Re: Petrotrin update

Postby zoom rader » January 25th, 2018, 1:04 pm

He gets fired and Rowlee still is PM

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » January 25th, 2018, 2:31 pm

airuma wrote:What does the Private sector have that Petrotrin doesnt have???

The appropriate question to ask is what does petrotrin have that the private sector doesn't have?
OWTU
GoRTT appointees.

Are you sure? See: 'Prime Minister's relationship with A&V CEO'. See also, where Minister Franklin Khan praises said A&V for their contribution to raising oil production in Parliament and then he tacks back some months later and pleads ignorance when the 'fake oil' scandal unraveled. So yes the private sector CAN actually have political appointees without having political apointees.

Since I mentioned LO's, there are stories where these LOs, can run their rigs over the weekend, when rigs working for Petrotrin, contractor and company, have to shut down from Friday night to late Sunday night. A sizeable well requires a workover, lease company 'X' is allowed to run their operations unchecked 24/7, while Petrotrin is subjected to immense amounts of red tape, thus enabling them to recover the lost oil faster. Who's responsible for that decision? Countless injuries and environmental madness with some of these lease companies and its kept hush hush, but if it's Petrotrin, media houses in Russia are reporting about it. Once prolific wells that Petrotrin 'couldn't get' 5 bbls from, are suddenly restored to life like Jesus did with Lazarus when certain lease companies get their hands on them. Petrotrin is handicapped by many forms of sabotage and/or incompetence and no one is asking questions about or demanding accountability for these things, not even us here, but I guess shitty maths is more amusing.

Postby Redman » January 25th, 2018, 3:04 pm

Joshie23 wrote:
airuma wrote:What does the Private sector have that Petrotrin doesnt have???

The appropriate question to ask is what does petrotrin have that the private sector doesn't have?
OWTU
GoRTT appointees.

Are you sure? See: 'Prime Minister's relationship with A&V CEO'. See also, where Minister Franklin Khan praises said A&V for their contribution to raising oil production in Parliament and then he tacks back some months later and pleads ignorance when the 'fake oil' scandal unraveled. So yes the private sector CAN actually have political appointees without having political apointees.

Since I mentioned LO's, there are stories where these LOs, can run their rigs over the weekend, when rigs working for Petrotrin, contractor and company, have to shut down from Friday night to late Sunday night. A sizeable well requires a workover, lease company 'X' is allowed to run their operations unchecked 24/7, while Petrotrin is subjected to immense amounts of red tape, thus enabling them to recover the lost oil faster. Who's responsible for that decision? Countless injuries and environmental madness with some of these lease companies and its kept hush hush, but if it's Petrotrin, media houses in Russia are reporting about it. Once prolific wells that Petrotrin 'couldn't get' 5 bbls from, are suddenly restored to life like Jesus did with Lazarus when certain lease companies get their hands on them.
Petrotrin is handicapped by many forms of sabotage and/or incompetence and no one is asking questions about or demanding accountability for these things, not even us here, but I guess shitty maths is more amusing.

Why would a rig have to shutdown Friday night-Sunday???
Only costs-does something change in terms of cost?

Yes Private drilling is 24/7-what changes from Friday-Sunday???

Drilling cost inputs
equipment-Carrier,tubulars,lines,pumps
Consumables-fuel,mud,chemicals
Labor. manpower by the hour

Only one of these inputs know its Friday.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » January 25th, 2018, 3:21 pm

Redman wrote:Why would a rig have to shutdown Friday night-Sunday???

Drilling cost inputs

Redman, you seem like a smart guy. I never said drilling operations shut down. In fact, drilling is an operation that needs to, most times, continue from start to finish. I was referring the work over rigs you all were talking about. Again, you really think the rigs go down on Friday night because 'men doh want to wuk'? These decisions come from high ranking officials, in the name of OSHA and HSE and what not, hence my point about the red tape and the lack of same or the lack of attention to accidents for the lease companies.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 25th, 2018, 3:33 pm

Joshie23 wrote:
Redman wrote:Why would a rig have to shutdown Friday night-Sunday???

Drilling cost inputs

Redman, you seem like a smart guy. I never said drilling operations shut down. In fact, drilling is an operation that needs to, most times, continue from start to finish. I was referring the work over rigs you all were talking about. Again, you really think the rigs go down on Friday night because 'men doh want to wuk'? These decisions come from high ranking officials, in the name of OSHA and HSE and what not, hence my point about the red tape and the lack of same or the lack of attention to accidents for the lease companies.

Redman eh wanna hear nothing but union talk.

Postby Redman » January 25th, 2018, 3:57 pm

Yeah Allergic-where you was in 2015.

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=710793&p=9681648#p9681648

What befuddles me is that every one talks AROUND the problem. Petrotrin needs to downsize...their cost of production is too high.

Local produced crude is costing them about 27 USD per barrel-yet margins are still uncomfortable?

down size -start with management.

:D :D
Strong Petrotrin
Strong employee ss

Strong organism.

viva zapata!!!! :lol:
Last edited by Redman on January 25th, 2018, 4:11 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 25th, 2018, 4:10 pm

Redman wrote:

Yeah Allergic-where you was in 2015.

What befuddles me is that every one talks AROUND the problem. Petrotrin needs to downsize...their cost of production is too high.

Local produced crude is costing them about 27 USD per barrel-yet margins are still uncomfortable?

down size -start with management.

Nice but that doesn't take away from your dismissive posts pertaining to what Joshie is trying to tell you.

Haven't seen you respond to any posts pertaining to the 5th public meeting - Energy Affairs video posted earlier either. Even Espinet is saying it's not just wages being the issue. It's alot more complex than just beating the union drum vociferously.

car

Postby car » January 25th, 2018, 4:26 pm

Yep. I was right outside his office door less than 1 hour ago.

Postby Redman » January 25th, 2018, 4:28 pm

I eh watch that yet-and again-it is Roget that has said not one job to be lost.
If the employees feel different they should come out and say so.

Did any one from management suggest a country wide shut down?

Any one else making newspaper and spewing stuff?

Union protesting Deokisings presence-buut not looking at the fact that he cannot have done that by himself?

Dismissive? if I said something wrong then point it out.
If you disagree, say so-its a DISCUSSION thread-opposing views should be encouraged.

So tell me what are your views on management?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 25th, 2018, 4:44 pm

Redman wrote:I eh watch that yet-and again-it is Roget that has said not one job to be lost.
If the employees feel different they should come out and say so.

Did any one from management suggest a country wide shut down?

Any one else making newspaper and spewing stuff?

Union protesting Deokisings presence-buut not looking at the fact that he cannot have done that by himself?

Dismissive? if I said something wrong then point it out.
If you disagree, say so-its a DISCUSSION thread-opposing views should be encouraged.

So tell me what are your views on management?

I class repeated ignoring of points as being dismissive as well.

With regards to management. They are responsible for managing and have been responsible for quite a bit of the issues st the company. Square pegs in round holes, no backbone, bad decisions, allowing bad practices to occur under their tenure, political appointees, stealing etc.

Also there are good people in management as well. Hamstrung too by government interference too. Like I say it’s a lot more than just cutting staff.

Watch the energy affairs vid when you get chance.

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » January 25th, 2018, 5:35 pm

Having watched the entire video, it basically shows that politicians know just as much as the general public in regards to petrotrin, which is basically nothing...

Practically all the ministers spent their time trying to forces the Board to say that firing half the staff at the company is the only way to go. While the Board spent their time basically saying that just firing people will not solve the problem, because labour is just one aspect of the entire company.
I mean I know the general public just want to hear petro men get fired cause they making too much money, but if you did infact get rid of half of the workforce it would have a crippling effect on the company because a huge amount of the talented staff would be no more.

In terms of short term results you will have a smaller wage bill, but when most of the staff that is needed isn't there anymore due to layoffs and plants gotta come down, and short staffing begins to take effect, petrotrin might end up in a worst position. Also I don't thing people are aware how large petrotrin is.
Petrotrin is just a refinery in marabella. It's operations spread much wider and require hundreds of workers to function properly.

Snyper

Postby Snyper » January 25th, 2018, 6:55 pm

Culprits for overtime are Operators, Petrotrin Police right through they doubling for one another and the shops never doing there assignments during work hours and waiting for after 4.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » January 25th, 2018, 8:48 pm

With regards to the overtime situation the two main examples I know of only go to show poor practices on the part of the employees, in many instances there is no real urgency to do any work they are happy to let the job/task go until the last minute, with the deliberate purpose of claiming overtime. In one instance operators were claiming for hours worked when the plant wasn't even commissioned or running, no one said anything it was signed off by the supervisors.

In some cases management or supervisors tried to intervene but were given the cold shoulder or the union card was played against them, "I'z ah union man, you cyah do me dat, cyah make me do dat"

Postby The_Honourable » January 25th, 2018, 9:56 pm

Question... if Petrotrin gets privatized:

1. How much power OWTU would have?

2. How much of the membership would be affected? and

3. Where else OWTU can protest and hold the state/taxpayers to ransom?

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » January 25th, 2018, 10:42 pm

^^^The OWTU will still hold a lot of power. Petrotrin is still very important to the country because of the products they make. Without petro providing gas, country shutdown...

Things might even turn out better for OWTU if Petrotrin is privatized because the management might actually listen to the concerns of the workers. A lot of the concerns of the union are valid to begin with.
Also a lot of the slackers would get dealt with.

Also take for example YARA. They have a union, but I've never heard them protest, cause management listens...

kstt

Postby kstt » January 26th, 2018, 4:55 am

"Deokiesingh was transferred from his substantive post a Hospitality Officer in the Facilities and Management division of Petrotrin to the Exploration and Production Department as Crude Procurement Specialist.

Persad-Bissessar raised questions “what made him a custody transfer officer at the time the fake oil taking place? Who authorised it? Why was he transferred from hospitality to be a specialist in custody transfer of oil?” She asked of the state oil Company."

Isn't this somewhat of a "Reshmi" scandal? Getting promoted from a lower position to a higher one without the necessary qualifications.

It highlights more that Deokiesingh is just the "fallguy" because he was PUT in that position to do the work of corrupt politicians!

kstt

Postby kstt » January 26th, 2018, 4:58 am

If they are stating that fraudulent activities were conducted, why isn't the FRAUD SQUAD involved?

Postby zoom rader » January 26th, 2018, 5:27 am

kstt wrote:If they are stating that fraudulent activities were conducted, why isn't the FRAUD SQUAD involved?
Maybe no one made a report or PNM have it under wraps as usual

Postby Redman » January 26th, 2018, 7:26 am

^^^The OWTU will still hold a lot of power. Petrotrin is still very important to the country because of the products they make. Without petro providing gas, country shutdown...

Well we import fuels frm Venezuela-so if the refinery entire output is of a quality that is better suited to sell internationally-we pull fuel from V.
When upgrading the refinery-it happens for periods of time.

Things might even turn out better for OWTU if Petrotrin is privatized because the management might actually listen to the concerns of the workers. A lot of the concerns of the union are valid to begin with.

People here believe that union is only low level labor-the union IS now protecting its own members higher up from sanctions based on corrupt and poor practices....
At the same time-if the public position of the union is as it is now-how and why would anyone take them seriously.

If the union was seriously looking at cleaning all houses-there would be alot more issues that they raise....
Roget and crew couch what they say to avoid certain issues where their preferred members are culpable.

The last administration loaded up Petrotrin with people that should not be there-they are sitting on their hands now simply preventing improvements.
LPG spills out of new tank with old lines that were signed off on.....inspection drove passed and signed off....

The company numbers indicate they overstaffed-there is analysis that says where there needs to be cutback in volume, but at all levels-the sensible thing to be done is to keep the ones you want, and deserve to be kept and send the chithongs home.

Keep who you need.
End of story

Postby zoom rader » January 26th, 2018, 7:34 am

Redman wrote:

Well we import fuels frm Venezuela-so if the refinery entire output is of a quality that is better suited to sell internationally-we pull fuel from V.

People here believe that union is only low level labor-the union IS now protecting its own members higher up from sanctions based on corrupt and poor practices....
At the same time-if the public position of the union is as it is now-how and why would anyone take them seriously.

If the union was seriously looking at cleaning all houses-there would be alot more issues that they raise....
Roget and crew couch what they say to avoid certain issues where their preferred members are culpable.

The last administration loaded up Petrotrin with people that should not be there-they are sitting on their hands now simply preventing improvements.
LPG spills out of new tank with old lines that were signed off on.....inspection drove passed and signed off....

The company numbers indicate they overstaffed-there is analysis that says where there needs to be cutback in volume, but at all levels-the sensible thing to be done is to keep the ones you want, and deserve to be kept and send the chithongs home.

Keep who you need.
End of story
That was paid for by the PNM

Please note that Redman is a paid PNM blogger and nearly all of his views are one-sided

Postby Redman » January 26th, 2018, 7:37 am

Yep....you helping me out with that 3 piece??
elections coming

Postby zoom rader » January 26th, 2018, 7:39 am

Redman wrote:Yep....you helping me out with that 3 piece??
elections coming
But PNM wining hands downs.

Meanwhile more power for the non PNM voter. I kinda like when PNM in power.

Postby Redman » January 26th, 2018, 7:58 am

If you show yuh ballot I with a PNM vote I will get a 9 piece. Bucket Dred.

Can I hope for that?

Postby zoom rader » January 26th, 2018, 8:12 am

Redman wrote:If you show yuh ballot I with a PNM vote I will get a 9 piece. Bucket Dred.

Can I hope for that?
My ballot has always been non PNM and it does not appear it's going to change.

I in San Do East and you cannot get more PNM then that.

Jah bless blitz village , de getto of the South.

Postby Redman » January 26th, 2018, 8:47 am

zoom rader wrote:Well this situation the government is looking for more money and CNC looking for a cheap deal .

CNC is a bunch of fvckers to use workers as pawns . Workers are already not paid on the world scale.

In this case I support the government

HAAAAAAAA I in the running for a cruncher.!!!!!!
Special eh.

Postby De Dragon » January 26th, 2018, 12:15 pm

Redman wrote:

Keep who you need.
End of story

You were making a sensible argument until this point. Like other similarly unbelievable, and stupid theories, the UNC could not have brought PT or the economy or crime in T&T to its knees in 5 years. Maybe you'd care to explain 1993-2010, and from 2015 to present? Lemme guess, oil/gas prices low? :roll:

Postby zoom rader » January 26th, 2018, 12:21 pm

Redman wrote:
zoom rader wrote:Well this situation the government is looking for more money and CNC looking for a cheap deal .

CNC is a bunch of fvckers to use workers as pawns . Workers are already not paid on the world scale.

In this case I support the government

HAAAAAAAA I in the running for a cruncher.!!!!!!
Special eh.
There are few times when I support PNM but that's like 1%.

Postby Redman » January 26th, 2018, 12:39 pm

well i forget that I need to state the obvious...

as is well known...and beaten to a frazzle here and everywhere....all parties use state enterprises as places to put their people.
That said-although previously understood, Today it is people that are in place that are stopping some much needed progress.
It is politically motivated.

Frustrating much needed progress NOW.
Cuz its obviously NOW we talking about.
not 1993

And dragon your opinion on this fact is irrelevant-its happening...UNC/PNM is irrelevant....it is happening.

Postby De Dragon » January 26th, 2018, 2:12 pm

Redman wrote:well i forget that I need to state the obvious...

as is well known...and beaten to a frazzle here and everywhere....all parties use state enterprises as places to put their people.
That said-although previously understood, Today it is people that are in place that are stopping some much needed progress.
It is politically motivated.

Frustrating much needed progress NOW.
Cuz its obviously NOW we talking about.
not 1993

And dragon your opinion on this fact is irrelevant-its happening...UNC/PNM is irrelevant....it is happening.

Yes, people placed there in the last 5 years ago stymying the progress of PT :lol: Nevermind that the entire Board was replaced with PNM stooges. Eye gougers like Malcolm Jones who sheit away BILLIONS of dollars on pie in the sky ideas that NEVER bore fruit. These miscreants facked up PT. That 850 million USD dond coming due next year was issued in 2009 for capital upgrades which were also pissed away by mismanagement and corruption.
If its so irrelevant why make particular mention of "the last administration?" :?