How much does it cost to have my passport expedited and how long will it take?

0Anon0

How much does it cost to have my passport expedited and how long will it take?

Postby 0Anon0 » May 2nd, 2017, 5:10 pm

I urgently need to renew my passport and cannot wait 4-8 weeks. Can anyone tell me what's the cost to have my passport expedited and how long will I have to wait to receive it ?

Thank You

Re: How much does it cost to have my passport expedited and how long will it take?

Postby zoom rader » May 2nd, 2017, 6:39 pm

Call passport office or speak to immigration officer/clerk.

My last passport took 8 weeks at the Trini embassy in London

dredman1

Re: How much does it cost to have my passport expedited and how long will it take?

Postby dredman1 » May 2nd, 2017, 9:49 pm

$300 additional to expedite, so $550 total (standard fee is $250).
Ready for collection in 10 days (standard is 8 weeks).

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » May 2nd, 2017, 9:52 pm

thats not bad

Postby RedVEVO » May 3rd, 2017, 2:48 am

T&T Immigration will ask you the "reason" for the expedite .

You will have to wait a few days or more to get a response or "approval" of the expedite .
You may have to submit some documentation to get approval for the expedite e.g. medical
certificate

Then you will have to wait 10 business days.

Postby janfar » May 3rd, 2017, 1:02 pm

Nah... I went in Grande, no questions asked. Just pay your money... Didn't even need justification for a business passport either.

AND it was ready before the 10 days. 5 to be correct. I just didn't collect till the 10th.

nismoid

Postby nismoid » May 3rd, 2017, 1:05 pm

Its Bull$hit to have to wait 8 weeks for a passport renewal in the first place

Postby stev » May 3rd, 2017, 2:20 pm

0Anon0 wrote:I urgently need to renew my passport and cannot wait 4-8 weeks. Can anyone tell me what's the cost to have my passport expedited and how long will I have to wait to receive it ?

Thank You

i went to Chaguanas office on Monday...needed to get mine expedited as well.

Cost for passport: $250
Additional Cost for Expediting: $300

the officer said i'll get it in 10 working days or less.

please note, if u are going chaguanas office...doh reach later than 6.30am. if u reach 7am, the office is usually full and they will deny u entry.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » May 3rd, 2017, 10:07 pm

janfar wrote:Nah... I went in Grande, no questions asked. Just pay your money... Didn't even need justification for a business passport either.

AND it was ready before the 10 days. 5 to be correct. I just didn't collect till the 10th.

^^^ This. They didn't ask for a reason. All they asked was "Regular or Expedited?"

Postby desifemlove » May 5th, 2017, 3:18 pm

it's been like that long time, they don't need a reason to extend.

Postby desifemlove » May 5th, 2017, 3:19 pm

RedVEVO wrote:T&T Immigration will ask you the "reason" for the expedite .

You will have to wait a few days or more to get a response or "approval" of the expedite .
You may have to submit some documentation to get approval for the expedite e.g. medical
certificate

Doesn't say that on the form. they just say one needs to pay the fee.

Postby RedVEVO » May 5th, 2017, 4:00 pm

desifemlove wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:T&T Immigration will ask you the "reason" for the expedite .

certificate

Doesn't say that on the form. they just say one needs to pay the fee.

Ok, cool 8-)

In my case I went prepared with all my documents.
It was a new passport and I received it within 15 days.

My process when dealing with ANY Gov't Department(s) is to think the process through.
The CSRs at most are very clueless.

Immigration make up the rules as they go along so every branch you get different responses.
Hence the crowds and the Cirque du Soleil show as if people working.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » July 21st, 2017, 10:22 am

Heard this morning on 94.1fm that the option to expedite was no longer being offered, and apparently this is only being told to applicants when they ask for the facility.

Would be good if the thread could be updated by anyone who may have actually experienced this to verify the validity of what was said on the radio.

Postby De Dragon » July 21st, 2017, 10:35 am

Renewed 2 weeks ago in Chaguanas:
Reach VERY early if you don't have an appointment.
Have your form properly filled out
Make sure that the copy of your old passport data page is not too dark
Ask for expedited at the counter when the Customs Officer is checking your form
NO CASH, LINX only
I got mine in 9 days

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » July 21st, 2017, 12:23 pm

Don't waste your money.It takes the same time whether you pay or not.

Postby janfar » July 22nd, 2017, 9:32 am

Expedited is still available and it does help.

Ellejohn25

Postby Ellejohn25 » September 8th, 2019, 4:22 am

Can you get a passport expedited before the date of your appointment?

Postby stev » September 8th, 2019, 4:45 am

Ellejohn25 wrote:Can you get a passport expedited before the date of your appointment?

i dont see why not...just have the extortion money....sorry "fee" ready. lol

be ready to line up early...i dont think they would 'expedite' your appointment so u might have to line up.

Postby crazybalhead » September 9th, 2019, 9:35 am

Ellejohn25 wrote:Can you get a passport expedited before the date of your appointment?

They have gotten more stringent with requirements for granting the expediting. You will be asked to provide documents etc. to support the reason for doing so.

Postby supercharged turbo » January 3rd, 2020, 9:54 pm

I need to get my passport expedited.Any suggestions?Heard POS doing it but I don't want to go quite there to hear they only doing it for medical emergency/death of a relative etc.

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » January 4th, 2020, 12:04 am

When u go for your appointment, just tell them you want it expedited.. that's all. You pay the extra, they make a note on the plastic folder...and that's it. No excuse needed.

Postby supercharged turbo » January 4th, 2020, 9:13 am

My appointment date is 2 months after it expiring.I need it before that

Postby Kenjo » January 4th, 2020, 7:05 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:My appointment date is 2 months after it expiring.I need it before that

They supposedly stopped any drop ins at all , POS office had up to September and I got through by going like 430 am . Expedited isn’t an issue but getting the actual appointment is

Postby supercharged turbo » January 4th, 2020, 10:53 pm

Yup,no drop ins again.The appointment date is too long
Kenjo wrote:
supercharged turbo wrote:My appointment date is 2 months after it expiring.I need it before that

They supposedly stopped any drop ins at all , POS office had up to September and I got through by going like 430 am . Expedited isn’t an issue but getting the actual appointment is

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 4th, 2020, 11:25 pm

Kenjo wrote:

Yup. Drop in accommodations stopped Oct 21 if I'm not mistaken.

Appts are booked 3-4 months in advance depending on location chosen.

I booked early November and got mid feb at point fortin. Chag/Sando/POS had slots available mid to late march