The Tobago Ferry Boat thread

Re: The Tobago Ferry Boat Scandal!!! Galleons Passage is here

Postby Gem_in_i » July 19th, 2018, 4:21 pm

Really? 0% occupancy in July? Places I called say they almost booked up and have a 3nights minimum stay.

Postby gastly369 » July 19th, 2018, 4:31 pm

sMASH wrote:Does not-the-mama have a better suggestion?

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » July 19th, 2018, 7:46 pm

Gem_in_i wrote:Really? 0% occupancy in July? Places I called say they almost booked up and have a 3nights minimum stay.

Ent hoss... same for August.. but with other islands offering same price and packages honestly tobago could hyc with mostly pissy service

Postby sMASH » July 19th, 2018, 8:33 pm

well, tobago is quiet, so it means they going good....?

Postby The_Honourable » July 19th, 2018, 10:16 pm

pnm-led THA have them under manners

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 20th, 2018, 5:05 am

I aint go lie....people does real run down Tobago jed

Postby pugboy » July 20th, 2018, 7:27 am

it will be interesting to figure out how long it takes to make the trip
wonder if they will try and do a "test" journy without any public on board to avoid embarrassment
in case it is a slowpoke

kstt

Postby kstt » July 20th, 2018, 8:03 am

nick639v2 wrote:
Gem_in_i wrote:Really? 0% occupancy in July? Places I called say they almost booked up and have a 3nights minimum stay.

Ent hoss... same for August.. but with other islands offering same price and packages honestly tobago could hyc with mostly pissy service

THIS!

Postby De Dragon » July 20th, 2018, 12:34 pm

gastly369 wrote:
sMASH wrote:Does not-the-mama have a better suggestion?

Diana Steups is the MoT now bro, but he staying quiet.

Postby sMASH » July 20th, 2018, 2:08 pm

oh shucks yes... me es forgot.... she had me convinced that she is THE primordial minister of tourism when she declared that '... allyuh eh hear about me...'

the other day i saw a story with a court being convened by a school or sumting. can parliament be convened on the first voyage to tobago?

Postby Ben_spanna » July 20th, 2018, 7:55 pm

And in other vesselnews today.... the South_ pos Ferry boat was spotted down in Scotland bay doing god knows what!!!!

Postby Strugglerzinc » July 20th, 2018, 9:15 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:And in other vesselnews today.... the South_ pos Ferry boat was spotted down in Scotland bay doing god knows what!!!!

National Trust western island tour started today and every Friday till the end of August.

Postby gastly369 » July 20th, 2018, 10:06 pm

Row row tow yuh boat ...

Postby RedVEVO » July 20th, 2018, 10:53 pm

gastly369 wrote:Row row tow yuh boat ...

The Ferry actually quite impressive .

It's so big .

Kinda like big ting :D

Postby bluefete » July 21st, 2018, 10:49 am

This is absolute SHITE!!

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2018-07- ... age-survey

Published:
Saturday, July 21, 2018

Nidco asks Lloyd’s to do fresh Galleons Passage survey

The National Infrastructure Development Company (Nidco) yesterday took Lloyd’s Register to task, saying while it identified 92 non-conforming issues on the Galleons Passage the survey which was paid for and delivered on July 11 was done without all the required documents and without a physical inspection of the vessel by Lloyd’s.

In the wake of Opposition calls for the public to avoid travelling on the Galleons Passage based on the issues raised in the Lloyd’s Gap Analysis report, Nidco chairman Herbert Goerge and head of the Maritime Services Division Roland Alfred yesterday assured that safety is the number one priority.

But George was critical of Lloyd’s, saying Nidco had concerns about “inaccuracies” in the gap analysis. Nidco has since written to Lloyd’s asking that they conduct a survey of the vessel now docked in Port-of-Spain “to be able to rectify the analysis” and wants this done by next week.

The gap analysis was commissioned at the request of the MSD when Nidco sought certification in order to get the vessel reflagged. The vessel is still carrying the flag of Vanatu.

George said, “We went to Lloyd’s and I should tell you we moved from Lloyd’s China being the classification society for the vessel to Lloyd’s Trinidad. We engaged them and they took on the assignment.”

But he said Lloyd’s referred the assignment to “their technical office in Singapore. We did not hear from them until a gap analysis report was issued.”

The gap analysis, he said, considers the conditions that you have and compares against a benchmark, so for example “if SOLAS says you have to have six life rafts and the vessel has four there is a gap of two.”

He said Lloyd’s “sat in Singapore and did a desktop analysis. They remotely evaluated the structure of the boat based on the drawings they had and issued a report.”

He would admit in response to a question that desktop analysis is not unusual.

Referring constantly to the “great Lloyd’s of England,” a play on the description of the world’s top maritime agency by the Opposition this week, George recalled that in December 2017 it was on the basis of Lloyd’s pre-purchase condition survey of the then Dona Mercedes, which described the vessel as a Catamaran-Roro Passenger ferry built according to rules and regulations of Lloyd’s for classification, which was for waters not exceeding 150 nautical miles and which spoke to safety, that guided the Government’s decision to purchase the vessel.

He said it was on the basis of “something looking like the report shown to us at a news conference some days ago,” that Nidco and the Maritime Division had come to the media yesterday, because people had made “all sorts of dubious conclusions” which they wanted to correct.

George admitted, “there are similarities in what was held up and the real report, the analysis is also correct, 302 items were flagged in the report, 92 items were described as non-conforming, 60 items where they said they were unable to verify and 140 that were compliant.”

Asked how long that will delay the vessel working the seabridge, George said, “That is not a consideration, safety is more important to use, as long as it takes to get it right.”

Skanky

Postby Skanky » July 21st, 2018, 11:06 am

Wait. This vessel is not SOLAS compliant ?Wtf
SOLAS is safety of life at sea, for those who don't know.
So basically this vessel is not safe for humans.

Great is the PNM. 'Brand new' passenger vessel that not safe to carry passengers.

Postby rspann » July 21st, 2018, 11:08 am

Soooo, Wade Mark and Deviant Maharaj was not giving out fake news as claimed by Invert. They really got hold of the report.

Postby bluefete » July 21st, 2018, 11:19 am

That is really scary.

How long now we asking to see the Inspection Report?

Skanky wrote:Wait. This vessel is not SOLAS compliant ?Wtf.
SOLAS is safety of life at sea, for those who don't know.
So basically this vessel is not safe for humans.

Great is the PNM. 'Brand new' passenger vessel that not safe to carry passengers.

rspann wrote:Soooo, Wade Mark and Deviant Maharaj was not giving out fake news as claimed by Invert. They really got hold of the report.

Postby rspann » July 21st, 2018, 11:24 am

Nidco chairman trying to play smart by being foolish. The vessel was originally inspected in China when it was first flagged. To change the flag to make it Trinidad, you still do another report. Unless something was done to the vessel since, there is no need to do a physical inspection again. They just used the original report and compared it to our standard. He says " they sat in Singapore" . The office here in Woodbrook is just that, an office. So if the do the job in their Singapore office , what is he complaining about? Are the 92 items compliant or not?(don't forget the other 40 that are not verified) He complains about the desktop analysis and the says it's not unusual. He says that something looking like the report was shown in a news conference, but then admits that the contents are correct.
Last edited by rspann on July 21st, 2018, 11:32 am, edited 2 times in total.

Postby De Dragon » July 21st, 2018, 11:26 am

rspann wrote:Soooo, Wade Mark and Deviant Maharaj was not giving out fake news as claimed by Invert. They really got hold of the report.

That should've been obvious by the drama queen reaction of Impsy in Parliament.

Postby rspann » July 21st, 2018, 11:26 am

I hope Growlers know it's bad luck to change the name of a boat. Go read up on it.

Postby bluefete » July 21st, 2018, 11:29 am

What was Titanic called before it was called the Titanic? :mrgreen:

rspann wrote:I hope Growlers know it's bad luck to change the name of a boat. Go read up on it.

Postby rspann » July 21st, 2018, 11:34 am

The name is stored in the ledger of the deep. Every vessel's name is known to Poseidon,God of the sea. So to change it you have to consult with him first.You have to remove it from the ledger and purge it from his memory. True story.

Postby bluefete » July 21st, 2018, 11:40 am

But that means you have to know the name first before you could ask to change it? Not so?

Postby rspann » July 21st, 2018, 11:44 am

Dona Mercedes.

Postby bluefete » July 21st, 2018, 12:07 pm

I know about the Dona Mercedes, it is the Titanic I was asking about.

rspann wrote:Dona Mercedes.

Skanky

Postby Skanky » July 21st, 2018, 12:08 pm

Imagine this boat so unsafe for passengers, so badly off that Lloyds Singapore don't even need to see it to deem it unsafe for humans. And it's not 10 things that need fixing either is about 150 things.

What idiots we have running our country !

Postby De Dragon » July 21st, 2018, 12:25 pm

PNM Galleon's passage anthem "Sailing" by the Mighty Trini.
"Ah sailing wit' de boat, sink or float, ah sailing wit' de boat"

fatboy slim

Postby fatboy slim » July 21st, 2018, 12:31 pm

Skanky wrote:Imagine this boat so unsafe for passengers, so badly off that Lloyds Singapore don't even need to see it to deem it unsafe for humans. And it's not 10 things that need fixing either is about 150 things.

pnm dunce administration

Postby skylinechild » July 21st, 2018, 12:39 pm

Skanky wrote:Imagine this boat so unsafe for passengers, so badly off that Lloyds Singapore don't even need to see it to deem it unsafe for humans. And it's not 10 things that need fixing either is about 150 things.

the kind that we vote for every 5 yrs..... :lol: