How often do you change/upgrade/buy your smartphone?

As soon as the latest one comes out
2%
Every 12 months or so
11%
Every 24 months or so
30%
Every 3 years or so
31%
Other
26%

Total votes: 91

abducted

Postby abducted » September 22nd, 2017, 10:49 am

Who keeps up with the latest phones, Samsung S8, OnePlus 5, Google Pixel, iPhone X, Moto Z, and the marketing is working because you feel as though you need the new technology offered in the newest phones, the prices keep getting higher and higher too.

cryotec

Re: How often do you change/upgrade/buy your smartphone?

Postby cryotec » September 22nd, 2017, 11:17 am

i does replace mines with the cheapest decent non blu phone when it start to wok real slow so i would say every 4-6 years. if apple ever make a phone which double as a mac osx machine, i go buy the iphone in a heartbeat

Postby RedVEVO » September 22nd, 2017, 11:24 am

Iphone fanatic.

As it come out , I buying .

src1983

Postby src1983 » September 22nd, 2017, 11:33 am

I does buy when it mashup and can’t work anymore

Postby Dizzy28 » September 22nd, 2017, 11:42 am

With my package TSTT offers a new phone every 18 months (either free or at a cost dependent on handset model chosen).

Postby ismithx » September 22nd, 2017, 11:53 am

so far since I under my own financial administration, like once a year. buy either the latest midrange or last year's flagship and sell the old one. Works out very cheap for me.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » September 22nd, 2017, 11:57 am

src1983 wrote:I does buy when it mashup and can’t work anymore

My logic also

Postby eliteauto » September 22nd, 2017, 12:15 pm

Curtms wrote:
src1983 wrote:I does buy when it mashup and can’t work anymore

My logic also

Same here, and even then I vibes bmobile to see what's the best free handset available on my plan

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » September 22nd, 2017, 12:21 pm

not a cellphone person , as long as my phone is in working order i not changing it & i dont gaf about what new 1 come out , still rocking a 4yr old digicel - original plastic still on d screen ..... :|

Postby nervewrecker » September 22nd, 2017, 12:24 pm

Decided to try a flagship phone for once. That's the only reason why.
Opted for good memory, camera and water resistant because of the work I do.

On that note how petrotrin men does have phone that barely worth $1000.00 but store clerks and cashiers have s7 edge and done talking about s8 and iphone x? I thought petro men salary large?

Zetski

Postby Zetski » September 22nd, 2017, 12:25 pm

My Sony Walkman still in good condition and working after 11 years.. so i doh need a smartphone.

Postby nervewrecker » September 22nd, 2017, 12:26 pm

A cashier pick up my s7 edge this week and told me is her own. I unlocked it with my finger print.
She look twice and saw her s7 edge under the counter. Same gold as mine.
Sat in atlantic plaza at point lisas and real school children (sec and tertiary) have iphone and samsung edge phones.

Postby meccalli » September 22nd, 2017, 12:35 pm

Zetski wrote:My Sony Walkman still in good condition and working after 11 years.. so i doh need a smartphone.

I currently have a $300 dollar blu because my k510i battery gave out, had that since form 4 or so.

thelem-again

Postby thelem-again » September 22nd, 2017, 12:46 pm

Every 2 years.

I had the iPhone 5, then iPhone 6S two years later. Now two years have passed and I am looking to get the iPhone X.

Experts often suggest staying away from 1st generation phones but that really don't matter to me (even though the iPhone 5 lasted a very very short while.) I had to repair it more than twice. Honestly, once its functional, I'm happy.

I have a fourth Gen Apple TV and a 1st gen iPad Air and 1st get Apple Watch and 1st Gen Airpods. All work really well and i have no need for an upgrade right now.

Postby Chimera » September 22nd, 2017, 12:48 pm

up to recently i was using 2 s5's (before that i had two a s3 and a blackberry 9700)
then someone sell me a s6 edge for $900 because the camera lens has a crack....and i use that and a s5 for a year until it get stolen

now i using a htc m8 and a samsung s7 (with a cracked camera lens lol)

and i have s8,s8+, v20, iphone 7 plus for sale in my store eh

but i just doh rly see the need for such phones myself

the only games i would play on my phone is subway surfer or pool

Postby RedVEVO » September 22nd, 2017, 12:52 pm

thelem-again wrote:Every 2 years.

I had the iPhone 5, then iPhone 6S two years later. Now two years have passed and I am looking to get the iPhone X.

Experts often suggest staying away from 1st generation phones but that really don't matter to me (even though the iPhone 5 lasted a very very short while.) I had to repair it more than twice. Honestly, once its functional, I'm happy.

I have a fourth Gen Apple TV and a 1st gen iPad Air and 1st get Apple Watch and 1st Gen Airpods. All work really well and i have no need for an upgrade right now.

Yes - Apple people rock ..

It is a well known fact that all cheap phones give out radiation ..

After a while you dead with brain radiation .. or your ear fall off the bone :D

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 22nd, 2017, 12:56 pm

It turns out that my phone usually takes a crap after about 2 years.
once the battery starts going flat after a couple hours I usually swtch

I usually look for decent deals on amazon, doh really care about iphone or galaxy

Postby pete » September 22nd, 2017, 1:02 pm

Basically replace when it conks out. For me that seems to happen every two years.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » September 22nd, 2017, 1:05 pm

3 years and its not because the phones deteriorated (except the galaxy), i get them as gifts most times..

Ericsson k850 > Bb 8900 > iPhone 4 > Galaxy S3 > iphone 5s > iPhone 7

By far the galaxy was the worse phone i owned, and I quickly reverted back to apple.

In no way an apple fanboy, but as a daily driver apple has proved itself for me. And my samsung tabs and other android products takes a back seat
Last edited by nick639v2 on September 22nd, 2017, 1:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

GOAT

Postby GOAT » September 22nd, 2017, 1:06 pm

When it no longer works properly.
Had my Samsung Galaxy Ace for maybe 3-4 years, after that went bought my S6 which I have for around 2 years now.

Postby pete » September 22nd, 2017, 1:06 pm

Well, the S3 was a terrible phone so..

Postby RedVEVO » September 22nd, 2017, 1:08 pm

nick639v2 wrote:3 years and its not because the phones deteriorated, its because i get them as gifts most times..

Bb 8900 > iPhone 4 > Galaxy S3 > iphone 5s > iPhone 7

By far the galaxy was the worse phone i owned, and I quickly reverted back to apple.

In no way an apple fanboy, but as a daily driver apple has proved itself for me.

Who giving you free phone so ?

I hanging with the wrong people :shock:

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » September 22nd, 2017, 1:18 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
nick639v2 wrote:3 years and its not because the phones deteriorated, its because i get them as gifts most times..

Bb 8900 > iPhone 4 > Galaxy S3 > iphone 5s > iPhone 7

In no way an apple fanboy, but as a daily driver apple has proved itself for me.

Who giving you free phone so ?

I hanging with the wrong people :shock:

It have other ways man
Last edited by nick639v2 on September 22nd, 2017, 1:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » September 22nd, 2017, 1:19 pm

Been very happy with the 1+3T, don't see the need to upgrade it anytime soon.

Postby RedVEVO » September 22nd, 2017, 1:21 pm

Nah !

I go work and save ..

And ah buying the iPhone X

It is about a need for technology :D

matix

Postby matix » September 22nd, 2017, 1:42 pm

I have my iPhone 5 since 2012. Still going strong. Bought the SE and that's still new in the box. Lifeproof cases keeps the phone in flawless condition.

Postby gastly369 » September 22nd, 2017, 1:50 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Decided to try a flagship phone for once. That's the only reason why.
Opted for good memory, camera and water resistant because of the work I do.

On that note how petrotrin men does have phone that barely worth $1000.00 but store clerks and cashiers have s7 edge and done talking about s8 and iphone x? I thought petro men salary large?

Cause de petro men buying it for dem like ah chippidy and they hadda suck salt and rock ah dl600

10-01

Postby 10-01 » September 22nd, 2017, 2:34 pm

i change every 12 mths or max 24 mths as im allowed to get a phone every 12 mths with d plan im on with Bmobile ...

Postby skylinechild » September 22nd, 2017, 2:39 pm

my first phone nokia 3310- used it till the battery gave out...it somewhere around the house...hadda look for it. got it around 2003 used it for 2 yrs stopped using it wen i upgraded around 2006

my second phone nokia 3120 - bought it as the 1st nokia went bonkers - the thing of the day was polyphonic ringtones and color screen and snake. tri band... unlocked to work on any network. has my b mobile SIM in it now. got it around 2006 and yes it works

my third phone nokia N8- bought it as it was the nokia flagship phone - i got fedup of switching SIMS whole time in my nokia 3120.
phone is penta band (5 bands) 3G touch screen 16gig internal and 16 gig memory card 12MP camera wit carl zeiss optics.

it used to crash alot due to the software - supposed to reload the dead platform symbian belle on it to resolve the crashing - since whats app stop working as they no longer support the handset - the crashing stooped
handset works fine. this is my digi handset. got it in 2010

not really a smart phone person...

Postby rollingstock » September 22nd, 2017, 4:52 pm

Sony k800i for many years, battery went bad, decided to get the flagship s3 at the time.
Pieceofshit phone, gave up on it after about a year.
In 2013 or early 14 decided to go back to Sony. Bought the new Xperia z2 for its waterproof capability and battery life. Still going strong.

For my outside women whatever the prisoners have on their person at that time.