which is better between MIC or NESC, for getting certified as a electrician

philliprock

which is better between MIC or NESC, for getting certified as a electrician

Postby philliprock » July 14th, 2017, 9:24 am

lately ive been getting alot of 'little jobs' for small time wiring afew people house. all of them say i do a good job & seriously consider getting my wireman license.
the thing is i never liked electrical, i just worked at a store for a few years and became good at it and eventually, started doing little jobs around, almost next to nothing for pay, mainly for the exposure. then after a extremely bitter ordeal that happened at work causing me to get fired, i refused to have anything to do with electrical, but i seem to be getting good feedback doing 'private small wuk around d place'
i dont know about SERVOL or any other trade schools in the south region of trinidad besides MIC & NESC.

ive heard bad rumors about NESC, about poor infrastructure and careless teachers
im currently employed at a small variety shop, im absolutely fed up working for power hungry people at minimum wage. im 25

Sundar

Re: which is better between MIC or NESC, for getting certified as a electrician

Postby Sundar » July 14th, 2017, 9:50 am

UTT

StreetKings

Postby StreetKings » July 14th, 2017, 10:14 am

NESC. I dont recommend UTT cause you bearly get any hands on experience, its all theory. You go to UTT and do the diploma course then the degree and still dont get a job cause the lack of experience and plus there are alot of other unnecessary stuff you need to do in UTT. I know alot of people who did same electrical in UTT and still didnt get through with jobs and others who went NESC and got through easy. Plus its shorter in NESC and they do alot of practicals. And also they help you get a job after you finish your training.

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » July 14th, 2017, 10:54 am

YTEPP...
UTT ain't making sense anymore. See too many people spending years in UTT and can't even get jobs, plus everything is basically book work.
The trade schools make more sense. I know a few small men ain't even reach form 3 but them went ytepp and MIC and them men wiring house, welding, fixing AC etc...
Also don't feel bad about being 25 and making minimum wage. I'm 27 and still making minimum.

Postby ronsin1 » July 15th, 2017, 5:45 am

If you want to be licensed then you need anyone of the following
1.NEC certificate in domestic and industrial
2. City and guilds certificate in electrical technology

Not sure if if CSEC has a subject matter in order to gain the qualifications

UTT you Will need to do the electrical engineering program to qualify
NESC Will not get you the required certification to do this

Once you have the pass you need to apply to the government electrical inspectorate to acquire the license

The following are needed to apply

1. Appropriate qualifications
2. Recommendations from a license wireman in good standing
3. Be over 21
4. Having worked as a trainee electrician

Once you fulfil the above requirements they will schedule and exam for you

In this exam the pass Mark is 80%