THE BEST VAN

Re: THE BEST VAN

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 10th, 2017, 4:55 pm

eurotuner wrote:Know someone who can pretty much afford any vehicle they desire and still rolls around in a pca hilux. That thing refuses to die, and its never down, it's driven almost everyday.

Even all those old TBH hilux and them from 1999 etc still running everyday and is almost never down aswell.

But those late 90's models were the real deal, the diesel versions that is, no injectors or computerized parts everything is more or less old school manual parts them thing doh ever done.

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » April 11th, 2017, 9:19 pm

The 2000 Mitsubishi L200 still catches my eye sometimes lol... They dont make them like they use to...

Capleton

Postby Capleton » April 12th, 2017, 2:41 pm

Got the 2017 Colorado LTZ and hands down its the best priced, most powerful and comes LOADED with really smart features.

JF.K

Postby JF.K » April 12th, 2017, 10:43 pm

Capleton wrote:Got the 2017 Colorado LTZ and hands down its the best priced, most powerful and comes LOADED with really smart features.

Not sure what you mean by "best priced" because there are cheaper vans in the same class.
You should have asked the sales rep what would cause them to still have 2014 models in their lot for sale..

NR8

Postby NR8 » April 12th, 2017, 10:49 pm

Such as?

Capleton wrote:comes LOADED with really smart features.

JF.K

Postby JF.K » April 12th, 2017, 11:08 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Not gonna lie all these new pickups sure are ugly. The new hilux is the best looking out of all and its Toyota that is lifetime vehicle with parts everywhere you can't ask for more when it comes to a Hilux.

9 Years Later... Newer Model of Van... Same Issue?
it appears that this is a stunt driver vehicle.

Sorry but I can't spend $330,000 on a Van and continue to support a company that maintains this negligence in safety.
The market is competitive now, so Toyota needs to get off their high horse and give people some value for their money.

Capleton

Postby Capleton » April 13th, 2017, 12:49 pm

NR8 wrote:Such as?

Capleton wrote:comes LOADED with really smart features.

- remote start & remote entry
- rain sensitive wipers
- Lane departure sensor
- Collision alert sensors
- Parking assist
- Rear View Camera
- MyLink infotainment (Apple Car Play & Andriod Auto)
- Tire Pressure sensors
- Cruise Control
- 7 Speaker sound system
- 6 Speed Tiptronic Transmission (anti-roll back feature)

Capleton

Postby Capleton » April 13th, 2017, 12:52 pm

JF.K wrote:
Capleton wrote:Got the 2017 Colorado LTZ and hands down its the best priced, most powerful and comes LOADED with really smart features.

Not sure what you mean by "best priced" because there are cheaper vans in the same class.
You should have asked the sales rep what would cause them to still have 2014 models in their lot for sale..

I did ask, the 2014 models were all 2.5L Manual vehicles. Only had about 4 or 5 remaining. By best priced i mean I got mine fully loaded for $265K.....I am yet to see any other manufacturer in Trinidad have a fully loaded 4X4 with the features that the Colorado comes with for that price.

JF.K

Postby JF.K » April 13th, 2017, 2:45 pm

Capleton wrote:
JF.K wrote:

I did ask, the 2014 models were all 2.5L Manual vehicles. Only had about 4 or 5 remaining. By best priced i mean I got mine fully loaded for $265K.....I am yet to see any other manufacturer in Trinidad have a fully loaded 4X4 with the features that the Colorado comes with for that price.

They also have about 10 fully loaded automatic 2015 models remaining... that they were advertising as "the Latest 2016 Model"
(Dec gone).

That figure they gave you for the 2014 models is what they have in one branch and not in total. I saw them personally.

The features do sound impressive for the price... but more sensors also mean more headache when one is faulty.

Lifestyle/Chevy has a reputation of Horrible, Sly Customer Service and total lack of parts and availability.
This was a major concern for me.

Everything looks and sounds impressive in a showroom but the after sales service should be something to pay attention to... because when 1 sensor fail, and the vehicle cannot start, and Chevy doesn't have the parts, and it takes 6 months for them to order it etc...
Headache will start.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » April 13th, 2017, 5:06 pm

The only extra features I want in my van is safety features... Everything else I consider a gimmick or something else that is likely to break... But to each his own.

JF.K

Postby JF.K » April 13th, 2017, 6:30 pm

kamakazi wrote:The only extra features I want in my van is safety features... Everything else I consider a gimmick or something else that is likely to break... But to each his own.

The Chevy Colorado does have the highest safety ratings compared to the other vans we have locally though...

But a 5 star crash rating van could still be parked up in a garage for months when a minor sensor go bad and Chevy Staff more confused than you.

Postby SR » April 13th, 2017, 7:14 pm

No other reviews on the amarok

Postby pugboy » April 13th, 2017, 8:16 pm

Hardly seeing any on the road

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » April 13th, 2017, 8:43 pm

pugboy wrote:Hardly seeing any on the road

Just going over the lady young I saw three amaroks, so ppl buying them

assassin

Postby assassin » April 13th, 2017, 10:36 pm

Probably employees of BA morvant

Postby eliteauto » April 13th, 2017, 11:03 pm

Or leased vehicles

Seeker

Postby Seeker » April 14th, 2017, 12:38 pm

My aunt brought one a month ago. I will ask her about the performance and features

JF.K

Postby JF.K » April 14th, 2017, 7:49 pm

SR wrote:No other reviews on the amarok

I test drove the Amarok.
The driving was very impressive, suspension and everything.

But the interior was bleh.
In one of their higher end models everything was black and basic looking. Nothing gave that modern feel.

For the price they are charging you'd expect alot more.
Accessories are also limited to zero.
You have to use a spray on liner since no one has the normal liners for the bed.

I heard that our poor quality diesel is problematic for their engine...
I think that this is something to seriously find out more on.

When I was there Dec 2016 they were saying that a newer look model will be coming out but will be at an even higher price.

The sales rep in Morvant Branch was saying that because this is a Nissan/Toyota country, sales on this van are very very slow. This also causes them not to stock much, so the colors are also limited.
These slow sales will make the resale value is worse than the Chevy and parts availability would also be an issue.

amd-dude

Postby amd-dude » April 15th, 2017, 10:28 am

Over the years, my 2cents: Note that these were driven hard not just on the road/road test i.e. in the forest helping pulling out trucks and timberjacks from mud. I drove Mazda's, Toyota's, Isuzu, Jeep, Nissan, Dodge.

1, The absolute king of durability is the...........................................................Mazda BT-50, have a TCF series and the only problem this thing gave was a turbo seal needed changing, possible cause was helping a stuck timberjack and revving the balls off of it.

2. For comfort, Hilux and Nissan.

3. Power for hauling heavy sheit around Isuzu and Dodge Ram

4. For going places that only heavy machinery could go, Jeep Wrangler, nothing else I drove comes close, no not even them hilux with snorkel and big tires, leave that at home and don't mamaguy yourself.

The new Rangers are pretty decent as well but they haven't seen any hard work yet so I can't comment but the 2.2 engines are nice for the size and go really far on one tank.

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » April 16th, 2017, 6:04 am

I Purchased a Mazda BT50 last december...my two cents on the experience

1. Ford Ranger: I went into Ford dealership sando, the building inna hotmess.. the display ranger like it came back from a party or sumn..burst balloons, what looked like vomit in d tray.. i lookin for a sales rep...nobody...poor service walked out....fireball.

2. Toyota Revo: Old toyota pickups is the Shiznit.. but that revo tho... interior looks shiddy, the van reminds me of a corolla 4x4. A friend of mine bought one and kinda regrets it... also i saw a video about it tipping easy? At the end of it all.. it was way expensive for me

3. Nissan NP300: I use one at work.. it drives and handles kinda rough... the interior to me real nice tho... the back seat small...exterior styling nice.

4. Mazda BT50.. southern sales is totall mess..totallll

But the van tho.. yea its not the best looking exterior but interior decent for me. I ended up purchasing this one... so far no regrets, i wish Mazda would fireball southern sales and get a next dealer tho.

amd-dude

Postby amd-dude » April 16th, 2017, 12:14 pm

Yea, southern sales could suck a bag of warm jizz, better thing to do is go by a good mechanic after a few in house services. It will void the warranty but aye even if something wrong with the vehicle they will beat around the bush so much as to where you have to go in and buss some cuss and park the car to block their whole driveway then the manager have to call you to come move it, then you will get things done.....ask me how I know.

spirit

THE BEST VAN

Postby spirit » April 16th, 2017, 12:30 pm

nos_specialist wrote:I Purchased a Mazda BT50 last december...my two cents on the experience

1. Ford Ranger: I went into Ford dealership sando, the building inna hotmess.. the display ranger like it came back from a party or sumn..burst balloons, what looked like vomit in d tray.. i lookin for a sales rep...nobody...poor service walked out....fireball.

2. Toyota Revo: Old toyota pickups is the Shiznit.. but that revo tho... interior looks shiddy, the van reminds me of a corolla 4x4. A friend of mine bought one and kinda regrets it... also i saw a video about it tipping easy? At the end of it all.. it was way expensive for me

3. Nissan NP300: I use one at work.. it drives and handles kinda rough... the interior to me real nice tho... the back seat small...exterior styling nice.

4. Mazda BT50.. southern sales is totall mess..totallll

But the van tho.. yea its not the best looking exterior but interior decent for me. I ended up purchasing this one... so far no regrets, i wish Mazda would fireball southern sales and get a next dealer tho.

Yeah I checked out all even the Colorado(last year model) and ended up buying the bt50 best value imo.
No regrets also

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » April 16th, 2017, 12:43 pm

amd-dude wrote:Yea, southern sales could suck a bag of warm jizz, better thing to do is go by a good mechanic after a few in house services. It will void the warranty but aye even if something wrong with the vehicle they will beat around the bush so much as to where you have to go in and buss some cuss and park the car to block their whole driveway then the manager have to call you to come move it, then you will get things done.....ask me how I know.

Oh i believe you... i had to go get on reall bad.. loud up everybody in the showroom, had to go get my own number for the van.. threaten dem to give me back my money and keep d van etc level bachannal...they even fired the sales rep who was dealing with my purchase.

Syberfraggle

Postby Syberfraggle » April 17th, 2017, 12:57 am

Last edited by Syberfraggle on April 17th, 2017, 10:27 am, edited 1 time in total.

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » April 17th, 2017, 4:13 am

Any user reviews of the manual navara or np300?

Syberfraggle

Postby Syberfraggle » April 17th, 2017, 10:30 am

Capleton

Postby Capleton » April 18th, 2017, 11:52 am

JF.K wrote:
Capleton wrote:
JF.K wrote:

They also have about 10 fully loaded automatic 2015 models remaining... that they were advertising as "the Latest 2016 Model"
(Dec gone).

That figure they gave you for the 2014 models is what they have in one branch and not in total. I saw them personally.

The features do sound impressive for the price... but more sensors also mean more headache when one is faulty.

Lifestyle/Chevy has a reputation of Horrible, Sly Customer Service and total lack of parts and availability.
This was a major concern for me.

Everything looks and sounds impressive in a showroom but the after sales service should be something to pay attention to... because when 1 sensor fail, and the vehicle cannot start, and Chevy doesn't have the parts, and it takes 6 months for them to order it etc...
Headache will start.

hmmm well they must have sold some of the units from Dec to April (when i was at the showroom). But i'll keep your points in mind and i'll be sure to let you guys know what the after sales service is like. I also did my research for parts, in the Latin American market the new Colorado is called the S10 and there are a lot of parts online that are available that can come through the US. So far no problems...hope it stays that way.

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » April 18th, 2017, 12:23 pm

Besides the amarok do any of the pickups have diff lock, or a comparable feature?

Postby *KRONIK* » April 18th, 2017, 12:33 pm

I think the ranger have an E-locker in the rear

spirit

Postby spirit » April 19th, 2017, 11:47 am

New rangers new hilux and top spec np300 comes with elockers