TTT Coming Back!

Postby bluefete » August 24th, 2017, 8:40 pm

Government is going to close down CNMG TV and bring back TTT.

So they are going to spend tens of $Millions that we do not have, to resurrect a TV station they should not have closed down in the 1st place.

Great is the PNM. They know how to waste money.

BTW, I hope they invest some of that $millions earmarked for some minister family member pocket, to buy some proper equipment. They need to get HD digital cameras and so on.

kstt

Re: TTT Coming Back!

Postby kstt » August 24th, 2017, 8:42 pm

Couldn't CNMG show the same local content?

Postby maj. tom » August 24th, 2017, 8:43 pm

But bluefete, you said the Treasury empty. You said the UNC empty the Treasury.

kstt

Postby kstt » August 24th, 2017, 8:47 pm

They said TTT was outdated so they came with CNMG now they going back to the outdated TTT? It was restructured for a reason. If the restructured version failing why would the failed structure work?

Postby bluefete » August 24th, 2017, 8:48 pm

maj. tom wrote:But bluefete, you said the Treasury empty. You said the UNC empty the Treasury.

I forgot to answer you in that other post. :D :D

Yuh never hear of IADB and World Bank?

Postby bluefete » August 24th, 2017, 8:49 pm

kstt wrote:Couldn't CNMG show the same local content?

Why are you asking a sensible question?

Did you not read my post about a minister family member?

Postby bluefete » August 24th, 2017, 8:50 pm

kstt wrote:They said TTT was outdated so they came with CNMG now they going back to the outdated TTT? It was restructured for a reason. If the restructured version failing why would the failed structure work?

Allyuh too bright in here. Stop making sense. Otherwise, you would never understand about governance in T&T.

Postby The_Honourable » August 24th, 2017, 9:06 pm

bluefete wrote:So they are going to spend tens of $Millions that we do not have, to resurrect a TV station they should not have closed down in the 1st place.

THIS!!!

I recalled many workers at TTT saying that the then government (Manning at the time) should have just restructured the company, renovated the building on Maraval road as they eventually did, and keep the TTT name with the FM stations. But nah, must have a bobol somewhere.

CNMG actually made losses in their first year back in 2005 and i believe they never turned a profit. Only 100fm is profitable. CTV became a shadow of TTT, 91.1fm changed from indian programming to talk radio, 98.9 "Yes" fm became Next 99.1fm, 100fm Stereo became Sweet 100fm, and 610am was shut down.

At the end of the day, the station is not the problem. Government don't know how to run a media house except down to the ground (as with many state entities?). TTT died a slow death because of government interference beginning in the late 1980s, poor management, and little financial support from the government.

Hell, you don't have to look far for another example. Look at Channel 4. When the government took it over from AVM in 1996, it became The Information Channel (TIC), loss money and close down in 2005. After, it was leased to the National Carnival Commission to become NCC TV4. Money loss again and it went to GISL in 2011. Money was again wasted until they finally pull the plug last week Tuesday.

What you think will happen to TTT 10-15 years from now?
Last edited by The_Honourable on August 24th, 2017, 9:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 24th, 2017, 9:07 pm

next thing on the agenda is black and white tv...

forward never backward ever with this gov't

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » August 24th, 2017, 9:11 pm

I wonder if they will bring back Hansley Adjodha?

Postby bluefete » August 24th, 2017, 9:23 pm

The_Honourable: Very good history there.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 24th, 2017, 9:28 pm

Postby pugboy » August 24th, 2017, 9:45 pm

Hasn't broadcast in 12 yrs and looking to get back viewership ?
I guess they gonna be avail on Kodi also

Postby Country_Bookie » August 24th, 2017, 9:54 pm

So a committee decided that ttt has a stronger brand identity than cnmg? I'm guessing they surveyed the 50 & over crowd alone?
Even if that's the case, why not just change the name rather than shut down cnmg?

Postby Gladiator » August 24th, 2017, 10:02 pm

Country_Bookie wrote:So a committee decided that ttt has a stronger brand identity than cnmg? I'm guessing they surveyed the 50 & over crowd alone?
Even if that's the case, why not just change the name rather than shut down cnmg?

How else you goh run bobol boy.... buy 2 mil in equipment for 20 mil... etc etc etc

Postby janfar » August 24th, 2017, 10:14 pm

They preparing for 1990 take 2. Must have TTT involved.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 24th, 2017, 10:15 pm

Inside before somebody say ah next 1990 in the making

Postby janfar » August 24th, 2017, 10:21 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Inside before somebody say ah next 1990 in the making

Too late

Postby The_Honourable » August 24th, 2017, 10:23 pm

janfar wrote:They preparing for 1990 take 2. Must have TTT involved.

STTTTEEEEUUUPPPPPZZZZZ :lol: :drinking:

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » August 24th, 2017, 10:32 pm

nice . the only reason is some going to make monieee
guess the people of trinidad will have to make some others richer
how much is this costing the people of trinidad ?

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » August 24th, 2017, 10:36 pm

We will watch the fall of the govt on Panorama again doh beat up

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » August 24th, 2017, 10:37 pm

man fcuk this. you see the cost to run this station this is crazy shut it down. if it not making a profit get rid of it .

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20170824 ... be-revived

Burning through $25 million a month

Cuffie recalled the 2016-2017 budgetary allocation for CNMG was $16.1 ­million.

He said year after year, Government subventions were made to CNMG.

“At one point, (CNMG) was burning like $25 million a month in 2015... because of the stringent economic circumstances, we have been reducing our allocations to CNMG,” he said.

CNMG incurred a $3.951-million loss in its first year of operations in 2005, and a $20.9 million loss in 2006.

In October 2015, Cuffie told the Parliament there was wanton wastage and corruption at CNMG under the former government, and lamented “bloated budgets” for both CNMG and GISL.

In April 2016, he said both entities were costing the State approximately $36 million annually.

Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley, up to Wednesday with his meeting with trade unions, stressed the scarcity of public money, saying the State was borrowing to pay salaries at this time, and therefore it was difficult to talk about increased ­wages.

Postby X_Factor » August 24th, 2017, 11:42 pm

big flicks
i wonder if they will do some re runs

Postby skylinechild » August 24th, 2017, 11:46 pm

awaits the following tv series :
transformers
la feme nakita
forever knight
the nanny
stargate SG1
Adventures of the galaxy rangers.....
x files (the new one)
mission impossible
captain planet

and the eventual shut down of the station...

kstt

Postby kstt » August 24th, 2017, 11:53 pm

Not trying to sound racist but CNMG blanked half the population of t&t

Anyone ever watch their morning show? Is like we living in Africa!!!

Just like the Mas Camps once you discriminate against any group u pay the price financially.

Then we think of TTT with shows like Mastana Bahar, Sunday indian movie, Dateline, Panorama, Ricky Ticky, etc

Postby RedVEVO » August 25th, 2017, 1:46 am

Numb3r4 wrote:I wonder if they will bring back Hansley Adjodha?

.. and " Scouting for Talent "

With MC Rowley

Postby The_Honourable » August 25th, 2017, 2:59 am

Wonder if they will bring back Panorama for the 7pm news with the old school music?

Postby zoom rader » August 25th, 2017, 4:25 am

kstt wrote:They said TTT was outdated so they came with CNMG now they going back to the outdated TTT? It was restructured for a reason. If the restructured version failing why would the failed structure work?

PNM got rid of TTT to flush out the indocentric aspects of that media house. They are now doing the same with CNMG. Non PNM ppl no longer rely on state media for a few aspects of indo culture.
PNM has not changed and mis guided folk need to think hard next election

Syberfraggle

Postby Syberfraggle » August 25th, 2017, 6:38 am

Nostalgia factor...using the old music/format/programs will draw viewership

wagonon20's

Postby wagonon20's » August 25th, 2017, 6:43 am

Wish i was a minister family member , swear this category of ppl is the new gangsters ,drug lords and community leaders minus the heavy jewellery and sagging pants , nevertheless same bs, now u wonder why berkey was tryna penetrate through the gubment to familiarize his face with the masses so taxpayers would feel a little comfort as to who robbing we ,,,sorry i mean who spending the money , sheit i would have done no different if i were in his shoes , reason look at T&T situation if u getting a large sum of money to get finnancial escape and freedom from dis ever blazing hell would u take it or jus be naive like the rest of sheep, jus saying