Re: 'Immediate' ban on Brazilian meat, plans to recall corned beef in T&T

Postby lalloboy101 » March 22nd, 2017, 10:10 am

Once corned mutton good, I don't have a problem

Postby maj. tom » March 22nd, 2017, 10:46 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:you get that locally to buy here??

Yes, the salted pigtail/beef stall in the market on Saturdays. It's brined beef, aka corned beef, the American/Jewish way. However it's not spiced brine, it's just salt and nitrates. Just like the bucket pigtail. So you can wash the slab and add your own spices like bay leaf, 5 star powder, some mustard, anything you fancy, baste it, roast it (even better if you have a smoker) low and slow. It comes out great if you're in the mood for corned beef.

You can also make corned beef with cheap ass cuts. YouTube it. It takes weeks of curing though. But you'll get that Katz deli taste.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hyfzzSxqbwE

Postby toyolink » March 22nd, 2017, 11:16 am

Decades now conversations would come up about corned beef being horse meat and other undesirables.
The assertions were never taken seriously, but I guess where there is smoke there is fire.

Postby *KRONIK* » March 22nd, 2017, 11:19 am

hydroep wrote:What doh kill does fatten... :mrgreen:

and what doh fatten, does purge!

Postby j.o.e » March 22nd, 2017, 11:23 am

Looks at two cans of corned beef in cupboard ..... let dem grocery empty they shelf I done pay for his

Postby Chimera » March 22nd, 2017, 11:37 am

maj. tom wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:you get that locally to buy here??

Yes, the salted pigtail/beef stall in the market on Saturdays. It's brined beef, aka corned beef, the American/Jewish way. However it's not spiced brine, it's just salt and nitrates. Just like the bucket pigtail. So you can wash the slab and add your own spices like bay leaf, 5 star powder, some mustard, anything you fancy, baste it, roast it (even better if you have a smoker) low and slow. It comes out great if you're in the mood for corned beef.

You can also make corned beef with cheap ass cuts. YouTube it. It takes weeks of curing though. But you'll get that Katz deli taste.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hyfzzSxqbwE

never knew they sold beef like that locally
will check it out

nom nom nom

i real like my corn beef and hops bread tho :| :| :|

Postby Strugglerzinc » March 22nd, 2017, 11:39 am

j.o.e wrote:Looks at two cans of corned beef in cupboard ..... let dem grocery empty they shelf I done pay for his

Yunno. I buy it before the ban so it good. :mrgreen:

Postby *KRONIK* » March 22nd, 2017, 11:42 am

Buh ent we eating the same cornbeef all the time?
Anybody dead yet?

Postby mero » March 22nd, 2017, 11:56 am

j.o.e wrote:Looks at two cans of corned beef in cupboard ..... let dem grocery empty they shelf I done pay for his

Postby pugboy » March 22nd, 2017, 6:56 pm

I have cans mfg 2015 exp 2020
These should be safe

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » March 22nd, 2017, 8:35 pm

What if the scandal goes back before 2015, what then?

Postby pugboy » March 22nd, 2017, 9:02 pm

well I have surely eaten many from 2015 and still alive now lol

Postby Morpheus » March 22nd, 2017, 9:07 pm

I had for lunch lol

*burp!!!

Postby pugboy » March 22nd, 2017, 9:16 pm

Cooked over 160f and most pathogens dead
USDA rules

Postby maj. tom » March 22nd, 2017, 9:43 pm

Toxins created as waste products from the bacteria in rotten meat is the concern here. Heat can't destroy those. Sufficient heat will easily kill the bacteria, but the poison waste molecules remain unchanged. It'll do well to just return the product than end up in the hospital with food poisoning. It's really not nice and the best outlook is severe pain and you'll lose a few pounds by vomiting through your sore arsehole for a couple days.

Postby RedVEVO » March 23rd, 2017, 5:13 am

Humans have been eating rotten things for thousands of years if not more. Youghurt, beer, cider, kefir, kombucha, sauerkraut, kim chee, pickles, vinegar are all products that are made with fermented live cultures.

And then there is the "aged beef" - Left to rot for a few weeks then cut into steaks .

Postby maj. tom » March 23rd, 2017, 7:13 am

Well you just pointed out that it's fermented or dry aged. Not rotten. Dry aging is not rotting the meat!
Controlled conditions of moisture and temperature, different bacteria, and then these products are pasteurised.

lol@ how every organisation ban the meat but allyuh still making excuse to eat it.

Postby De Dragon » March 23rd, 2017, 6:18 pm

While I certainly had my days of bully beef and rice/bread/bake when I was a bachy, I kinda find it disgusting now

Postby pugboy » March 23rd, 2017, 8:30 pm

I will let you guys in on one of my top secrets when making burger patties

mix corned beef with ground beef for outstanding flavour

Postby rspann » March 23rd, 2017, 8:35 pm

Season up that bully and make patties with it. I eating that with anything ,rice and lentils, red beans, bread ,anything.

Postby RedVEVO » March 23rd, 2017, 10:38 pm

Aged beef is rotten meat. Do some research .

Postby rollingstock » March 23rd, 2017, 11:11 pm

My money spend.
I must throw away my cornbeef?

'That making sense? '

cracker

Postby cracker » March 24th, 2017, 4:24 am

We should not be eating meat in the first place, as meat consumption causes a variety of diseases, for example cancer

Postby j.o.e » March 24th, 2017, 4:49 am

cracker wrote:We should not be eating meat in the first place, as meat consumption causes a variety of diseases, for example cancer

Sucks meat off succulent ribs..... tell me more hippie mofo

moti

Postby moti » March 24th, 2017, 8:07 am

horner man food fi affected

Postby Gladiator » March 25th, 2017, 12:44 pm

cracker wrote:We should not be eating meat in the first place, as meat consumption causes a variety of diseases, for example cancer

So i guess all the pesticides and weedicides that they spray on the veges are totally fine then?

cracker

Postby cracker » April 3rd, 2017, 6:32 pm

Gladiator wrote:

So i guess all the pesticides and weedicides that they spray on the veges are totally fine then?

People who eat a vegan diet (those same one who eat the plants with pesticides) less likely to develop caner, diabetes, and heart problems that those who eat meat on a regular basis.

Postby meccalli » April 3rd, 2017, 6:53 pm

cracker wrote:People who eat a vegan diet (those same one who eat the plants with pesticides) less likely to develop caner, diabetes, and heart problems that those who eat meat on a regular basis.

Those poor inuits and nenets, it's amazing they've even survived into modernity with the astounding theoretical cancer rates they must have been privy to from a carnivorous diet.

Postby maj. tom » April 3rd, 2017, 8:13 pm

PriceSmart is taking back the products without receipt. The bill was logged on the membership card. Just have to wait a while in line while they do the return bill.

Postby sMASH » April 4th, 2017, 5:46 am

maj. tom wrote:PriceSmart is taking back the products without receipt. The bill was logged on the membership card. Just have to wait a while in line while they do the return bill.

That is how I understand the database to work. And always perplexed that u have to photocopy ur bill as proof of warranty for an electric item.