S1.jpg
S2.jpg
S3.jpg

Re: Sandals Thread!

Postby The_Honourable » August 25th, 2018, 9:15 pm

Rowley trying to make a legacy so that we can remember him for it. We can name the contributions Williams, Robinson, Manning and Kamla did for the country whether we agreed or not with their projects or politics. There is nothing so far Rowley did that we can say... yeah boi he did that. The Rapid Rail didn't pan out, NIF remains to be seen, the Churchill Roosevelt Highway extension in court with environmentalists, and the gas deal shaky since is Maduro we dealing with, so the next big thing is Sandals. The only major thing Rowley could get through with is the Curepe interchange.

The good thing with Sandals is that the seabridge (hopefully) would be fixed, otherwise Rowley would not be running to Australia to get two boats.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » August 25th, 2018, 11:10 pm

Sandals Tobago could never be a part of Rowley legacy....Sandals Tobago is Butch Stewart's legacy. So he wrong if that is how he thinking. And Manning legacy is a failing Hyatt and a failing Port of Spain Skyline. They need to stop thinking legacy and start thinking basic development. A lot of them suffering from delusions of grandeur..

Study that Hyatt view is Sea Lots nah....madness

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » August 25th, 2018, 11:19 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Sandals master plan for Tobago

Nothing new or unique that will entice people further south than they have to....Good luck with that expense.

In abt 5 years time Sandals will ask for their name to be removed from the resort for contractual breaches, probably less than that with government change etc...Another white elephant.

We really don't learn at all in this country. BTW do we even have the labour for this type of servitude tourism. Our labour force has access to free tertiary level education so people not too keen on serving drinks to tourist day in and day out.

What Tobago needed was a green economy with a heavy focus on marine life, biodiversity and renewable energy etc to decrease their consumption and reliance on trinidad. Sun hot 90% of the year and not one solar panel...laughable

Postby matr1x » August 26th, 2018, 6:18 am

The_Honourable wrote:Sandals master plan for Tobago

More like massa plan.

Postby mero » August 26th, 2018, 8:11 am

Redress10 wrote:Sandals Tobago could never be a part of Rowley legacy....Sandals Tobago is Butch Stewart's legacy. So he wrong if that is how he thinking. And Manning legacy is a failing Hyatt and a failing Port of Spain Skyline. They need to stop thinking legacy and start thinking basic development. A lot of them suffering from delusions of grandeur..

How is Hyatt failing?

Postby 88sins » August 26th, 2018, 12:32 pm

mero wrote:
Redress10 wrote:Sandals Tobago could never be a part of Rowley legacy....Sandals Tobago is Butch Stewart's legacy. So he wrong if that is how he thinking. And Manning legacy is a failing Hyatt and a failing Port of Spain Skyline. They need to stop thinking legacy and start thinking basic development. A lot of them suffering from delusions of grandeur..

How is Hyatt failing?

slums & a chaotic port on one side, majestic view of a large expanse of dutty sea water for an ocean view, a old dutty dilapidated seaport on the other side, & a filthy city chock full of vagrants, bandits, rats, roaches & urine soaked sidewalks at the front

yeah, dey real gt

antlind

Postby antlind » August 26th, 2018, 12:41 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Rowley trying to make a legacy so that we can remember him for it. We can name the contributions Williams, Robinson, Manning and Kamla did for the country whether we agreed or not with their projects or politics. There is nothing so far Rowley did that we can say... yeah boi he did that.

To be fair, we did see a significant increase in crime and criminal activity under his watch. And with the Petrotrin situation we could also add job losses to that list. So yes, he could point to these things and say ‘yeah boi, I did that’.

Postby mero » August 26th, 2018, 1:13 pm

mero wrote:

How is Hyatt failing?

slums & a chaotic port on one side, majestic view of a large expanse of dutty sea water for an ocean view, a old dutty dilapidated seaport on the other side, & a filthy city chock full of vagrants, bandits, rats, roaches & urine soaked sidewalks at the front

yeah, dey real gt
Thanks for describing practically every waterfront in Trinidad.

Now how is Hyatt Regency failing?

Postby j.o.e » August 26th, 2018, 1:49 pm

1. Not sure your age but if you don’t recognize Manning for the Point Lisas industrial estate and the general monetization of Natural gas you’re drunk.

2. Hyatt has been a very successful model

3. A failing POS skyline ? Wouldn’t even waste time.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » August 26th, 2018, 2:17 pm

What pray tell is Aunty kam's legacy

Is it positive or Negative?

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » August 26th, 2018, 2:41 pm

mero wrote:

How is Hyatt failing?

yeah, dey real gt

Not even talking about that...But that too....ya see the thing about "skylines" and skyscrapers is that they build themselves. You don't build skyscrapers as vanity projects...What occurs is that the land becomes so expensive that the only way left to go is up in order to maximize space and return on investment. Add to that the type of firms that occupy this space and it would give you the nature of value of the property. Out waterfront center is home to government offices etc...Not international banks, investment firms and other profit making organisations rent paying organisations. Ministry of education isn't a profit making organisation so why should they occupy "premium real estate". Premium real estate should be occupied by firms paying a rent to repay for these buildings. These buildings were not free.

You can't claim to be premium real estate and sea lots etc within walking distance. Ever notice that places like New York, London etc...their skylines are constantly changing....Buildings being torn down and rebuilt. That's due to simple economics of demand and supply. The property there is in high demand and that demand keeps expanding so property in the vicinity continues to appreciate and be sold and bought etc...Simple economics. Our is more artificial...There was no demand so Government took it upon themselves to do.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » August 26th, 2018, 2:58 pm

j.o.e wrote:

1. Not sure your age but if you don’t recognize Manning for the Point Lisas industrial estate and the general monetization of Natural gas you’re drunk.

How is Hyatt a very successful model if the government needs to use taxpayer's dollars to design, build, furnish a hotel and then basically let a hotel group license and manage it? How is that investment? That "Model" is only unique to this country. The other "model" used in the caribbean requires the hotel company to design, build and furnish the hotel with its own money. Which one you think is better for taxpayers?

So again how is Hyatt "model" very successful? You know how much money TnT gets from Hyatt in profits? You do realise that information isn't readily available. We still don't know how much money Hilton makes and how much money Tnt makes from it even after all these years. You still eh learn from the Magdalena Grand fiasco as yet? Hilton left and left us with a building that nobody want to touch. Now they chasing behind Sandals like dogs in heat. Ya eh realise by now this is only about construction corruptions. Steups.

Postby j.o.e » August 26th, 2018, 3:03 pm

Redress10 wrote:
j.o.e wrote:

How is Hyatt a very successful model if the government needs to use taxpayer's dollars to design, build, furnish a hotel and then basically let a hotel group license and manage it? How is that investment? That "Model" is only unique to this country. The other "model" used in the caribbean requires the hotel company to design, build and furnish the hotel with its own money. Which one you think is better for taxpayers?

So again how is Hyatt "model" very successful? You know how much money TnT gets from Hyatt in profits? You do realise that information isn't readily available. We still don't know how much money Hilton makes and how much money Tnt makes from it even after all these years. You still eh learn from the Magdalena Grand fiasco as yet? Hilton left and left us with a building that nobody want to touch. Now they chasing behind Sandals like dogs in heat. Ya eh realise by now this is only about construction corruptions. Steups.

THE Hyatt Regency Hotel in Port of Spain reported a profit of approximately $320 million from 2013 to 2017.

Trade and Industry Minister Paula Gopee-Scoon made this report to the Senate yesterday. These profits included $75.7 million, $76 million, $66.3 million, $51 million and $60 million in 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 and 2017 respectively.

https://newsday.co.tt/2018/05/02/320-mi ... for-hyatt/

antlind

Postby antlind » August 26th, 2018, 3:16 pm

PariaMan wrote:What pray tell is Aunty kam's legacy

Is it positive or Negative?

Thief, thief and more thief.

bess almera

Postby bess almera » August 26th, 2018, 3:37 pm

Redress10 is very clueless as to Hyatt’s affairs but such is life.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » August 26th, 2018, 4:01 pm

That 320 million tt profit would have sounded much more respectable if it was for one year and not 4. We also don't know how much of that "profit" was retained in Tnt and how much was repatriated to the home country etc. That sort of information isn't made public so for all we know....over half could have been repatriated. Is it really an accomplishment having spent all that money to boast that hotel is making less than 50 millions usd over four years? That's less than 15 million usd per year.

You realise that the "one percent" want nothing to do with the Government hotels. They went to Ansa, Massy, Guardian etc to become private partners in Sandals/Magdalena and they were rejected. Those are not exactly respectable returns for a project of that size. The compulsory renovations and upgrades alone would quickly wipe out those accumulated profits.

But I eh know much remember.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » August 26th, 2018, 4:14 pm

In a later interview with Newsday, Garcia said “a lot” of the revenue earned by the hotel through functions comes from various government agencies holding events there.

Asked how much profit Hyatt makes, the Udecott chairman said, “I can’t give the figure right now but what I could say is Hyatt is very profitable.

https://archives.newsday.co.tt/2016/05/ ... for-hyatt/

Left pocket into right pocket = "profitable?

hassanvoyeau

Postby hassanvoyeau » August 27th, 2018, 1:45 am

Hyatt waterfront is ugly? Port of Spain is ugly? Never been to New York or other major cities? I think we need to appreciate what we have and how lucky we are. We have problems in Trinidad that need fixing but calling the waterfront ugly is not going to fix them. I think if we stick to the issues we would be in a better place.

Postby 88sins » August 27th, 2018, 6:54 am

hassanvoyeau wrote:Hyatt waterfront is ugly? Port of Spain is ugly? Never been to New York or other major cities? I think we need to appreciate what we have and how lucky we are. We have problems in Trinidad that need fixing but calling the waterfront ugly is not going to fix them. I think if we stick to the issues we would be in a better place.

i calls it like i sees it.
yes, it ugly & dutty, & I know that saying that eh gonna fix it. but to address the issue, you need to identify the cause. & the cause is the bulk of people living in PoS, in particular, those in Sea Lots, Beetham, & all those apts in the heart of PoS. . but the real question is who tell you the politicians want it fixed?

Postby The_Honourable » August 27th, 2018, 12:26 pm

j.o.e wrote:THE Hyatt Regency Hotel in Port of Spain reported a profit of approximately $320 million from 2013 to 2017.

Trade and Industry Minister Paula Gopee-Scoon made this report to the Senate yesterday. These profits included $75.7 million, $76 million, $66.3 million, $51 million and $60 million in 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 and 2017 respectively.

https://newsday.co.tt/2018/05/02/320-mi ... for-hyatt/

Sounds good, but we don't even know if it is audited accounts or not. Performance? Repatriation percentage? Turnover rate? Afra Raymond going through the court to get the agreement between GORTT and Hyatt via the Freedom of Information Act since GORTT and Hyatt have the agreement secret blocking anyone from accessing it.

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » August 27th, 2018, 12:35 pm

Redress10 wrote:
j.o.e wrote:

Redress= Desifemlove?

Postby The_Honourable » August 27th, 2018, 12:43 pm

Trinispougla wrote:Redress= Desifemlove?

Why u insult d man like that? :lol:

Desi doh stay long on a topic. He/she/it would have been on somebody case talking about hindu temple, UWI and size of his cocolooks.

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » August 27th, 2018, 12:57 pm

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby The_Honourable » October 15th, 2018, 11:30 am

Found this on fb
1.jpg
2.jpg
3.jpg
4.jpg
5.jpg
6.jpg

Postby hydroep » October 17th, 2018, 8:21 pm

Just took in Stuart Little's interview on CNC3's Business Watch.

He stated that:

*The Sandals model for Tobago is different to the rest of the Caribbean in that we will own the property and just pay them a management fee which includes the use of the "Sandals" brand.
*Nothing finalized yet but on track to be concluded by November.
*The Sandals management team has requested that the MOU not be made public as it will impact their competitiveness. Mr. Little tried to liken this to the secrecy surrounding gas prices in the deal with Venezuela. That implies that Afra Raymond's attempt to access the document jeopardizes the project.
*Any concessions granted to Sandals e.g. reduced duties on importing fruits and vegetables will be granted to other hoteliers. In the end the benefit of any concessions will affect the bottom line which will accrue to the taxpayer.
*Airport upgrade and airlift capacity is a requirement by the Sandals Management team hence the announcement of a new Terminal for the Tobago airport and the M$ in subsidies to British Airways and Virgin Atlantic even as visitor arrivals to the island continue to decline (having reached a low of 14,000 for the first 9 months of this year).

Me eh know nuh, while I understand the need for confidentiality too often that has been used as a cover for bobol. As for the potential subsidies, it's funny how all the talk about paying "fair market rates" (on fuel, water, electricity etc.) seems to apply to locals only...:|

Postby sMASH » October 17th, 2018, 9:05 pm

they are bending over backwards to import sandals, they've bent the workers of petrotrin, and the south lands that depend on thier spending, over forwards to dismantle petrotrin.

mind u, AV drilling 100 million dollar defraud, was against petrotrin, we now have heritage petroleum.

the motiv for the ministers isnt for legacy any more. its less grandiose that that. its mereley to be the one that gets the grease to sign the deals. plain, simple.

and jackarse taking balisier up the wahoo, while the balisier selling out their futures.

Postby The_Honourable » October 17th, 2018, 9:37 pm

"No secret deal"... makes MOU secret.

So eventually we have to thank Butch for the upgraded ANR Robinson Airport... not because pnm care about tobago.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » October 17th, 2018, 9:56 pm

But now they could breathe a sigh of relief, as they can claim that it is only a secret so as to not out Butch's 'competitiveness.'

Just now we will be bawling and crying like they are in antigua, all for butch's attack dog and propaganda rag: the Jamaica Observer to rally up more anti-trinidadian sentiment across the caribbean

For all inclusive resorts, there is an extreme whitewashing of the local experience to be had. The food, craft and culture are all carefully curated as to keep the tourists in the resort, and convince them it is a true experience of the destination. All money to be had is kept in the confines of the resort to be carted off to jamaica, while the PNM salivates at the local emplyment opportunities: one hundred busboys, maids and handymen making little more than minimum wage.

Postby 88sins » October 17th, 2018, 10:50 pm

I want to see and hear what senor baldilocks & company go tell the people in Tobago when sandals finish build and open when they can't get as many guests as usual to occupy the hotels and guest houses the people of Tobago invested in.
and when they have a hotel or guest house, and loans to pay for the development of those properties, they paying commercial property tax rates, based on rental income they not gonna be making because sandals scooped up the bulk of foreigners coming to Tobago. Small hotels and guest houses going to have to rely really heavily on local occupancy.

Unless we start aggressively and successfully promoting Tobago internationally as a high quality moderately priced tourist destination and get the number of visitors up substantially, I suspect Tobagonians gonna feel it hard.

but still, gr8 is the pee-on-em