The Tobago Ferry Boat thread

D Diesel Report

Re: The Tobago Ferry Boat Scandal!!!

Postby D Diesel Report » April 8th, 2018, 3:36 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Rohani said someone will be held accountable for ferry fiasco...yeah right

Yeh, Kamla! Watch and see, double charge for the ferry and for thiefing people information for the elections she still lorse, ycak ycak ycak! :drinking: :drinking:

Postby paid_influencer » April 8th, 2018, 3:43 pm

ycak ycak ycak :drinking:

Postby The_Honourable » April 16th, 2018, 11:27 am

GALLEONS PASSAGE WILL NOT BE ARRIVING

The Port Authority must take full responsibility for the failed timely return of the T&T Spirit to the seabridge. This from Works and Transport Minister Rohan Sinanan, as he spoke in Tobago, during the blessing of the T&T Spirit on the eve of its return to the seabridge. He's also acknowledging that the Galleon's Passage arrival will be delayed.

Video link: https://www.tv6tnt.com/news/7pmnews/gal ... 3f188.html

Postby hydroep » April 17th, 2018, 7:08 am

^Sinnas passing the buck as usual. Things seem to be getting back on track though...

SOME slept while others took in the sea breeze as the T&T Spirit yesterday found its sea legs again, on its first journey between Trinidad and Tobago in ten months.

Works and Transport Minister Rohan Sinanan told the Express yesterday it was his understanding that the refreshed passenger ferry made a smooth sail from Scarborough at 6.38 a.m., to arrive in Port of Spain at 9.25 a.m.

The Spirit will now carry the bulk of passengers on the T&T seabridge while its companion, the T&T Express, has gone into dry dock for “major” work, as is required every five years.

https://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/local/smooth-sailing/article_3db33cf8-41db-11e8-b9e5-df6ea0954d8a.html

Postby Redman » April 17th, 2018, 7:11 am

So what's the dry dock history of actual dry docks...vs what is required?

Postby pete » April 17th, 2018, 7:57 am

I'm glad to see the Spirit back in service. Wrt dry docking, I know that the plan was to dry dock the boat when the seats were replaced. That was done a couple years ago but soon after it had the engine failure etc so I don't know if the company that they got to do the work did what was required.

Anyway, I truly hope that they implement a proper maintenance program going forward to ensure that they don't have to take the vessels out of service like this again. Hopefully soon the Express will be back in service too.

computercentral

Postby computercentral » April 17th, 2018, 8:51 am

Soon we will have the best inter island link in the world second to none .......achievement??

Postby The_Honourable » April 17th, 2018, 11:01 am

computercentral wrote:Soon we will have the best inter island link in the world second to none .......achievement??

It didn't happen yet... if ever. Zero achievement.

Postby bluefete » April 17th, 2018, 11:05 am

"pete" Hopefully soon the Express will be back in service too.

Give it about 1 year.

Postby De Dragon » April 17th, 2018, 10:42 pm

boxy wrote:
rebound wrote:
boxy wrote:
rebound wrote:
boxy wrote:
sMASH wrote:They SAID it had stuff had gone on in the procurement practise, and the ferry service didn't have a stellar performance. So, no problem if they wanted to weed out corruption... To right ahead, get evidence of the wrong doings and prosecute accordingly.

But all the credibility of righting the wrongs to have fidelity in the service went out the window when it was made public that the galacia people was bidding, winning, then having the criteria changed and having to resubmit.

I can understand the desire for a 5 year contract, in order to lock in a definite earnings for an asset.

Even self if they wanted a new service provider, they could have just retained the galacia for a year again while they get the next provider on line. Instead of demonstrating their management capabilities
the agent was pushing for a multi year contract or nothing at all. So in essence they were on a short term contract indefinitely while the tenders were going out for a new provider. Also the galacia had cargo carrying facilities but the port did not have infrastructure to have the galacia utilize that feature. I remember they would have had to spent a few million to dredge near the Hyatt just for the galacia. which made no sense. Unless the new ferry requires the same thing in which case we back to square one and the board should resign with immediate effect...wait isn't there a new board after that whole thing occurred.. damn this is a sheit pretzel
Boxy, ah know you tryin to justify this present shiet by nit picking the past shiet eh bro.....but we in real sheit now!!!
u seriously saw me nit picking? or clearly stating how we got to this point? why every discussion has to lead to then person who u don't agree with hadda be a PNM UNC or COP? it's such a desperate go to move. what did I say that was biased? I literally agreed that things may have been better if the galacia stayed what more yuh want? oh right leave out the facts so your ego is insatiably stroked? f**k outta here with that.
Wow...ok then..
my apologies bro I just realised I reacted like De Dragon and Desi. I however take offense to u not seeing that I brought out both sides of the argument . Claiming I nit picking is deceptive at best. again sorry for reacting like a dick

Seems like the LBGT protest has emboldened you in your apparent search for a husband on 2NR.

Postby Rovin » April 19th, 2018, 11:50 am

so i see on fb about 1hr ago some line burst on d T&T spirit causing problems to dock d boat

ah bet d pnmites go say is some unc ppl sabotaging d boat to make their party look bad ...... :|

Postby hydroep » April 19th, 2018, 11:52 am

Iz Kamla fault...:|

Miktay

Postby Miktay » April 19th, 2018, 2:44 pm

Sense from a Bagonian...

Postby Ben_spanna » April 19th, 2018, 3:33 pm

maybe W dooke should buy 300 jetskis and life vests and let he ppl commute to and from Toco daily, might be cheaper too!

ADONI

Postby ADONI » April 20th, 2018, 8:46 am

Where all those party boats? Them sticking, could run a lil PH taxi!

Postby hydroep » April 26th, 2018, 4:01 am

Sunday arrival of Galleons Passage in Mexico

THE Galleons Passage is heading to Acapulco with an expected arrival on Saturday midnight or early Sunday morning. Yesterday’s live marine tracking at exactly 6.11 pm revealed that the boat was 99 degrees West and 780 knots away from Mexico and travelling at 11 knots.

At that current speed and slower at nights, the estimated arrival of the boat in Acapulco would be Saturday midnight or early Sunday morning. When it arrives there the Galleons Passage, bought from China by the government to service the sea bridge between Trinidad, and Tobago, will remain docked for approximately five days. The captain and crew will then commence the journey through the Panama Canal and then towards Santiago de Cuba, the journey for which is approximately ten days. The boat is to be outfitted with a deck and seats in Cuba by a Dutch company. It will then make the journey to Port of Spain. The estimated arrival date is mid-May.

http://newsday.co.tt/2018/04/26/sunday-arrival-of-galleons-passage-in-mexico/

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 26th, 2018, 5:09 am

If it arrives Sunday....it would begin sailing within a couple of weeks and Tobago people would say great is the pnm

Postby zoom rader » April 26th, 2018, 7:13 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:If it arrives Sunday....it would begin sailing within a couple of weeks and Tobago people would say great is the pnm

They cant help it Rowlee is their god,

Postby De Dragon » April 26th, 2018, 7:36 am

While the acquisition of a "new" ferry is a welcome step, it is but the first step. We need to maintain it, and have a core of trained, skilled personnel to carry out this maintenance. We've already NOT gone about acquiring this ferry in a planned, structured way, so we should not unnecessarily cause issues for ourselves.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » April 26th, 2018, 8:27 am

De Dragon wrote:While the acquisition of a "new" ferry is a welcome step, it is but the first step. We need to maintain it, and have a core of trained, skilled personnel to carry out this maintenance. We've already NOT gone about acquiring this ferry in a planned, structured way, so we should not unnecessarily cause issues for ourselves.

Seems like maintenance is; run to failure....

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 26th, 2018, 8:30 am

Still waiting for someone to be held accountable

Postby sMASH » April 27th, 2018, 8:55 am

ADONI wrote:
De Dragon wrote:While the acquisition of a "new" ferry is a welcome step, it is but the first step. We need to maintain it, and have a core of trained, skilled personnel to carry out this maintenance. We've already NOT gone about acquiring this ferry in a planned, structured way, so we should not unnecessarily cause issues for ourselves.

Seems like maintenance is; run to failure....
Pnm can't take care of Nutten.

Somebody say the Brian Lara Stadium need to get power washed again, it get back dirty.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 27th, 2018, 10:28 am

Somebody go get ah 10 mil to power wash it

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 6th, 2018, 10:24 am

Wah is d latest with d boat...I hear rohani giving some story yesterday...

Postby Strugglerzinc » May 6th, 2018, 11:29 am

Delayed in Mexico I believe.

There's probably a local contingent aboard spending a week or two "being delayed" at every Port of call.

Postby rspann » May 6th, 2018, 11:38 am

End of July to middle of August please God.

Postby sMASH » May 6th, 2018, 12:16 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:Delayed in Mexico I believe.

There's probably a local contingent aboard spending a week or two "being delayed" at every Port of call.

either the worse escotion or the bess escotion ever...

Postby rspann » May 6th, 2018, 12:36 pm

Mechanical problems. A water pump gone and they have to replace it.

Postby RedVEVO » May 6th, 2018, 2:53 pm

Tobago is Trinidad's outside woman.

fatboy slim

Postby fatboy slim » May 6th, 2018, 6:52 pm

The boat making a world tour and Trinidad will be its burial ground.