Re: Unemployment Count Thread

Postby sMASH » March 26th, 2017, 9:33 am

https://www.rt.com/uk/382159-robot-empl ... tion-jobs/

rt wrote: Robots could take over millions of jobs in the next 15 years – report
Published time: 24 Mar, 2017 12:24
Edited time: 25 Mar, 2017 12:32

Millions of jobs in the UK are in jeopardy because of robots taking over various sectors of the labor market.

According to the latest report on the impact of automation on the UK’s labor force, up to 10 million jobs are at risk of being replaced by machines within 15 years.

Routine and/or manual jobs, such as those in bookkeeping or retail, are among those at higher risk of being cut because of ground-breaking developments in Artificial Intelligence (AI), according to consultancy firm PwC.

The UK Economic Outlook report claims jobs in the transport and storage sector are more likely to go, with the proportion of them risking automation at 56 percent.

Although John Hawksworth, chief economist at PWC, said no industry is “entirely immune” from automation, there are jobs which require more of a “human touch,” like those in education and social services, which would be harder for machines to take over.

Development in automation, however, does not mean a direct fall in unemployment, as it increases productivity, which in turn generates more wealth and jobs in different sectors.

“In many ways automation is a good thing,” Hawksworth told the BBC.

“It’s going to boost productivity, a big problem for the UK recently, and increase incomes… which will increase demand for human jobs in other areas.”

The report also said that automation may also be good as it allows people to take on jobs which are more rewarding and less mechanical.

“Automating more manual and repetitive tasks will eliminate some existing jobs, but could also enable some workers to focus on higher value, more rewarding and creative work, removing the monotony from our day jobs,” Sky News reported the chief economist as saying.

The findings also reveal that men face a higher chance of losing their jobs as a consequence of AI evolution, given they mostly occupy the sectors at potential risk of being swept away.

Automation could also widen inequality as it would be advantageous for those with “knowledge to thrive in an even more digital economy,” Hawksworth claimed.

While saying that a future scenario may see a truck driver “job sharing” with a self-driving lorry, "ultimately, people are going to have to be more adaptable,” Hawksworth said, according to the BBC.

But the report called on the government to invest more on training for lower-skilled people in the next 10 or 20 years.

Jon Andrews, head of technology and investments at PwC, said it is essential no one is “left behind,” as automation reshapes the UK’s labor force.

“There’s no doubt that AI and robotics will re-balance what jobs look like in the future, and that some are more susceptible than others,” he said.

“What’s important is making sure that the potential gains from automation are shared more widely across society and no one gets left behind,” he said on Sky News.

The Bank of England warned back in 2015 that up to 15 million jobs in Britain could be at risk from automation, and expressed concern that a “third machine age” would further increase inequality.

Speaking to the TUC trade union organization, the bank’s chief economist, Andy Haldane, said: “Technology appears to be resulting in faster, wider and deeper degrees of hollowing-out than in the past.”

“Why? Because 20th-century machines have substituted not just for manual human tasks, but cognitive ones too,” Haldane said.

“The set of human skills machines could reproduce, at lower cost, has both widened and deepened.”

Postby Slartibartfast » March 29th, 2017, 1:26 pm

sMASH wrote:https://www.rt.com/uk/382159-robot-employment-automation-jobs/

Very good article. It raises a bunch of problems that people rather ignore.

Postby matr1x » March 29th, 2017, 3:19 pm

Welcome to vision 20/20

HSA

Postby HSA » March 29th, 2017, 8:44 pm

These days are upon us

Postby sMASH » March 29th, 2017, 9:04 pm

we shouldn't be looking to try to create jobs. to be economical, efficient and safe, we gonna have automate a lot of stuff.
what we need to do is find ways to provide for the average citizen who may not have a monetizable contribution.
think about youtube, cake making, tailoring, arts, and crafts, and social work etc. these things may not be automated, so they could still provide gainful employment for those able to do it. we're gonna have to be come a socialist society, where the majority of citizens will not be able to financially support them selves.

its not a bad idea, because the automation thing worked in the past. when people had slaves, it freed up a lot of other people to undertake more meaningful endeavors. but instead of slaves, we will have machines.

governments gonna have to more or less do the the opposite of taxing citizens, and actually give a basic subsistence.

where will the money come from?
the businesses that do prosper. they will have to be taxed heavily. ur gonna say that it will drive them away to tax shelters. but there will be no other way.

there is enough wealth in the world for everybody, it just sits with the top 1% of people, instead of being with the majority of people.

Postby sMASH » March 31st, 2017, 8:20 pm

Postby sMASH » March 31st, 2017, 8:22 pm

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » March 31st, 2017, 9:25 pm

MIC trains young people for work in industry, specifically the mechanical and manufacturing, plant and process and a host of other technical industries, right?

If that is the case if we wanted to diversify the economy then we should be funding these schools and institutions a little more to facilitate the retooling of the labour force in these times.

Defunding trade schools isn't a good idea.

Postby sMASH » March 31st, 2017, 10:16 pm

When they said they were structuring GATE to reduce the people accessing it, re-introduced VAT on books, stopped the text book program in schools, said they going to bring back the Patrick manning stadium to develop cricket and swimming, that should have told u the vision they had for the skills of the future generation.

If u hadda cut cost, u hadda cut costs, but cut it from things like rest and relaxation retreats, government catering, executive alcohol, vacations allowances.

Postby desifemlove » April 8th, 2017, 1:48 am

people should blame themselves for unemployment. the amount of peope i see and know who does do OJT after graduating UWI or UTT. it's themselves to blame, have a PLAN for your career, don't just do x degree cos it sounds cool or yuh friends doing it. it has to be said, but neither UNC or PNM alone can be blamed for the OJT glut.

Postby Ben_spanna » April 8th, 2017, 8:03 am

There are many business owners locally that would love to automate if they could afford it, simply get rid of 80% of their lazy staff and just have a few trained people to carry out maintenance. Trinidad don't realize they are easily replaced in the workplace...they need to wake up, when the unions are abolished will be the best day for employers in this country.

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » April 8th, 2017, 8:50 am

^^^ I don't think some people are aware of the treatment workers face from business owners and companies.
There is a reason unions exist in the first place. No doubt that there are some unions who take advantage of a situation, but a lot of the time the union exist to protect the workers. If most companies had their way they would pay you next to nothing and work you like an animal, and if you complain them just replace you and bring in another jackass to ride to death. Ask yourself how did the petrochemical industry get​ so many rules and regulations? It didn't happen overnight. The majority of the time these rules and regulations come about after a major incident where workers lose their lives which a lot of the time was due to employers cutting corners when it comes to workers safety and well-being.
Just know that the capitalist/oligarchy system won't exist forever.
The world is run by people, and needs people to exist. Technology will take some jobs and make certain capatailist very rich, but people will notice. Also governments can't tax robots so where would the country's revenue come from? Only time will tell.

Postby desifemlove » April 8th, 2017, 2:39 pm

it won't happen, not with mass riots. people need money and jobs. only a utopian economy like Star Trek will permit full automation.

and get rid of unions? If T&T wants blacklisting for being a human rights pariah, Dr. Rowley can go ahead. nothing is perfect, that doesn't mean someting should be discarded because there are some bad apples.

NR8

Postby NR8 » April 8th, 2017, 5:54 pm

Tax the companies that utilise them? From the wage savings.

vaiostation wrote:Also governments can't tax robots so where would the country's revenue come from? Only time will tell.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 8th, 2017, 7:57 pm

NR8 wrote:Tax the companies that utilise them? From the wage savings.

vaiostation wrote:Also governments can't tax robots so where would the country's revenue come from? Only time will tell.

Robots will increase profits, so companies will pay more in taxes.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » April 9th, 2017, 2:41 pm

Heard another state company is announcing to their staff this week they are closing down

Emmar01

Postby Emmar01 » April 9th, 2017, 6:01 pm

Which state company be that?

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » April 10th, 2017, 12:26 pm

CISL

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » April 10th, 2017, 12:44 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:CISL

Good
these companies are a drain on the country wealth.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » April 10th, 2017, 3:54 pm

What is CISL? I've never even heard of it.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » April 10th, 2017, 4:04 pm

With regards to the OJT scheme I don't think it was entirely a bad idea if it was executed properly. It could of been a way of streaming the workforce and facilitating proper growth in key sectors, e.g. agriculture. Instead it became a free for all and as such just a mechanism for keeping employment numbers high and the government looking good.

Also with the aging workforce in the public sector, especially given the poor productivity and general lack of technology the OJT programme could have been used to give the sector a much need face lift and overhaul with the infusion of young and hopefully better educated folks.

However because of poor management the young workers got no support and as we all know water flows downhill. With no incentive the young workers had no reason to be better it was simply a matter of 'trump and follow suit', 'doh fight the sistem' or (my favourite) 'yuh eh know how ting does wuk here or wat?'

The result was simply underemployment, under appreciated workers who never quite fit in and maybe in some case just plain unwanted.

Emmar01

Postby Emmar01 » April 10th, 2017, 4:07 pm

CISL = Community Improvement Services Limited. Based out of Brechin Castle

Sent from my SM-J700M using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby sMASH » April 10th, 2017, 4:08 pm

is the CISL the office who handle the caroni vsep workers lands?

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » April 10th, 2017, 4:21 pm

A big issue with the unemployment in Trinidad could also be because of the GATE programme. It to simply became a free for all. If you have a degree in a STEM field than you maybe a little better off...but no guarantees. If you have qualifications in the humanities well honestly good luck.

Again the problem was poor execution and management, had GATE been better implemented then we could have streamed the workforce to better tackle the market, however we were awash with money ('oh yes money eh no problem') so why bother. Now with slow to moderate growth we have over produced professionals in skill sets that are just not required or not needed as much anyway.

The issue going forward is not that these people are stupid, we have to now figure out how to get the talent to retrain and retool and get them back into the workforce. In so doing you can better weed out the slackers and genuinely bad apples.

Postby desifemlove » April 11th, 2017, 11:58 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:
sMASH wrote:https://www.rt.com/uk/382159-robot-employment-automation-jobs/

Very good article. It raises a bunch of problems that people rather ignore.

Maybe they had different in your day old man.

Postby desifemlove » April 12th, 2017, 12:09 am

HSA wrote:
sMASH wrote:the work to pay ratio of cepep is hard to compete with...

As ah operator (wackerman) the pay was bout 1200 a fortnight...i donno if things change

600 a week was enough for travelling, food and the occasional liming

I believe you still at cepep.

Postby sMASH » April 12th, 2017, 12:44 am

U say that as if it is supposed to be insulting.

One of my school mates who worked for his Phd in Chemistry took a free course to learn how to fix small engines aka brush cutter machine.
He is having and absolute ball servicing those small machines.

In working towards the PhD , he did collaboration with some German university to perform studies on the local mud volcanoes, and got their work published in some science journals. The study if the mud volcanoes was contributory work to NASA research into extremofiles... microbes living in extreme conditions.
He is utilized by UWI as a local scientist in their projects, and lends his expertise to coordinating those niherst science fairs.

It doesn't matter what u do, as long as u enjoy it, and it is of a Benefit to society.
He does so much, and fix whacka machine.

I am not ashamed of honest work. No matter what social stratification u apply to it.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » April 12th, 2017, 2:04 am

desifemlove wrote:
HSA wrote:

As ah operator (wackerman) the pay was bout 1200 a fortnight...i donno if things change

So what is he still at cepep ?

HSA

Postby HSA » April 12th, 2017, 4:59 am

desifemlove wrote:
HSA wrote:

The struggle was just for a time...god is good and rewards patience...

You on the other hand have been dealing with ED in your young days and guess what.... with time it only gets worst....

Kronik

Postby Kronik » April 12th, 2017, 6:32 am

Numb3r4 wrote:A big issue with the unemployment in Trinidad could also be because of the GATE programme. It to simply became a free for all. If you have a degree in a STEM field than you maybe a little better off...but no guarantees. If you have qualifications in the humanities well honestly good luck.

Again the problem was poor execution and management, had GATE been better implemented then we could have streamed the workforce to better tackle the market, however we were awash with money ('oh yes money eh no problem') so why bother. Now with slow to moderate growth we have over produced professionals in skill sets that are just not required or not needed as much anyway.

The issue going forward is not that these people are stupid, we have to now figure out how to get the talent to retrain and retool and get them back into the workforce. In so doing you can better weed out the slackers and genuinely bad apples.

It have to much young ppl that just want to do degree and get nice office work and wear shirt and tie. I does see them in school all the time, and in work too. I good with my outside work, more money to be made