TTPS: 11,000 speeding tickets issued in 6 months in T&T

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 20th, 2017, 9:37 pm

FOR the first six months of the year, more than 11,000 speeding tickets have been issued to motorists across the country who have been in breach of the law.

This result means the State can potentially claim at least $11 million in fines, if all the tickets issued were paid.

However, these numbers also show that drivers continue to disregard the speed limits on the roadways, as these figures mean that every month, at least 1,692 people are being ticketed.

The Trinidad and Tobago Police Service only has six speed guns at its disposal (as of August 18), which are mainly focused on the highways throughout the country.

But while speed guns have been in legal operation in the country for just over a year, the driving public has already become desensitised to the law.

This was one of the views of Arrive Alive president Sharon Inglefield when she spoke to the Sunday Express.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20170819 ... n-6-months

Re: TTPS: 11,000 speeding tickets issued in 6 months in T&T

Postby The_Honourable » August 20th, 2017, 9:44 pm

From what I notice on the road 11,000 too low...

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » August 20th, 2017, 9:45 pm

Maybe if they buy a 100 more speed guns and increase de fines then the country will never be in recession again. Plus de police would be able to pat themselves on the head and say them doing something...

Postby MaxPower » August 20th, 2017, 9:53 pm

Start fining the kants on the opposite side who alerting drivers of police presence by this flashing headlight sheit...

Postby K74T » August 20th, 2017, 10:03 pm

Fyaz cyar dun.

10-01

Postby 10-01 » August 20th, 2017, 10:31 pm

robing the poor to feed the rich ....

Postby Rory Phoulorie » August 20th, 2017, 11:21 pm

10-01 wrote:robing the poor to feed the rich ....

How exactly?

I don't recall ever seeing anyone putting a gun to people's heads to make them exceed the speed limit.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » August 20th, 2017, 11:26 pm

Well up to now they still have not adjusted the speed limits on the nation highways. They need to enforce it for all if they doing it because many times you see prados with the blue flashing lights just speeding by .
Amalgamated security vehicles just speeding by.
Until then i will continue to drive at my 120 and if i see police i will continue to flash lights to warn other motorist who driving over the speed limit but what i consider a reasonable speed .

Postby skylinechild » August 20th, 2017, 11:32 pm

hong kong phooey wrote:Well up to now they still have not adjusted the speed limits on the nation highways. They need to enforce it for all if they doing it because many times you see prados with the blue flashing lights just speeding by .
Amalgamated security vehicles just speeding by.
Until then i will continue to drive at my 120 and if i see police i will continue to flash lights to warn other motorist who driving over the speed limit but what i consider a reasonable speed .

i hear yuh loud and clear bruh .. but the law is do as i say.....and not as i do..
but with that attitude they will think who the hell is you.??

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » August 21st, 2017, 12:07 am

Ahhh yes, i feel so loved when i get those flashing light :D
I've even seen a PTSC bus flash :lol:

Postby RedVEVO » August 21st, 2017, 4:11 am

TTPS taking Cellfies ..

Postby zoom rader » August 21st, 2017, 4:26 am

Stupid tax for dumb ass trinis

Postby SR » August 21st, 2017, 6:38 am

Ask arrive alive to comment on the ttps breaking thier own speed limits and traffic infringements along with amalgamated...... going for groceries in a marked police vehicle while not in uniform is an emergency? Turning on sirens just to cut tru traffic but no real reason? And het you want to state the public already desensitised. I swear that woman doh drive beyond the light house and does not spend much time on the road. Speed limits should have been reviewed and adjusted before implementatio of the speed gun. Charging people for going 85kph is a big thing to collect money.

Sundar

Postby Sundar » August 21st, 2017, 6:53 am

Most of them motor vehicle laws need amending. It's too vague and the police does twist it to their view because it doesn't have specifics. Our Paradise has expired.

Postby adnj » August 21st, 2017, 6:56 am

There are more than 500,000 registered vehicles in Trinidad (according to the World bank). 12,000 tickets works out to about 10 tickets per gun everyday. The police aren't issuing many tickets at all.

10-01

Postby 10-01 » August 21st, 2017, 8:06 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:

How exactly?

I don't recall ever seeing anyone putting a gun to people's heads to make them exceed the speed limit.

try driving 80 km/hr from sando to chagaramas when u late ... and it was an accident that made u late and u get a ticket for $1000

Postby Les Bain » August 21st, 2017, 8:20 am

The_Honourable wrote:From what I notice on the road 11,000 too low...

Correct. Until I sort some problems out, I keep it at 80.
I tell you, you never lived (in fear) until you get overtaken by various vehicles who supposed to be driving below 80, like cement mixers and them petrol trailer trucks.

Postby Dizzy28 » August 21st, 2017, 9:07 am

10-01 wrote:
Rory Phoulorie wrote:

How exactly?

try driving 80 km/hr from sando to chagaramas when u late ... and it was an accident that made u late and u get a ticket for $1000

The limit would not be 80 on that entire run though. Wrightson Road, Western Main Road and Audrey Jeffers Highway (to be confirmed) are 50km/h

10-01

Postby 10-01 » August 21st, 2017, 9:25 am

10-01 wrote:
Rory Phoulorie wrote:

How exactly?

The limit would not be 80 on that entire run though. Wrightson Road, Western Main Road and Audrey Jeffers Highway (to be confirmed) are 50km/h

i knw but we all knw the PNM enforced this greater into effect to get $$$ to fund other things .... i may sound like im trying to break the law but its tru ....

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » August 21st, 2017, 10:13 am

dis supposed to be some kinda accomplishment by the TTPS.

"ooooo wowwwww eh watch meeee i cud point a ting at a sppeding caarrrrr"

Postby DVSTT » August 21st, 2017, 10:28 am

SR wrote:Ask arrive alive to comment on the ttps breaking thier own speed limits and traffic infringements along with amalgamated...... going for groceries in a marked police vehicle while not in uniform is an emergency? Turning on sirens just to cut tru traffic but no real reason? And het you want to state the public already desensitised. I swear that woman doh drive beyond the light house and does not spend much time on the road. Speed limits should have been reviewed and adjusted before implementatio of the speed gun. Charging people for going 85kph is a big thing to collect money.

Arrive alive is an endeavour of emotion. You can't use facts when it comes to them.

10-01

Postby 10-01 » August 21st, 2017, 10:56 am

Monkey Man wrote:Image

dis supposed to be some kinda accomplishment by the TTPS.

"ooooo wowwwww eh watch meeee i cud point a ting at a sppeding caarrrrr"

3 rd world government accomplishments :lol:

10-01

Postby 10-01 » August 21st, 2017, 4:40 pm

21032844_10214341505472328_6292202977735270134_n.jpg

cryotec

Postby cryotec » August 21st, 2017, 4:48 pm

man taking his role a lil too serious

Postby j.o.e » August 21st, 2017, 4:55 pm

10-01 wrote:
Rory Phoulorie wrote:

How exactly?

I travel from Sando to el socorro and back everyday. While I admit that 80 without cruise control is probably very difficult, I've grown accustomed to it.
More relaxed, better gas mileage and honestly commute times are not much longer.
Also less serious accidents in general mean less traffic pile ups.
Even at a higher speed limit on avg you can only do that speed in very short bursts.
Last edited by j.o.e on August 21st, 2017, 4:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby sMASH » August 21st, 2017, 4:56 pm

Is the intention to raise money or reduce the speed?

Is like leaving ur gate open with a laden zaboca tree, and hiding to see who will to take the chance.

Speed too low, so it is entrapment.

10-01

Postby 10-01 » August 21st, 2017, 5:14 pm

sMASH wrote:Is the intention to raise money or reduce the speed?

Is like leaving ur gate open with a laden zaboca tree, and hiding to see who will to take the chance.

Speed too low, so it is entrapment.

i believe its to raise money ... nothing else

kstt

Postby kstt » August 21st, 2017, 8:31 pm

BEWARE!!!

A new trend I noticed that the police have started is that they park on the shoulder and open the passenger door and stand on that side with the speed gun so it is more difficult to see them; other than timing from the concrete flyovers so u can't see them above.

PLEASE PEOPLE FLASH YOUR HEADLIGHTS TO WARN ONCOMING VEHICLES!!!

Postby maj. tom » August 21st, 2017, 8:38 pm

orrr... don't speed?

Dgsm2789

Postby Dgsm2789 » August 21st, 2017, 8:59 pm

The speed limit was set up way back when vehicles could barely cross 120kmph. In the days of 120y, 720 pickup etc. It actually is a task and challenge to keep modern vehicles below this speed limit. Cruising economy mode speed on a civic is between 80-100. Even worse for these new pickups on the road. A hilux or navara cruising at 100-120. Roads are better, vehicles upgraded, everything needs to keep up with the time. This speed gun thing is just to make money as someone pointed out previously. The manner in which they use it clearly says this. They hide on flyovers, behind billboards etc. They suppose to have notices that speed guns are in effect, which by itself is a speed deterrent. Speed guns are good, and useful if used what they are intended to do. Just my 2cents guys