wickedtuna

Minister at police gun range

Postby wickedtuna » August 10th, 2017, 1:41 am

Rambarat: I visited police range for training

Camille Clarke
Published:
Wednesday, August 9, 2017

Agriculture Minister Clarance Rambarat at the Police Academy, St James.
Minister of Agriculture, Land and Fisheries Clarence Rambarat yesterday confirmed he has been visiting the Police Training Academy shooting range for his own personal safety, as his ministry is responsible for the second largest law enforcement units in the country.

He made the comment at a sod turning ceremony for the construction of a car park at the southern wholesale market in Debe.

Rambarat made the comment in the wake of a report earlier this week in which officers attached to the academy raised issue of a government official using the range for training.

The Police Social and Welfare body had called for a probe into the visits after a junior officer reported the visit of a former minister and his wife to the shooting range, noting civilians are not allowed on the range and it has also been condemned. The couple was also reportedly taken to the range by a senior officer who should be on pre-retirement leave. It was later realised, however, that it was in fact Rambarat and his wife.

In his defence yesterday, Rambarat said: “Every minister and public officials are required and put through security training and check in with a police station and be given advice.”

He said the Police Training Academy was near his place of residence, which was his chosen location for training.

“The police academy is close to where I live and my wife accompanies me from time to time and I am not treated different from any public office holder.”

Rambarat said he also visited the Academy for advice relating to the security units under his ministry’s purview.

“I go on ministry matters. As you know, apart from the Ministry of National Security I have secondary law enforcement units. I have the Praedial Larceny Squad, honorary game wardens, patrol men, forest officers, patrol men and estate constable. I go there for advice relating to firearms and equipping them with firearms and bullet proof training. I am simply doing my job,” he said.

Rambarat added in an interview with the T&T Guardian that he visited the academy several times and he was a Government minister and not classed as a civilian.

“I am not a civilian. I don’t know if that was a story. I was there not for the first time as a Government minster but related to security,” he said.

He said he was also not aware of any attempted disciplinary action being taken against the junior officer who reported his visit.

“I am not aware of that. I am not a civilian I am a Government minister and on matters of my personal security. I was there as a Government minister and as a minister you have personal security you need to deal with and there were facilities where I could get advice on matters of personal security. I have no interaction with anybody there on disciplinary action. I was there on matters relating to personal security,” he said.

He added: “My wife is my wife and it covers myself, my wife and my children. We get advice and you could only get advice from the Police Service.”

However, he denied the visit had anything to do with threats made against him.

“I have been there many times as a minster and as a minister it is something you do,” he said.

But one senior officer assigned to the academy yesterday said there were protocols to be observed, especially if a government official was visiting the premises.

“There are protocols you must follow. You need permission for any official visit at the academy compound. If you are a Government official it is considered an official visit and the senior superintendent and the commissioner must be informed that they’re coming on the ground and to shoot.”

The officer said it could not be a private arrangement, since the range was condemned and deemed non-safe by the commissioner.

“The residents complained over the noise and the commissioner said it was not to be used and the range was downgraded. You have basic protocol. People can’t just go on a shooting range without permission,” he said.

He said civilians who need to train and who are holders of firearm licences could use the shooting range at the Trinidad Rifle Association in Chaguaramas.

Meanwhile, Police Social and Welfare Association president Michael Seales said yesterday the disciplinary action against the officer who reported the visit had been discontinued. However, Seales said the association will take legal action against Williams if the senior officer who escorted the couple was still on active duty when he should be on pre-retirement.

Re: Minister at police gun range

Postby zoom rader » August 10th, 2017, 4:47 am

From PNM gang members to PNM Minsters and their pickney they all love guns.

Postby pugboy » August 10th, 2017, 5:01 am

at least he didnt duck the situation like the other clown
the public will treat this better as he came out and admitted quick
guess his whole family got firearms license too

Postby SR » August 10th, 2017, 6:21 am

Wonder how long his application was sitting on the desk.....

Postby rspann » August 10th, 2017, 6:40 am

"All animals are equal, but some are more equal than others." , George Orwell

Postby pugboy » August 10th, 2017, 7:08 am

time for everybody to protest to be able to "protect themselves"

rspann wrote:"All animals are equal, but some are more equal than others." , George Orwell

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 10th, 2017, 7:11 am

and the point of this ched is????

Postby pugboy » August 10th, 2017, 7:12 am

every creed and race have an equal place

Postby Ben_spanna » August 10th, 2017, 7:39 am

So what about all businessmen who are currently Under threat?
At least you ministers have security and protection provided, why cant WE get guns too?
HAs the government taken it upon itself to prepare for the future of Trinidad where everyone will need a gun soon at the rate we are going?

Average

Postby Average » August 10th, 2017, 8:54 am

pugboy wrote:at least he didnt duck the situation like the other clown
the public will treat this better as he came out and admitted quick
guess his whole family got firearms license too

That would be my problem with this entire scenario. :evil: :evil: :evil:

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » August 10th, 2017, 9:06 am

Yeah i was thinking the same
I think my family is in more danger than his family we should get Licence also

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » August 10th, 2017, 9:19 am

So becoming a government minister really makes someone not a civilian anymore?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 10th, 2017, 9:24 am

Rambarat real reason : I know the government cannot deal with the crime issue so I learning to protect mehself

Postby Dizzy28 » August 10th, 2017, 9:28 am

I didn't look for Rat there nah.

The man used to write so much articles about corruption, nepotism etc. when he was a regular columnist in the Express so many moons ago.

Postby 88sins » August 10th, 2017, 9:44 am

SR wrote:Wonder how long his application was sitting on the desk.....

not very, if at all

Baldhead

Postby Baldhead » August 10th, 2017, 9:51 am

Forgetting the minister for a second...
As a man say...he take front and didn't duck the issue.
At least he tryna set an example for the others...

But what about the average "civilian"?
I not gonna talk about how reliable the police service is but why aren't we allowed to protect ourselves?
A couple companies offering home security services eg. Blink Vigilance reasonably cheap.
We start back paying duties on security cameras.
What else could we use? Pellet guns?
And of course lock up yourself in your house.
Anything else?

There are groups who are lobbying for change in this regard.
Of course I support those groups but I haven't heard of any minister etc who is willing to take on this issue.
UNC/PNM/COP whoever...
Aren't they concerned for our safety?
They don't seem concerned because they can go to an academy for training.

Whoever in opposition and whoever in government not concerned! UNC/PNM/COP whoever...

The distinction between offensive and defensive weapons and what we are allowed on our person etc should be revised.
Place getting worse everyday and we are seeing how high tech the criminals are over our law enforcement services.
The most you could do is hope that you and your family not in the wrong place at the wrong time and the guns we seeing often in the news is for the owners to kill off their own kind.

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » August 10th, 2017, 10:08 am

Ollour doh need guns.

Postby Ben_spanna » August 10th, 2017, 11:40 am

Application for a permit? seriously?
like you forgot that the last time this govt was in power, allegedly the PM son at that time had just returned from abroad, and someone personally delivered him a firearm and a permit to his residence- is was Alleged.

Postby 88sins » August 10th, 2017, 11:52 am

fouljuice wrote:Ollour doh need guns.

Still need a permit

Postby RedVEVO » August 10th, 2017, 12:03 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:So what about all businessmen who are currently Under threat?
At least you ministers have security and protection provided, why cant WE get guns too?
HAs the government taken it upon itself to prepare for the future of Trinidad where everyone will need a gun soon at the rate we are going?

Exactly .. Give businessmen guns .

Minster in trouble - one phone call and TTPS reach . Williams & Dillion jump out of bed and come.

No need for gun training for Minister.

"Civilians" call ...
Chinese call ...
Tanty call ..

No vehicle ! Click . :roll:

Postby De Dragon » August 10th, 2017, 12:35 pm

Before we rush to praise, would he have come clean if he wasn't reported by the junior officer? I seriously doubt it.

Postby RedVEVO » August 10th, 2017, 12:45 pm

De Dragon wrote:Before we rush to praise, would he have come clean if he wasn't reported by the junior officer? I seriously doubt it.

Remember he is not a " civilian " :D

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » August 10th, 2017, 12:54 pm

De Dragon wrote:Before we rush to praise, would he have come clean if he wasn't reported by the junior officer? I seriously doubt it.

If you are not seen doing it or no one has an issue with it then it ok.

Postby RedVEVO » August 10th, 2017, 1:09 pm

"If a Minister falls in a forest and no one is around to hear it, does it make a sound ?"

Postby Redman » August 10th, 2017, 1:54 pm

Hopefully splat.

Pretty stupid for TR to do this given the noise about Al Rawi

Postby De Dragon » August 10th, 2017, 2:41 pm

Redman wrote:Hopefully splat.

At least he didn't publicly disown his wife :|
BUT, an alleged de-certified gun range, by an alleged pre-retirement leave officer? What is it with PNM ministers and clandestine gun usage?

wickedtuna

Postby wickedtuna » August 10th, 2017, 2:53 pm

Didn't he say awhile ago he has a problem with the police service

Postby RedVEVO » August 10th, 2017, 3:05 pm

Redman wrote:Hopefully splat.

At least he didn't publicly disown his wife :|
BUT, an alleged de-certified gun range, by an alleged pre-retirement leave officer? What is it with PNM ministers and clandestine gun usage?

Maybe it was de wife idea to begin with since he say he " go out late at nights" ..

" ... “Very few ministers have to go into areas where you have marijuana being cultivated, where you have trap guns. I go out late at nights .. " [NewsDay 10/8/17]

Postby hydroep » August 10th, 2017, 3:07 pm

Al Rawi, Al Schmarwi. It's clear dem fellas don't give a fat rats petunia about public perception because they know they can get away with it.

Just waiting for the 8-ball to come out and say not to crucify the man because he "young and inexperienced"... :|

Postby black start » August 10th, 2017, 3:07 pm

SR wrote:Wonder how long his application was sitting on the desk.....

This