question about wheel laws on vehicles

4a70

question about wheel laws on vehicles

Postby 4a70 » March 22nd, 2017, 4:17 pm

I recently took my 4x4 hilux in for inspection, and was given a defect bassed on the wheels i had on. My van is the model which came without the fender flares. I now have some 20" rims which are about 1.5" outside the fender and mudgard. The officer who was extremly rude indicated this was against the law.... any insight into this? And is it also aplicable to stanced cars?

Re: question about wheel laws on vehicles

Postby Morpheus » March 22nd, 2017, 4:44 pm

Why do they have to be rude?

Postby sMASH » March 22nd, 2017, 4:49 pm

not supposed to exceed the body of the vehicle... if i remember correctly.
but i might tolerate a lil attitude and a bligh, than a polite fine.

4a70

Postby 4a70 » March 22nd, 2017, 4:59 pm

Well i got the attitude and a defect he wanted to drop a 4k fine on me as well so atm i hada look for a set of six hole steel rims and tires borrowed... but all in all i wana know if thats a law in black and white and what the specs say in it

Postby *KRONIK* » March 22nd, 2017, 5:02 pm

Wth...

In for info

Postby streetbeastINC. » March 22nd, 2017, 5:03 pm

yeh i got issues too......i parked up my van...till i decide wht to do....

Postby streetbeastINC. » March 22nd, 2017, 5:06 pm

might consider fender flares custom made....
20141212_122439.jpg

4a70

Postby 4a70 » March 22nd, 2017, 5:48 pm

Street beast if u go sando even with flares like dat is pressure my wheels arwnt as far out as urs

Postby MaxPower » March 22nd, 2017, 5:56 pm

Hmmm i usually leave my car home, but drop a $200 for them...never had any issues.

Postby Morpheus » March 22nd, 2017, 5:56 pm

Well real people will get fined. Stance crew look out...

10-01

Postby 10-01 » March 22nd, 2017, 6:41 pm

4a70 wrote:I recently took my 4x4 hilux in for inspection, and was given a defect bassed on the wheels i had on. My van is the model which came without the fender flares. I now have some 20" rims which are about 1.5" outside the fender and mudgard. The officer who was extremly rude indicated this was against the law.... any insight into this? And is it also aplicable to stanced cars?

if u cant quote the law that backs up the fine or failure he himself is a failure , i would of asked to see the officer in charge .

BUSHMASTER

Postby BUSHMASTER » March 22nd, 2017, 6:57 pm

Som rel stupid laws wii

Postby Rory Phoulorie » March 22nd, 2017, 7:01 pm

BUSHMASTER wrote:Som rel stupid laws wii

Not really, if it is an actual law (I could not find anything in Chapter 48:50, but I did not look in any great detail). If the tyres project beyond the edge of the fender line, then, depending on the tyre, it could throw up stones and debris onto other vehicles behind it.

BUSHMASTER

Postby BUSHMASTER » March 22nd, 2017, 7:06 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:

Not really, if it is an actual law (I could not find anything in Chapter 48:50, but I did not look in any great detail). If the tyres project beyond the edge of the fender line, then, depending on the tyre, it could throw up stones and debris onto other vehicles behind it.

Orrr i see

Postby streetbeastINC. » March 22nd, 2017, 7:12 pm

it also throws up mud in the face of the driver and other road debris... LOL.....its call mudding beyotch

BUSHMASTER

Postby BUSHMASTER » March 22nd, 2017, 9:32 pm

streetbeastINC. wrote:it also throws up mud in the face of the driver and other road debris... LOL.....its call mudding beyotch

Haha gd 1

FlyingCrappo

Postby FlyingCrappo » March 22nd, 2017, 10:04 pm

What happen to the law about fog lights ?
These license officers is clowns

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » March 23rd, 2017, 12:31 am

I might be wrong but,
there is something in your insurance clause which voids your coverage if your wheels it not whats specified for that vehicle .

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » March 23rd, 2017, 12:43 am

4a70 wrote:I recently took my 4x4 hilux in for inspection, and was given a defect bassed on the wheels i had on. My van is the model which came without the fender flares. I now have some 20" rims which are about 1.5" outside the fender and mudgard. The officer who was extremly rude indicated this was against the law.... any insight into this? And is it also aplicable to stanced cars?

there is a law on this which states the dimension

(d) except with the permission of the Licensing
Authority, no motor vehicle or trailer shall have
a lateral overhang of more than one hundred
and fifty-five millimetres
or a longitudinal
overhang which exceeds seven twenty-fourths
(7/24ths) of the overall length of the vehicle, and
when a trailer is connected to a motor vehicle
by a bar or pipe, such bar or pipe shall not be
allowed to project more than one metre beyond
the rear of the trailer

Postby streetbeastINC. » March 23rd, 2017, 3:26 am

If i go back smaller the van may look awkward ...and with lift may flip...wonder if there are laws against lifts

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » March 23rd, 2017, 3:35 am

just remove the blinkers and they might not even notice it.
There is no standard . it all depends on the inspector you get
You lucky u up grande side and not down Sando. It have a inspector who make me go and polish my head lights and remove stuff from my tray before the inspection was passed. I am thankful for him though because he is doing the right thing.
the illegal stuff i have on the vehicle i remove it before inspection and replace it after

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » March 23rd, 2017, 5:41 am

So can't u just change it for the inspection,get some stock rims and tires then change back when u finished?
Anyone willing to rent or loan a fellow tuner for that particular day?

Postby sMASH » March 23rd, 2017, 8:57 am

streetbeastINC. wrote:If i go back smaller the van may look awkward ...and with lift may flip...wonder if there are laws against lifts

what the LO will default to, is that the only authorized modification is what is specified by the manufacturer.

in other words, 'we not goin and think about good or bad, safe or unsafe. if we could eat ah food, we will use the law to eat ah food'

Postby tr1ad » March 23rd, 2017, 11:21 am

same applicable in most first world countries as well, along with ride height

everything outside of what came stock from the manufacturer is enforceable; unless written approval from the TC

moti

Postby moti » March 23rd, 2017, 3:14 pm

tr1ad wrote:

same applicable in most first world countries as well, along with ride height

everything outside of what came stock from the manufacturer is enforceable; unless written approval from the TC

Yup, all the officer have to hit you with is " contrary to registration " and you basically have to revert to stock...or question him some more and pay fines and still go back to stock.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » May 26th, 2017, 7:00 am

Going for van inspection, is HID lights an issue?

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 26th, 2017, 9:09 am

yep, you'll get beans for HID anywhere if the vehicle was not fitted with it from factory

Postby tr1ad » May 26th, 2017, 9:26 am

Again... If it eh stock, prepare thy angus

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » May 26th, 2017, 10:03 am

Copy that!

aidan

Postby aidan » May 26th, 2017, 6:02 pm

I went for inspection last month and my 4x2 hilux (lowlux)have rims sticking out of the fender too, but the officer didnt say anything. all he say was "them doe dutty up the side?" and that was it.