Unemployed

Tamzitude

Unemployed

Postby Tamzitude » August 23rd, 2017, 7:24 pm

Does anyone know somewhere hiring technicians or operators or even technical marketing assistants? Been searching for over 8 months and to no avail. Tried caribbean jobs, trini jobs, jobstt, nes, trini vacancies, ttma, etc but is only salt. Most of their positions are for managers, auditers, etc. Unemployed and broke. Talk tuh meh somebody :(((((

Thanks
TT

Numb3r4

Re: Unemployed

Postby Numb3r4 » August 23rd, 2017, 7:28 pm

Join the club.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » August 23rd, 2017, 7:34 pm

Son I know of people unemployed 3 years now, with the number of submitted applicationsin the hundreds. Things are difficult all over, have you tried applying to jobs you are "over qualified" for?

This is not the time to refer to specific job titles. Unless you know you can't do other jobs.

Have you tried dropping off your documents personally?

Have you ever tried to start a business?
Do you have a marketable side skill that you can use to generate some income?

Tamzitude

Postby Tamzitude » August 23rd, 2017, 7:40 pm

Bredda I tried everything possible. Personal drop offs, online sites, company sites, speaking directly with HR. Applied for all types of positions, even went to a job interview where they offered me a "no salary job" yea. It that sick out dey. As for opening a business, i need el capitolo. Trinidad become hopeless dawg.

whizzard

Postby whizzard » August 24th, 2017, 7:06 am

When I see posts like these I wonder how the Venezuelans seem to be surviving here

Postby nervewrecker » August 24th, 2017, 7:29 am

whizzard wrote:When I see posts like these I wonder how the Venezuelans seem to be surviving here
How them keep finding jobs and local pple cant. Like wth

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » August 24th, 2017, 8:02 am

pal if u have a degree or any thing tertiary related scratch that crap off your resume and aim lower in the job market.

you WILL get a job, jus not what u went to school for.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » August 24th, 2017, 8:03 am

whizzard wrote:When I see posts like these I wonder how the Venezuelans seem to be surviving here

They willing to swallow their pride and do anything unlike Trinis.

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » August 24th, 2017, 9:22 am

Cut your loss and go work in the Supermarket.

Postby Les Bain » August 24th, 2017, 10:20 am

Had a humbling moment a time when the Rentokil man visited my office building to spray for critters. He looked around my office, saw the AV capture stuff and struck up a convo. He used to be a videocamera operator for a few local channels, then things got hard and he got let go. He tries to maintain PJ's on the side but when every cnut and they cousin is a photographer/videographer, pickings does be slim.

Since then, my backup plan is to hit the groceries first thing if/when i find myself out of this job.

Lower your standards OP. Nothing lasts forever. When we come out from this stink employment situation you can tend to your career goals again.

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 24th, 2017, 10:26 am

saw a tractor pulling a trailer filled with spanish looking gentlemen, dressed as though they were gonna work on some farm.

Maybe they are getting the jobs that trinis don't want or too booge for. Similar to the US and Mexico.

whizzard

Postby whizzard » August 24th, 2017, 10:40 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:

saw a tractor pulling a trailer filled with spanish looking gentlemen, dressed as though they were gonna work on some farm.

Maybe they are getting the jobs that trinis don't want or too booge for. Similar to the US and Mexico.

True

Postby Chimera » August 24th, 2017, 10:49 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:

venezuelans working hard all day for $150 in farms/gardens

their lunch hour consists of just enough time to eat lunch (10 mins most times) and get back to work

yuh ever hire a trini to work on a farm/garden?

for a 8-4 workday where they demanding 200-$250
they does arrive 8:30, then decide to eat half hour breakfast (on your time)

at 11 they going in the shop to buy a soft drink and biscuit (half hour)

at 12 they taking a hour lunch

after lunch..is go slow

by 3:30 they gone to wash up tools/organise to leave at 4:00 exact

someone tell me i lie

Postby Dizzy28 » August 24th, 2017, 10:53 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:

venezuelans working hard all day for $150 in farms/gardens

their lunch hour consists of just enough time to eat lunch (10 mins most times) and get back to work

yuh ever hire a trini to work on a farm/garden?

for a 8-4 workday where they demanding 200-$250
they does arrive 8:30, then decide to eat half hour breakfast (on your time)

at 11 they going in the shop to buy a soft drink and biscuit (half hour)

at 12 they taking a hour lunch

after lunch..is go slow

by 3:30 they gone to wash up tools/organise to leave at 4:00 exact

someone tell me i lie

Change Garden to any random Ministry and you have just described the average Government worker.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » August 24th, 2017, 11:26 am

Times getting hard fellas, everyone need a hobby where they can turn into a trade and make a few extra dollars.

Postby desifemlove » August 24th, 2017, 12:03 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:Son I know of people unemployed 3 years now, with the number of submitted applicationsin the hundreds. Things are difficult all over, have you tried applying to jobs you are "over qualified" for?

This is not the time to refer to specific job titles. Unless you know you can't do other jobs.

we h as t yuh deserve Ms. man

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » August 24th, 2017, 12:31 pm

desifemlove wrote:
Numb3r4 wrote:Son I know of people unemployed 3 years now, with the number of submitted applicationsin the hundreds. Things are difficult all over, have you tried applying to jobs you are "over qualified" for?

we h as t yuh deserve Ms. man

Could you explain your post?

I don't understand it. Seriously not a joke.

Postby Chimera » August 24th, 2017, 12:34 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Change Garden to any random Ministry and you have just described the average Government worker.

that true as well

i sure plenty of allyuh know about the headache thats legal affairs

reach for 5 am to get a number but building opening at 8 and staff coming in at 8:15/830, cashier opening at 8:30/9

10-01

Postby 10-01 » August 24th, 2017, 12:48 pm

pal ... take wat u get even if its a delivery man job , 8 mths hme is alot .... start small and continue to send out resumes cuz in this economy and present government men with degrees doing technician work .. and techs doing assistant work

stay strong and next election doh make d mistake again :!:

cueball1990

Postby cueball1990 » August 24th, 2017, 12:53 pm

cyah be vex with legal affairs when is 4-500 people coming for birth paper daily. and the cashiers are required by law to open from 8:30 to 3 pm. right now port of spain office moving so is a hot mess and d sub offices does have to cut off at a certain time cuz cashing cyah go past d time. specified.

regardless , you may have to try maybe part time work. i working full time and does still have to do little thing on d side to make cash. currently selling bbq and other stuff to help myself along. contract only for 3 years but the way things going they could jus pay me for 1 more month and tell me go home yes :S

10-01

Postby 10-01 » August 24th, 2017, 12:57 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:Change Garden to any random Ministry and you have just described the average Government worker.

that true as well

i sure plenty of allyuh know about the headache thats legal affairs

reach for 5 am to get a number but building opening at 8 and staff coming in at 8:15/830, cashier opening at 8:30/9

well d system designed for bribe ... jus like L office ... heard people taking "fees" to get stuff done ...

solar_ice

Postby solar_ice » August 24th, 2017, 1:02 pm

*Trinidad and Tobago Electricity Commission Employment*

Are you interested in working for the Commission?

Forward your application to the following email addresses.
*For professional applicants:*
mptechrs@ttec.co.tt

*For undergraduates , Craftsmen , Clerical , Secretarial and other applicants:*
recruitment@ttec.co.tt

*Some general job types and qualifications:*

*Engineering:*
Engineers in T&TEC are required to have a BSc degree in the relevant branch of Engineering.

Electrical Engineers with various specializations are most frequently in demand. On joining T&TEC they are expected to complete a two-year Engineer-in-Training Programme run by the Commission. To pursue the four year BSc course in Engineering a student would generally have to possess Advanced Level passes in Chemistry and Physics.
B.Sc. (Electrical Engineering) – for Engineers in all departments of the Commission
B.Sc. (Mechanical Engineering) – usually for Power Station Engineers.
B.Sc. (Civil Engineering) – Engineering Services handles construction and requires experienced engineers.
B.Sc. (Industrial Engineering) – Supplies

Postby goalpost » August 24th, 2017, 1:38 pm

I was told TTEC does not have any vacancies right now.

roadhog

Postby roadhog » August 24th, 2017, 1:47 pm

Postby eliteauto » August 24th, 2017, 2:05 pm

If you have the yard space, talk to your neighbours about washing their cars

Postby nervewrecker » August 24th, 2017, 2:20 pm

solar_ice wrote:*Trinidad and Tobago Electricity Commission Employment*

Are you interested in working for the Commission?

Forward your application to the following email addresses.
*For professional applicants:*
mptechrs@ttec.co.tt

*For undergraduates , Craftsmen , Clerical , Secretarial and other applicants:*
recruitment@ttec.co.tt

*Some general job types and qualifications:*

*Engineering:*
Engineers in T&TEC are required to have a BSc degree in the relevant branch of Engineering.

Electrical Engineers with various specializations are most frequently in demand. On joining T&TEC they are expected to complete a two-year Engineer-in-Training Programme run by the Commission. To pursue the four year BSc course in Engineering a student would generally have to possess Advanced Level passes in Chemistry and Physics.
B.Sc. (Electrical Engineering) – for Engineers in all departments of the Commission
B.Sc. (Mechanical Engineering) – usually for Power Station Engineers.
B.Sc. (Civil Engineering) – Engineering Services handles construction and requires experienced engineers.
B.Sc. (Industrial Engineering) – Supplies
Old post someone dig up and spread

zorced

Postby zorced » August 24th, 2017, 2:20 pm

The few I witnessed were willing to put in rel work starting an hour early while still commuting from one side of the country to the next.

Here is like the land of opportunity they're desperate for even though they're displaced from their homeland and culture.

I noticed people like to group all locals who're struggling together. Just because the migrants are coming from such strife doesn't mean locals have to compete with them from jobs. What happened to their country shouldn't have happened in the first place. Otherwise you would basically be expecting an abnormal culture shift to adapt.

This is a complex matter combined with local businesses increasing demand for cheap labor due to economic pressure. Certain well-connected higher-ups find ways to benefit from these problems while average citizen who's accustomed to a nice trini life could end up with raw end of the deal. The same average citizens who expect the powers that be to fix the problem and not add to it.
Last edited by zorced on August 24th, 2017, 2:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby nervewrecker » August 24th, 2017, 2:24 pm

cueball1990 wrote:cyah be vex with legal affairs when is 4-500 people coming for birth paper daily. and the cashiers are required by law to open from 8:30 to 3 pm. right now port of spain office moving so is a hot mess and d sub offices does have to cut off at a certain time cuz cashing cyah go past d time. specified.

regardless , you may have to try maybe part time work. i working full time and does still have to do little thing on d side to make cash. currently selling bbq and other stuff to help myself along. contract only for 3 years but the way things going they could jus pay me for 1 more month and tell me go home yes :S
Bulksh1t!
Immigration used to open just after 5:00am for business.
They dont want to open earlier. I 100% sure people apply for flexi time and building still opening 8:00am? What kinda dotishness is this?
Lunch time is also 11-12 or 12-1 so a place should not be "closed for lunch". Senior person to the cashier can accept payments in absence of the cashier (in instances such as lunch time).

I worked in the public service for almost 10 years. I will know

Postby nervewrecker » August 24th, 2017, 2:26 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:

They willing to swallow their pride and do anything unlike Trinis.
This is the answer I wanted to hear.
Pride is what have them unemployed.
Mommy and daddy giving them money to lime steel month end. Or some dotish boy they have in the friend zone that wanna flamz out

Postby RBphoto » August 24th, 2017, 2:56 pm

Considered growing and selling tomatoes? $15.00 a pound eh bredz.