Importing a hybrid vehicle in Trinidad

Re: Importing a hybrid vehicle in Trinidad

Postby MaxPower » January 15th, 2017, 12:44 pm

And out of 20 big eye trinis...19 end up buyin Tiida...

car

Postby car » January 15th, 2017, 12:57 pm

MaxPower wrote:And out of 20 big eye trinis...19 end up buyin Tiida...

Damn right.
Tiida will always win.

Postby pugboy » January 15th, 2017, 2:16 pm

whats typical landed cost of a regular hybrid like honda etc ?

Re: RE: Re: Importing a hybrid vehicle in Trinidad

Postby eliteauto » January 15th, 2017, 7:11 pm

evolution91 wrote:So when massy and ansa gona start bringing these vehicles?

Massy will have the Hyundai ioniq very soon

Postby eliteauto » January 15th, 2017, 7:25 pm

The tax concession is for hybrids up to 2.0 engines, I have a question for hybrids over that is the taxes pro-rated or do you pay full taxes like normal. Car in mind is the 2.5 hybrid Camry

Postby Monk BANzai » January 15th, 2017, 7:28 pm

pugboy wrote:whats typical landed cost of a regular hybrid like honda etc ?

Depends on the dealer... we've seen it start at 165k and drop to as low as $128k over the past few months..as to if that is dependent on interior trim/accessories i cant say. My colleagues audi cost $170k on the road... but as a company register. VMCOTT jumped the gun and sent their techs for training since early last year (both in Electrical and CNG powered cars) with the understanding that most dealerships would recommend them as a service option until thier own techs and facilities are brought up to date. That was June of 2016. Not sure of the situation as i've moved on from the company that was spearheading the initiative.

Just to add to the aforementioned Iconiq.. Massy is also considering the Xcent CNG vehicle.

But dont take meh word for it.... dial a number and do yuh own research.

Postby Monk BANzai » January 15th, 2017, 7:42 pm

eliteauto wrote:The tax concession is for hybrids up to 2.0 engines, I have a question for hybrids over that is the taxes pro-rated or do you pay full taxes like normal. Car in mind is the 2.5 hybrid Camry

60% Duty and 45% MVT still applies above 2.0. Only exemption is if you're a returning resident as before. Trini's used to run a racket where certain "returning residents" would sell their "Status" for a $6-10K and do the transaction for you and fly back up. Gov't has since asked for "resignation letters from your last emplyoer/proof that you've cut all Utilities from your last address" and such.

TK!

Postby TK! » January 16th, 2017, 2:18 am

j.o.e wrote:
A172 wrote:pins u in the seat if u floor it from a dead stop in ev mode

Do a lot of these hybrid models have Japanese writing on the digital displays ? Can it be changed via menu? Just asking as that's a pet peeve of mine

Euros can be changed.

I'm doing some research on the accord. A US gauge cluster should work electrically but the physical shape differs.

You didnt ask but the navi deck needs to be replaced. A US model from the highest trim 2014 accord hybrid looks like a perfect fit. And you'd also need the fm tuner module.

Still working on figuring out how to get TT maps onto the us navi. If anyone knows pls pm. Willing to pay.

I should have the navi and tuner in soon.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » January 16th, 2017, 7:48 am

It's usually cheaper and easier to purchase an aftermarket deck with CarPlay or Android Auto and just use Waze

baby hulk

Postby baby hulk » January 18th, 2017, 1:21 am

Screenshot_20170118-012040.png

greggle71

Postby greggle71 » January 18th, 2017, 8:15 pm

Hybrid or full electronic is the future. First world countries already establishing timetables to fully phase out petrol and diesel

greggle71

Postby greggle71 » January 18th, 2017, 8:16 pm

Hybrid or full electronic is the future. First world countries already establishing timetables to fully phase out petrol and diesel

Re: RE: Re: Importing a hybrid vehicle in Trinidad

Postby Morpheus » January 18th, 2017, 8:53 pm

baby hulk wrote:
Screenshot_20170118-012040.png

That's not so bad. Compared to what I initially heard

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » January 19th, 2017, 2:23 pm

DJ Q wrote:It's usually cheaper and easier to purchase an aftermarket deck with CarPlay or Android Auto and just use Waze

Unfortunately Waze not supported in CarPlay. Steups.
Unless u get extra cables to use mirroring from your phone which kinda defeats the purpose of having a CarPlay deck for navigation for me; because you can do mirroring on most aftermarket,non-CarPlay double din decks.
And having extra cables super bulky and annoying.

Thoughts on the BMW 330e anyone ?

limegreen

Postby limegreen » January 19th, 2017, 2:36 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:speaking of Hybrid Audi's.. Here's another one available. It have two prices on it "Company and Private" Inbox me and i'll give you the deets..

Ryan is right on the acceleration bit. VERY responsive in EV mode...

Screen Shot 2017-01-14 at 11.42.11 PM.png

Screen Shot 2017-01-14 at 11.40.39 PM.png

Screen Shot 2017-01-14 at 11.40.03 PM.png

Is the color Florett Silver?

For a moment I thought it was Nardo Grey

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » January 19th, 2017, 4:38 pm

scotty_buttons wrote:
DJ Q wrote:It's usually cheaper and easier to purchase an aftermarket deck with CarPlay or Android Auto and just use Waze

Unfortunately Waze not supported in CarPlay. Steups.
Unless u get extra cables to use mirroring from your phone which kinda defeats the purpose of having a CarPlay deck for navigation for me; because you can do mirroring on most aftermarket,non-CarPlay double din decks.
And having extra cables super bulky and annoying.

I seriously didn't expect that. Wow that sucks.
Thank God for AppRadio!

Postby toyolink » January 19th, 2017, 5:11 pm

Presently working on a 2012 Hybrid Lexus.
Error codes are truly fun and if you are not careful, the customer could age rapidly.
I am reasonably certain the HV Battery failure indicator would be resolved very shortly.
The manufacturers work shop manual is extremely important if you decide on working on Hybrids.
......We either embrace the future or get left behind.
BTW, in terms of the 'the future' being here not many folks realise their new model Rav4 is CVT which needs to be treated with the same viligance as the Fielder/axio etc.
I am pretty certain the same applies to almost all other brands.

Postby 16 cycles » January 23rd, 2017, 10:38 am

what's the 'on the road' formula for hybrid < 2000cc?

baby hulk

Postby baby hulk » January 23rd, 2017, 10:45 am

Just add broker fee and cost to license, no MVT and VAT

niso

Postby niso » January 23rd, 2017, 11:08 am

whats the vat and duties for hybrid engines between 2000cc-3000cc ?

baby hulk

Postby baby hulk » January 23rd, 2017, 11:31 am

Same as none hybrid in that range

iarmd1

Hybrid vehicle info

Postby iarmd1 » January 30th, 2017, 7:00 am

Is hybrid vehicles tax free or not? I'm looking to bring in the Honda vezel

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » January 30th, 2017, 3:44 pm

Once the engine size is below 1999 cc

TK!

Re: Hybrid vehicle info

Postby TK! » January 31st, 2017, 3:27 pm

iarmd1 wrote:Is hybrid vehicles tax free or not? I'm looking to bring in the Honda vezel

The info is contained in previous links but in short, there are no taxes at all to be paid. i.e. No MVT, no Import Duty, and no VAT provided that your vehicle is under 1999cc.

TK!

Postby TK! » January 31st, 2017, 3:30 pm

Here are some other noteworthy points that i copied from a few places online. Forgive the lack of references.

WHAT HYBRID YOU CAN IMPORT
Individuals can import 1 vehicle every 3 years.
Individuals must personally do everything without assistance from a Register Dealer.
Vehicle cannot be more than 4 years old (Incl. YOM).
Vehicle cannot have diesel engine.
Must have Deregistration Certificate.
Deregistration Certificate must have Engine and Chassis numbers that match the vehicle's.
Deregistration Certificate must have age by manufacturing date.
Deregistration Certificate must have mileage for vehicle imported for retail.
Must be structurally sound and meet environment standards.
Must have Ozone-Friendly AC.
All must have an Import License for Used Right Hand Drive Vehicles.

HOW MUCH IT WILL COST?
1. Cost of Vehicle (+Inspection, Shipping, Insurance) plus
2. Licencing Fees plus
3. Insurance.

REQUIRED DOCUMENTS
For all importers:
Customs Declaration Form (C82 Form) x four copies
CARICOM Area Invoice
Supplier’s Invoice
Bill of Lading
Import Licence
Certificate of Origin
Deregistration Certificate
T&T Passport, D.P., I.D. (For Personal Use)

PROCEEDURE
All who want to import used RHD vehicles will be required to apply for an Import Licence. To get a Import Licence, you must pass all points in the WHAT YOU CAN IMPORT section above and have all REQUIRED DOCUMENTS.

Individuals
For individuals, simply fill out the Import Licence form as soon as you can and submit to the Trade Licence Unit. Note: You will need to know the (if any) refrigerant gasses and the fire extinguisher's chemical when applying. Once you fill in the application and make two copies, they will ask you For your ID. You will then be given the original and copies stamped which you will need later to receive your Import Licence. You may be asked to come to an interview before they will give you a license.

Taking your Import License along with the other REQUIRED DOCUMENTS to the Customs and Excise Office. Submit your four (4) copies of C82 Form (Customs Declaration Form) with the supporting documents to the Customs Officer for review. The officer will sign a copy of the C82 Form and give you an Assessment on how much duty and taxes you must pay. You will also be returned you other documents.

Take the Assessment and C82 Forms to the Customs' Cashier and pay your dues. You will be given a receipt which you must present when clearing the vehicle(s) along with the other documents you have used at the Import/Export Station. Once cleared, you can being the registration process as normal which includes passing roadworthiness tests.

http://tradeind.gov.tt/index.php/customer-services/tlu/

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » January 31st, 2017, 3:38 pm

^ I could've sworn you couldn't import a hybrid more than 2yrs old (from YOM)

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » February 21st, 2017, 8:01 am

Anyone has more information on this?

Is it accurate that all you pay for hybrid is the CIF cost to Japanese exporter and your licensing/brokering costs in Trinidad?
i.e. no MVT, Customs Duty or VAT?

Also if i have personal import vehicle when the limit was 3 years do i have to wait till 3 years expire to import another or would it be the new limit of 4 years be imposed? Can i say buy the vehicle now March 2017 if the old personal import expiration is May 2017 or do i have to wait to make the purchase?

Also any good reliable brokers around handling this stuff, cost? I remember i got everything done for $3000 on my previous personal import but i don't believe that person is still around :lol:

Work_to_own

Postby Work_to_own » March 16th, 2017, 7:37 am

Thinking about getting a Mazda 3 hybrid. Anyone have one? How it working?

Postby noshownogo » March 16th, 2017, 7:59 am

Drove the Hyundai Ioniq this past weekend.

Both models available have the same 1.6 6speed DCT, 105hp mated to an electric motor teaming up to have a combined 140hp but more impressively, over 200 torque! Multilink rear suspension is also present.

System is hybrid using regenerative braking. Battery is under the rear seats making practicality a selling feature as you lose no trunk.

Pricing is currently as of 11th Mar, $169,900 and $209,900.

"Basic" model gets dual climate controls, 7 air bags, cruise control, bluetooth 5" touch screen with back up camera, wireless charging.

Premium model gets in addition to the above, blind detection warning, parking sensors front and rear, sunroof, leather, heated and cooled front seats, memory seats for the driver, auto dimming mirror, LED rear lights to name a few.

My couple gripes are the foot brake for parking and it could use a little bit more HP.

Drove well up Lady Chancellor, but let's be real, this system from Hyundai isn't designed for speed. The driver instrument cluster is a digital display and showed with less than a full tank over 1000km to empty.

Given the tax exemptions we currently benefit from, I'd say it is an easy recommendation if you in the market for an entry level car.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » March 16th, 2017, 8:50 pm

noshownogo wrote:Drove the Hyundai Ioniq this past weekend.

Both models available have the same 1.6 6speed DCT, 105hp mated to an electric motor teaming up to have a combined 140hp but more impressively, over 200 torque! Multilink rear suspension is also present.

System is hybrid using regenerative braking. Battery is under the rear seats making practicality a selling feature as you lose no trunk.

Pricing is currently as of 11th Mar, $169,900 and $209,900.

"Basic" model gets dual climate controls, 7 air bags, cruise control, bluetooth 5" touch screen with back up camera, wireless charging.

Premium model gets in addition to the above, blind detection warning, parking sensors front and rear, sunroof, leather, heated and cooled front seats, memory seats for the driver, auto dimming mirror, LED rear lights to name a few.

My couple gripes are the foot brake for parking and it could use a little bit more HP.

Drove well up Lady Chancellor, but let's be real, this system from Hyundai isn't designed for speed. The driver instrument cluster is a digital display and showed with less than a full tank over 1000km to empty.

Given the tax exemptions we currently benefit from, I'd say it is an easy recommendation if you in the market for an entry level car.

Great review