CO2 Mig Welder

nos_specialist

CO2 Mig Welder

Postby nos_specialist » June 12th, 2017, 9:18 pm

Ok tuners, so i got my Evolution Rage 3 Multipurpose Miter Saw.....My fabrication skills justtt gott a wholeee lot better,

what i need though is a C02 Mig welder...

who has experience with this, owning one..getting gas, what type of welder to buy.... if anyone has a used one to sell...

talk to me.

Re: CO2 Mig Welder

Postby pugboy » June 12th, 2017, 9:46 pm

I have a miller 180 several years now
Igl is the only supplier of gas co2
And they only rent the big steel tanks, a pia to move. $34/month
Gas is cheap $70 fill, those big tanks will last forever.

I eventually bought an aluminum soft drink type co2 tank online and shoulda do that a long time ago
As the money I spent on tank rental woulda pay for it.

The bad news is the big name machines are more expensive now since they use inverter technology now,
Much smaller and lighter.

There are many Chinese noname ones now but not sure about them, however one of bigger name ones is called everlast and they have a us distributor.

INDAVID WORKSHOP

Postby INDAVID WORKSHOP » June 12th, 2017, 9:49 pm

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » June 12th, 2017, 9:52 pm

Got a lincoln 140C mig welder.
Prob burned only 3 spools of 10lb wire on it.
It's in pristine condition.

110v welding up to 3/8 or 1/2 inch.
Comes with regulator for gas application. I have been using Flux core wire all along.
Also comes with magnum alum spool gun already wired up and regulator.

No gas bottles.

If interested let me know.

Gas bottles are easily accessible at IGL. but for a hobby home owner/user I did not see it feasible to be renting bottles.

Been looking for deals on private bottles but they keep slipping me.
Buy bottles are avail out there.

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » June 12th, 2017, 9:53 pm

But* bottles are avail out there

Postby pugboy » June 12th, 2017, 10:07 pm

Those 140 machines can really do 1/4" steel with co2 ?

Btw op get an electronic helmet, a world of difference

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » June 12th, 2017, 10:13 pm

^^^^^ yea i bought that, a solar powered Auto darkening mask..... negotiating for the welder right now lol

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » June 12th, 2017, 10:18 pm

pugboy wrote:Those 140 machines can really do 1/4" steel with co2 ?

Btw op get an electronic helmet, a world of difference

Yes.... I've used it for up to 1/2" already. Heat and feed is key. But I tink it's rated for 3/8"... u can Google specs

Lance

Postby Lance » August 13th, 2017, 4:34 am

pugboy wrote:I have a miller 180 several years now
Igl is the only supplier of gas co2
And they only rent the big steel tanks, a pia to move. $34/month
Gas is cheap $70 fill, those big tanks will last forever.

I eventually bought an aluminum soft drink type co2 tank online and shoulda do that a long time ago
As the money I spent on tank rental woulda pay for it.

The bad news is the big name machines are more expensive now since they use inverter technology now,
Much smaller and lighter.

There are many Chinese noname ones now but not sure about them, however one of bigger name ones is called everlast and they have a us distributor.

If you have your own tank what's the process for getting it refilled?

I am assuming you have to go to the source since the distributors may only have filled large bottles to re-sell?

I also agree that the large bottles are going to be a pita to move around and to transport to the distributors when you need to refill.

I was thinking about buying a smaller 40-60cf bottle online and just having that refilled when I need to. I'm just unsure of the refill process.

Also, if they accept 3rd party bottles, is there any bottle certification needed (DOT etc.)?

Postby rspann » August 13th, 2017, 5:33 am

There is a guy by the Aranguez savannah (there are others) who sells co2. you can also carry your bottle and he can get it refilled . When you coming from the EMR and go under the bus route, make a left and he is on the left before you reach the savannah.

Lance

Postby Lance » August 13th, 2017, 5:37 am

Thanks man,

I actually need argon for aluminium.

Do you know if he refills this as well?

Postby pugboy » August 13th, 2017, 5:55 am

you can get that by IGL
but the tank is the issue
IGL can lease you a tank for $20/month or something like that
it will be the big tank so
or you can buy your own.

Postby rspann » August 13th, 2017, 6:23 am

He sells all types of gas. There is also a place in five rivers if you are from the east.

Postby pugboy » August 13th, 2017, 6:32 am

so what is the diff with going by him vs igl which is right around the corner in aranguez ?

Postby rspann » August 13th, 2017, 6:40 am

That is for people who don't have an account by IGL ,or who have their own bottles. If you don't use it on a regular basis, then you paying rent every month still. I know a guy who took over a year to use one tank ,he would have to pay rent for all those months.

Lance

Postby Lance » August 13th, 2017, 6:41 am

pugboy wrote:you can get that by IGL
but the tank is the issue
IGL can lease you a tank for $20/month or something like that
it will be the big tank so
or you can buy your own.

I intend to buy a smaller tank so that I can transport it easily.

Does IGL have any problems with you bringing your own tank? Do they have any tank requirements?

Postby nervewrecker » August 13th, 2017, 7:24 am

Igl / massy gas does not have any issues with you bringing your own tank. They will inspect it and advise you paint it accordingly.
Their prices are less and their customer service excellent.
I bought my own tank so as to not have to pay rent and its small tanks I have.
They also sell tanks and regulators.
Ill get a number just now.

Lance

Postby Lance » August 13th, 2017, 8:11 am

Did you buy your tanks locally? What cf capacity are they and how much did they cost (if you bought locally).

Postby pugboy » August 13th, 2017, 10:27 am

I rented for a good few years then bought a tank this year, shoulda do that long time and save the rental money.

I bought an aluminium soft drink co2 tank on ebay or amazon
cant remember which

you can't scratch your name on the tank, only paint it on.

Lance

Postby Lance » August 13th, 2017, 12:52 pm

pugboy wrote:I rented for a good few years then bought a tank this year, shoulda do that long time and save the rental money.

I bought an aluminium soft drink co2 tank on ebay or amazon
cant remember which

you can't scratch your name on the tank, only paint it on.

I'm looking into buying a pair of these if I can get them for a reasonable price locally.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/20-cf-Welding-C ... Sw8w1YAT6q

I figure a pair would be the best bet since I'll also need to back purge. Rather than getting a bigger tank and a dual flow meter, I might as well get two smaller tanks and still be able to transport both for refilling.

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » August 13th, 2017, 5:24 pm

So, I bought a Mig welder.. it wasnt working (got it cheap) fixed it..and now it works..

NEED GAS....

Postby nervewrecker » August 13th, 2017, 6:20 pm

Lance wrote:Did you buy your tanks locally? What cf capacity are they and how much did they cost (if you bought locally).
Yes locally. A victor oxy acetylene kit from ssl. Was about $4500.00 complete (tanks, regulators, hose, tip etc)
Will let you know the capacity when I get home.
And a contact for Marissa.

A little off topic but, they sell nitrous oxide at massy gas as well. This is trinituner.com, it deserves a mention

Postby dougla_boy » August 13th, 2017, 11:54 pm

nos_specialist wrote:So, I bought a Mig welder.. it wasnt working (got it cheap) fixed it..and now it works..

NEED GAS....

Why not use the wire that doh need the gas? Saves yuh the headAche of having to attach the gas.

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » August 13th, 2017, 11:56 pm

the one i have can do both flux and fluxless welding.. soo i wanna do both.. lol

jusstuffimports

Postby jusstuffimports » August 14th, 2017, 12:05 am

buddy seeing that you can do mig jus buy a multi purpose and make sure you get at least 200 amps cuz wen you start doing beam work and stuff like that the small machines wont be capable.. you would have to stop ever so often..

jusstuffimports

Postby jusstuffimports » August 14th, 2017, 12:08 am

i also hav a big argon bottle for sale if you interested you can paint it and jus get it refilled..

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » August 14th, 2017, 12:31 am

nahhh i not welding no beams wid this thing.. lol..whatsapp me i wud be interested in the bottle. 388-7700

Lance

Postby Lance » August 14th, 2017, 3:04 am

jusstuffimports wrote:i also hav a big argon bottle for sale if you interested you can paint it and jus get it refilled..

What's the dimensions of the bottle?

Postby pugboy » August 14th, 2017, 7:35 am

I have never used the fluxcored gassless mig wire but I have been told it is not as smooth as nonflux with shielded gas.

The monster mig welding rigs for thick steel use both at the same time, special fluxcored wire and shieldinggas.

Lance

Postby Lance » April 1st, 2019, 5:10 pm

Bumping this post.

I'm looking for a 220cf Tank with a CGA580 Valve and a 3AA2015 rating.

Massy Gas is on backorder until probably next two months