Black Scorpion

Re: List of vehicle inspection stations in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby Black Scorpion » February 21st, 2017, 12:46 am

Trinidad Express Newspaper

Monday, February 20, 2017

WhatsApp message sparks panic: drivers rush for inspectionPublished on Updated on By Gyasi Gonsales

A WhatsApp message yesterday caused panic among motorists who scampered to have their vehicles five years and older inspected.

Police and Licensing officers said that motorists with vehicles five years and over really do need to have them inspected, but at the same time they shouldn’t panic about it.

The WhatsApp message shared yesterday morning stated, “Recently there have been messages being shared stating that come Monday, February 20, 2017 (yesterday), Police and Licensing officers will be out in force checking vehicle inspection stickers and certificates.”

The message continued, “The fine for not having this sticker up-to-date is TT$5,000, while others quote TT$1,000 and TT$7,500.”

Road safety coordinator with the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service PC Brent Batson said that he, too, had seen the text message and during a meeting yesterday with Transport Commissioner Wayne Richards they were happy with the fact that this message, which did not originate from either men, was urging the motoring public to do the right thing.

According to PC Batson, “With the phrasing of the WhatsApp message, one can easily construe that there is an automatic fine associated with committing the offence of not having one’s car inspected, but the fact is that under the Road Traffic Act this is a summary fine so it requires that the driver or owner of the vehicle to appear before the court for the magistrate to impose fine at his or her discretion.”

Testing stations caught off guard

Yesterday’s social media message caused much panic with some vehicle testing stations being caught off guard to handle the large volume of motorists demanding that their cars be inspected “now!”

“I am not leaving here until my car has been passed,” said a woman who pounded the counter of a vehicle testing station in San Juan.

Interim president of the Association of Vehicle Inspection Stations in Trinidad and Tobago, Phillip Greaves, told the Express he was not the one behind the WhatsApp message although in parts of the message his name was mentioned.

He said that at his own station, Valley Auto Centre in Diego Martin, he, too, was flooded with requests for immediate vehicle testing to be done. Forty-five vehicles were passed and stickers given put.

He added, however, that although he did not have the number of vehicles that failed the inspection, “there were many”.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 21st, 2017, 7:59 am

why Batson did not say that the fine was actually $5000 according to the act..

in another article the Richards gave all the details wrs to this law

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 21st, 2017, 9:06 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:why Batson did not say that the fine was actually $5000 according to the act..

in another article the Richards gave all the details wrs to this law
Why Greaves did not say he gave me all the info in the article either? lol

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 21st, 2017, 9:07 am

Bobol nah done in this place.
Touts making their name. Word on the street:

400 for P
1200 for T

K_Ali

Postby K_Ali » February 21st, 2017, 9:36 am

You know what stupid about this, during the process of a Vehicle Transfer at the License office the Officer verifies the Chassis number but does not check for a valid Vehicle Inspection sticker.

Besides that what quality checks are done on the parts used on each vehicle, there are inferior parts which can cause Vehicle failure leading to accidents etc..

ADONI

Postby ADONI » February 21st, 2017, 9:40 am

^^ Weys sah!!! I doh understand, people feeding the bobol, before they take that money add a lil extra to fix their vehicle in order to pass the inspection. I see my partner have a TCR from new, tip top condition and paying $500 for bobol inspection. I tell him he mad, just feeding the bobol.

Postby pugboy » February 21st, 2017, 9:50 am

Well technically ppl can sell unfunctioning vehicles

crackindian wrote:You know what stupid about this, during the process of a Vehicle Transfer at the License office the Officer verifies the Chassis number but does not check for a valid Vehicle Inspection sticker.

Besides that what quality checks are done on the parts used on each vehicle, there are inferior parts which can cause Vehicle failure leading to accidents etc..

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 21st, 2017, 10:32 am

it have men getting sticker without even reaching the inspection bay

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » February 21st, 2017, 12:20 pm

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 21st, 2017, 1:00 pm

I glad ppl were panicking...time for trinis to get serious and abide by the law

Postby hydroep » February 21st, 2017, 2:00 pm

The extent to which social media is controlling people's thoughts and behaviours...mind-boggling oui.

Good info. in the thread nonetheless.

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » February 21st, 2017, 2:27 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:it have men getting sticker without even reaching the inspection bay

Ah like dis post.
And for the man with the tcr common letters to (bad word) good for him.
I have a PBL and got it inspected without paying a cent over $165.00 and that was at the inspection station. The colour changed from white to ......... That caused a big problem because the Licencing Officer could not spell burgundy. I used the Chit from Arima office with the certified copy saying white. Stop being a bunch of lazy arse and go do the right thing.

Got the TCY inspected normal normal. The (Bad Word) Licencing Office does not have stickers now in Sando and I wukking in the north.
Have my inspection certificate in the vehicle though.

Hope Rohan spoke to he Licencing Officers on de Saturday meeting recently about this.
No one saying how much it cost to buy furniture for the Caroni Licencing Office ............. Hello, Anybody?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 21st, 2017, 6:57 pm

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » February 21st, 2017, 7:07 pm

Please be guided by the following information...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 21st, 2017, 7:09 pm

racedriverpro wrote:Please be guided by the following information...
LOL

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » February 22nd, 2017, 9:27 am

Is gaspsrillo right now. Traffic wardens giving out tickets for no vehicle inspection...
Feel sorry for them, that $5000 not easy...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 22nd, 2017, 11:36 am

vaiostation wrote:Is gaspsrillo right now. Traffic wardens giving out tickets for no vehicle inspection...
are you sure traffic wardens can give out tickets for that?

nightcrawler

Postby nightcrawler » February 22nd, 2017, 11:53 am

Just visited an inspection station in Freeport. They just issuing receipts. They claim licensing office has no stickers and books, so the receipt will work in the meantime. Can someone confirm this

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 22nd, 2017, 11:56 am

nightcrawler wrote:They just issuing receipts.
they did the inspection and gave you a receipt? Or no inspection either?

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » February 22nd, 2017, 12:06 pm

vaiostation wrote:Is gaspsrillo right now. Traffic wardens giving out tickets for no vehicle inspection...

Well they gotta go before de magistrate first, so the fines aren't applied until then. But what possible excuse man going to use? When ya wrong ya wrong.

Injected_1

Postby Injected_1 » February 22nd, 2017, 12:25 pm

Information Officer wrote:Went to Frank's tire shop and did my inspection . All he give me was a receipt and the inspection Check list. He put pass in the official box on the check list.. Last two years I got an inspection certificate with it. Have this been change?

Yeah, following up on this man post, this station say they NOT DOING INSPECTION currently:

018 Vulcan Mufflers O’Meara Industrial Estate O’Meara Road Arima Hugh Jacob 642-3108

When I called them they said they are not doing it because they don't have the checklists or the certificates to issue to drivers. They said most of what people are doing out there is illegal because they required to have these things when they inspecting. So apparently you supposed to have both of those (and I theorise, that sticker also)...

But then you really have to ask yourself how lackadaisical the country is eh, I mean aside from the fact that it was disinformation spread on social media according to some of the posts above, why Ministry can't ensure that the proper paperwork is provided to stations to facilitate the following and enforcement of the law??

I NEVER even knew you supposed to have a checklist and certificate given to you... I had to get different cars inspected on different occasions and all I ever receive was a receipt stating inspection done. I never got a checklist or anything, and as far as I remember the certified copy that you present during the inspection was just used to verify the vehicle being inspected...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 22nd, 2017, 12:30 pm

vaiostation wrote:

Well they gotta go before de magistrate first, so the fines aren't applied until then. But what possible excuse man going to use? When ya wrong ya wrong.
you know someone who got a $5000 ticket today?

nightcrawler

Postby nightcrawler » February 22nd, 2017, 12:34 pm

nightcrawler wrote:They just issuing receipts.
they did the inspection and gave you a receipt? Or no inspection either?

No inspection done, just issued a receipt stating i paid.

HSA

Postby HSA » February 22nd, 2017, 12:39 pm

i went bacchus on tragarete road...reach 6am and already had 4 ppl..men waiting since 5am...i got tru around 9:30 and they stop taking ppl by 7:30...the last man had number 34...

apparently nowhere have stickers. i got the inspection checklist but no certificate and was told they would call when they get the sticker.

I also heard one place in san juan was open since 5am and was utter maddness by 7am...
Last edited by HSA on February 22nd, 2017, 12:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Kenjo » February 22nd, 2017, 12:41 pm

vaiostation wrote:

Sounds like trying to induce panic here

Postby hustla_ambition101 » February 22nd, 2017, 2:18 pm

Guy on Mausica road still have cars backed up. Police need to pass and ticket all those drivers for unnecessary obstruction

phoenix13

Postby phoenix13 » February 22nd, 2017, 3:52 pm

Dey say no push for inspection from Mon 20th but people get ticket Mon and ongoing. So still going to get mine done. :|

RGF Asset Management

Postby RGF Asset Management » February 22nd, 2017, 4:15 pm

Kenjo wrote:
vaiostation wrote:

Sounds like trying to induce panic here

The misinformation that is being circulated is really becoming irritating.

Postby pugboy » February 22nd, 2017, 4:29 pm

I passed by caroni lic office to get a receipt appt for t insp for a friend,
Front desk there said they have a problem and not issuing appointments for that anymore, so if I paid I would still have to take receipt to pos or sando and organize an inspection all date there
Rather fishy