PArty Boats DDI SHUT down ! Nice!

Postby Ben_spanna » August 3rd, 2017, 10:38 am

Finally yesterday the CDA has been granted an interim injunction shutting down those Frigging PArty DDI boats, the operator, Mr MArtin Hourie (according to NEwsday )of these party boats feel he is entitled to disturb everyone down the islands anytime he feels, those same party boats have also been a major source of littering in the waters.
GOOD riddance- I hope they SHUT him down PErmenantly.

Re: PArty Boats DDI SHUT down ! Nice!

Postby black start » August 3rd, 2017, 10:55 am

Yuh mean no moar boat ride?

We want jostiss

Postby ismithx » August 3rd, 2017, 10:58 am

good stuff

RGF Asset Management

Postby RGF Asset Management » August 3rd, 2017, 11:00 am

Really good stuff.

That was a disaster waiting to happen.

Daran

Postby Daran » August 3rd, 2017, 11:27 am

Don't believe it should have been shut down. Another blow to the economy.

Why could it not be regulated?

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » August 3rd, 2017, 11:41 am

Was it shut down or are they banned from certain areas ?

Postby SR » August 3rd, 2017, 11:47 am

So what about all them private boats makin ah setta noise like if they by medford.......

Postby Chimera » August 3rd, 2017, 11:48 am

banned from certain areas

Drea

Postby Drea » August 3rd, 2017, 12:09 pm

Was this because of the dude who crash landed off of the dolphin board?? :lol: :lol:

Postby wagonrunner » August 3rd, 2017, 3:09 pm

SR wrote:So what about all them private boats makin ah setta noise like if they by medford.......

them alone entitled to get to / use that area.
not the uppity general public who don't own vessels / pay marina fees, and dare to visit a part of their country while having a good time.

Postby SR » August 3rd, 2017, 3:14 pm

Party boats attract the uppity?? I was reffering to the noise pollution and general pollution and not the class of people

cornfused

Postby cornfused » August 3rd, 2017, 3:14 pm

We all see how they operate, it's almost like an overloaded maxi on the seas. Recently one ran over a colleague's boat, every man had to dive for his safety and gear and fishing tools lost.

One above asked about regulation, when is anything properly regulated here? While I agree with the outright ban and also with regulation, it should not have come to a legal stand point. It begs the opinions of zero self-regulations on the part of many of the population. Patrons don't see the pollution in Scotland Bay and other areas. The noise in what should be a peaceful environment. I for one have seen an increase in the garbage on the west coast since the start of these party boats. We are too nasty as a people zero ...cks about the environment.

When we cannot get fish from the gulf or north coast due to pollution from such craft, what would be the cry?

Postby pugboy » August 3rd, 2017, 3:39 pm

Party boats are big business
300%+ profit on alcohol, crowd they attract buys whole bottles too
No regulations like security, liquor etc
And of course cash biz, taxman hard to track them

Main regulation is a captain and correct number of life vests

Postby bluefete » August 3rd, 2017, 3:54 pm

A few weeks ago I had the unfortunate experience to be on one of these so-called party boats.

The music was loud and absolute shrite (total and absolute shrite).

I spent the entire 'cruise' looking overboard and was stunned to see the amount of rubbish, in the water, at certain points down the islands.

If I had a house down the islands, I would be happy like pappy that they got shut down. There was zero consideration for others. I cannot imagine having party boats running all hours of the day and night blasting tootoolbay music in my sacred space.

Postby 88sins » August 3rd, 2017, 5:20 pm

Very nice.
Those party boats forever blasting ole noise, always overcrowded, and some of them looking like they 60 years late for decommissioning. I really don't understand how anybody could look at some of dem vessels and willingly board it to go out to sea.

Now, let's talk about putting some litter wardens on the islands for all dem nasty dutty mofos that have zero concept of the purpose of a garbage bag. Chacachacare right now have more styrofoam all over the place than all d Chinese restaurants in POS put together.

Postby Gladiator » August 3rd, 2017, 5:30 pm

I don't think they got shut down... they jut got banned from mooring at Alcan Bay.... the operators also pick up directly from Sealots. So the party boat lives on....

Postby pugboy » August 3rd, 2017, 6:47 pm

they will just head straight out to gulf instead of hugging the coast by westmoorings etc

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » August 3rd, 2017, 6:47 pm

I hate party boats, imagine trying to get away from the noise by relaxing down the islands or in Scotland bay, and at friggin 1:00 am these friggin party boats come blasting a set of crap music disturbing the peace. This is a step in the right direction. not until one sinks and about 50 people drown will they be fully regulated, unfortunately.

Postby pugboy » August 3rd, 2017, 9:38 pm

that industry not going to go away
there is a whole economy based on it
starting with all them socalled radio dj who make a lil end on weekend doing appearances on a boat party

Postby K74T » August 3rd, 2017, 10:21 pm

Ben_spanna = evo-sti-k/RIPBREDFRUIT/BRZ/etc

Postby zoom rader » August 4th, 2017, 4:57 am

Most likely it was shut down because another party seeking a bigger interest

Postby RedVEVO » August 4th, 2017, 5:26 am

Daran wrote:Don't believe it should have been shut down. Another blow to the economy.

Why could it not be regulated?

It not "shut down" in Trini.

Just not allowed into the Alcan Bay area.

Yes, if they can be regulated , it will be good for tourism .

PNM Gov't always "fighting down" business men.

PNM beat the "back man" philosophy again.

" .. The CDA board also expressed gratitude to its line minister, Minister of Planning and Development Camille Robinson-Regis for support and guidance provided. Newsday was yesterday unable to get a comment from Martin Hourie or any party boat owner .. " [Newsday 3/8/17]

make meh care

Postby make meh care » August 4th, 2017, 8:23 am

that was due to happen very soon

Postby zoom rader » August 4th, 2017, 11:43 am

People looking like Rowley have stubbing blocks placed before them by the government they voted for. Shame

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » August 4th, 2017, 12:23 pm

What a bunch of nerds...
wrt people finding it disturbing DDI

Some people like to relax down DDI which is fun for them,
.. then some people like boat rides and party... which is also fun for them.
How is that different to people living in woodbrook and st. james?
there is no law that say DDI is designated for what you consider fun.

wrt littering
If you never went a boat ride how do you know they litter? Making assumptions or a lowkey Hypocrite?
I went boat rides already and people put their trash in garbage bags. Very responsibly actually. Way better than I've seen on land.

Tuner nerds just stop drink and driving and drag racing on the highway. Those are bigger issues.

Postby matr1x » August 4th, 2017, 1:05 pm

I just wished a few sank....anything wrong with that?

Postby RedVEVO » August 4th, 2017, 5:24 pm

uncle sam wrote:What a bunch of nerds...

wrt littering
If you never went a boat ride how do you know they litter? Making assumptions or a lowkey Hypocrite?
I went boat rides already and people put their trash in garbage bags. Very responsibly actually. Way better than I've seen on land.

Tuner nerds just stop drink and driving and drag racing on the highway. Those are bigger issues.

The DDI party boats need to be regulated.

Just as loud music in Maxi.

And loud music in Party Bus.

Postby pugboy » August 4th, 2017, 7:31 pm

Impsbert need to start taxing them,
They easily do a million or more in cash business every weekend

Party boats are an interesting subculture, the dress code etc lol

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » August 5th, 2017, 2:18 am

RedVEVO wrote:

wrt littering

mmkay

Postby RedVEVO » August 5th, 2017, 5:18 am

uncle sam wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:

wrt littering

mmkay

Agree, mmtpkay