THE BEST VAN

singh is king

Re: THE BEST VAN

Postby singh is king » April 4th, 2017, 4:54 pm

Chevy Colorado anytime over all the big names, I am on my 2nd Colorado and it's a beast

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » April 4th, 2017, 5:58 pm

kamakazi wrote:Would like to hear what others have to say for a change

What have I seen so far
One man put a sticker in the back of his Toyota saying that it is a $300000 piece of trash
Another tuner was only to happy to sell his np300

My new opinions
Ranger is the best looking and most expensive and physically very solid

Consider a hilux not sold by TTTL

Did the 2nr with the problems with the Nissan post his issues on the forums?

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » April 4th, 2017, 5:59 pm

Chevy over the King of the Road aka Hilux? The World officially coming to an end.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » April 4th, 2017, 6:40 pm

^ all TTL fault for their shoddy service and prices

triniboi49

Postby triniboi49 » April 4th, 2017, 7:04 pm

I've been eyeing that Colorado - it has real features as I've mentioned in some other threads the resale value has me concerned. I was not really in the market for a pickup was looking at SUV's but for my price point the Chevy wins with features - may just buy it and keep it a lil longer than I planned.

Yes Trinidad Toyota service fails based on my own experiences.

WestIndian424

Postby WestIndian424 » April 4th, 2017, 7:16 pm

cracker wrote:
pugboy wrote:They all made in Thailand by the same factory allegedly

Are you referring to my question concerning parts for the izuzu? It not do you know anything about the availability of parts for the izuzu?

We have an Isuzu Dmax..its 2 yrs old doing 47000kms....so far only oil/filters
Disc pads changed at 28,000kms ($900 new/oem)
Shoes changed at 42,000kms($939 new/oem)

Parts are available at the dealership as well as ROC

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » April 4th, 2017, 11:07 pm

tourniquet wrote:

What have I seen so far
One man put a sticker in the back of his Toyota saying that it is a $300000 piece of trash

My new opinions

He just didn't think it was worth it. Mention was made of poor grip from the original tyres

TTTL service is poor... Yep... I only serviced my vehicle by them once and never went back... Except for the hard to get parts... I cannot however deny that the product is solid

I know I mentioned the brakes earlier but for comparison sake... The original front pads on my dad's 2.5 lasted to 95000km and the rear drums, while they could have gone a bit longer, were changed at 170000kms.
Think the shoes were about 1k for an original set. Never went back original with the pads though

ramorr

Postby ramorr » April 5th, 2017, 6:14 am

Interns of durability the hilux is for the win.

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » April 5th, 2017, 6:28 am

cracker wrote:
hong kong phooey wrote:If you buying it new then no problem
if you buying it used salt
you cannot find parts not even in the firm , it always out of stock and the prices always a ripoff
i personally would not buy a ford again

Can you get parts for izuzu?

The firm for that brand is southern sales...

Postby Ted_v2 » April 5th, 2017, 7:27 am

Frontier.
Qd32 4x4
Td27 4x2
Older K47 l200
Hilux with solid Axle.
2.7 hilux gas.

I'd buy one of these above if I intend to actually do van stuff . Keep it stupid simple.

If I wanna go and pips in south Park. Nav or new revo M rampersad model

Sent from my GT-I9060C using TriniTuner mobile app

WestIndian424

Postby WestIndian424 » April 5th, 2017, 8:23 pm

singh is king wrote:Chevy Colorado anytime over all the big names, I am on my 2nd Colorado and it's a beast

i cant say the same...2007 colorado bought new....under 100k kms the engine went.Cost $245k iirc....5 years later sold it for $55k :|

Postby pugboy » April 5th, 2017, 9:07 pm

ouch, no warrantee on that ?

that's why I ended up buying a hilux 2.5 two years ago
engine around for ages

wasnt the 2007 colorado the same as the isuzu ?

just like ranger was same as mazda

the current colorado is a current generation common rail I understand
not like the tttl hilux(2.5, 3.0) which is not most recent like rampersad 2.8

Postby sMASH » April 5th, 2017, 9:19 pm

singh is king wrote:
Chevy Colorado anytime over all the big names, I am on my 2nd Colorado and it's a beast.

im still on my first frontier
... TBS... :wink:

WestIndian424

Postby WestIndian424 » April 5th, 2017, 9:29 pm

[quote="pugboy"]ouch, no warrantee on that ?
NOPE

wasnt the 2007 colorado the same as the isuzu ?
pretty much....however to get an engine from isuzu for the chev was a no no

Im not a toyota fan but id have to agree that it stands up+ resale value :!:

Id like to get some reviews on the amarok though...not seen many around.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » April 5th, 2017, 9:33 pm

kamakazi wrote:
tourniquet wrote:

What have I seen so far

My new opinions

He just didn't think it was worth it. Mention was made of poor grip from the original tyres

Oh ho that guy. Google was probably down when he bought it

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » April 6th, 2017, 10:10 am

please doh tell meh u want to "pretty" it up and hav yuh bird drive it

JF.K

Postby JF.K » April 6th, 2017, 11:12 am

I don't trust Lifestyle Motors at all, especially their Chevy Department.
I've had issues with the Suzuki department before but let's talk about Chevy.

One of their scams was false advertising.
They are just about getting the sale. They will blatantly lie through their teeth to get a sale.

Example Scam 1
They had ads in the newspaper/media last year saying...
"Sale on the latest 2016 model Chevy Colorado - Starting at $209k"

When you went in the showroom all the Vans were either 2014 or 2015 models.
And this was in Dec 2016.
The basic models were 2014 and they fully loaded models were 2015... no models were 2016.
So if you bought a vehicle then, you'd receive it in 2017 and the vehicle would be nearly 2 yrs old before you drove it.

The sales rep said they never bought any 2016 models since they were overstock in the older models.

Example Scam 2
They showed a few vehicles in their lot.. saying the vans selling like hot bread and this is all they have remaining.
All of these were white and they said they had no other colors because they were all sold out.

These particular vehicles were also already showing signs of rusting underneath.
I went up to one of them and saw a type of grease below the vehicle. I asked about it and they said it is normal that they paste a "rust proof" substance underneath to prevent rusting.
When I wiped of part of the substance from a particular area.. I saw rust.

Btw... this was the sales manager saying that.
I said that I just came from the south showroom and they said that they had all the colors and many vans to choose from. He then said he'll call them to confirm.
He came back saying that the sales rep was misinformed and that all their other colors were sold.
He said he knows what all the branches has because all vehicles pass through him and he dispatches them.

I later saw that same day, that Chevy had a show/display in Trincity and Gulf City Mall where all the colors were there and many vans were available for sale.
A few days later.. I saw the same vehicles back in the showroom and if you called their office then.. they'd say that they now got more vans.

Example Scam 3
The manager then said that since they don't have a wide variety of vans for me to choose from etc... that he will give me a deal with a rear camera.
This particular model he was showing had the double din deck but no rear camera.
He said the normal price they charge is $15k which includes installation by his professional guy.. but he will have it done for $10k.. he will give me it as cost price and not make any profit.
Btw.. this is one of those cameras that screw onto the number plate and costs US $30 on Amazon.

When I called him back days later and confronted him about the other colors and models that they had in the Mall Shows etc and that he lied etc.. he said..
Hear what.. I'll throw in the camera for free... installed.

Postby Ted_v2 » April 6th, 2017, 11:43 am

I went and ordered a part for a Suzuki. Offered to pay for it in advance, they say no need. They said they would bring it down south for me.

They said 1 week. I pass back in 2. Nobody ordered nothing for me. I reordered it.

Postby gastly369 » April 6th, 2017, 11:56 am

2003 Sr5 hilux

JF.K

Postby JF.K » April 6th, 2017, 12:30 pm

The Cabin and Interior of both the Isuzu and Chevy are the exact same.
They are referred to as sisters.

But the Chevy has a much higher price than the Isuzu, even though the Isuzu is more popular and would more likely to have a higher resale value.

Postby 16 cycles » April 6th, 2017, 12:43 pm

any other problems with lifesyle /suzuki?

JF.K

Postby JF.K » April 6th, 2017, 1:08 pm

16 cycles wrote:any other problems with lifesyle /suzuki?

If we post more issues / problems...
Admin might lock the thread LOL

Postby pete » April 6th, 2017, 2:25 pm

I have a 2.5 manual 4x4 d-max. Been trouble free so far (knocks on wood) for 50k k,. I get 750-800km from the tank. Normally 140 to fill. I spend most of my time at the speed limit but the few times I have tried to go fast it never really passed 140. Doesn't bother me with all this crackdown on speeding recently.

Postby pugboy » April 6th, 2017, 2:50 pm

$15k for a rear camera ?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » April 6th, 2017, 3:24 pm

JF.K wrote:The Cabin and Interior of both the Isuzu and Chevy are the exact same.
They are referred to as sisters.

But the Chevy has a much higher price than the Isuzu, even though the Isuzu is more popular and would more likely to have a higher resale value.

Are they... While similar they are not the same. I remember the gauge cluster and the climate controls​ being different

The Chevy has a 2.8 l engine in their fully loaded model while the Isuzu has a 3.0

Even if cars/vans are built in the same platform with interchangeable parts that still doesn't mean they are necessarily the same. The end product can still be tuned differently by their respective marques.

There is rebranding and then there is platform sharing.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » April 6th, 2017, 4:43 pm

16 cycles wrote:any other problems with lifesyle /suzuki?

I know of a two year old Chevy Colorado that is currently with them for gearbox issues. First they were going to fix it under warranty, then they threw the blame for the gear box problem and the repair costs on to the owner (clutch okay, pressure plate okay, gear sets okay). From what I understand, the issue now has the attention of the Consumer Affairs Division who is looking into the matter.

When I was there earlier this week, I was listening to a service representative telling a customer the reason why the a/c in her PDB Chevy Cruze was not working. The car is still on warranty and the service representative was telling the owner that it looked like someone else worked on the a/c system, despite the owner saying that the car is on warranty and the only entity who worked on the car was Lifestyle. I don't know who to believe.

I personally find whoever washes the vehicles at Lifestyle does a piss poor job at a cost of $40 + VAT.

Postby pugboy » April 6th, 2017, 5:00 pm

I understand they does do alignment for $400

Postby Rory Phoulorie » April 6th, 2017, 6:00 pm

pugboy wrote:I understand they does do alignment for $400

They charged me $250 the other day.

With respect to the Toyota Hilux, I am responsible for maintaining two TDG registration number Hiluxes (the 3.0L model w/ leather seats) and after a little over two years, they haven't given any trouble. The costs to maintain them at TTTL are no more than what in my experience the other dealers charge.

Postby Ted_v2 » April 6th, 2017, 7:07 pm

South branch have a reds with some kinda wet curls. Ehh

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » April 6th, 2017, 8:09 pm

Someone has to let me know about those alignment prices... Is it too much or too little. I not sure what to make of the comments