The DIY CCTV camera system thread

Re: The DIY CCTV camera system thread

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 20th, 2018, 10:05 pm

Open up the power supply to see if there is a lil knob to turn to adjust the voltage

My nippon america 5A has one, just assuming this one would have one as well. (Im not sure)
Mine can go as low as ~11V

13.8V is really high for something digital requiring 12V (thats almost 2 volts extra). A regular car lamp or fan will take it but digital electronics are really particular about voltages.

Postby skylinechild » February 20th, 2018, 10:47 pm

matix wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:Gents, i have a question.
My cams came with a set of adapters to supply power to them. Seems every time electricity went and come back an adapter stop working. All 3 are dead. I know they said 12V DC out so i bought one of these 12V power supply for it. The power supply does 13.8V DC out though.
Will 13.8V hurt the cams or does it need to be 12V flat? I don't have any working adapter to even measure the voktage self.

Depends on the type of camera, distance of wire run, amount or IR's on the cameras. Short distances it will work fine. At night time you'll know better when all the IR's are on. Invest in one of these. It's a power panel that distributes an even 12volts to all cameras. There are 9 output and 18 output versions. IMG_6455.JPG

X2 on the power panel boi nerve.
if you want one check I man to install it for u. ( cause is u)

RHD here on tuner should have...

buy the model with the fuses (shown)
each camera supply has its own in line fuse.

I'd recommend the 18 channel version for the future when you upgrade to a 16 channel DVR.

Postby nervewrecker » February 21st, 2018, 5:45 am

Where can i get the power panel?

And yea, the guys that sold the power supply says it has a dashpot inside to adjust.
Ill interfere with it today if thats the case.

R-H-D

Postby R-H-D » February 21st, 2018, 9:00 am

We have in stock 18CH 20AMP - $700 30AMP $850

Postby skylinechild » February 21st, 2018, 11:49 am

R-H-D wrote:We have in stock 18CH 20AMP - $700 30AMP $850

quoted by the man himself... and the product itself...

nerve buy the 20A and that should suffice....and the extra two channels could be in reserve in case a fuse blow and u dont have any fuses to replace. 8-)

call me when yuh have it and i'll install it for u.

Postby Rovin » February 21st, 2018, 12:16 pm

how much for a 16 chan hikvision these days ? ....

Postby skylinechild » February 21st, 2018, 5:10 pm

Rovin's Audio wrote:how much for a 16 chan hikvision these days ? ....

about 1800-2200 for the DVR depending on who you go by.. cost does NOT include the hard drive

you cud get the knock off brand hikvision cant remember what its called... that cheaper and they use the same hikvision cameras an stuff

Postby supercharged turbo » February 21st, 2018, 7:19 pm

skylinechild wrote:

about 1800-2200 for the DVR depending on who you go by.. cost does NOT include the hard drive

you cud get the knock off brand hikvision cant remember what its called... that cheaper and they use the same hikvision cameras an stuff
Hik connect

Postby skylinechild » February 21st, 2018, 7:23 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:
skylinechild wrote:

Hik connect

nah the is geo something of the other....

Postby supercharged turbo » February 21st, 2018, 7:25 pm

I have the knockoff hikvision and it is hikconnect

Postby skylinechild » February 21st, 2018, 8:59 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:I have the knockoff hikvision and it is hikconnect

epcomm !!! thats the name of the knock off Hikvision :lol: :lol:

see link >>> https://www.epcom.net/product/KEVTX8T16 ... 88217.html

Amit

Postby Amit » February 21st, 2018, 9:18 pm

hikvision dvr
having a little problem setting up the dvr to the internet, and connecting to phone
any one done this before

Postby nervewrecker » February 21st, 2018, 9:33 pm

It works with the power supply..
Ps runs hot tho so ill add some cooling before I leave it in operation right through

matix

Postby matix » February 21st, 2018, 9:51 pm

skylinechild wrote:
supercharged turbo wrote:I have the knockoff hikvision and it is hikconnect

epcomm !!! thats the name of the knock off Hikvision :lol: :lol:

see link >>> https://www.epcom.net/product/KEVTX8T16 ... 88217.html

Epcom isn't a knockoff. It's made by HikVision. The knockoff is a brand called Annke. It uses the same platform as HikVision. Just cheaply made equipment with no fans, plastic cameras. This is from what I've seen thus far and installed for clients.

matix

Postby matix » February 21st, 2018, 9:52 pm

Amit wrote:hikvision dvr
having a little problem setting up the dvr to the internet, and connecting to phone
any one done this before

Pm me

d.d.s.

Postby d.d.s. » March 16th, 2018, 9:19 pm

^ Need some help as well. Got it on my phone and able to view it with the wireless where the system is connected. Outside of that, no luck viewing it remotely.

d.d.s.

Postby d.d.s. » March 19th, 2018, 12:00 pm

Bump. Anyone?

Sateesh

Postby Sateesh » March 19th, 2018, 9:41 pm

you could bypass the port forwarding if you connect to cloud.

send ah pm. I can walk you through the settings.

All techs... I have 4mp Hikvision ip cameras cheap send pm. and a few 3mp network Ip cameras varifocal. :mrgreen:

Sateesh

Postby Sateesh » March 19th, 2018, 9:57 pm

when your systems not showing properly at night use external led illuminators.(good brand)
when your phone view not streaming properly change your sub-stream settings for higher frame rate and resolution.
IP systems are the way to go. some 2mp are better than 4mp at night. I have seen it. review systems before buying.most cameras are interchangeable on different systems. forget 720p or 720 lite. Go for at least 1080p hd. Just my view.

Erkz

Postby Erkz » March 20th, 2018, 10:03 am

d.d.s. wrote:^ Need some help as well. Got it on my phone and able to view it with the wireless where the system is connected. Outside of that, no luck viewing it remotely.

Sounds like you either used the wrong IP address or need to port forward.

d.d.s.

Postby d.d.s. » March 20th, 2018, 10:14 am

I didn't enter an IP address. What I did was called flow to drop the firewall. Then scanned qr code, added the dvr and all cameras came up on my phone. However, no luck when data or outside wifi is used. Will look into the port forward.

Erkz

Postby Erkz » March 20th, 2018, 11:12 am

d.d.s. wrote:I didn't enter an IP address. What I did was called flow to drop the firewall. Then scanned qr code, added the dvr and all cameras came up on my phone. However, no luck when data or outside wifi is used. Will look into the port forward.

yeah that's why; unless the dvr is the only thing connected to your router, then you need the firewall enabled AND port forwarding set up.

you can also try calling flow and tell them to help you put the dvr on the DMZ; might be easier for you but opens up the dvr to everything on the internet.

d.d.s.

Postby d.d.s. » March 20th, 2018, 12:13 pm

Calling flow was a headache. One tech said the firewall was dropped when it wasn't. Another told me I had to upgrade my package! Got that one to at least drop the firewall.

Yes, Dvr is the only thing connected to flow wifi modem. Will YouTube some videos on port fwd and see what I can do later.

Sateesh

Postby Sateesh » March 20th, 2018, 7:42 pm

If is Hikvision dvr. you just go to hikconnect and register the device. put in your verification code. usually below the dvr or shown on the cloud settings. Once you registered. You download ivms 4500 non hd. That one has the hikconnect. Your device will be shown online . just add. easy. you could also use the qr scanner. hope you get through.

d.d.s.

Postby d.d.s. » March 20th, 2018, 9:49 pm

^ It is hik vision. And that's what I did.

Postby Chimera » March 21st, 2018, 12:48 am

how long you have that dvr?

even the basic chinese dvrs for the last 3 years have QR codes and simple steps to get online

mojosodope

The DIY CCTV camera system thread

Postby mojosodope » March 21st, 2018, 7:32 am

d.d.s. wrote:Calling flow was a headache. One tech said the firewall was dropped when it wasn't. Another told me I had to upgrade my package! Got that one to at least drop the firewall.

Yes, Dvr is the only thing connected to flow wifi modem. Will YouTube some videos on port fwd and see what I can do later.

Once your firewall is off all the ports are blocked; turn on and forward manually and if you’re on one of the older flow basic internet packages you’ll need to upgrade it as it doesn’t allow for port forwarding at all due to the type of assigned IP address. I had to do that for one of my locations several years ago, had no problems since then.

iarmd1

Postby iarmd1 » April 15th, 2018, 9:51 pm

Good night need a little help. I installed a system by myself. I’m trying to set it up to view outside of home network on my phone. Do I need to set up a static I address and port foward? And help would be good as the manual and online not helping much

src1983

Postby src1983 » April 16th, 2018, 11:07 am

d.d.s. wrote:^ Need some help as well. Got it on my phone and able to view it with the wireless where the system is connected. Outside of that, no luck viewing it remotely.

Is the ip you using starting with 192.168.??

Postby Chimera » April 16th, 2018, 11:29 am

iarmd1 wrote:Good night need a little help. I installed a system by myself. I’m trying to set it up to view outside of home network on my phone. Do I need to set up a static I address and port foward? And help would be good as the manual and online not helping much

how recently you buy the dvr?

it don't have quick read codes to automatically set up everything?

post a pic of the "network setup" screen