Red light and traffic camera laws to go to Parliament

stikid09

Red light and traffic camera laws to go to Parliament

Postby stikid09 » February 2nd, 2017, 8:01 pm

Lawless drivers will be captured on camera and fined under government's new red light camera system.

Speaking at Wednesdays post-Cabinet briefing, Al-Rawi said the Judiciary, the Ministry of Works and Transport, the Attorney General's Office and other entities have been working on a package of laws to treat with criminality on roads and police man hours in court.

"We have been working assiduously on a package of laws to treat with criminality on the roads, to treat with the man hours in the courts and the man hours of the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service.”

He said there are roughly 23,000 cases in court every year in the Traffic Division, and of that, roughly 30 percent of those result in a conviction or fine while "the vast majority, approximately 70 percent of cases just fall apart".

“Our policemen have to turn up in court 100 percent of the time for 30 percent of the success…that is police man hours at risk and cost. While police could be engaged in more serious matters, the traffic court has absorbed a significant amount of time," he said.

The legislation seeks to amend the Motor Vehicle and Road Traffic Act and identify certain offences as traffic violations, which will be met by a penalty which will require fines.

Proposed amendments include electronic payment of tickets, the identification of certain offences as violations, the establishment of red light camera systems and the reform of fixed penalty systems, which he says will free up policing and judicial time.

The digitised system includes the installation of red light camera systems at certain traffic lights.

The red light camera system will take a photo of the driver's license plate along with details of the violation, either by mail or otherwise.

Drivers can either contest the fines in court or they can pay the cash amounts online at approved centres, Al-Rawi said.

"If you break a red light you will get a picture taken and you will receive a citation in the mail or otherwise, telling you that you have done this, and it will be met by a sanction which will be collected by way of citation."

Further, failure to pay or challenge the fine will result in drivers being unable to renew their registrations until the fines have been paid.

“If you don’t pay your violations it will be attached to your licensing and vehicle registrations.”

"Bottom line is you can run but you can't hide."

“When you come to renew your registrations, you will not be permitted to transact the business until you've cleared the arrears.”

He said this will free up court time and processing time and assist in bringing in lost revenue.

“Any day, any time that you break these traffic lights, you are going to be spotted and you are going to be known.”

Further information on the red light camera systems will be released shortly.

Al-Rawi says this will bring tangible results and increased efficiency.

“What the population wants to see is results, and we’re prepared to show Trinidad and Tobago the results of our hard work," he said.

The Bill will go to Parliament on Friday.

by Alina Doodnath (http://www.looptt.com/content/smile-law ... ght-camera)

Re: Red light and traffic camera laws to go to Parliament

Postby rspann » February 2nd, 2017, 8:10 pm

I won't be able to renew my vehicle registration, wow, I'm scared now.

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » February 2nd, 2017, 8:37 pm

Still not stopping by John John lights in the night..

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » February 2nd, 2017, 9:23 pm

I hope this finally causes a drop in the murder rate, since the police won't have to show up in court they'll have time to catch the criminals...
Also it would help is getting more "lost revenue"...

Postby redmanjp » February 3rd, 2017, 12:00 am

wish they did this before that PBR Mausica accident

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » February 3rd, 2017, 12:49 am

Wish if they fight crime with the same diligence as they trying to tackle road accidents?
is car insurance prices going to decrease as accidents severity reduces?

Wonder why they cannot change the laws as quickly as they do with speeding with regard to guns, cocaine,robbery to make it a real deterrent.?

Pirate

Postby Pirate » February 3rd, 2017, 1:39 am

^^^ because that will be lost revenue...

Postby pugboy » February 3rd, 2017, 5:43 am

hope they tackle shoulder drivers and pbr violators too

they might as well make the legislation include fighting in public places kfc etc

Postby Country_Bookie » February 3rd, 2017, 12:10 pm

So if u renew ur licence for 10 years, u can then break red lights for 10 years without needing to pay anything?

Postby toyolink » February 3rd, 2017, 12:39 pm

The plans as described are quite laudable, the development and roll-out has historically been our problem.
Installation of a proper computerized registration process has defied us for decades and this would have to be the back bone data base to piggy back a more comprehensive solution.
........Always sounds good , but we all know the negative interests and financial constraints always seem to win in the end.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 3rd, 2017, 1:58 pm

allyuh aint realise the fastest way for this government to make $ is via road traffic violations...them aint studying crime

Pirate

Postby Pirate » February 3rd, 2017, 4:43 pm

The thing is, that is a move in the right direction wrt to traffic violations, but there is more pressing legislative action needed in these high crime times.
There are CCTV cameras across the country on every major road and junction, but there is nothing in place to use it to prosecute criminals. Ppl cannot even submit proper video evidence in court proceedings.
But as the "fairest of them all" said, criminals use the road to escape, so let's hope a speed trap catches them.

SPK1983

Postby SPK1983 » February 3rd, 2017, 4:49 pm

Main thing I'm wondering wrt this - knowing how lacadasical Licensing handles vehicle transfers....won't this mean that some people may start receiving tickets for infractions involving vehicles that are no longer theirs?

I know of a few people whom have done vehicle transfers, only to go in to LO years after the fact and find out that the transfer documentation was unable to be found...thus the vehicles weren't under their name.

Postby Country_Bookie » February 3rd, 2017, 5:08 pm

^that's why u keep ur certified copy when u do a transfer.

Postby SR » February 3rd, 2017, 5:21 pm

Dat pic looking like the 3 blind mice.....unless you fix licensing office first non of those proposed measures will work properly

Postby skylinechild » February 3rd, 2017, 5:56 pm

why is it we are reactive rather than proactive.?

if the accident in mausica didnt take place would they be holding a meeting to announce these measures.?

viedcht

Postby viedcht » February 3rd, 2017, 6:44 pm

I expecting rell issues with this enforcement if they don't fix L.O. first...

Postby desifemlove » February 5th, 2017, 10:56 pm

good measures. i don't agree it's reactive. they were talking about this at election.

yep, it won't cut murders, but it's a start. make things more regimented and crime will stop.

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » February 6th, 2017, 1:09 pm

Country_Bookie wrote:So if u renew ur licence for 10 years, u can then break red lights for 10 years without needing to pay anything?

I guess it will be more like 20 years as that person is living in a country where somebody knows sombody.

See what I mean?

Postby crazybalhead » February 6th, 2017, 2:34 pm

toyolink wrote:The plans as described are quite laudable, the development and roll-out has historically been our problem.
Installation of a proper computerized registration process has defied us for decades and this would have to be the back bone data base to piggy back a more comprehensive solution.
........Always sounds good , but we all know the negative interests and financial constraints always seem to win in the end.

When I joined an IT company in 2000, they had just bid on computerising licensing office...skip 17 years and...

Postby Chimera » February 6th, 2017, 2:47 pm

so any of allyuh ever come across the situation or hear about the scene where

people go to the bank to take out a loan and put their vehicle up as collateral...and when they pull a certified copy or do a search....they realize their vehicle was transferred in the past to someone else....and the someone else take out a loan lol

or they driving normal normal and a debt collection company come to seize a vehicle for a loan that the genuine owner know absolutely nothing about

things reall dred down here with regards to transfers and license office

Postby toyolink » February 6th, 2017, 5:57 pm

One thing for sure, the talk by the AG causing men wives and sweet hearts to share buff if you only appear to go thru a amber light.
Any attempt to justify what appears to be an indiscretion is only met with more buff and possibly a steups.
Maybe this was the intent.......if so thank a lot boss.

greggle71

Postby greggle71 » February 7th, 2017, 8:44 am

Always good ideas, waiting for the execution in May 2020

4a70

Postby 4a70 » February 7th, 2017, 3:10 pm

All this focus in the wrong place. Why focus so much on minor things that yes are against the law but not as critical as say.... murders... drugs... known criminals?

Postby teems1 » February 7th, 2017, 3:38 pm

4a70 wrote:All this focus in the wrong place. Why focus so much on minor things that yes are against the law but not as critical as say.... murders... drugs... known criminals?

Easy source of revenue.

Maybe then the citizens of the country would have an easier time accepting their traffic infringements if the police did their job elsewhere by clamping down on the known criminal elements.

As it is currently, the police are seen as a lazy, corrupt, inept, ill educated, power tripping, perk abusing drain on the economy, whose main goal is extracting even more money from the citizens due to minor traffic violations.

INDAVID WORKSHOP

Postby INDAVID WORKSHOP » February 11th, 2017, 12:11 am

Red light camera missing on Rivulet Road at NE building any others missing?