The Tobago Ferry Boat thread

xtech

Re: The Tobago Ferry Boat Scandal!!!

Postby xtech » January 19th, 2018, 8:42 pm

Cheap thing not good... good thing not cheap

Chinese buildings fail chinese buses fail now we so brave we going to buy chinese boat.....

I dont think I will trust a chinese boat with trini maintenance methods. I might ride it once because its new but not after the first year. If american military grade ferrys failing so who know whats in the future for that china ferry

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » January 19th, 2018, 8:46 pm

K74T wrote:NEW SEABRIDGE FERRY

This photo of the new sea bridge vessel, "Ropax", was released by the Ministry of Finance. The new vessel should arrive in April with a capacity to carry up to 700 passengers and 100 vehicles.

buh look it on the creek in the picture

i hope that boat coming with Jackie Chan to service it

Postby zoom rader » January 23rd, 2018, 1:16 pm

Is this the PNM boat ?
An open boat for you car to face sea blast.

Can anyone confrimImage

bigchief3679

Postby bigchief3679 » January 23rd, 2018, 2:31 pm

If so, Que romantico.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » January 23rd, 2018, 2:37 pm

U ent see we shoulda keep the ocean flower and hush we mouth... Now look what happen

Postby zoom rader » January 23rd, 2018, 2:48 pm

So PNM really buy an open boat.

Well fellars it's level sea blast for your car.

A vote for PNM is one step forward and two steps backwards

Postby *$kїđž!™ » January 24th, 2018, 8:11 pm

zoom rader wrote:So PNM really buy an open boat.

U mean 20 years backwards

Postby The_Honourable » February 7th, 2018, 1:32 pm

Government to get ferry today

GOVERNMENT will today take delivery of the new US$17.4 million catamaran Galleons Passage. Finance Minister Colm Imbert made this disclosure on Twitter. “Vessel is scheduled to set sail for TT on February 9, 2018,” he said.

Imbert posted photos of final work being done at the Nansha Shipyard in Guangzhou, China, including workers painting the name of the vessel on its sides. At a post-Cabinet news conference at the Diplomatic Centre on January 18, Imbert said the Galleons Passage would leave China this month and should arrive in TT in April.

He said several rigorous checks were done to ensure the new catamaran met all the requirements to operate on the domestic seabridge. These included inspections by Lloyd’s Register of Hong Kong, Schulte Marine of Australia and experts from the University of TT’s Maritime Campus. Legal checks on the vessel were done by British law firm Haynes and Boone.

Imbert also said US firm Dun and Bradstreet was engaged to do “a financial and forensic check on everybody involved.”

The vessel is owned by Sea Transport Corporation of Australia. Imbert dismissed claims from some people about the vessel’s procurement being questionable, that the vessel was not new and that it was stuck in China.

He explained that the first stage of shipbuilding is steel-cutting and the last stage is sea trials. “The steel for the new inter-island ferry was cut by the Nansha Shipyard in Guandong, China on March 4, 2015,” Imbert said, and the final sea trials for the vessel took place in December. “The ferry is brand new,” Imbert reiterated.

Source: http://newsday.co.tt/2018/02/07/governm ... rry-today/

Postby zoom rader » February 7th, 2018, 1:40 pm

Awaits for breakdown and ill maintenance and then blame kamala

xtech

Postby xtech » February 7th, 2018, 3:20 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:

Unless i am mistaken all the ferries after the panarama exposed the cars onboard to salty sea blast. There is even a video of a truck rolling off the back of the ferry.

Postby zoom rader » February 7th, 2018, 3:26 pm

xtech wrote:
*$kїđž![emoji769] wrote:

Unless i am mistaken all the ferries after the panarama exposed the cars onboard to salty sea blast. There is even a video of a truck rolling off the back of the ferry.
Nope they we close door in the belly of the vessels

Postby gastly369 » February 7th, 2018, 4:36 pm

zoom rader wrote:Awaits for breakdown and ill maintenance and then blame kamala
It go reach?

Postby SMc » February 7th, 2018, 5:09 pm

xtech wrote:
*$kїđž![emoji769] wrote:

Just an honest question here- how much sea blast are those vehicles likely to be exposed to during the trip , and how does it compare to vehicles that reside on the east coast in Manzanilla & Mayaro?

Postby zoom rader » February 7th, 2018, 5:11 pm

SMc wrote:
xtech wrote:
*$kїđž![emoji769] wrote:

Just an honest question here- how much sea blast are those vehicles likely to be exposed to during the trip , and how does it compare to vehicles that reside on the east coast in Manzanilla & Mayaro?
Maybe the tuners in Mayaro can answer that question.

Postby SMc » February 7th, 2018, 5:19 pm

Why make a statement about somthing you have no information or knowledge about. If you saying that cars will be exposed to 'level sea blast' I was just hoping to understand what that was and how it compared to cars that would be exposed to daily 'normal sea blast'- in that way at least we have a comparison to draw from

Postby zoom rader » February 7th, 2018, 5:23 pm

SMc wrote:Why make a statement about somthing you have no information or knowledge about. If you saying that cars will be exposed to 'level sea blast' I was just hoping to understand what that was and how it compared to cars that would be exposed to daily 'normal sea blast'.
I do know about sea blast i worked offshore for some years where everything is a rust bucket.

I hoping others here would share some light that live on the coast so you don't have to take my word for it

Postby Dizzy28 » February 8th, 2018, 9:31 am

So no fast ferry for the Carnival!!!
THE Port Authority of Trinidad and Tobago has withdrawn the T&T Express from service with immediate effect.
The service was withdrawn in the “interest of public safety”, PATT said yesterday. In a statement, PATT said: “To accommodate the high demand at this time arrangements have been made with Caribbean Airlines Ltd (CAL), based on the availability of seats, to accommodate some of the passengers with confirmed tickets during the period 8th to 14th February.
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20180207 ... om-service

cryotec

Postby cryotec » February 8th, 2018, 9:48 am

a lil sea blast ent go hurt nobody

Postby Dizzy28 » February 8th, 2018, 9:54 am

We live on an island bout 80kms wide and alluh studying seablast on a boat??

Postby matr1x » February 8th, 2018, 9:57 am

Tobago folks can do nothing but shut their piehole. They vote for it

Postby zoom rader » February 8th, 2018, 10:10 am

Dizzy28 wrote:We live on an island bout 80kms wide and alluh studying seablast on a boat??
Who buys an open ferry for the sea, seems more of a river boat

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 8th, 2018, 10:14 am

1b1a0c3c-e86f-4138-b33d-65efb3e20704.jpg

Postby toyolink » February 8th, 2018, 10:23 am

What a mess to deal with at this time.
We just don't have a proper routine capability and now throw in an act of 'God' and this week-end is looking like another nightmare.

Postby Dizzy28 » February 8th, 2018, 10:29 am

toyolink wrote:What a mess to deal with at this time.
We just don't have a proper routine capability and now throw in an act of 'God' and this week-end is looking like another nightmare.

This cancellation is no "Act of God" The maintenance needed to keep the relevant maritime certifications were not done and PATT, Maritime Services Division and MOWT knew this beforehand.
They are using the rough seas as a convenient scapegoat.

Postby eliteauto » February 8th, 2018, 10:51 am

SMc wrote:Why make a statement about somthing you have no information or knowledge about. If you saying that cars will be exposed to 'level sea blast' I was just hoping to understand what that was and how it compared to cars that would be exposed to daily 'normal sea blast'.
I do know about sea blast i worked offshore for some years where everything is a rust bucket.

I hoping others here would share some light that live on the coast so you don't have to take my word for it

ZR is correct, the level of salt you're exposed to on sea in an open vessel is many times greater than on shore, you could park at Mayaro and quicker find your vehicle with sand than salt vs having your vehicle caked in a layer of salt by the time you reach Tobago.

Postby sMASH » February 8th, 2018, 11:38 am

This cancellation is no "Act of God" The maintenance needed to keep the relevant maritime certifications were not done and PATT, Maritime Services Division and MOWT knew this beforehand.
First hand knowledge?
Big man ting?

computercentral

Postby computercentral » February 8th, 2018, 11:50 am

Can’t wait to see that river boat handle open seas with 17’ waves

Postby Dizzy28 » February 8th, 2018, 11:53 am

sMASH wrote:

First hand knowledge?
Big man ting?

1st hand knowledge

Postby The_Honourable » February 8th, 2018, 12:46 pm

PATT board eh gone yet?

Postby SMc » February 8th, 2018, 2:03 pm

eliteauto wrote:

ZR is correct, the level of salt you're exposed to on sea in an open vessel is many times greater than on shore, you could park at Mayaro and quicker find your vehicle with sand than salt vs having your vehicle caked in a layer of salt by the time you reach Tobago.

All I asked for was some comparitive information so I can understand what the likely damage to my or any other vehicle would be by doing the crossing, - also why not just wash off the salt when you reach Tobago? As far as i am aware salt/sea spray wont kill a car in a couple days.