You see someone breaking the law, what's the right thing to do?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 28th, 2017, 12:12 pm

Everyday you see people breaking the law, littering, cutting lines, driving on the shoulder, parking badly.

You know the RIGHT thing is to tell them about it in hope they will stop, but given the crime situation, confronting them may not be the smartest thing to do.

It frustrates me to see someone throwing bottles or any kind of litter out of their car, or driving on the shoulder to cut traffic. But you may be putting yourself and your family in danger by confronting them on it.

However NOT doing anything just adds to the decay of our society making it even worse for ourselves.

What do you do?

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Re: You see someone breaking the law, what's the right thing to do?

Postby Rudman » September 28th, 2017, 12:30 pm

Is it Friday already?

Shame them on facebook, make a video or rant on Trinituner about it. Seems the only safe way to deal with it.

Postby j.o.e » September 28th, 2017, 12:31 pm

I made a old man pick up garbage he threw out his car already. I wouldn’t try that with any and everybody tho. I was just extra pissed off that day, I suspect he also thought I was an out of uniform officer.

Sundar

Postby Sundar » September 28th, 2017, 12:35 pm

I see ppl does put up videos where they pick it up and pursue the vehicle and throw it back in their vehicle and speed of.

Postby 16 cycles » September 28th, 2017, 12:43 pm

Last time I try to do the right thing it was a license officer in a private vehicle using the shoulder with blue lights flashing..He wanted to carry me in the police station...Told me I was disrespectful...

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » September 28th, 2017, 12:49 pm

Look, doing the right thing in Trinidad is like pissing in the wind. It only flies up back on you, your wet pants will stick out from the rest of the public and you have a bigger mess to deal with now, just for giving a damn. The only reward you might get is having that warm, funny feeling down below.
Last edited by Rudman on September 28th, 2017, 12:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Dizzy28 » September 28th, 2017, 12:50 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Everyday you see people breaking the law, littering, cutting lines, driving on the shoulder, parking badly.

You know the RIGHT thing is to tell them about it in hope they will stop, but given the crime situation, confronting them may not be the smartest thing to do.

It frustrates me to see someone throwing bottles or any kind of litter out of their car, or driving on the shoulder to cut traffic. But you may be putting yourself and your family in danger by confronting them on it.

However NOT doing anything just adds to the decay of our society making it even worse for ourselves.

What do you do?

I'm leaving them to do what they want. Too much ignorant (and armed) people in Trinidad now and you could lose your life normal normal for even watching someone bad.

WRT to shoulder drivers though I generally do something passive like not allowing them to cut back in, either go up and fall back, however I wanna also stop doing this r.e. ignorance as mentioned earlier.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » September 28th, 2017, 12:51 pm

ZR - " you vote for that "

Postby Redman » September 28th, 2017, 12:53 pm

Pissing, littering- they get a cussing and a dress down from me- last one was a foreign fella pissing on a tree next to the road in Palmiste park....and he had a local fella in a company van waiting...he get " thats what you letting him do in your country..nasty muddacrunt!!!!

Generally a cussing as I driving past-Nasty Lowlife Mudda*&^%
Works for me..

Yesterday a TTPS car was doing crap-I took the below pic and sent it to a friend in the service as a complaint.
It wasnt an emergency-Driving normally I caught up with them at Cross Crossing intersection.
Nothing formal-
They sometimes make a call....

I think we should have a TTPS backed site http://www.dotishttps.com and encourage members of the public to put them so on blast.
Sunlight is the best disinfectant
Screen Shot 2017-09-28 at 12.45.46 PM.png
PbT1544...17:52...Along Independence avenue Sando...breaks one red light(Light Infront of Sagicor)switching lanes,no one wearing seat belts and one head light not working.

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » September 28th, 2017, 1:03 pm

aye i am not no Justice league.

the best thing is 800-tips if it still functioning

Postby Rovin » September 28th, 2017, 1:03 pm

MYOB or do like u eh see chit cause ppl killing others nowadays for d slightest thing .... :|

Postby Chimera » September 28th, 2017, 1:09 pm

police exempted from wearing seatbelts tho

Drea

Postby Drea » September 28th, 2017, 1:12 pm

Depends on the person/ situation and the offence. Like everyone said there are too many ignorants out here. I remember back when I was younger was standing on the side of the road with my cousin and aunt and this gringo driving an almera speeding and take the corner, my aunt shout out something bout take yuh time and homie reverse on the gov't road and jump out he car. When I tell u I was scared, he missing more teeth than my granny and cussin asking if we mad..... :|

Not I, it have God and the protective services where necessary. I will correct my children them is my business

Postby Chimera » September 28th, 2017, 1:17 pm

Redman wrote:Pissing, littering- they get a cussing and a dress down from me- last one was a foreign fella pissing on a tree next to the road in Palmiste park....and he had a local fella in a company van waiting...he get " thats what you letting him do in your country..nasty muddacrunt!!!!

you know the video in el socorro gas station where the old man was getting lix?

you was intervening in that?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » September 28th, 2017, 1:18 pm

Redman wrote:Pissing, littering- they get a cussing and a dress down from me- last one was a foreign fella pissing on a tree next to the road in Palmiste park....and he had a local fella in a company van waiting...he get " thats what you letting him do in your country..nasty muddacrunt!!!!

Generally a cussing as I driving past-Nasty Lowlife Mudda*&^%
Works for me..

Yesterday a TTPS car was doing crap-I took the below pic and sent it to a friend in the service as a complaint.
It wasnt an emergency-Driving normally I caught up with them at Cross Crossing intersection.
Nothing formal-
They sometimes make a call....

I think we should have a TTPS backed site http://www.dotishttps.com and encourage members of the public to put them so on blast.
Sunlight is the best disinfectant

So what was the driver of the police vehicle doing?

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » September 28th, 2017, 1:25 pm

police dunce at the end of the day

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 28th, 2017, 1:31 pm

Rovin's Audio wrote:MYOB or do like u eh see chit cause ppl killing others nowadays for d slightest thing .... :|

This. It hard sometimes, but this.

Postby Ben_spanna » September 28th, 2017, 1:54 pm

it honestly depends on the situation, the appearance and attitude of the person an where it happened.

As we recently saw a couple slit an elderly womans throat just because she didn't want to pay them the full amount for a job that they did NOT do what they were instructed to do......

Everytime I see people flying down the shoulder I just let them go now, and hope that lower on down the road either a police officer would have pulled them over or they warp their a55 around a lamppost and rid our country of their ignorance.

This country no longer has any tolerance, our people lack discipline and obedience ( and sadly its what the youngsters get from their parents everyday habits) ................

Postby RedVEVO » September 28th, 2017, 1:57 pm

^^^^
The big toter men who does piss on wall and corners .. in the middle of POS

I would leave them alone ..

Postby meccalli » September 28th, 2017, 1:57 pm

Carnival promotes or is closely associated with half of those disgusting behaviours spoken of in this thread. If the society likes it, well...
I wonder if anyone does the dressing down in that environment.

Keyser Soze

Postby Keyser Soze » September 28th, 2017, 1:57 pm

Most people who could fearlessly intervene in issues like those mentioned above don't because they end up on social media filmed by someone then the police does be all over them...
In the case of that gas station confrontation once is not me or my family I ain't exposing my hand.

Postby rspann » September 28th, 2017, 2:23 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Everyday you see people breaking the law, littering, cutting lines, driving on the shoulder, parking badly.

What do you do?

Blame Kamla .

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 28th, 2017, 2:39 pm

what do you do....not one MC

10-01

Postby 10-01 » September 28th, 2017, 2:42 pm

nothing .. .....

Postby Redman » September 28th, 2017, 2:52 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:

you know the video in el socorro gas station where the old man was getting lix?

you was intervening in that?

I said in that thread...I don't know....it's tough make a decision after the fact.

The Paleontologist

Postby The Paleontologist » September 28th, 2017, 3:00 pm

I look at them, shake my head, and imagine a scenario in my head where i stopped them

Postby pugboy » September 28th, 2017, 3:06 pm

the problem is the people at the top breaking the law so there is nobody to standup for what is right
we can only talk about it wishfully here

start first with dark tint ticket for govt ministers

Postby MaxPower » September 28th, 2017, 3:09 pm

The right thing will get you killed...

I am in no way intervening. I will have no support from law enforcement and citizens, and they dont have my support as well because this country doesnt deserve heroes.

Cover your own ass.

Postby 88sins » September 28th, 2017, 3:11 pm

its amusing how many expected answers in this thread

but as mentioned before, depends on the scenario.

& wrt the ole man gettin beat up like a good friday bobolee in d gas station, i really can't say i was shocked that nobody intervened to defend the old timer or break up the conflict. The bulk of Trini's by nature are basically lazy gutless cowards, ready, willing & happy to swallow whatever horse droppings they get from those they perceive to be in a position above them whether that person above them be a bandit, a professional, an employer or a politician. & every wannabe gunta in the making knows this very well.

Postby pugboy » September 28th, 2017, 3:20 pm

yes, cool yuhself and jsut be part of the 99%

MaxPower wrote:The right thing will get you killed...

I am in no way intervening. I will have no support from law enforcement and citizens, and they dont have my support as well because this country doesnt deserve heroes.

Cover your own ass.