List of vehicle inspection stations in Trinidad & Tobago

Re: List of vehicle inspection stations in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby Kenjo » December 16th, 2018, 11:39 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:So....inspection for T vehicles is for 2 years now??? No more one year again????

Seems about right

Postby *$kїđž!™ » December 22nd, 2018, 7:50 am

A couple days left to get your t inspection done
Screenshot_20181222-074202.jpeg

Postby sMASH » December 22nd, 2018, 7:56 am

Got through yesterday

Postby *$kїđž!™ » December 22nd, 2018, 7:58 am

Share your experience....what did they look for and check

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 22nd, 2018, 8:12 am

I inspected my bus in lo p.o.s in july...got no sticker.. went back yesterday...no sticker...so wdmc...

Postby hustla_ambition101 » December 22nd, 2018, 11:55 am

People line up with PRIVATE cars blocking up roads today to do inspection. So what were they waiting on all this time

Postby *$kїđž!™ » December 22nd, 2018, 12:13 pm

I know trinis gonna wait last minute to get it done ...
hustla_ambition101 wrote:People line up with PRIVATE cars blocking up roads today to do inspection. So what were they waiting on all this time

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » December 22nd, 2018, 3:26 pm

The whole thing is a big money making scheme. Hate this govt for that, it's not succeeding in it's intended purpose at all

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » December 26th, 2018, 5:35 pm

So what do they even look for at inspections????

Postby Dave » December 26th, 2018, 7:33 pm

I did one. Basically he visually looked at the vehicle for obvious external items and ensured paper work was in order and that was it. While waiting I noticed many vehicles not having the sticker affixed as yet. Not sure what would happen come January 2019.

thelem-again

Postby thelem-again » December 27th, 2018, 1:12 pm

eurotuner wrote:So what do they even look for at inspections????

The Inspection is basically bogus and IS a cheap money making scheme.

They ask you to start your vehicle (probably to hear any excessive noise). Then ask you to turn on your headlights, washers and wipers. They check your engine bay and ask you to mash your brakes.
They then check your mileage, license plates and that's it.

You then wait and get a Certificate and Sticker (if they have).
Valid for two years.

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » December 27th, 2018, 1:15 pm

thelem-again wrote:
eurotuner wrote:So what do they even look for at inspections????

The Inspection is basically bogus and IS a cheap money making scheme.

They ask you to start your vehicle (probably to hear any excessive noise). Then ask you to turn on your headlights, washers and wipers. They check your engine bay and ask you to mash your brakes.
They then check your mileage, license plates and that's it.

You then wait and get a Certificate and Sticker (if they have).
Valid for two years.
Wowww

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 27th, 2018, 1:19 pm

lines upon lines in Caroni atm.......cashier line reach outside

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » December 27th, 2018, 3:16 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:lines upon lines in Caroni atm.......cashier line reach outside
Is the online vehicle verification system a digital certified copy?? Or do you need to carry original? Can't find my original.

thelem-again

Postby thelem-again » December 27th, 2018, 3:30 pm

eurotuner wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:lines upon lines in Caroni atm.......cashier line reach outside
Is the online vehicle verification system a digital certified copy?? Or do you need to carry original? Can't find my original.

You'd need a proper copy.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » December 28th, 2018, 10:21 am

Trinis and their last minute mentality....

Postby Dizzy28 » December 28th, 2018, 11:51 am

Passed Ramps Inspection Station on Green Street (Opposite Tunapuna Sec) this morning. Line was from there onto El Dorado Road and reached the EMR.

With an extension so much people still waited for last minute??

blacklight

Postby blacklight » December 28th, 2018, 12:01 pm

Went to Kamus in Barataria at 6 am, waited for them to open at 8 am. They came out at 11:30 am and said they done inspecting for the day. :shock: had like 30 cars waiting to be inspected. Had a guy cussing because two days he's trying to get his vehicle inspected.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 28th, 2018, 12:13 pm

blacklight wrote:Went to Kamus in Barataria at 6 am, waited for them to open at 8 am. They came out at 11:30 am and said they done inspecting for the day. :shock: had like 30 cars waiting to be inspected. Had a guy cussing because two days he's trying to get his vehicle inspected.

that good for he and everybody who waiting two days before the end date.....damm fools

thelem-again

Postby thelem-again » December 28th, 2018, 12:46 pm

I "lmao" at the persons on the news last night who were complaining that the Government should give an extension. And that its "unfair" that they have to come after Christmas into January, to go pay for an inspection because things always hardest for January.

It was even funnier on social media. One person was actually commenting and saying how people too nasty and wicked because not everyone working and could afford to pay to get their car inspected.

In my opinion, police and LO should charge relentlessly on January 2nd for non-inspection. There is absolutely no excuse. (and for those complaining about stickers, I believe that the act does make mention that the sticker should be visible and for instances where it isn't, the certificate must be presented.)

So either way, its either you dedicate a full day and wait long and get your car inspected, pay someone $400 to get the certificate and sticker without the wait or try and BS the LO/Police and risk getting a $5000 with the poor excuse of "the place had no stickers de boss"

ADONI

Postby ADONI » December 28th, 2018, 1:26 pm

thelem-again wrote:I "lmao" at the persons on the news last night who were complaining that the Government should give an extension. And that its "unfair" that they have to come after Christmas into January, to go pay for an inspection because things always hardest for January.
They had five months grace. Everybody just wait till d last so they could get d most out of their money. What about the rest of us that did inspection earlier in the year. We loss out.

It was even funnier on social media. One person was actually commenting and saying how people too nasty and wicked because not everyone working and could afford to pay to get their car inspected.
Well they should use public transportation. Wah he go say about paying insurance then!

In my opinion, police and LO should charge relentlessly on January 2nd for non-inspection. There is absolutely no excuse. (and for those complaining about stickers, I believe that the act does make mention that the sticker should be visible and for instances where it isn't, the certificate must be presented.)
Correct

So either way, its either you dedicate a full day and wait long and get your car inspected, pay someone $400 to get the certificate and sticker without the wait or try and BS the LO/Police and risk getting a $5000 with the poor excuse of "the place had no stickers de boss"

Postby hydroep » December 28th, 2018, 1:27 pm

A group of enterprising youthmen on my side does run a li'l car care center, offering engine and underwash too. Place pack up this morning, vehicles in the road waiting to get serviced.

Glad fuh dem man, fellas raking in some good cash for the new year.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » December 28th, 2018, 6:50 pm

This is all a money making scene by the govt....its only roadworthy cars going for inspection....those ole scrap iron collection vans etc that need to be off the road wouldnt do.inspections ..so basically they know good cars would do inspection so.lets just collect money from law abiding citizens....
One place told me engine wash and underwash.....another told me no need for all that....got mines done two weeks ago ..took like 5 - 10 mins max....had nobody else there...

For all.thoes waiting last minute dont complain...allyuh had real time and plenty extensions....i rememeber doing my other car when the price was still 165....did it then as the govt it was gonna raise to 300

So yall.had real.time

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 29th, 2018, 7:34 am

lines upon lines at various bays in Grande this morning...unnecessary forking traffic too

Postby sMASH » December 29th, 2018, 9:55 am

The thing is, when this woke thing blew up mid year, They were referencing t vehicles. Saying that only two places alone can't handle all the t vehicles.

I kept msging mowt on fb asking when they opening up the private for t inspection, and asking that they should do the same with h under 3200kg.
They said they not sure when, and was not considering the H at that point.

Now u hearing moratorium ending on allll vehicles.

They only come out with the privste fir t in the last month.
When I inspect, there were 5 vehicles in 20 mins.

People last minute yes, but the the system still didn't set up to handle it.

They should check the 5 months from the time they allowed the private to do t.

Postby adnj » December 29th, 2018, 10:37 am

sMASH wrote:The thing is, when this woke thing blew up mid year, They were referencing t vehicles. Saying that only two places alone can't handle all the t vehicles.

I kept msging mowt on fb asking when they opening up the private for t inspection, and asking that they should do the same with h under 3200kg.
They said they not sure when, and was not considering the H at that point.

Now u hearing moratorium ending on allll vehicles.

They only come out with the privste fir t in the last month.
When I inspect, there were 5 vehicles in 20 mins.

People last minute yes, but the the system still didn't set up to handle it.

They should check the 5 months from the time they allowed the private to do t.
VMCOTT has been inspecting T vehicles for more than three months with little to no wait time and they also accepted phone-in appointments.

-------------

VMCOTT now open for 'T' vehicle inspections

Sep 25, 2018

The Ministry of Works and Transport has announced the expansion of Vehicle Testing Stations across Trinidad and Tobago.

The Vehicle Management Corporation of Trinidad and Tobago (VMCOTT) has been approved as an official testing station for the inspection of Motor Cycles, Private Cars not exceeding a Tare Weight of 2,270 kgs and “T” Goods Motor Vehicles up to 3200 kgs M.G.W.

Drivers are invited to visit the following VMCOTT locations to have their "T" vehicles inspected at the cost of three hundred dollars ($300.00):

- Head Office – Administration Building, #22 Beetham Gardens, Beetham Highway, Laventille, Port of Spain, Telephone: 626-1468/625-9028 or 626-1679

- San Fernando – Union Hall, Cross Crossing, San Fernando, Telephone: 652-0396

- Tobago – Old Farm Road, Scarborough, Tobago, Telephone: 639-2177

Persons desirous of having their motor vehicles inspected are invited to contact the offices of VMCOTT to schedule an appointment.

Walk-ins will also be accommodated on a first-come-first-serve basis.

Please take note of the following requirements:

- Drivers are required to present their original Certified Copy, Insurance Certificate and Drivers Permit. Note: Any Engine or Colour change must be conducted at a Licensing Department and reflected on the Certified Copy.

- The vehicle must be Engine, and Under washed.

- The vehicle must not be sprayed with shock oil until the inspection process is complete.

The Ministry of Works and Transport reiterated that motor vehicle/motorcycle inspection is a legal requirement.

In June a five month moratorium was granted on the inspection of motor vehicles.

This moratorium will provide drivers with sufficient time to ensure that their vehicles are properly inspected, and the necessary inspection stickers are affixed to their vehicles, in accordance with the requirements of the Motor Vehicles and Road Traffic Regulations.

Members of the public are reminded that the five-month moratorium will expire on December 31st 2018.

As the Government seeks to bring the incidence of road traffic accidents and fatalities down to zero, it is critical that drivers can provide proof that their vehicle is in a roadworthy condition, stated the Ministry.

https://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/local/vmcott-now-open-for-t-vehicle-inspections/article_27b7c4ce-c0d3-11e8-85f7-3f6406750cc8.html

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » December 29th, 2018, 1:08 pm

place on Munroe Rd behind Oneplus Supermarket packed out this morning.. ppl in the road vex how they taking long to get their cars inspected this morning.. doh mind since august, the place is a ghost town.....up to 2 weeks ago it had nobody....

trini ppl eh ez yes.... always want a bligh...

Cheryse25

Postby Cheryse25 » December 29th, 2018, 1:33 pm

Can you please update the number for Wheeler Tyre Sales and Services 652 8179

Took a lot of running around to find this.

Fantastic service!

Postby *$kїđž!™ » December 29th, 2018, 1:41 pm

Yup pass there two weeks ago...was empty...no cars to be inspected
KURMAman wrote:place on Munroe Rd behind Oneplus Supermarket packed out this morning.. ppl in the road vex how they taking long to get their cars inspected this morning.. doh mind since august, the place is a ghost town.....up to 2 weeks ago it had nobody....

trini ppl eh ez yes.... always want a bligh...

Postby goalpost » December 29th, 2018, 2:34 pm

Got mine done on 12 December. Took all of 20 minutes