Unemployment Count Thread

Re: Unemployment Count Thread

Postby 16 cycles » June 1st, 2017, 7:57 am

add denny's and soon to be shakers to the list..

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 1st, 2017, 10:10 am

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 1st, 2017, 10:12 am

pugboy wrote:Gonna be hard for KFC to absorb back all their former employees

KFC has been on a recruitment drive for some months now. Especially for their new locations like Endeavour. That location is new but always full with customers.

Postby Dizzy28 » June 1st, 2017, 12:05 pm

pugboy wrote:Gonna be hard for KFC to absorb back all their former employees

Prestige, Pizza Boys Group, Royal Castle...they all permanently looking for staff. If people are WILLING there is always space in the restaurant industry for them

Postby sMASH » June 1st, 2017, 2:28 pm

Kfc, neighbor's mom started there after cxc on senior sec days. Rose up the ranks, mined two children, moved to prestige holdings itself, and some other moves, and is like a Caribbean regional manager. Does be between the islands regularly.

Its not a bad option, when options are limited.

Postby sMASH » June 1st, 2017, 2:30 pm

randolphinshan wrote:
Monkey Man wrote:lulz

men in here salty cuz other ppl have a degree/doctorate.

so lets all not show our desire for mobility. lets be content and comfortable in our current state.

because when things get tough late at night, stressing you mind and body for a exam in a FLAWED education system....what does one do?? think of the rewards, think of the reason for it all over and over again.

so men who highest qualification is cxc in no position to ridicule persons who are now coming to terms with the fact they have been living a lie their whole academic career.

So u can call it entitlement. But its more of a LOGICAL expectation.

What you really trying to say ? So much lines and no real point.Communicating is a dying artform yea. Is best you stick to howling yea.

src1983

Postby src1983 » June 30th, 2017, 5:39 pm

Hearing rumors that Digicel send home ~300 accounting staff. Confirmation??

Daran

Postby Daran » June 30th, 2017, 6:18 pm

src1983 wrote:Hearing rumors that Digicel send home ~300 accounting staff. Confirmation??

You really feel Digicel have 300 accounting staff? Hoss.....

Anyway I've heard they're offering VSEP internally. Not sure how much staff they wanna cut but if it's 300 that's a drastic reduction.

kstt

Postby kstt » July 1st, 2017, 4:56 pm

MIC sent home 71 employees.

Heard Petrotrin sending home people who dey make permanent within d last 5 years n who have 5 more to go

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » July 1st, 2017, 8:36 pm

Understand the Petrotrin thing, from what I've read one of the ways the current board came up with to cut costs was to cut the expenditure on staffing. It will be interesting to know which departments are being targeted or if it is across all departments.

kstt

Postby kstt » July 7th, 2017, 12:05 am

^^^ clearly you know nothing about Petrotrin

FB_IMG_1499399464097.jpg

More unemployment

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » July 7th, 2017, 1:04 am

^^^ I was just repeating what I read about the direction of the new board. The Prof. A. Jupiter had a lot of good ideas and was well respected when he was at the Ministry so we can always hope that the the new board can cause some form of turn around......some form.....trying to optimistic about it.....

Postby Dizzy28 » July 7th, 2017, 10:57 am

kstt wrote:^^^ clearly you know nothing about Petrotrin

FB_IMG_1499399464097.jpg

More unemployment

Why do contract employees feel entitled to permanent employment?

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » July 7th, 2017, 11:51 am

You are guaranteed nothing, you are entitled to nothing.

Postby Dizzy28 » July 7th, 2017, 11:59 am

Numb3r4 wrote:You are guaranteed nothing, you are entitled to nothing.

Well not totally true....you are entitled to Gratuity and I see the letter mentions that.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » July 7th, 2017, 4:43 pm

^^^ I wasn't referring to that. What I'm saying is that the avaerage worker now should be preparing themselves for nothing.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » July 7th, 2017, 4:52 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Why do contract employees feel entitled to permanent employment?

:| Where do people get this misconception of something called "permanent employment"?

Show me in any company's personnel policies and procedures manual the term "permanent employment". You have either temporary (e.g. daily paid), contract and/or full-time employees. The salary and benefits may differ, but everyone could get terminated at the end of the day. All that differs is how much notice you get and the amount you get when your employment is terminated.

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » July 10th, 2017, 2:34 pm

nothing is permanant..

$h@dy

Postby $h@dy » July 12th, 2017, 6:53 am

PM says there has been no major lay offs in the public sector. But he says the question is with the continuous shortfalls in revenue, how long can this continue...

$h@dy

Postby $h@dy » July 13th, 2017, 6:22 am

Postby Dizzy28 » July 13th, 2017, 1:50 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:

:| Where do people get this misconception of something called "permanent employment"?

Show me in any company's personnel policies and procedures manual the term "permanent employment". You have either temporary (e.g. daily paid), contract and/or full-time employees. The salary and benefits may differ, but everyone could get terminated at the end of the day. All that differs is how much notice you get and the amount you get when your employment is terminated.

I see your Full Time employee description and raise you a Permanent Employment term.
Capture.JPG

This my last contract of employment.

Postby desifemlove » July 15th, 2017, 6:17 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:

not true. there is permanent employment categories all over.

Postby matr1x » July 15th, 2017, 6:38 am

The damage being done now, it will take decades for this country to recover

Postby sMASH » July 16th, 2017, 8:53 pm

It rather stupid to hint at layoffs. If it's a definite event, then u can give a heads up.
If it's not definite and still being deliberated, then don't spread it.
It's bad publicly, bad for worker morale, and bad for public confidence in the system to fire people.
When u mention it if it not definite, then u stir up all those emotions for not real reason.
That is just unnecessary bad MOJO.
U does hint at summing positive, not sumting negative.

Postby desifemlove » July 18th, 2017, 5:52 am

rspann wrote:Allyuh study ED nah, up to elections he was UNC,but now he playing PNM,but still throwing a little stab at them every now and again.

Re: Oil Prices Falling

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » Thu Jan 08, 2015 8:24 pm

Crackpot wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
SO far the address sounding good, we have nothing to worry about after all.

I was right for placing my faith in this woman, well done madam Prime Minister.

So said Anil

We all expected her to come and say everything is normel

Damn sheep, yuh en shame to look like ah mook

She has 10 times more educational qualifications than Rowley, and no ah Phd in history does not count towards anything. I look up to people in society like this, they are my motivation. Madam PM has always been my motivation in life, not because she is PM, but her performance and education has always impressed me.

I don't see whats wrong with that, I am not talking about politics here
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on Thu Jan 08, 2015 8:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

this is better than claiming to be a judge, who says he knows Archie, and then says sheit about some random person on a website, and then cowers and doesn't like the licks back.
Or says that nobody can view him negatively, despite boasting how confident and assured and successful he is.

"you firetruck with ED!"
"eh? i don't pose about big wuk, fool!"
"don't you judge meeee!!!!"

pathetic poof/Ms. man.

let's settle this once and for all, if you claim to be so "intellect":

- where is it stated i cannot retort to you?
- where is it stated I judge you?
- why do you think i need to "respect" you at all times?
- what will you do if i don't be "nice" to you all the time?
- are you that soft you demand everybody likes you??

haha. poof.

HSA

Postby HSA » July 18th, 2017, 10:44 am

desifemlove wrote:
rspann wrote:Allyuh study ED nah, up to elections he was UNC,but now he playing PNM,but still throwing a little stab at them every now and again.

Crackpot wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:

So said Anil

She has 10 times more educational qualifications than Rowley, and no ah Phd in history does not count towards anything. I look up to people in society like this, they are my motivation. Madam PM has always been my motivation in life, not because she is PM, but her performance and education has always impressed me.

Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on Thu Jan 08, 2015 8:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

this is better than claiming to be a judge, who says he knows Archie, and then says sheit about some random person on a website, and then cowers and doesn't like the licks back.
Or says that nobody can view him negatively, despite boasting how confident and assured and successful he is.

"you firetruck with ED!"

pathetic poof/Ms. man.

haha. poof.

wait na desi.....u wokin security?? MTS or amalgamated??

Postby desifemlove » July 19th, 2017, 12:48 am

HSA wrote:
desifemlove wrote:

Crackpot wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:

So said Anil

"you firetruck with ED!"

pathetic poof/Ms. man.

haha. poof.

wait na desi.....u wokin security?? MTS or amalgamated??

no, you work some sheit. and boast about yuh big wuk, and how i cannot judge you, when you give it to me all the time! lol. i take it you have some condition then, since apparently you're like a god and nobody can view you how they wish.

this is how i imagine you, some dude who is a poser, tink he bad with his babe haha.

until you give me a reason, bar you hyper-subjective mind/brain, why i cannot judge you, then fine.

this is pretty much. you and yuh crew call me all sorts of names, yet apparently i have to take it and not judge you back, since you're a man and most men from your subjective leanings/temple morality are supposed to see you as a god.

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » July 19th, 2017, 6:58 am

At the end of the day all dem policticans safe is we the working class have to battle and pay the taxes
Secondly I heard a rumor the local water authority may be layoff in the future?just asking
Lastly we how can someone survive with every increasing on the cost of living slowly but constantly increasing and when u don't have a job?

Postby K74T » July 19th, 2017, 8:25 pm

Postby nervewrecker » July 19th, 2017, 8:33 pm

kstt wrote:MIC sent home 71 employees.

Heard Petrotrin sending home people who dey make permanent within d last 5 years n who have 5 more to go
Well then they closing down.