How often do you change/upgrade/buy your smartphone?

As soon as the latest one comes out
2%
Every 12 months or so
11%
Every 24 months or so
30%
Every 3 years or so
31%
Other
26%

Total votes: 91

Re: How often do you change/upgrade/buy your smartphone?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 24th, 2017, 9:46 am

Once every 4-5 years for me.

boostornuttin

Postby boostornuttin » September 24th, 2017, 6:34 pm

when it need replacing or if I get a good deal ,been rocking ah s6 for abt 3 an it still working excellent

Postby Slartibartfast » September 24th, 2017, 7:11 pm

Like every 2 to 3 years I'll just buy the previous year's flagship phone and keep it till it stop working.

I still find since the Samsung S4 came out, all flagahip phones since then have way more capability than I'll ever need so any choice is a safe choice.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » September 25th, 2017, 3:18 pm

Heard.

Back to topic. Might dip into the android box again next year if apple continues this minimalist BS for a hefty pricetag.. fingers crossed for new google pixel

Postby Dizzy28 » October 16th, 2017, 10:13 am

So I am due a phone change according to TSTT's handset policy however unlike previous years where you could get reasonably priced (or free handsets) they are only offering me a choice of two phones at ridiculous prices now - LG G5 for $3000 and Huawei P10 for $4,000. At those prices I better off buying outside.

Anyone ever bought phones of Amazon? Issues with quality. What about B&H?

Postby RedVEVO » October 16th, 2017, 10:18 am

iPhone from Amazon ..

Top quality . No issues .

They even delivered it to my home ! :shock: :shock:

Ibis Electronics

Postby Ibis Electronics » October 16th, 2017, 11:15 am

Dizzy28 wrote:So I am due a phone change according to TSTT's handset policy however unlike previous years where you could get reasonably priced (or free handsets) they are only offering me a choice of two phones at ridiculous prices now - LG G5 for $3000 and Huawei P10 for $4,000. At those prices I better off buying outside.

Anyone ever bought phones of Amazon? Issues with quality. What about B&H?

OP3
OP3T
Moto X
Moto G
Moto G4
Lg G4
And some others were all bought from amazon., Never had any issues. Make sure to buy the international versions, the us versions won't work with the data networks locally for some reason.

Postby Chimera » October 16th, 2017, 11:21 am

yes they all work with local data networks, u just need to manually set the APN

dont buy the G4 though
they have a bootloop issue

Postby Dizzy28 » October 16th, 2017, 11:26 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:yes they all work with local data networks, u just need to manually set the APN

dont buy the G4 though

I currently have a OP2 (64Gig) but my son broke my wife's phone recently so I would give her that and get something for me.

Am looking at the LG V20 or the Sony Xperia XA 1 Ultra.
Would be going Mia next two weeks so would pick up there.

Are there any good physical stores for cells phones in the Mia, Ft Lau area?

Postby Chimera » October 16th, 2017, 11:31 am

there are endless stores but honestly you will find them fawkers will lie to you and rob you and you have no recourse at all

they will tell you it unlocked and not blacklisted and when you bring it here...it cost you a setta extra $$ to get it working

buy on ebay or amazon and deliver to your family house or your hotel

atleast through ebay and amazon you have easy way to get refunds.

the v10 and v20 also have a bootloop issue, if you heart set on the v20, make sure and buy any extra insurance protection ebay is offering

Postby Dizzy28 » October 16th, 2017, 11:41 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:there are endless stores but honestly you will find them fawkers will lie to you and rob you and you have no recourse at all

they will tell you it unlocked and not blacklisted and when you bring it here...it cost you a setta extra $$ to get it working

buy on ebay or amazon and deliver to your family house or your hotel

atleast through ebay and amazon you have easy way to get refunds.

the v10 and v20 also have a bootloop issue, if you heart set on the v20, make sure and buy any extra insurance protection ebay is offering

Thanks!!!

Side note - Called a phone dealer three weeks ago (located in the San Juan area) and the man swear the V20 have no boot loops problems when I told him I looking for a phone in the $3000 range (he only has the LG v20 for 3,400 in that price range). He say he sell plenty and no body ever had any problems.

Postby Chimera » October 16th, 2017, 11:44 am

Postby gastly369 » October 16th, 2017, 11:58 am

Going to buy the elephone s8 as a secondary phone to beat around with @ that price and design and specs not bad

SSSavage

Postby SSSavage » October 16th, 2017, 12:17 pm

I still have my Samsung galaxy s3mini. It works fine.

Postby RedVEVO » October 16th, 2017, 3:27 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:yes they all work with local data networks, u just need to manually set the APN

dont buy the G4 though

I currently have a OP2 (64Gig) but my son broke my wife's phone recently so I would give her that and get something for me.

Best Buy in Hialeah ..
Ask for Jose.

Ibis Electronics

Postby Ibis Electronics » October 16th, 2017, 3:31 pm

G4 is going on two years without issues.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 16th, 2017, 3:48 pm

RedVEVO wrote:

dont buy the G4 though

Best Buy in Hialeah ..
Ask for Jose.

1/2 of the guys in SoFlo probably named Jose

Postby RBphoto » October 16th, 2017, 3:54 pm

I had a me-too up till the iPhone 5 came out. Bought that and rocked that until the battery died earlier this year. Bought a Huawei Mate 9. I don't change phones unless the previous one is dead. Using the iPhone as an MP3 player in the car.

Postby skylinechild » October 16th, 2017, 4:01 pm

RBphoto wrote:I had a me-too up till the iPhone 5 came out. Bought that and rocked that until the battery died earlier this year. Bought a Huawei Mate 9. I don't change phones unless the previous one is dead. Using the iPhone as an MP3 player in the car.

RB if i promise tuh love yuh fuh ever and ever...yuh go buy meh ah new phone ..??? :oops: :oops:

Postby Les Bain » October 16th, 2017, 4:23 pm

Retired the iphone5 last week after 4 years. Tried fixing it, but looks like was a deeper problem. It not dead yet, just not working as it should.

Much as I love the iphone, I doh have iphone money. The Samsung J7 Prime working real nice. Already have a tablet and mp3 player, so I didn't need a killer super phone.

Anoose real tight until I call down the Otterbox.

Postby RedVEVO » October 16th, 2017, 4:35 pm

skylinechild wrote:
RBphoto wrote:I had a me-too up till the iPhone 5 came out. Bought that and rocked that until the battery died earlier this year. Bought a Huawei Mate 9. I don't change phones unless the previous one is dead. Using the iPhone as an MP3 player in the car.

RB if i promise tuh love yuh fuh ever and ever...yuh go buy meh ah new phone ..??? :oops: :oops:

Slap bottom , weggie & bounce situation :shock: :shock:

Postby RBphoto » October 16th, 2017, 4:40 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
skylinechild wrote:

Slap bottom , weggie & bounce situation :shock: :shock:

But you done love me 4 evar and evar :?

Postby skylinechild » October 16th, 2017, 11:19 pm

RBphoto wrote:
skylinechild wrote:

so i cud come and collect ah new phone then...i will appreciate a new huawei phone..the P10 mate is good enuff fuh meh...i eah go buss yuh pocket with no samsung and iphone....

lemme kno... :oops:

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » October 17th, 2017, 12:45 am

Andriods so far is Sam ace3 and then s5 atm mite be changing when this one starts to play up. .the wife does change more that me..J5 and then j7..don't have pc atm so my phone is my everything

Postby RBphoto » October 17th, 2017, 9:19 am

skylinechild wrote:
RBphoto wrote:
skylinechild wrote:

so i cud come and collect ah new phone then...i will appreciate a new huawei phone..the P10 mate is good enuff fuh meh...i eah go buss yuh pocket with no samsung and iphone....

This is what true love looks like. <3

Postby teems1 » October 17th, 2017, 9:51 am

When it needs replacing so approx every 3-4 years.

Had a S3 from 2012 --> 2016. Only reason it lasted so long was that I put Cyanogenmod on it after 2 years when it began to move slowly.

Postby RedVEVO » October 17th, 2017, 6:35 pm

skylinechild wrote:
RBphoto wrote:
skylinechild wrote:

iPhone 8 has no issues ..

Huawei is a top Chinese brand .. :roll:

Postby Dizzy28 » October 19th, 2017, 11:52 am

If buying an unlocked phone from the US and seeing that the carriers have handsets made specifically for them, which handset would definitely work here i.e. an ATT version, a T-mobile version etc or would all unlocked handsets work in Trinidad?

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » October 19th, 2017, 12:19 pm

When i see a deal...i cash in and resell. Stil rockin my trusty m9 but custom roms has it flying through multitasking. Huawei mate 10 pro is the next one i eyeing as it ticks all the checkboxes for me!

Postby skylinechild » October 21st, 2017, 2:38 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:If buying an unlocked phone from the US and seeing that the carriers have handsets made specifically for them, which handset would definitely work here i.e. an ATT version, a T-mobile version etc or would all unlocked handsets work in Trinidad?

back in the day "custom" carrier phones was phones that had the carrier logo branded and coded into the phone along with apps and stuff for the phone to provide additional capabilities

yes you could have gotten the stock firmware from the manufacturer site and flash the handset and put back the original source file and a new shell casing and bom - normal phone once more.

these days is more or less the same thing. just the hardware is abit more tailored to suit their netowrk the phone transmitter / receiver is slightly different the bands the phone operate on as well plus of couse the custom OS and menus and logos.

but once you get the handset unlocked and its quad band i'll work. the unsupported features wont work - obviously.