Independence Day ?

10-01

Independence Day ?

Postby 10-01 » August 25th, 2017, 9:00 am

so our independence is about 6 days away any1 notice that its like it doesn't exist ... no banners on buildings , none on the road ways etc ....

nothing in the media etc ...

Re: Independence Day ?

Postby maj. tom » August 25th, 2017, 9:08 am

it eh have no money for banner and thing. It gone to buy ferry and pay contractors 1000% markup.

Postby Dizzy28 » August 25th, 2017, 9:18 am

Ask Daryl and Shamfa!!!

Postby 88sins » August 25th, 2017, 9:20 am

maybe its because we are anything but independent
between the partially parroted UK laws & old colonial legislation still in effect, dependence on handouts from & crappy deals with developed nations, a judicial system that runs to English law lords for appeals, piss poor management of this nations resources, and the idea to tax, tax, tax every blasted thing under the sun in this place, you really feel we live in an independent nation? we more like a sufferer child bully nation.

but whatever

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » August 25th, 2017, 11:54 am

^^^ent

what is there really to celebrate & be proud of

only difference is we moved from having "dem white ppl ruling we" to a select handful of local dictators who we actually put in power to screw us over for d past 55yrs ......... :|

Postby eliteauto » August 25th, 2017, 11:55 am

I see decorated buildings in POS pretty often incl hotels. I think more persons should do their private homes though

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » August 25th, 2017, 11:55 am

Saw a round about debe have some red white n black

Postby rspann » August 25th, 2017, 12:14 pm

eliteauto wrote:I see decorated buildings in POS pretty often incl hotels. I think more persons should do their private homes though

Radisson Hotel do a full wrap around their fence . One of the drivers say he changing the curtains on his Minivan to red white and black next week.

10-01

Postby 10-01 » August 25th, 2017, 12:43 pm

when PP was in power everything was red white and blk .... by now guess things realy bad we,,,

Postby eliteauto » August 25th, 2017, 1:47 pm

rspann wrote:
eliteauto wrote:I see decorated buildings in POS pretty often incl hotels. I think more persons should do their private homes though

Radisson Hotel do a full wrap around their fence . One of the drivers say he changing the curtains on his Minivan to red white and black next week.

Hoss...

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » August 25th, 2017, 2:18 pm

Are we really independent?

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » August 25th, 2017, 2:54 pm

frig independence, carnival is the only thing relevant in pos.

...other than that its one big ghetto rat hole.

moses_boss12
Location: The Beautiful Hills of.................... Hellshire!!

Postby moses_boss12 » August 25th, 2017, 2:58 pm

Saw a few roundabouts with flags and stuff, and some ministry buildings... I agree more private homes should have some decorations... national pride! something we seriously lacking.

Postby MaxPower » August 25th, 2017, 4:06 pm

What a joke

wickedtuna

Postby wickedtuna » August 25th, 2017, 4:08 pm

No awards this yr aswell eh

10-01

Postby 10-01 » August 25th, 2017, 5:12 pm

i wonder if berks getting invited to anything ?

Postby sMASH » August 25th, 2017, 5:55 pm

Badman doh need no invite.
Burkey go where burkey want

Postby meccalli » August 25th, 2017, 5:57 pm

Colonialism sounds pretty good these days.

Postby 88sins » August 25th, 2017, 6:42 pm

moses_boss12 wrote:Saw a few roundabouts with flags and stuff, and some ministry buildings... I agree more private homes should have some decorations... national pride! something we seriously lacking.

What you consider a lack of pride, others consider a lack of motivation and a surplus of frustration.
Things are extremely difficult for a lot of people right now. You volunteering to buy banners for all who can barely afford their monthly living expenses?
Tell yuh mp yuh want him to supply banners for you and your neighbors, hear how quick they say that isn't in their budget hard luck.

I just find that since we've been an independent nation for over half a century and had such a substantial amount of resources at one point, and still do to a lesser extent, things here should be much better.
For crap sake, it have roads in this country that smooth like a crapaud back that hundreds and thousands of vehicles have to drive on daily. Take pride in the thousands of potholes all over the place? The lack of proper health care? The escalating crime situation? The steadily & steep rising cost of living and doing business? The regular flooding in areas like city gate and people's homes and businesses? The lack of accountability wrt state expenditure of taxpayers finance? Being taxed up to your eyeballs? Exactly what do you want people to be proud of?

Don't get me wrong, I am a Trinbagonian, born and bred. And I do feel pride in my culture and heritage, and my people, for the most part. As I'm sure most here do as well.
But pride in our Independence? I don't see how or why anyone should feel pride in something that only exists in theory.

Daiz meh 5 cents. It would be my 2 cents, but yuh know what happened with dat

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » August 25th, 2017, 6:57 pm

See how bad inflation is these days "your 2 cents" costing 5 now.....

I blame the banks, poor financial policies and money laundering.

Seriously though '88' I hear you........

Postby 88sins » August 25th, 2017, 8:19 pm

Notice something in that post, most of those items are relatively small problems that could easily be addressed in a relatively short time frame. Yet they persist, for decades. All because of bigger more serious issues that will never be addressed.

Imho, Trinbagonians really need a seriously loud long wakeup call. There's no more them and us, African Indian Chinese Syrian Caucasian Spanish or other.
There's only those that elected people to run the nation in a manner that would bring prosperity to all it's citizens, & politicians elected to office that know how to rinse out the ears of the population with hollow promises & useless comesse during their campaign, politicians that don't give a pile of rat droppings about anyone other than themselves and their people in their political circle.
Plain talk, bad manners. Who eh like it, learn to live with it. That's what everyone else has been forced to do for the last half a century.

Postby RedVEVO » August 25th, 2017, 8:27 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:See how bad inflation is these days "your 2 cents" costing 5 now.....

I blame the banks, poor financial policies and money laundering.

Seriously though '88' I hear you........

No more cents ..

Only 5 cents , 10 cents etc.

bignog

Postby bignog » August 30th, 2017, 6:37 am

We independent? ??

Sent from my SM-G531H using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby hydroep » August 30th, 2017, 7:26 am

With all the money pass though this country's coffers, each citizen could more than have been given $1M as part of their share in the National Patrimony.

Not here to argue the pros and cons of such a move (the typical Trini may have had a band load of children just to "cash in"), suffice it to say there is no reason there should be any poverty or hardship in this land...none.

Whether you want to blame the white man, politicians or the 1% it all boils down to gross mismanagement of resources which continues to have this country on sh!t street.

And for everybody is still talk, talk, talk and talk because well, dais what we good at.

Que sera, sera yes. Happy Independence... :|

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » August 30th, 2017, 8:00 am

lol the gulf of paria should really take back port of spain yes.

it really eh serving no purpose really

Postby zoom rader » August 30th, 2017, 8:54 am

Men want to celebrate Independence but Rowleys tries to sneak in African Natives in his government

Groundcontrol

Postby Groundcontrol » August 30th, 2017, 9:50 am

zoom rader wrote:Men want to celebrate Independence but Rowleys tries to sneak in African Natives in his government

So true
Busted tho
Hahaha

Sent from my DIGICEL DL 1 lite using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby MaxPower » August 30th, 2017, 11:01 am

Lmao at trinis saying words like unity, coming together, stand as one hahahhaa firetruck allyuh foolin?

Postby Chimera » August 30th, 2017, 11:17 am

i find those decorations is a big waste of money though

you have people suffering for medicine in the hospital but wanna drop thousands or hundreds of thousands to decorate a roundabout and some government buildings for a week

firetruck that

whizzard

Postby whizzard » August 30th, 2017, 11:50 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:i find those decorations is a big waste of money though

you have people suffering for medicine in the hospital but wanna drop thousands or hundreds of thousands to decorate a roundabout and some government buildings for a week

firetruck that

I agree it is a waste. Banners are not national pride. Ppl would put up flags and still throw old tyres in the rivers and ravines. Stand at attention for the anthem and then support corruption because it's their party. But I doubt it's as expensive as the 5 million dollar Machel Album.