Speed limit to be changed from 80km/h to 100km/h

wickedtuna

Speed limit to be changed from 80km/h to 100km/h

Postby wickedtuna » September 26th, 2017, 2:56 pm

The speed limit is set to change.

This according to Trinidad & Tobago Works and Transport Minister Rohan Sinanan who spoke to the Express on Tuesday.

According to Sinanan, Cabinet has approved the increasing of the speed limit from 80 kilometres/ per hour (km/h) to 100 kph.

He said last week Cabinet approved the recommendation. This is expected to be taken to Parliament by this Friday to be debated.

"Cabinet already approved the increase to the limit and it will be laid in Parliament. Cabinet has approved the limit to be 100 km/h," he said.

Sinanan said a date for this to be official has not been determined and will only come into effect after the debate.

Several groups have lobbied for the increase since the Peoples National Movement administration first decreased the limit as a means of limiting the road carnage.

Hundreds of driver have been fined over the past months by police officers using speed guns.

Re: Speed limit to be changed

Postby 16 cycles » September 26th, 2017, 3:15 pm

Hope they don't....

wickedtuna

Postby wickedtuna » September 26th, 2017, 3:16 pm

Rainy season speed limit

infinite_RPM

Postby infinite_RPM » September 26th, 2017, 3:17 pm

Pretty sure an increase in fines will follow

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » September 26th, 2017, 3:21 pm

Nothing about Van and Truck drivers. Hope that stays at 65kph.

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 26th, 2017, 3:26 pm

Nice.

wickedtuna

Postby wickedtuna » September 26th, 2017, 3:39 pm

Pre budget goodies lol

Postby bluefete » September 26th, 2017, 3:50 pm

16 cycles wrote:Hope they don't....

THIS!

Now we will really see Kantish driving on our roads.

BTW - Has the death rate on our roads increased or decreased for the year?

If it has decreased, why raise the speed limit?

If it has increased, why raise the speed limit?

Postby j.o.e » September 26th, 2017, 4:00 pm

In before men say 100 to slow and it be 120. I’ve grown accustomed to the 80. Unaffected

infinite_RPM

Postby infinite_RPM » September 26th, 2017, 4:15 pm

j.o.e wrote:In before men say 100 to slow and it be 120. I’ve grown accustomed to the 80. Unaffected

Me too.. my natural cruising speed is around 80.. I get so accustomed to it I don't even need to watch my speedo anymore

Postby Les Bain » September 26th, 2017, 4:23 pm

Coil pack problem sorted out and I back to cruising at 90 when I can afford to.
I welcoming the speed limit rise as long as they revise the jamming for offenders.

vct17inch

Postby vct17inch » September 26th, 2017, 4:32 pm

From the comments I've seen here I know I'll get bashed of my statement but y'all rely don't get it. 80kph is ridiculous for a 3 lane freeway in 2017 where the braking distances of vehicles have drastically decreased from the 60's. It hampers productivity when people need to great distances to and from work everyday. Y'all try to get from south to port of Spain everyday and back without going over 80kph and see. You spend an unreasonable amount of time on the motorway. Here's where some idiot going to comment and say they commute everyday from south at 80kph and it's fine. But it isnt. And don't get me wrong. I don't condone wreckless driving but accelerating over 100kph is not being wreckless on a freeway

Re: Speed limit to be changed from 80km/h to 100km/h

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 26th, 2017, 5:26 pm

100 too slow. It should be 140 kph. I get sleepy driving at anything below 130 kph. You spend an unacceptable amount of time driving from south to Pos at 100. Productivity would be greater at 140 kph.

matix

Postby matix » September 26th, 2017, 5:31 pm

vct17inch wrote:From the comments I've seen here I know I'll get bashed of my statement but y'all rely don't get it. 80kph is ridiculous for a 3 lane freeway in 2017 where the braking distances of vehicles have drastically decreased from the 60's. It hampers productivity when people need to great distances to and from work everyday. Y'all try to get from south to port of Spain everyday and back without going over 80kph and see. You spend an unreasonable amount of time on the motorway. Here's where some idiot going to comment and say they commute everyday from south at 80kph and it's fine. But it isnt. And don't get me wrong. I don't condone wreckless driving but accelerating over 100kph is not being wreckless on a freeway

But it's only 3 lanes from Chaguanas to north.

Postby skylinechild » September 26th, 2017, 5:41 pm

vct17inch wrote:From the comments I've seen here I know I'll get bashed of my statement but y'all rely don't get it. 80kph is ridiculous for a 3 lane freeway in 2017 where the braking distances of vehicles have drastically decreased from the 60's. It hampers productivity when people need to great distances to and from work everyday. Y'all try to get from south to port of Spain everyday and back without going over 80kph and see. You spend an unreasonable amount of time on the motorway. Here's where some idiot going to comment and say they commute everyday from south at 80kph and it's fine. But it isnt. And don't get me wrong. I don't condone wreckless driving but accelerating over 100kph is not being wreckless on a freeway

umm we dont have a freeway here in trinidad or tobago.
a freeway is an express highway where there is usually not a set speed limit.
there is however a penalty fine if you go under the recommended speed

i know braking distances have been better in never vehicle as well as braking technology ...

however the human reaction time has not....evolution hasnt changes us in 40 years to have lightening fast reflexes ...ability to dodge bullets etc... in addition having drugs stimulants / depressants and alcohol in our system affects the way our brains make judgement calls.....

age as well as poor vision also impacts our abilty and reflexes.

you can feel free to drive at whatever speed you like... just be sure you cud stop and you have your 2k ready to pay if caught.

i say leave the speed limit and pave all the damn rd properly...and enforce the law...

Postby supercharged turbo » September 26th, 2017, 5:45 pm

I can live with the 100..thats my normal speed most of the time

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 26th, 2017, 6:25 pm

I could imagine the new the fine when you cross the 100...wait for it in the budget

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » September 26th, 2017, 6:31 pm

3 Lanes on highway.....60/80/100km/hr.....problem solved.

Postby MaxPower » September 26th, 2017, 6:54 pm

Wa d fak...

Majority of dotish trinis cant even abide the 80...anybody driving 80? How much ah allyuh using waze for police and slowing down and speeding up?

100 mc wa...shud leave it 80...increase the speed guns and camera etc....tame the drivers...then raise it if men in line.

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 26th, 2017, 7:09 pm

Drive at 140.

Unaffected.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 26th, 2017, 7:25 pm

What about the limit for vans and t vehicles

Postby K74T » September 26th, 2017, 7:27 pm

Hilux jivahs go hadda stay at 65.

2ndchance

Postby 2ndchance » September 26th, 2017, 7:29 pm

wickedtuna wrote:Several groups have lobbied for the increase since the Peoples National Movement administration first decreased the limit as a means of limiting the road carnage.

I thought it was a misquote but the Express article really said that the government had decreased the speed limit! :? Proof that you can't believe everything you read in the newspaper.

Postby SR » September 26th, 2017, 7:30 pm

Lol yet heavy t vehicles still flying as normal as well as police cars who clearly not in any emergency to get anywhere

Postby SR » September 26th, 2017, 7:31 pm

Shucks ah forget all dem amalgamated trucks

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » September 26th, 2017, 7:35 pm

We need different suggested speeds for different pieces of the highway

And an even lower than 50km/h limit around schools and small residential roads

Paw Patrol

Postby Paw Patrol » September 26th, 2017, 8:45 pm

novastar1 wrote:We need different suggested speeds for different pieces of the highway

And an even lower than 50km/h limit around schools and small residential roads

dais 'merica ting guy.

trinis are a bunch of monkeys

Postby redmanjp » September 27th, 2017, 12:10 am

wickedtuna wrote:Rainy season speed limit

Good idea but how about only during a downpour instead enforced by electronic signs.

Also some areas like the el socorro bend should have a lower limit like 90.

But the increase is good. I doh have to balance staying in overdrive to save gas and trying to keep at 80.

wickedtuna

Postby wickedtuna » September 27th, 2017, 12:20 am

This bill will also include traffic light infringements and a points system associated with it

wickedtuna

Postby wickedtuna » September 27th, 2017, 12:23 am

wickedtuna wrote:This bill will also include traffic light infringements and a points system associated with it

Sinanan said he believes the increase could come into effect in the next two weeks once everything goes according to plan.

But he said the new limit will come alongside other traffic laws, including a point system which will ban delinquent motorists after a certain number of traffic violations and the use of cameras on traffic lights to record red light infractions.