The Tobago Ferry Boat thread

Re: The Tobago Ferry Boat Scandal!!! Galleons Passage is here

Postby sMASH » October 19th, 2018, 3:54 pm

how were the passangers faring in this weather under the canopies ?

Postby toyolink » October 19th, 2018, 5:25 pm

Durability issues may be on the horizon.
If the boat is a 'slow boat' maybe they need to avoid this 4 hour stun and operate the vessel as designed.
…...The suppliers may very well void warranties if operations are not within tolerances.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 19th, 2018, 10:59 pm

No_Name wrote:So GG broke down in d Ocean for almost an hour this morn...
Passenger who I knw said it eh ready fuh da Bago rin...

T&T Guardian - Less than two weeks af­ter join­ing the T&T Spir­it on the seabridge, the Galleons Pas­sage de­vel­oped me­chan­i­cal prob­lems on Fri­day and stopped in the high seas for more than 15 min­utes for the crew on board to de­ter­mine the source of the prob­lem.

The re­turn sail­ing from To­ba­go was can­celled. Tech­ni­cians are ex­pect­ed to car­ry out in­ves­ti­ga­tions be­fore the ves­sel re­turns to ser­vice.

Con­firmed pas­sen­gers will be ac­com­mo­dat­ed on the 7.30 am sail­ing of the T&T Spir­it on Sat­ur­day.

The ves­sel left the Port of Port-of-Spain just af­ter 6 am on Fri­day, on what was its thir­teenth sail­ing on the seabridge. The ves­sel sails four days a week Mon­days, Wednes­days, Fri­days and Sun­days from Port-of-Spain to Scar­bor­ough and a re­turn trip from Scar­bor­ough to Port-of-Spain.

In a state­ment the Na­tion­al In­fra­struc­ture De­vel­op­ment Com­pa­ny (NID­CO) which has re­spon­si­bil­i­ty for the ves­sel con­firmed that the ves­sel “ex­pe­ri­enced a de­lay” on the morn­ing sail­ing to To­ba­go.

Ac­cord­ing to NID­CO, a de­ci­sion was tak­en by the Mas­ter to re­duce the speed of the ves­sel “af­ter an alert was seen on the bridge.”

NID­CO said the ves­sel was stopped for 15 min­utes be­tween 9.15 a.m. and 9.30 a.m.to al­low the en­gi­neer­ing crew to con­duct pre­lim­i­nary checks on the source of the alert, once the checks were com­plet­ed, the ves­sel re­sumed sail­ing.

But the speed was re­duced to 15 knots and the ves­sel which has pre­vi­ous­ly tak­en just un­der four and a half hours on the trip took al­most six hours to make the trip to To­ba­go ar­riv­ing at around 12.30 pm.

NID­CO said, “fur­ther in­ves­ti­ga­tions” were to be done on the ves­sel when it ar­rived in To­ba­go. It said the safe­ty of the pub­lic “re­mains our num­ber one pri­or­i­ty.”

Works and Trans­port Min­is­ter Ro­han Sinanan told Guardian Me­dia there was “no cause for con­cern at this time.”

He said, “these mi­nor me­chan­i­cal chal­lenges will hap­pen from time to time,” which he said is “nor­mal on any new or old ves­sel.”

Sinanan said that is why there were “con­tin­gen­cies” in place which in­clude hav­ing tech­ni­cal man­age­ment ser­vices and en­gi­neers on board the ves­sel.

Chair­man of the Port Au­thor­i­ty Lyle Alexan­der agreed there was no cause to wor­ry. He said, “if you have a ve­hi­cle out of a show­room it can de­vel­op me­chan­i­cal is­sues, it is a me­chan­i­cal de­vice. Me­chan­i­cal de­vices give me­chan­i­cal prob­lems,” Alexan­der said.

Postby De Dragon » October 19th, 2018, 11:06 pm

K74T wrote:Is he a marine engineer?

Is that needed to determine if the vessel that you are travelling on has stopped? :?
Is that needed to determine if what you heard on the PA system about a mechanical issue is true? :?

Postby rspann » October 20th, 2018, 7:15 am

These things happen on old or new vessels. It's no cause for concern. A new vehicle out the showroom get mechanical problems. These people for real. Duhhhh, if you buy a used Chinese vessel with damages that were repaired, this is what is going to happen .

Only waiting for them to spend$300 million on the new buses, and buy them from China. American ,

English and Swedish buses are in service for years without failure. These Higer buses from China are fairly new and all gone through. They don't think about longevity, is only how to link a pardna a deal and how much he kicking back.

Postby rspann » October 20th, 2018, 7:17 am

sMASH wrote:how were the passangers faring in this weather under the canopies ?

They handing out rain coats and umbrellas. They have contingency plans.

Postby redmanjp » October 20th, 2018, 7:22 am

Dey cud use it tuh rescue ppl from flood. And provide transport around d place

Postby rspann » October 20th, 2018, 7:24 am

Make sense nah. It will break down and then you have to rescue them from on it.

Postby De Dragon » October 20th, 2018, 7:37 am

rspann wrote:These things happen on old or new vessels. It's no cause for concern. A new vehicle out the showroom get mechanical problems. These people for real. Duhhhh, if you buy a used Chinese vessel with damages that were repaired, this is what is going to happen .

Only waiting for them to spend$300 million on the new buses, and buy them from China. American ,

English and Swedish buses are in service for years without failure. These Higer buses from China are fairly new and all gone through. They don't think about longevity, is only how to link a pardna a deal and how much he kicking back.

Yes, but while you're actually driving it out of the showroom? Only dotish PNM sheep will take that explanation, and argue it. The only old arse things that still going after many years is JUHN Scarfy, Impsy, Wiggy, and Dutty Water Rasta

Postby sMASH » October 20th, 2018, 8:01 am

wouldnt be supprised if they paid to fast track the warranty period...

Postby rspann » October 20th, 2018, 1:17 pm

We get it for half price. Great is the Imbert and Rohan.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » October 20th, 2018, 7:50 pm

Is Tobago "Red and Ready"?

Postby gastly369 » October 20th, 2018, 8:09 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:Is Tobago "Red and Ready"?
Dey prob nyamin down on dirt right now cause was grass before...

But ayyyyeee dirt taste good so 2020 is voting dem again man say what

Enjoy y'all sandals toodles..

Postby bluefete » October 20th, 2018, 8:16 pm

All sailings cancelled on the GP for now.

Postby sMASH » October 20th, 2018, 9:05 pm

Y Bai?

Postby rspann » October 20th, 2018, 9:07 pm

Nothing of concern.

Postby hydroep » October 20th, 2018, 9:10 pm

They mussbe cyar fix the "electrical problem". Either that or they going and send it up the Caroni to aid in rescue efforts...'tis a blasted river boat after all...:|

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 20th, 2018, 9:55 pm

If is one thing, all this flood just shadow the issues with the GP....otherwise rohani woda be making all kinda tack back

No_Name

Postby No_Name » October 21st, 2018, 6:01 am

K74T wrote:Is he a marine engineer?

Is that needed to determine if the vessel that you are travelling on has stopped? :?
Is that needed to determine if what you heard on the PA system about a mechanical issue is true? :?

Leave him be in his blissful ignorance...

Pal once said "Common sense is not a very common talent, hence there are so many stupid ppl"...

Looks like d book-sense only type, see where that gets him tru life...

Postby meccalli » October 21st, 2018, 8:04 am

Ya'll need to be thankful our leaders foresaw our nation becoming semi aquatic and bought a river ferry. Soon we'll have it ready to conduct passages between north and south Trinidad on the uriah butler river.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 21st, 2018, 8:36 am

hydroep wrote:Electrical problems, running on 3 engines.

https://newsday.co.tt/2018/10/19/galleons-passage-electrical-issues/

Thing eh even make two weeks yet. Ah wonder if it under warranty?...:|
Its an old used boat...what u expect

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 21st, 2018, 10:06 am

Brand new foreign used

Postby rspann » October 21st, 2018, 2:37 pm

meccalli wrote:Ya'll need to be thankful our leaders foresaw our nation becoming semi aquatic and bought a river ferry. Soon we'll have it ready to conduct passages between north and south Trinidad on the uriah butler river.

It could move so far?

Postby toyolink » October 21st, 2018, 3:01 pm

toyolink wrote:Finally the boat can provide some relief.
One wonders if the Tobago business community can recover the losses sustained during this painful procurement process.
No more bad news with this vessel would be welcomed.

Well that was short lived.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » October 21st, 2018, 9:08 pm

The Galleons Passage lasted for what one maybe two trips....

Postby sMASH » October 21st, 2018, 10:18 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:The Galleons Passage lasted for what one maybe two trips....
Single use craft. Contributing to ocean pollution

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 22nd, 2018, 5:03 am

I sure if somebody ask Rohani about the GP he go say this is not the time for that, we dealing with floods

Postby Ben_spanna » October 22nd, 2018, 1:18 pm

maj. tom wrote:$8M for a ramp, must be rel fancy state of the art ramp boy.

:roll: :roll: :roll:

I believe this is what $8 MILLION dollrs worth of fancy ramp looks like! Someone got RICH! and the boat done experiencing mechanical issues ALREADY!

Postby sMASH » October 22nd, 2018, 5:35 pm

They should have put the national flag and made it a square 10 mil

Postby hydroep » November 14th, 2018, 6:00 am

Back to square one...

TT Spirit goes ghost on seabridge
Kinnesha George

THE mechanical problems which led to the cancellation of Monday’s sailing of the TT Spirit and saw it pulled from the seabridge indefinitely have left Tobagonians feeling deja vu and disappointment.

The ferry was scheduled to leave Trinidad at 4pm on Monday but never left, and passengers had to rush to change their tickets.

The TT Inter-Island Transportation (TTIT) Co confirmed in a press release that there was an issue with the vessel, noting that the 6.30 am sailing from Tobago yesterday was also cancelled. It said the next sailing of the TT Spirit was scheduled for yesterday at 4pm from Port of Spain. However, a note on TTIT’s Facebook page told passengers that sailing had also been cancelled.

Chairman of the Port Authority, Lyle Alexander, told Newsday yesterday the ferry is “out of commission indefinitely due to mechanical issues” as parts from Germany were being awaited to do the repairs. He said the parts should arrive by today and is hoping for a speedy resolution.

Alexander’s optimism was not shared by THA minority councillor Dr Faith B Yisrael, who reiterated TT does not have a functioning inter-island transport system.

“I am almost annoyed that at this point we are still speaking about this,” she said. “It is time for Tobagonians to stand up.

“We remember we were here. We were at this very spot over a year ago talking about this very thing, and the PNM who are in charge of Tobago joked about the fact that there was the young man (livestock farmer complaining about ferry woes) with the goat right here at James Park, and years later we are still here.

President of the Tobago Unique Bed and Breakfast Self Catering Association Kaye Trotman labelled the situation a disappointment for the tourism sector.

“Will our boat woes ever be completely solved? It is yet to be seen. We were hoping with the Galleons Passage, and you had two vessels, we would hopefully see some turnaround in this quarter with some reliable sailing schedule.” Instead, Trotman added, “If it is that we have gone back to one boat, as it seems – and we’re probably likely to be there for a little while if the part has to be sourced from Germany – the impact on the sector would not be as we were hoping to experience this quarter.

“It’s another disappointment to the sector.”

She believes the Galleons Passage will not be able to service seabridge commuters operating on its own.

“I am not sure the one Galleons Passage, with the (sailing) timing that it has, would be sufficient to build back the confidence (of) the public and deal with the turnaround in the domestic area.”

https://newsday.co.tt/2018/11/14/tt-spirit-goes-ghost-on-seabridge/