st, 2018, 7:57 pm

toyolink wrote:The modus operandi of the negotiating parties for this venture to be a success is a bit unsettling.
Mr Stewart's somewhat dismissive references to an MOU and his expressed discomfort with concerns the locals/taxpayers (he calls it politics) have raised does reflect some arrogance.
The question remains what would be the capital outlay taxpayers would have to bear in order to give Sandals total management control and what are the measureable results to be derived.
…..Lets please see this, even the feasibility study (an executive summary would suffice).

boi who you really feel you is to ask to see dem kinda ting? tooloom head and others eh showing nobody dat. because this sandals fiasco is the last chance they go have before the next election for dem to siphon off a nice chunk of change, cuz they pretty sure they not getting to go back in office in a hurry. why u feel he he saying he wants the agreements to be signed by the end of November? they want this lock down & $$$$ start to run long before the next election.
better you ask dem to show you Patos come back from the dead riding a pink unicorn that dancin on a star & fartin rainbows. hell they go show u the real fountain of youth and the cure for cancer at the same time before they show you that.

Postby Strugglerzinc » October 31st, 2018, 8:06 pm

toyolink wrote:The modus operandi of the negotiating parties for this venture to be a success is a bit unsettling.

cuz they pretty sure they not getting to go back in office in a hurry.

Wait, what? Padna, Petrotrin workers voting for them, Greenvale residents voting for them, where you think this is?

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » October 31st, 2018, 9:32 pm

I dead sure they going right back in power. Not that I want that, but is most likely.
UNC vote getting split left, right and centre.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » November 1st, 2018, 7:02 am

Butch took over AirJam and he ran it into the ground. He used the airline to subsidize Sandals guests with cheaper airfare and perks...

Guess who owns AirJam now?

Postby bluefete » November 1st, 2018, 8:09 am

No way hosay, Butch walking away from this.

We are saving him $2.7 billion in building costs BEFORE the project has even started. With Trinbago corruption that savings could escalate to $5.4 billion.

Then there are all the incentives the government will give him for the next 25-40 years.

Guess who is the chupidee?

Miktay

Postby Miktay » November 1st, 2018, 10:10 am

No one knows the gas price the various multinationals were paying either. That was also a 'state' secret.

Postby The_Honourable » November 30th, 2018, 6:28 pm

Raymond on MOU: Sandals concessions against public interest

THE memorandum of understanding (MOU) between Government and Sandals Resorts on the proposed Tobago project contains concessions that are against the public interest, says immediate past president of the Joint Consultative Council for the Construction Industry Afra Raymond.

Raymond had filed a claim alleging Government was unjustified in refusing requests for information on the deal under the Freedom of Information Act. The case was settled on Thursday in the High Court as it was determined Raymond had received all the information he had requested, one day after Communications Minister Stuart Young and Sandals officials announced the MOU was being made public.

Raymond, in an email interview with Newsday, said the release was "better late than never."

Young had said the decision to release the MOU was not because of the legal action but Raymond disagrees.

"(It is) absolutely so. The MOU was released the evening before our case management conference, so the claims of coincidence are comical. Last week I was saying that it looked like a flying pig giving birth to a white elephant, this week it resembling Tobago love."

Raymond said there are many positive features in the MOU in favour of the hotelier. He pointed to the tenth, eleventh and twelfth clauses which effectively give an open supply of work permits to Sandals.

"The MOU states that the resorts will be designed and built, fitted and furnished at state expense, up to and including two opening ceremonies - and Sandals will be getting incentives and concessions as per clause eight at page four. I consider that proposal to be against the public interest. Given that we are investing all the capital, how are we to secure a return on that investment, if there are further concessions/incentives granted to the hotelier?"

Raymond questioned if Government was considering granting tax or duty concessions to Sandals. He also said the MOU appears to inoculate Sandals from any future impact in terms of taxes, concessions or other incentives.

Source: https://newsday.co.tt/2018/11/30/raymon ... -interest/

Postby The_Honourable » December 11th, 2018, 6:03 pm

Sandals will be able to do as they please...