Re: LF capacitor for 12k BTU inverter unit

Postby pjfred » May 7th, 2017, 1:27 pm

that is not a capacitor

Postby nervewrecker » May 7th, 2017, 1:45 pm

Never seen a cap in an inverter anyways.

Postby nervewrecker » May 7th, 2017, 1:46 pm

Inverter guts. Image

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » May 7th, 2017, 1:59 pm

Nw, I not sure what the part is myself but maraj didn't say it wasn't. I have another thread with the same.inverter issue. Fahim, old school....money wasted..talk done.

I changed the coil and temp sensor myself yesterday, same problem. Can anyone really assist ? Seems most technicians don't know about inverter technology......their answer is buy ah new unit.....lol

In a nutshell, the ac wasn't cooling properly before and after service, technician topped up gas and compressor came.on but cut off a while after he topped up. Compressor came.on half hour later for about 30 seconds then cut off and only blower worked. The blower speed seems stuck on low also as minimal breeze is coming thru vent presently. Fahim came and dumped some of the gas, compressor took a while.to come on but eventually did.....and back to same problem. I changed the coil and temp sensor and still no luck. Not sure if there is a capacitor or not or what else to check or try. If i have to pay men money to simply empty gas and not follow up on call with info to help out....then better I try on my own...paid two technicians already and no progress.

Can anyone accurately diagnose or assist ?

Postby Strugglerzinc » May 7th, 2017, 2:01 pm

That looks like an EMI filter based on the diagram. If the person who checked it say it is a capacitor maybe someone else should look at it.

Postby nervewrecker » May 7th, 2017, 3:22 pm

Premchand1976 wrote:Nw, I not sure what the part is myself but maraj didn't say it wasn't. I have another thread with the same.inverter issue. Fahim, old school....money wasted..talk done.

I changed the coil and temp sensor myself yesterday, same problem. Can anyone really assist ? Seems most technicians don't know about inverter technology......their answer is buy ah new unit.....lol

In a nutshell, the ac wasn't cooling properly before and after service, technician topped up gas and compressor came.on but cut off a while after he topped up. Compressor came.on half hour later for about 30 seconds then cut off and only blower worked. The blower speed seems stuck on low also as minimal breeze is coming thru vent presently. Fahim came and dumped some of the gas, compressor took a while.to come on but eventually did.....and back to same problem. I changed the coil and temp sensor and still no luck. Not sure if there is a capacitor or not or what else to check or try. If i have to pay men money to simply empty gas and not follow up on call with info to help out....then better I try on my own...paid two technicians already and no progress.

Fahim and I do well.
Inverter is new technology and he knows just as much as about 99% of the other techs out here when it comes to those.
When he and I last spoke about it I think a manual or wiring schematic couldnt be found.

As is, I myself dont know much about them or how they work. The only one I know about is that Lennox in the pic that I gutted. During the next few days I intend to spend some time with it now that its gutted.

Looking to get one myself and want to know what im getting myself into.

Postby nervewrecker » May 7th, 2017, 3:24 pm

As usual they sell you sensors. They tried that with me twice week before and it wasnt the sensors.

Last I inspected the board there was someting looking like a cap for the fan motor. Not sure if the fan is variable speed, if it is, then no cap.

There are caps on the board for other things.

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » May 7th, 2017, 3:39 pm

This is a pic of my board.....
Didn't remove it tho

pjfred

Postby pjfred » May 7th, 2017, 3:57 pm

If you don't have control, the board is shot. Change the board. Most people who install these units will normally be advised to install protection on the incoming supply from t&tec. Power in this country is far from perfect and protection is needed. That controller is expensive I think locally.

gencon

Postby gencon » May 7th, 2017, 4:05 pm

I think it is better to buy a traditional ac split unit as these are not as complicated as inverter units, i hope you get through with a fix bro.

Postby ruffneck_12 » May 7th, 2017, 4:15 pm

Premchand1976 wrote:Nw, I not sure what the part is myself but maraj didn't say it wasn't. I have another thread with the same.inverter issue. Fahim, old school....money wasted..talk done.

Well if the gas isnt the problem, it could be :
-the wiring for the compressor bad
-the part of the board responsible for telling the compressor to come on has gone bad, (sensor/pcb traces/relay)
-the compressor itself bad
-something else in the gas loop bad

I list those problems in order of complexity, sometimes you should check the simplest thing first

Postby nervewrecker » May 7th, 2017, 4:48 pm

If he lived closer I would have loved to take a look. Just to learn.

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » May 7th, 2017, 5:36 pm

instantfrugality wrote:I think it is better to buy a traditional ac split unit as these are not as complicated as inverter units, i hope you get through with a fix bro.

Next time around....I'm gonna go regular. If anyone willing to come trouble shoot it no problem....chances are I'm gonna change it out regardless if it's fixed or not soon

Postby nervewrecker » May 7th, 2017, 6:26 pm

If you intend to discard it can i have it please.
Or what you willing to give away. Wanna try and experiment with one of these.

Postby nervewrecker » May 7th, 2017, 6:26 pm

Where you located again btw? I working normal hours this week so im not available.

Postby ruffneck_12 » May 7th, 2017, 6:31 pm

nervewrecker wrote:If you intend to discard it can i have it please.

dibs on the board if it wukkin, I want a VFD module bad bad , just to modulate the speed of big nasty motors :evilbat:

Postby nervewrecker » May 7th, 2017, 6:34 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:If you intend to discard it can i have it please.

dibs on the board if it wukkin, I want a VFD module bad bad , just to modulate the speed of big nasty motors :evilbat:

That cant handle the current draw.

If you serious, pm.

Price is approx $4k programmed and installed. Ill need the RLA, operating voltage and kw. Works for single and polyphase motors and you need only a single phase supply.

Postby ruffneck_12 » May 7th, 2017, 6:48 pm

I was gonna mod it with some added mosfets/caps in paralell so it cud tek jam

I not too srs, its just a hobby, Not about to blow 4k on something I just wanna fiddle with lol

but Thanks tho. I'll keep ya in mind if I need industrial shiz

Postby nervewrecker » May 7th, 2017, 7:46 pm

Might be better off with one of them aurdino boards in that case.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » May 8th, 2017, 2:32 pm

Yeah some FETs and an Arduino/555 timer to digs out a lil PWM should be enough to play around with speed control.

How come it never had a 2nr Electronics ched o sum doh or it dey dead somewhere?

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » May 8th, 2017, 2:55 pm

The picture posted in the first post is a RfI filter ,used to notch out noise that will go back out into the power source and cause interference with other appliances,they seldom go bad

god son

Postby god son » May 9th, 2017, 6:58 am

I'm an tech specialised in inverter tech. Call me 3238448

Caribnomad

Postby Caribnomad » May 9th, 2017, 7:26 am

This is quite definitely an "EMI Filter Unit".

Inside, there are indeed six capacitors, plus a toroidal transformer/choke, and a varistor.

Most Whirlpool devices have Samsung (Korean) EMI filters, but the picture looks to be Chinese.

Some simple searches on Alibaba.com revealed no matches for the readable characters on the device. (RTLB-12T095X or 1423414),

Premchand1976 wrote:Looking for a capacitor like the one here for. Whirlpool brand inverter unit

With thanks.

Postby ruffneck_12 » May 9th, 2017, 7:30 am

Ronaldo95163 wrote:Yeah some FETs and an Arduino/555 timer to digs out a lil PWM should be enough to play around with speed control.

How come it never had a 2nr Electronics ched o sum doh or it dey dead somewhere?

I was playing up with a arduino, made a PWM controller but I want frquency control too

idk how to code fml :(

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 9th, 2017, 12:05 pm

I read that those inverter are largely a scam even big names does scam you with the whole saving current thing.

Anybody ever replaced their unit with an inverter and observed their T&TEC bill? was it a lot lower as in the advertised 50% less current lower?

Postby nervewrecker » May 9th, 2017, 12:28 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:I read that those inverter are largely a scam even big names does scam you with the whole saving current thing.

Anybody ever replaced their unit with an inverter and observed their T&TEC bill? was it a lot lower as in the advertised 50% less current lower?

Clamped a lennox 12000btu inverter on 2.75A

Postby Strugglerzinc » May 9th, 2017, 1:18 pm

Is that startup or running? Doesn't inverter systems vary current draw based on need?

Would love to know running amps on a conventional 12k.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » May 9th, 2017, 2:10 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:
Ronaldo95163 wrote:Yeah some FETs and an Arduino/555 timer to digs out a lil PWM should be enough to play around with speed control.

I was playing up with a arduino, made a PWM controller but I want frquency control too

idk how to code fml :(

You does hadda change the timer configuration bits to play up with the pwm frequency n all tht juicy stuff
start up ah ched nah

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 9th, 2017, 2:24 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:Is that startup or running? Doesn't inverter systems vary current draw based on need?

Would love to know running amps on a conventional 12k.

The standard running amp on a conventional 12k BTU is 5.7 Amps.

My 12K BTU Ac is 1250 watts so if you divide 1250 by 220v you will get 5.7

If you multiply 220v by 5.7 Amps you get 1250 watts.