THE BEST VAN

supernedd

Re: THE BEST VAN

Postby supernedd » August 7th, 2018, 2:55 am

Team Loco wrote:Im in a very good position to comment. I fix diesel turbochargers daily.

Top fixes are navaras and hilux 1kd.

Never touched a sportero or isuzu dmax turbo

I woukd go with a dmax
dmax engines loud... even the new ones

supernedd

Postby supernedd » August 7th, 2018, 3:05 am

Ted_v2 wrote:Bodow wl is Fyah. Easy maintenance. Parts cheap compared to new common rail stuff
n head cracking every 3yrs . like is a tyre

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » August 7th, 2018, 2:34 pm

rebound wrote:
nick639v2 wrote:I worry about the sportero because i see some smoking heavily with fairly recent plates
That may be the CNG/Diesel ones...they smoke extra because of both fuels at the same time..

The CNG outfitted Sporteros do smoke a little more than shouldbe expected, mainly due to the fact that they were locally installed so fuel ratios could be off a little. The hi-output variants also tend to build up carbon deposits after long periods of laid back driving. That carbon deposits will then blow out as black smoke for the next 2-3 hard pulls then nothing.

rebound

Postby rebound » August 7th, 2018, 2:46 pm

Toyopet wrote:
rebound wrote:
nick639v2 wrote:I worry about the sportero because i see some smoking heavily with fairly recent plates
That may be the CNG/Diesel ones...they smoke extra because of both fuels at the same time..

The CNG outfitted Sporteros do smoke a little more than shouldbe expected, mainly due to the fact that they were locally installed so fuel ratios could be off a little. The hi-output variants also tend to build up carbon deposits after long periods of laid back driving. That carbon deposits will then blow out as black smoke for the next 2-3 hard pulls then nothing.
Correct @ 4 years I did the decarb and full service and this would be 6 years zero issues.

rebound

Postby rebound » August 7th, 2018, 2:48 pm

Funny thing to note is that the guy doing the decarb said it was cleaner than a regular diesel engine in his experience thus far....maybe because my driving style is not laid back..

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 7th, 2018, 9:34 pm

Maybe because it isn't burning as much diesel...

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 8th, 2018, 6:17 am

So question.....what is the final verdict on the new hilux???? Several mixed reviews up in here...

Postby rspann » August 8th, 2018, 6:27 am

Hilux is de best. Toyota Hilux, Mitsubishi Hilux, Ford Hilux. :)

Postby pugboy » August 8th, 2018, 7:52 am

just like them different colour squezy dishwashing soap they selling by the highway

rspann wrote:Hilux is de best. Toyota Hilux, Mitsubishi Hilux, Ford Hilux. :)

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » August 8th, 2018, 8:46 am

owner of a 2011 Hilux. 3.0.

6.75 years and 210,000 Km , and 720+ km for $210 fill up (7-8 days)

may not have the fully loaded features as Ranger, and Navara but they work well once you service it and maintain it. In fact most 4x4 can give you similar service once they do the required maintenance.

may buy another next year but not from local firm- TTTL

Postby nervewrecker » August 8th, 2018, 6:41 pm

supernedd wrote:
Team Loco wrote:Im in a very good position to comment. I fix diesel turbochargers daily.

Top fixes are navaras and hilux 1kd.

Never touched a sportero or isuzu dmax turbo

I woukd go with a dmax
dmax engines loud... even the new ones

IHI tobo ftw, subaru tobo :evilbat:

Toyopet wrote:
rebound wrote:

you mean the NGC vehicles? iirc those were a trial run or something so. Got em working proper eventually.
But I too saw one smoking like woah about 5 years ago.

rebound

Postby rebound » August 8th, 2018, 6:45 pm

Tuned right and its a powerful beast with the bi fuels...I had to take off the CNG when it rained, it got loose..

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » August 8th, 2018, 7:26 pm

rebound wrote:Tuned right and its a powerful beast with the bi fuels...I had to take off the CNG when it rained, it got loose..

Serious?? Where you got yours tuned?

rebound

Postby rebound » August 8th, 2018, 8:39 pm

You have one?

Postby De Dragon » August 8th, 2018, 8:54 pm

mitch1980 wrote:owner of a 2011 Hilux. 3.0.

may not have the fully loaded features as Ranger, and Navara but they work well once you service it and maintain it. In fact most 4x4 can give you similar service once they do the required maintenance.

I have a 2006 with almost that exact mileage. I put about $240 to fill up from quarter tank, and I get 600+ km. I too sometimes long for a bit more luxury ( I have the basic model), but when you're using it primarily for work in a harsh environment, I get over it pretty quickly :lol:

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » August 8th, 2018, 8:58 pm

rebound wrote:You have one?

Naa but the cng/diesel applications interest me.. for the price a mitsu might be an option when I'm ready for a new work vehicle

rebound

Postby rebound » August 8th, 2018, 9:26 pm

nick639v2 wrote:
rebound wrote:You have one?

Naa but the cng/diesel applications interest me.. for the price a mitsu might be an option when I'm ready for a new work vehicle
They are excellent vehicles but I can also tell you that the cng/diesel option may not give you great savings economically when compared to cng/gas vehicles. This is because you would be using diesel at any given time with the cng.

rebound

Postby rebound » August 8th, 2018, 9:26 pm

And also because our diesel is relatively cheap.

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » August 8th, 2018, 9:33 pm

rebound wrote:And also because our diesel is relatively sheit.

fixed 8-)

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » August 9th, 2018, 9:37 am

mitch1980 wrote:owner of a 2011 Hilux. 3.0.

I have a 2006 with almost that exact mileage. I put about $240 to fill up from quarter tank, and I get 600+ km. I too sometimes long for a bit more luxury ( I have the basic model), but when you're using it primarily for work in a harsh environment, I get over it pretty quickly :lol:

the overall experience - performance is good, maintenance is affordable (using only genuine Toyota parts and Schaeffer's oil Products, - engine, transmission, diff oil, power steering, grease etc), reliability - South to POS every day- (most weekends as well)

those reasons I value but any 4x4 can do do similar with the right maintenance

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » September 22nd, 2018, 5:20 pm

I am considering the Nissan 4x4 Manutal Np300 or a Toyota Hilux (Manual). Any thoughts or experiences to share on the pros and cons of both these vehicles

Postby De Dragon » September 22nd, 2018, 5:36 pm

TrinbagoMan wrote:I am considering the Nissan 4x4 Manutal Np300 or a Toyota Hilux (Manual). Any thoughts or experiences to share on the pros and cons of both these vehicles

Manual hilux. Low m'tce, great performance, workhorse IF maintained properly

Postby pugboy » September 22nd, 2018, 6:07 pm

new hilux not using 1kd or 2kd engines anymore
Still waiting on verdict with the newer engines

supernedd

Postby supernedd » September 26th, 2018, 3:46 pm

ADONI wrote:Any vehicle is a best vehicle, as long as you treat it right!
jus need good diesel n a good mechanic

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » September 26th, 2018, 11:12 pm

You lucky if you find one out of the two.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » September 27th, 2018, 11:55 am

Them couple 1st Gen hilux/vigo than had the petrol engines are gold

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » September 27th, 2018, 12:27 pm

Rear legroom in the NP300 is a bit limited...

supernedd

Postby supernedd » September 30th, 2018, 9:19 pm

ADONI wrote:Any vehicle is a best vehicle, as long as you treat it right!
not all the time

supernedd

Postby supernedd » October 16th, 2018, 3:36 am

amd-dude wrote:Over the years, my 2cents: Note that these were driven hard not just on the road/road test i.e. in the forest helping pulling out trucks and timberjacks from mud. I drove Mazda's, Toyota's, Isuzu, Jeep, Nissan, Dodge.

1, The absolute king of durability is the...........................................................Mazda BT-50, have a TCF series and the only problem this thing gave was a turbo seal needed changing, possible cause was helping a stuck timberjack and revving the balls off of it.

2. For comfort, Hilux and Nissan.

3. Power for hauling heavy sheit around Isuzu and Dodge Ram

4. For going places that only heavy machinery could go, Jeep Wrangler, nothing else I drove comes close, no not even them hilux with snorkel and big tires, leave that at home and don't mamaguy yourself.

The new Rangers are pretty decent as well but they haven't seen any hard work yet so I can't comment but the 2.2 engines are nice for the size and go really far on one tank.
lucky u ..i get head cracking issues n pass thru bout 7 shitty mechanics n eventually change engine yrs later .. after sounding like a tractor

Postby Ted_v2 » October 16th, 2018, 5:02 am

did i already comment a nissan frontier? did 150KM of driving sunday and less than 1/8 of a tank.