THE BEST VAN

kamakazi

Re: THE BEST VAN

Postby kamakazi » October 19th, 2018, 2:29 pm

Stating how much distance you get per tank isn't very helpful... How much does it take to fill your tank; what is the mpg or km/l. I average about 10km/l with the 2.5 lux.
Best I got was 11.3 (highway run no brakes) and the worse was 6.8 (lots of idling)

agent007

Postby agent007 » October 19th, 2018, 2:59 pm

Adoni, you’ve got good observation there! Yes the Nissan rack is perhaps taller due to the rear third stop light. Since the Hilux has the third stop light on the tailgate, it allows for a shorter rack, keeping it inline with the cab’s roof line which is better for aerodynamics.

WRT the XE model you know that came with the rack, I was just regurgitating what the sales rep told us and coupled with personal observations. Now that you raised that, I’ll look at the other XE np300’s out there and see if any has the headache rack installed but since I am yet to see 1, I simply figured the sales rep was truthful. I know that we can agree the S and SE has them standard and the LE does not come with it at all.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » October 19th, 2018, 3:36 pm

Yup, the both the np300's were the XE 4x4 models with the regular headlights, not d one with the projector lights.
Possibly its the only two, I may have seen with the racks as well :lol:

Postby pugboy » October 19th, 2018, 3:43 pm

I get close to 11 with ac on right thru

kamakazi wrote:Stating how much distance you get per tank isn't very helpful... How much does it take to fill your tank; what is the mpg or km/l. I average about 10km/l with the 2.5 lux.
Best I got was 11.3 (highway run no brakes) and the worse was 6.8 (lots of idling)

supernedd

Postby supernedd » October 19th, 2018, 4:01 pm

trinibajan34 wrote:
supernedd wrote:
rebound wrote:What about the isuzu? They were known to be serious workhorses back in the day, despite the signature loud engine..
engine still loud

why you keep saying that the engine loud, the engine isn't as loud as before i find it very quiet , the hilux on the other hand , got two coworkers with the new hilux but with previous 3l engine and that when it starts up is loud compared to my isuzu engine.
well boi we have 2 in our company fleet n that thing loud up a hill . it not bad as d older model .. i find hilux quiet.. i feel sometimes is d oil men using yes .

rebound

Postby rebound » October 19th, 2018, 4:04 pm

The sportero is very quiet...(except the cooling fan)

supernedd

Postby supernedd » October 19th, 2018, 4:04 pm

agent007 wrote:There is a huge concern for many would-be van purchasers about the lack of the protective bar behind the cab itself to facilitate carrying long objects etc. Nissan calls this the “headache” rack. These racks for the NP300 are standard on the S and SE lines but absent on the XE and LE lineup. You can buy this rack as an accessory item and it is bolted to the tray via 6 mounting points. Have it painted to match the colour of your van before installing. The approx. total cost for this item (including painting and installation) is $2k.

You can also get a fabricator to customize one for you because even though the XE and LE’s don’t come with this particular rack, as I mentioned before, the 6 mounting points are there. Given climate/weather/terrain circumstances of today, having a 4wd double cab pickup is a must have.

Research before you attempt to buy other vans apart of the Nissan if such a rack can be installed. I know as a fact that Nissan designed their tray to accommodate it as an after purchase install. I noticed the 2.4 auto Hilux comes with that bar standard as well which is a huge plus who see this feature as a must have the way we did.

Our Hilux got 500 or so kms per tank in its best day. I know if driven more gently it may crack into the 600 range but I never personally saw that. The NP300 we have only has 400kms on the odo as I type and the tank is still above half. I would say it appears the np300 will be able to achieve the 600kms range easily.

In the pic I posted before, look closely and you would see the rack installed at the rear. So cost breakdown is as follows:
$309,000. For van
$2,400. Tray liner (free from Massy via ‘special’ promotion)
$450. tint
$650. Lenny sumadh plates
$1,000. reverse sensors
$2,000. tray bar aka headache bar
$1,200. Front mud guards
$500. Chrome handle inserts
$500. Door visors
$800. Front bug deflector
$300. Protective door edge trim
$500. chrome border trim on lights
$100. steering cover
$100. Nissan branded valve caps
$200. Nissan branded leather key pouch
$13,000. Roll and lock tray cover

For those who prefer the chrome roll bar to the back which comes with a third stop light in it, prepare to spend $4,000.

We got free genuine Weathertech branded all-weather rubber floor mats with the van and as you may know, these mats aren’t the regular generic $199. mats you find at any parts place.

If someone has the prices on the rear tow hitch, roof rack cross bars and the front nudge bar, I would be grateful if you can share the same and indicate where it can be procured.

I hope the info was useful and do note, these prices are from the top of my head so I won’t be surprised if someone points out more accurate pricing.
that head ache rack ..is for people who dont use a van like a van . them does only carry groceries in d tray . my partna had a 09 model bt50 with that rack n chop it off . i keep mines ..n then he asking me to deliver stuff for him .. cause he doh wanna use his van . lol .

supernedd

Postby supernedd » October 19th, 2018, 4:06 pm

the best looking rack . was old ranger n mazda n old hilux . them new racks does look weird n out of place

supernedd

Postby supernedd » October 19th, 2018, 4:08 pm

my perfect van would be big n looks like a ranger raptor . reliable like the hilux .. cabin space like a isuzu .. fast like a navara .. n cheap price like a wingle . lol

supernedd

Postby supernedd » October 19th, 2018, 4:13 pm

kamakazi wrote:Stating how much distance you get per tank isn't very helpful... How much does it take to fill your tank; what is the mpg or km/l. I average about 10km/l with the 2.5 lux.
u do know is d same as stating distance per tank.. multiply your 10km by your tank size n u in d same answer to what them saying

Postby pugboy » October 19th, 2018, 4:17 pm

Our dealers only spec factory ladder racks with the cheaper models
E.g. 2.5 hilux
Chrome racks are useless since they are mounted too far back to be effective to carry long items like Pipe etc
They don't have the vertical parts either to assist in strapping a barrel or something bulky like that.

supernedd

Postby supernedd » October 19th, 2018, 7:00 pm

i want that new ford ranger raptor.. lol

supernedd

Postby supernedd » October 19th, 2018, 7:01 pm

agent007

Postby agent007 » October 20th, 2018, 4:50 am

I got some really interesting info concerning the np300 d23 transmissions.
The 6MT model code is the: FS6R31A made by Aisin
The 7AT model code is the: RE7R01B made by Jatco

Aisin is majority owned by Toyota and is part of the Toyota Motor Corp. Group.
Jatco is majority owned by Nissan and is part of Nissan Motor and ultimately under the control of the Renault Nissan Mitsubishi Alliance.

Fun facts:
1. The 6MT can also be found in the Silvia S15, 350Z, 370Z, Infiniti G35 and G37.
2. The 7AT can also be found in the 370Z, Infiniti’s G37, EX37 and FX50.

Dimensions of all players in the market:
Length x Width x Height, Wheelbase

Hilux SRV
5415 x 1885 x 1815, 3085

Colorado LTZ Z71
5408 x 1874 x 1852, 3096

BT-50
5365 x 1850 x 1815, 3220

Ranger Wildtrak
5362 x 1860 x 1848, 3220

D-Max LS
5295 x 1860 x 1855, 3095

NP300 LE
5255 x 1850 x 1840, 3150

Amarok
5254 x 1954 x 1834, 3097

L200 Sportero
5200 x 1815 x 1780, 3000

Actyon Sports
4990 x 1910 x 1790, 2740

Power output:

Colorado
2.8 6AT
197hp @ 3600rpm
500Nm @ 2000-2200rpm

Ranger
3.2 6AT
197hp @ 3000rpm
470Nm @ 1500rpm

BT-50
3.2 6AT
197hp @ 3000rpm
470Nm @ 1750-2500rpm

NP300
2.5 high power 7AT
188hp @ 4000rpm
450Nm @ 2000rpm

Hilux
2.8 6AT
174hp @ 3400rpm
450Nm @ 1400-2600rpm

Amarok
2.0 8AT
177hp @ 4000rpm
420Nm @ 1750rpm

L200 Sportero
2.5 5AT high output
176hp @ 4000rpm
400Nm @2000rpm

D-Max
3.0 5AT
174hp @ 3600rpm
380Nm @ 1800-2800rpm

Actyon Sports
2.0 5AT
153hp @ 4000rpm
360Nm @ 1500-2800rpm

I hope this info was useful to those contemplating purchasing a new fully loaded automatic double cab pickup.

Postby nervewrecker » October 20th, 2018, 10:53 pm

The gearbox from the np300 is same as an s15?
That would actually explain a lot.

supernedd

Postby supernedd » October 21st, 2018, 3:24 am

who does install van snorkel .. i find them ugly eh . but after all the floods we getting every few months .. i think it would be useful

Postby K74T » October 21st, 2018, 4:51 am

Function > Form

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 21st, 2018, 10:13 am

supernedd wrote:who does install van snorkel .. i find them ugly eh . but after all the floods we getting every few months .. i think it would be useful

Bad granny...in the process of shipping my snorkel as well

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » October 21st, 2018, 4:14 pm

Does a snorkel make much sense....I can't see it being useful unless you drop that corner into the deep end...I haven't had a chance to check the height of the electronics in the van but I have a feeling that it could potentially give up before water becomes a problem for your intake

whizzard

Postby whizzard » October 21st, 2018, 5:58 pm

kamakazi wrote:Does a snorkel make much sense....I can't see it being useful unless you drop that corner into the deep end...I haven't had a chance to check the height of the electronics in the van but I have a feeling that it could potentially give up before water becomes a problem for your intake
Yeah, I usually wonder if the electronics aren't at a greater risk, I guess each vehicle may locate them differently.

Sent from my SM-G920I using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby *KRONIK* » October 21st, 2018, 8:04 pm

kamakazi wrote:Does a snorkel make much sense....I can't see it being useful unless you drop that corner into the deep end...I haven't had a chance to check the height of the electronics in the van but I have a feeling that it could potentially give up before water becomes a problem for your intake
Tbh...from talking to snorkel guys, you get more benefit for cool air rather than water resistance.

Most vehicles carry a drain hole at the bottom of the airbox, being submerged for any extended period can allow water in the airbox.

Also, most staters arent completely sealed so you may lose a starter

Most new vehicles come with the alternator mounted low also.

Lastly, if the diff and axles or tranny were warm and you entered water, the rapid cooling can cause water to enter through the breather.
So you need to also consider diff breathers mounted high.

agent007

Postby agent007 » October 21st, 2018, 9:27 pm

Flood waters can instantly warp turbochargers..

Postby nervewrecker » October 21st, 2018, 11:34 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
Tbh...from talking to snorkel guys, you get more benefit for cool air rather than water resistance.

Most vehicles carry a drain hole at the bottom of the airbox, being submerged for any extended period can allow water in the airbox.

Also, most staters arent completely sealed so you may lose a starter

Most new vehicles come with the alternator mounted low also.

Lastly, if the diff and axles or tranny were warm and you entered water, the rapid cooling can cause water to enter through the breather.
Subaru has everything mounted on top.

I passed through flood with my d22 frontier already. Water pushed over the bonnet with the wave I was pushing in front. Vehicle felt like it was starting to float..
That truck still on the road and eh service nothing since that incident. Never gave a problem self.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 22nd, 2018, 12:36 am

4x4 pickup sales are probably going to increase after this national disaster flood event

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » October 22nd, 2018, 4:11 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:4x4 pickup sales are probably going to increase after this national disaster flood event

I even saw on Facebook, some people started using it as a selling/advertising point to sell theirs. :roll:

SimSimmer69

Postby SimSimmer69 » October 22nd, 2018, 7:37 am

The best engineered van on the road is the Ford Ranger .

Postby Ted_v2 » October 22nd, 2018, 7:43 am

Based on?

ADONI

Postby ADONI » October 22nd, 2018, 8:47 am

*KRONIK* wrote:Lastly, if the diff and axles or tranny were warm and you entered water, the rapid cooling can cause water to enter through the breather.

Agreed, this should be done first, if u wanna go thru flood waters.

supernedd

Postby supernedd » October 22nd, 2018, 8:49 am

SimSimmer69 wrote:The best engineered van on the road is the Ford Ranger .
for water wading . that is true watch this vid
https://youtu.be/8WYDv6VL-Z8

supernedd

Postby supernedd » October 22nd, 2018, 8:49 am

Ted_v2 wrote:Based on?
https://youtu.be/8WYDv6VL-Z8