So I applied to SpaceX

nos_specialist

So I applied to SpaceX

Postby nos_specialist » April 23rd, 2017, 8:25 pm

Good Evening Tuners. I applied to SpaceX to work...if i get a Janitor work i takin it :)

feel free to Apply....

http://www.spacex.com/careers/list

Re: So I applied to SpaceX

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 23rd, 2017, 8:51 pm

all the positions for Rocket Scientist are already taken?

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » April 23rd, 2017, 8:56 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:all the positions for Rocket Scientist are already taken?

pretty much, but chief cook and bottle washer still vacant....

Postby sMASH » April 23rd, 2017, 10:25 pm

wouldn't mind being a shuttle driver. i have heavy T and taxi badge.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 23rd, 2017, 11:55 pm

Scientists are contemplating teraforming Mars to make it identical to earth but their estimate is that it will take 100 million years.

But the first phase of increasing greenhouse gases and warming the planet to regain the oceans will happen in the next 1000 years. Elon Musk wants to launch nuclear weapons on mars ice caps, there is frozen carbon dioxide aswell melting it will raise the temp.

Mars is pretty cold but summer time is really nice its 20 degrees c which is like perfect.

A shame none of us will be around when that day comes

The Paleontologist

Postby The Paleontologist » April 24th, 2017, 12:45 am

Tried a thing for an intern

ADONI

Postby ADONI » April 24th, 2017, 9:05 am

NOS, yuh sure to get a wuk doing hydroponics! Just doh go mental as the guy in the Mars mini series...

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » April 24th, 2017, 9:23 am

Thats the plan...apply allyuh try sumn..

Postby Slartibartfast » April 24th, 2017, 9:28 am

nos_specialist wrote:Good Evening Tuners. I applied to SpaceX to work...if i get a Janitor work i takin it :)

feel free to Apply....

So I applied to SpaceX

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 24th, 2017, 9:29 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Scientists are contemplating teraforming Mars to make it identical to earth but their estimate is that it will take 100 million years.

But the first phase of increasing greenhouse gases and warming the planet to regain the oceans will happen in the next 1000 years. Elon Musk wants to launch nuclear weapons on mars ice caps, there is frozen carbon dioxide aswell melting it will raise the temp.

Mars is pretty cold but summer time is really nice its 20 degrees c which is like perfect.

You sure it's 100 million years?

Humans have only been around 0.2% of that time.

Postby teems1 » April 24th, 2017, 11:22 am

Slartibartfast wrote:
nos_specialist wrote:Good Evening Tuners. I applied to SpaceX to work...if i get a Janitor work i takin it :)

feel free to Apply....

The girl who asked this question should be taken out back and shot.

You have the chance to ask Elon Musk a question, and you ask something which is easily determined by a quick Google.

Also she appears to want to use this question to paint Elon as some sort of xenophobe or it's now her "moment to shine" to point out a billionaire's greed. She was probably salivating thinking about her Facebook/Instagram/Tumblr post akin to a David vs Goliath where she is taking down the evil patriarchy.

Now she'll be known as a dunce who couldn't figure out how to use Google.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » April 24th, 2017, 11:36 am

teems1 wrote:
Slartibartfast wrote:

feel free to Apply....

The girl who asked this question should be taken out back and shot.

You have the chance to ask Elon Musk a question, and you ask something which is easily determined by a quick Google.

Also she appears to want to use this question to paint Elon as some sort of xenophobe or it's now her "moment to shine" to point out a billionaire's greed. She was probably salivating thinking about her Facebook/Instagram/Tumblr post akin to a David vs Goliath where she is taking down the evil patriarchy.

Now she'll be known as a dunce who couldn't figure out how to use Google.

Yes...US Big Gubbament restricts hiring to US persons.

ITAR REQUIREMENTS:

To conform to U.S. Government space technology export regulations, applicant must be a U.S. citizen, lawful permanent resident of the U.S., protected individual as defined by 8 U.S.C. 1324b(a)(3), or eligible to obtain the required authorizations from the U.S. Department of State.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 24th, 2017, 12:05 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Scientists are contemplating teraforming Mars to make it identical to earth but their estimate is that it will take 100 million years.

You sure it's 100 million years?

Humans have only been around 0.2% of that time.

Yeah that is how long they estimate it will take for the atmosphere, oceans, rivers, vegetation, magnetic core, ozone layer etc on mars to return to earthlike status if scientists were to start today. Approx 100 million years, hence the 4 pics of Mars but I assume people will be able to breathe and there will be vegetation and water etc in the next few thousand years.

But 100 million is nothing considering that mars is dead like over 4 billion years now. Now that 100 million is with mars doing most of the work on its own returning to normal as it once was, who knows what technology will be available in the future.

But that last pic of mars looking like earth is pretty much what scientists believe Mars looked like billions of years ago before it shutdown for whatever reason.

Postby sMASH » April 24th, 2017, 1:36 pm

an atmosphere with a density comparative to earth's cannot be generated on mars. better bet is venus.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 24th, 2017, 1:39 pm

^ But it was once just like earth it even had oceans and rivers and grass.

Postby sMASH » April 24th, 2017, 1:44 pm

'was'.

what happens to liquid water on the surface of mars now?

Postby matr1x » April 24th, 2017, 1:49 pm

Girls who apply should be good looking. No need to spread ugly girl genes in space

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 24th, 2017, 1:50 pm

sMASH wrote:'was'.

what happens to liquid water on the surface of mars now?

Either evaporate or freeze.

Postby sMASH » April 24th, 2017, 2:14 pm

even if it freezes, it will eventually evaporate... or rather sublimate.

the physical forces to maintain a dense atmosphere isn't there on mars. any resources meant to create an atmosphere will be wasted. doing any work so far from earth will be quite expensive. it would be too much of an expense to do do something so futile.

unless ur gonna make self contained habitats, the better bet is to do something on venus. even the ice moons are better bets than mars

Postby timelapse » April 26th, 2017, 10:50 am

How about Uranus?

So I applied to SpaceX

Postby sMASH » April 26th, 2017, 1:59 pm

once is urs and not mine... lol

Postby supercharged turbo » April 27th, 2017, 12:26 am

Postby MaxPower » April 27th, 2017, 9:15 am

matr1x wrote:Girls who apply should be good looking. No need to spread ugly girl genes in space

And no trinis in space either for a cleaner environment

Postby matr1x » April 28th, 2017, 5:39 pm

Q: You know how a trini has been to space?

A: A floating half empty chubby bottle on the void...